DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The current Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on January 22, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant argues that it would be premature to file a terminal disclaimer since no claims have been indicated as allowable. This argument is similar to the arguments made in the responses filed on October 10, 2024 and July 14, 2025. However, as noted in the previous Office action, the rejection will not be held in abeyance. A reply showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer is required. See MPEP 804.1(B).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Chandwadkar fails to disclose supplemental sensors. As currently written, the claim states that the plurality of supplemental sensors is associated with the add-on system. The claim does not define the sensors being a part of the add-on system. The add-on system is not defined by the claim. Chandwadkar discloses sensors in [0069].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11744529 (notated as Yifat ‘529). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower claims of the previous application anticipate the broader claims of the current application.
Regarding claim 1:
Yifat ‘529 discloses a supplementary collision detection and prevention system for use in combination with medical imaging equipment which includes a native anti-collision mechanism having native sensors and an add-on system, the supplementary collision detection and prevention system comprising:
a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system, wherein the plurality of supplemental sensors is any one of a proximity sensor and/or contact sensor, and/or an inertial motion sensor, and/or an operator detection sensor, and/or an electrical current sensor configured to facilitate prevention or protection from collision with an entity (Claim 1); and
an interface configured to receive communication from at least one of the plurality of supplemental sensors and to transmit a signal to the native anti-collision mechanism to actuate an anti-collision operation of the medical imaging equipment to avoid or mitigate a collision (Claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandwadkar (2018/0289342) in view of Belson (U.S. 2009/0232282).
Regarding claim 1:
Chandwadkar discloses a supplementary collision detection and prevention system for use in combination with medical imaging equipment which comprises a native anti-collision mechanism having native sensors and an add-on system, the supplementary collision detection and prevention system comprising:
a plurality of supplemental sensors ([0069], proximity sensors), wherein the plurality of supplemental sensors is any one of a proximity sensor ([0069], proximity sensors) and/or contact sensor, and/or an inertial motion sensor, and/or an operator detection sensor, and/or an electrical current sensor configured to facilitate prevention or protection from collision with an entity; and
an interface ([0068], anti-collision unit) configured to receive communication from at least one of the plurality of supplemental sensors ([0068], sensor communicates with anti-collision unit) and to transmit a signal that actuates an anti-collision operation of the medical imaging equipment ([0068], signal cause holding or slowing of moving part), and/or actuates said add-on system thereof, to avoid or mitigate a collision ([0068], signal cause holding or slowing of moving part to avoid collision).
However, Chandwadkar fails to disclose a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system.
Belson teaches a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system ([0050], shield has sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sensors of Chandwakar with the shield taught by Belson in order to protect the operator from being exposed to X-rays (Belson; [0008]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884