DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 10/17/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of Group A Species vi (Fig. 14-19) and Group B Species vii (Fig. 14-17) in the reply filed on 10/17/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/25.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a tensioning mechanism” in claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a tensioning mechanism”, it is unclear to the examiner if this is the same or different than the “tensioning mechanism” introduced in claim 1. It appears to the examiner that it is the same and it should be –the tensioning mechanism--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lantz et al. (2020/0022693).
Lantz discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claim 1: A system (5) ([0092]) for repairing or reconstructing soft tissue, the system comprising: an instrument (20) (Fig. 61 and [0092]) having a handle (300) (Fig. 61 and [0134]) an extension (110) (Fig. 61), the extension opposite the handle (Fig. 61); an implant (10) (Fig. 21 and [0134]), releasably engaged with the instrument (Fig. 19); and a suture (105) threaded through at least a portion of the implant (Fig. 24), wherein the suture is engaged with a tensioning mechanism (wishbone mechanism seen in Fig. 61 and [0134-146] where it is all the parts that go inside housing 305) of the instrument (Fig. 61) .
Claim 2: wherein the implant comprises: a top portion (see figure below); a bottom portion (see figure below); and a body portion (see figure below) disposed between the top portion and the bottom portion (see figure below), wherein the top portion, the bottom portion, and the body portion are arranged about a common longitudinal axis (see figure below) and is monolithic (see figure below).
Claim 3: wherein the implant is cannulated (50) (Fig. 23 and [0093]) through the top portion and at least a portion of at least one of the body portion and the bottom portion (Fig. 23 and [0093]).
Claim 4: wherein the implant further comprises: at least one vent (85) disposed along an outer surface of at least one of the top portion and the body portion (see figure below), wherein the at least one vent establishes fluid communication between the outer surface and an inner surface the implant (see figure below)
Claim 9: wherein the implant is releasably couplable with a tip (tip seen in Fig. 33 and 34) of the extension of the implant instrument (Fig. 33-34).
Claim 10: wherein the instrument comprises a tensioning mechanism (wishbone mechanism seen in Fig. 61 and [0134-146] where it is all the parts that go inside housing 305) disposed within a housing (305) of the instrument (Fig. 61 and [0134-146]).
Claim 11: wherein the tensioning mechanism comprises: a first arm (see figure below); a second arm (see figure below); and a resilient member (see figure below).
Claim 12: wherein the second arm is pivotably coupled with the first arm (see figure below).
Claim 13: wherein the instrument further comprises: a track (path where suture passes as seen in Fig. 72) disposed on at least a portion of an outer surface of the handle (Fig. 72), wherein the track is configured to receive at least a portion of the suture at least partially therein (Fig. 72)
Claim 14: wherein the second arm comprises an engagement portion (see figure above) configured to engage with at least a portion of the suture (see figure below), wherein the engagement portion is arranged adjacent to at least a portion of the track (Fig. 68-72)
Claim 15: wherein the resilient member is a spring (340) (Fig. 61 and [0134-146]).
Claim 16: wherein actuation of at least one of the first arm and the second arm compresses the spring ([0144]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri et al. (2006/0276841) in view of Martinek et al. (2005/0240199).
Barbieri discloses the following claimed limitations:
Claims 1 and 10:
Barbieri discloses a system for repairing or reconstructing soft tissue, the system comprising: an instrument (12) (Fig. 1 and [0089]) having a handle (14) (Fig. 1 and [0089]) an extension (16) (Fig. 1 and [0089]), the extension opposite the handle (Fig. 1); an implant (28, 112) (Fig. 1 and 29), releasably engaged with the instrument (Fig. 17-18); and a suture (22) threaded through at least a portion of the implant (Fig. 1, 12, 13, and 35).
Barbieri discloses all the claimed limitations above including a delivery instrument (Fig. 1), however Barbieri does not specify the details of the delivery instrument specifically a tensioning mechanism.
Martinek discloses the same delivery instrument as Barbieri however Martinek discloses the details of the instrument including a tenisoning mechanism (116) disposed within a housing (102) of the instrument (Fig. 1-4 and [0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Barbieri with the tensioning mechanism in view of the teachings of Martinek, in order to maintain the suture tension during the procedure ([0051]).
Barbieri further discloses:
Claim 2: wherein the implant comprises: a top portion (see figure below); a bottom portion (see figure below); and a body portion (see figure below) disposed between the top portion and the bottom portion (see figure below), wherein the top portion, the bottom portion, and the body portion are arranged about a common longitudinal axis (33) and is monolithic (see figure below).
Claim 3: wherein the implant is cannulated (120) (Fig. 28, 29, 32, and 33 and [0114]) through the top portion and at least a portion of at least one of the body portion and the bottom portion (see figure below and Fig. 28, 29, 32, and 33 and [0114]).
Claim 4: wherein the implant further comprises: at least one vent (118) disposed along an outer surface of at least one of the top portion and the body portion (see figure below), wherein the at least one vent establishes fluid communication between the outer surface and an inner surface the implant (Fig. 28, 29, 32, and 33)
Claim 5: wherein the implant further comprises: a threading (116, see figure below) disposed along at least a portion of the outer surface of the top portion and the body portion (see figure below), wherein the threading comprises a plurality of threads equidistantly spaced from one another (Fig. 28, 29, 32, and 33 and [0114]).
Claim 6: wherein the threading is configured to span at least a portion of the at least one vent (see figure below).
Claim 7: wherein the implant further comprises: at least one tap (see figure below) arranged on an outer surface of the bottom portion of the implant (see figure below).
Claim 8: wherein the at least one tap comprises a plurality of taps (see figure below) arranged about the outer surface of the bottom portion of the implant (see figure below), wherein the plurality of taps protrude from the outer surface and are equidistantly spaced from one another (see figure below).
Claim 9: wherein the implant is releasably couplable with a tip (18) of the extension of the implant instrument (Fig. 1 and [0089]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art appears to teach the claimed limitations when considered alone or in combination.
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771