DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. The restriction requirement between inventions, as set forth in the Office action mailed on 10/01/2025, has been reconsidered in view of the applicant’s remarks. The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2020/0058669; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen, in fig. 1, discloses a three-dimensional semiconductor memory device comprising: a first substrate 202; a peripheral circuit structure 206 on the first substrate 202; and a cell array structure 242 on the peripheral circuit structure 206, wherein the cell array structure 242 includes: a second substrate 244; a stack structure 242 between the second substrate 244 and the peripheral circuit structure 206, the stack structure 242 including a plurality of interlayer dielectric layers 236 and a plurality of conductive patterns 234 that are stacked alternately with the plurality of interlayer dielectric layers 236 ([0053]); a plurality of vertical channel structures 228 that include respective portions in the stack structure 242 and include a plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228, respectively ([0054]); and a plurality of connection vias 251 that include respective portions in the second substrate 244 and are connected to respective top surfaces of the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of connection vias 251 include a semiconductor material ([0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of connection vias 251 include a polycrystalline silicon layer having a first conductivity type ([0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses wherein the cell array structure 242 includes a cell array area (the area 242 having channel region 228) and a cell array contact area (staircase area), the plurality of vertical channel structures 228 include a plurality of first vertical channel structures 228 on the cell array area and a plurality of second vertical channel structures 228 on the cell array contact area, and the plurality of connection vias 251 overlap the plurality of first vertical channel structures 228, respectively, and do not overlap the plurality of second vertical channel structures 228 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of vertical channel structures 228 include, respectively, a plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229 that are surrounded by the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228, respectively, the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228 include: a plurality of first parts that extend on respective sidewalls of the plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229; and a plurality of second parts that extend on respective top surfaces of the plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229, and the plurality of connection vias 251 are in contact with the plurality of second parts, respectively (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of vertical channel structures 228 include, respectively, a plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229 that are surrounded by the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228, respectively, and the plurality of connection vias 251 contact respective top surfaces of the plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229 and the respective top surfaces of the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of connection vias include a void or seam therein (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein the cell array structure further includes an etch stop layer between the second substrate 244 and the stack structure 242 ([0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the etch stop layer includes a metal oxide layer ([0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein an interface between one of the plurality of connection vias 251 and one of the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228 is in the etch stop layer (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses wherein the cell array structure further includes a common source region in the second substrate, the common source region having a second conductivity type ([0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein the cell array structure further includes: a common source line on the second substrate 244; and a source via 251 that connects the common source line to the common source region, the source via 251 being in the second substrate 244 ([0056]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen, in fig. 1, discloses an electronic system comprising: a three-dimensional semiconductor memory device that includes a first substrate 202, a peripheral circuit structure 206 on the first substrate 202, and a cell array structure 242 on the peripheral circuit structure, the cell array structure 242 including a cell array area (the area 242 having channel region 228) and a cell array contact area (staircase area); and a controller electrically connected through an input/output pad to the three-dimensional semiconductor memory device ([0050]), the controller being configured to control the three-dimensional semiconductor memory device, wherein the cell array structure 242 includes: a second substrate 244; a stack structure 242 between the second substrate 244 and the peripheral circuit structure 206, the stack structure 242 including a plurality of interlayer dielectric layers 236 and a plurality of conductive patterns 234 that are stacked alternately with the plurality of interlayer dielectric layers 236 ([0053]); a plurality of vertical channel structures 228 that include respective portions in the stack structure 242 and include, respectively, a plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228 ([0054]); and a plurality of connection vias 251 that include respective portions in the second substrate 244 and are connected to respective top surfaces of the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2020/0058669) in view of Zhang et al. (US 12,082,411; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 13, Chen, in fig. 1, discloses a three-dimensional semiconductor memory device comprising: a first substrate 202; a peripheral circuit structure 206 on the first substrate 202; and a cell array structure 242 on the peripheral circuit structure 206, wherein the cell array structure 242 includes: a second substrate 244; a stack structure 242 between the second substrate 244 and the peripheral circuit structure 206, the stack structure 242 including a plurality of interlayer dielectric layers 236 and a plurality of conductive patterns 234 that are stacked alternately with the plurality of interlayer dielectric layers 236 ([0053]); a plurality of vertical channel structures 228 that include respective portions in the stack structure 242 and include a plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228; a plurality of connection vias 251 that include respective portions in the second substrate 244 and are connected to respective top surfaces of the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228; a plurality of cell contact plugs 258 that are connected to the plurality of conductive patterns 234, respectively; a plurality of bit lines connected 226 to the plurality of cell contact plugs 258, respectively.
Chen discloses a semiconductor device as above but fails to disclose common source line on the second substrate and connected to the source vias.
However, Zhang, fig. 3, discloses a plurality of source vias 332 that include respective portions in the second substrate 322 (col. 13, lines 36-43); and a common source line 336/210 on the second substrate 322 and connected to the source vias 332 (col. 13, line 62 through col. 14, line 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a common source line as taught by Zhang, since the source of NAND memory string is electrically connected to the part of peripheral circuit for controlling/sensing the source of NAND memory string through the source line.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of connection vias 251 include a polycrystalline silicon layer having a first conductivity type ([0056]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses wherein the cell array structure 242 includes a cell array area (the area 242 having channel region 228) and a cell array contact area (staircase area), the plurality of vertical channel structures 228 include a plurality of first vertical channel structures 228 on the cell array area and a plurality of second vertical channel structures 228 on the cell array contact area, and the plurality of connection vias 251 overlap the plurality of first vertical channel structures 228, respectively, and do not overlap the plurality of second vertical channel structures 228 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of vertical channel structures 228 include, respectively, a plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229 that are surrounded by the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228, respectively, the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228 include: a plurality of first parts that extend on respective sidewalls of the plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229; and a plurality of second parts that extend on respective top surfaces of the plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229, and the plurality of connection vias 251 are in contact with the plurality of second parts, respectively (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses wherein the plurality of vertical channel structures 228 include, respectively, a plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229 that are surrounded by the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228, respectively, and the plurality of connection vias 251 contact respective top surfaces of the plurality of buried dielectric patterns 229 and the respective top surfaces of the plurality of vertical semiconductor patterns 228 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses wherein the cell array structure further includes an etch stop layer between the second substrate 244 and the stack structure 242 ([0058]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses wherein the etch stop layer includes a metal oxide layer ([0058]).
Conclusion
4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818