Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed May 8th, 2026, with respect to the rejections of the independent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Desai et al (US 2014/0237468).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shippy (US 2014/0173312) in view of King et al (US 2020/0073467, herein King) and Desai et al (US 2014/0237468, herein Desai).
Regarding claim 1, Shippy teaches a data processing resource for performing data processing tasks for a host processor, the data processing resource comprising:
an iterator unit to process the request and generate a workload comprising one or more tasks for the requested processing job ([0023], [0032], [0036], front end units to retrieve and dispatch tasks);
one or more execution units to perform the one or more tasks, wherein the iterator unit is configured to allocate the one or more tasks to the one or more execution units based on control signals from the control circuitry ([0019], [0024-0032], [0037], execution units & pipeline stage to perform task processing),
wherein configuration circuitry is further configured to switch an operation mode of at least one execution unit from a normal operation mode to a reduced operation mode, wherein the switch from the normal operation mode to the reduced operation mode comprises configuring the control circuitry to: control the iterator unit to reduce an amount of tasks allocated to the at least one execution unit to prevent the iterator unit from allocating new tasks to the at least one execution unit ([0026], [0028], [0031-0033], [0041], [0044], operate core in low intensity mode by throttling execution and disabling execution resources in low intensity or “little core” mode, stopping input of new decoded instructions into pipeline when reducing power).
Shippy fails to teach the processor comprising control circuitry to receive, from the host processor, a request for the data processing resource to perform a requested processing job.
King teaches a data processing resource comprising control circuitry to receive, from a host processor, a request for a data processing resource to perform a requested processing job ([0022-0023], [0038], workload management module on CPU controls execution on GPU data processors), wherein the control circuitry is further configured to switch an operation mode of at least one execution unit from a normal operation mode to a reduced operation mode ([0024], [0038], GPUs can operate in full or reduced power modes responsive to the workload management module).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Shippy and King to utilize explicit control circuitry in the processing system. While Shippy does not explicitly disclose the use of a control circuit or module, both Shippy and King disclose the use of circuitry in a host CPU to control execution in coprocessors or data processors by causing the data processor to operate in reduced power or low intensity modes. As the use of control circuitry is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art, the combination would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Shippy and Kirk fail to teach wherein the control circuitry is configured to reduce an outstanding task limit associated with the at least one execution unit when the outstanding task limit has been reached, wherein reducing the outstanding task limit comprises updating the outstanding task limit from a first limit to a second limit less than the first limit.
Desai teaches a data processing resource comprising an iterator unit and one or more execution units ([0037], [0042], [0054], host processor & virtual execution space) wherein control circuitry is configured to reduce an outstanding task limit associated with the at least one execution unit to limit a number of tasks that can be allocated to the at least one execution unit when the outstanding task limit has been reached, wherein reducing the outstanding task limit comprises updating the outstanding task limit from a first limit to a second limit less than the first limit ([0048], [0050], task management device, [0030], dynamic task control, [0063], [0067-0071], claim 14, management of outstanding tasks including throttling outstanding tasks to reduce or limit the amount of tasks to be processed by a given virtual datacenter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Shippy and King with those of Desai to reduce task allocation through limiting the allocation of tasks. While Shippy does not explicitly disclose that the disabling of front end circuitry in order to reduce outstanding tasks may be done by reducing the tasks allocated by the iterator unit, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that controlling scheduling circuitry is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. As both Shippy and Desai disclose techniques for reducing power consumption through reducing a number of outstanding tasks being executed, utilizing a control unit to dynamically control task allocation as taught by Desai would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to switch the operation mode of the at least one execution unit from the normal operation mode to the reduced operation mode upon receiving a stop notification to prepare the at least one execution unit for a stop (Shippy [0041], King [0022], use reduced power mode then power down processing unit).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 2, wherein the control circuitry is configured to complete the stop on the at least one execution unit to stop an operation of the at least one execution unit upon the at least one execution unit completing all allocated tasks (Shippy [0041], King [0022], power down processing unit when execution pipeline drains).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 3, wherein the control circuitry is configured to power down the at least one execution unit upon completing the stop (Shippy [0041], King [0022], power down the reduced power mode processing unit).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 2, wherein the stop notification comprises an indication of the at least one execution unit for the stop (King [0029], Shippy [0031], [0033], [0047], reducing power to individual redundant elements of CPU core or GPU).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to collect utilization data from the one or more execution units and provide the utilization data of the one or more execution units (King [0027-0031], collect runtime information containing previous execution history & information).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein upon receiving a power-down notification for a possible power down of the at least one execution unit, the control circuitry is configured to select the at least one execution unit switched to the reduced operation mode for power down (Shippy [0031], [0041], [0047], King [0022], power down the reduced power mode processing unit or individual elements of processor core).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein upon receiving a power-down notification for a possible power down of the at least one execution unit, the control circuitry is configured to monitor the at least one execution unit and override the power-down notification when the at least one execution unit meets one or more override criteria (Shippy [0027], King [0039], increase power of cores when necessary for workload processing).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 8, wherein the one or more override criteria comprise an expected increase in utilization, an actual increase in utilization, the at least one execution unit being reserved for a dedicated purpose, or a combination thereof (King [0035], [0038-0039], [0046], [0048-0049], increasing power to processing unit based on expected processing requirements).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 8, wherein the control circuitry is configured to power down the at least one execution unit switched to the reduced operation mode when the at least one execution unit does not meet the one or more override criteria (Shippy [0026-0027], King [0039], power down unnecessary cores according to expected workload requirements & current utilization).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the iterator unit to reduce the amount of task allocated to the at least one execution unit by controlling the iterator unit to stop allocating tasks to the at least one execution unit (Shippy [0032], [0041], reduce task allocation by disabling redundant front end resources that perform dispatch).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the iterator unit to reduce the amount of task allocated to the at least one execution unit by reducing a size of a task to be allocated to the execution unit (Shippy [0040-0041], reducing size of resources to have power reduced).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the iterator unit to reduce the amount of task allocated to the at least one execution unit by controlling the iterator unit to reduce a complexity of the one or more tasks to reduce an amount of processing required to perform the one or more tasks (Shippy [0040-0041], functional throttling of reduced power cores).
Claim 15 refers to a system embodiment of the data processing resource embodiment of claim 1 above, further comprising one or more input/output interfaces (Shippy [0030], I/O interfaces).
Claim 16 refers to a system embodiment of the data processing resource embodiment of claim 1 above, further comprising a system controller to manage power consumption of the data processing resource (Shippy [0021], CPU power management hardware).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing system of claim 16, wherein the control circuitry is configured to collect utilization data from the one or more execution units and provide the utilization data to the system controller (King [0027-0031], collect runtime information containing previous execution history & information); and the system controller is configured to monitor the utilization data of the one or more execution units and select the at least one execution unit to be switched to the reduced operation mode when the utilization of the at least one execution unit is declining (Shippy [0031], [0041], [0047], King [0022], power down the reduced power mode processing unit or individual elements of processor core according to execution workload requirements).
Claims 18, 19, and 20 refer to method embodiments of the resource embodiments of claims 1, 2, and the combination of claims 3 & 4, respectively. Therefore, the above rejections for claims 1-4 are applicable to claims 18-20.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Shippy, King, and Desai teaches the data processing resource of claim 1, wherein: the outstanding task limit comprises an outstanding fragment task limit for a fragment endpoint or the outstanding task limit comprises an outstanding compute task limit for a compute endpoint (Desai [0030], dynamic task control, [0063], [0067-0071], claim 14, management of outstanding tasks including throttling outstanding tasks to reduce or limit the amount of tasks to be processed by a given virtual datacenter).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Klein (US 2006/0156879) discloses a computing system that reduces a maximum outstanding task threshold for a remote end point.
/MICHAEL J METZGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183