Notice of Pre-AIA \ or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 4/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tong CN205211802
With respect to claim 1, Tong discloses a battery cell, [Figure 1] comprising:
a housing (top cover plate 1 and casing in which battery is held) [0014; 0021; Figure 1] the housing having a stepped structure 3/31/32 at an end portion in a first direction [Figures 4-5]
an electrode assembly, disposed within the housing, the electrode assembly comprising an electrode tab [0046-0050]; and
a first connector 211/212, disposed at the stepped structure 3/31/32, the first connector 211/212 comprising a first pin 211, and the first pin 211 being connected to the electrode tab of the electrode assembly [0045-0048], and the first connector 211/212 being configured to be capable of being plugged with an external connector 6 to achieve electrical connection.[0059-0062]
With respect to claim 2, Tong discloses wherein:
the stepped structure 3/31/32 comprises a first stepped surface 31 perpendicular to the first direction and a second stepped surface 32 perpendicular to a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction [Figure 6]; and
the first connector 211/212 is disposed:
on the second stepped surface 32, with the first pin 211 being parallel to the first stepped surface 31 and extending in the third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction. [Figure 6]
With respect to claim 3, Tong discloses wherein: the first connector 211/212 is disposed on the second stepped surface, and in the second direction, a length of the first connector 211/212 protruding from the second stepped surface 32 is not greater than a length of the first stepped surface 31 protruding from the second stepped surface 32 [Figure 6].
With respect to claim 4, Tong discloses wherein a length of the first connector 211/212 in the third direction is not greater than a length of the housing in the third direction. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 5, Tong discloses wherein the first connector 211/212 further comprises a first plugging frame [Figure 2; Figure 6], and the external connector 6 comprises a second plugging frame 62 and a second pin [Figures 8-9], and the first plugging frame is configured to be plugged with the second plugging frame such that the first pin 211 and the second pin are connected. [Figures 6-9;0046-0050; 0060-0070]
With respect to claim 9, Tong discloses wherein:
the electrode tab is a first electrode tab, and the electrode assembly further comprises a second electrode tab; [0047;
the first connector 211/212 is one of a plurality of first connectors 211/212 provided at two ends of the housing in the first direction; [0046-0047]
the first connectors 211/212 are respectively connected to the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab; and polarities of the first electrode tab and the second electrode tab are opposite. [0046-0047]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong CN205211802 as applied to claims 1 above in further view of Rieder et al. (US 2021/0265750)
With respect to claim 10, Tong discloses a battery, comprising: a plurality of battery cells each being the battery cell according to claim 1. [0008-0010]
Tong does not specifically disclose a plurality of external connectors configured to be plugged with first connectors of the plurality of battery cells respectively to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells.
Rieder et al. discloses
A battery, comprising: a plurality of battery cells each being the battery cell comprising:
a housing [Figure 1; 0019], the housing having a stepped structure at an end portion in a first direction [Figure 1];
a first connector 18/10, disposed at the stepped structure, the first connector 18/10 comprising a first pin 18 [Figure 1], and the first connector 18/10 being configured to be capable of being plugged with an external connector 26/24/22 to achieve electrical connection. [Figure 1; 0035-0045]
and a plurality of external connectors 26/24/22 configured to be plugged with first connectors 18/10 of the plurality of battery cells respectively to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells. [Figures 1-5]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Tong to have included a plurality of external connectors, as disclosed in Rieder et al., in order to allow for decreased assembly time and increased safety.
With respect to claim 11, Tong discloses wherein the plurality of the external connectors are integrally provided as a connection row. [0012-0020; 0046-0060]
Rieder et al. discloses wherein the plurality of the external connectors are integrally provided as a connection row. [Figures 1-5]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Tong to have included a plurality of external connectors, as disclosed in Rieder et al., in order to allow for decreased assembly time and increased safety.
With respect to claim 12, Tong discloses the stepped structure 3/31/32 comprises a first stepped surface 31 perpendicular to the first direction and a second stepped surface 32 perpendicular to a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction [Fig 6]; and
after the connection row is plugged with the first connector 211/212:
in the second direction, a first distance of the connection row from the second stepped surface is not greater than a length of the first stepped surface protruding from the second stepped surface, wherein the first distance is a distance from the second stepped surface at a position on the connection row farthest from the second stepped surface in the second direction; [Figure 6]
With respect to claim 13, Tong does not specifically disclose a power consumption device, comprising: the battery being configured to provide electric energy for the power consumption device. [0002-0009]
Rieder et al. discloses a power consumption device, comprising: the battery being configured to provide electric energy for the power consumption device. [0035]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Tong to have included the battery for a power consumption device, as disclosed in Rieder et al., in order to allow for decreased assembly time and increased safety of the power consumption device.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong CN205211802 as applied to claims 5 above in further view of Tong ‘571 CN106816571.
With respect to claim 6, Tong does not specifically disclose wherein the first connector further comprises a third pin configured to sample the battery cell.
Tong ‘571 discloses wherein the first connector further comprises a third pin configured to sample the battery cell. [Abstract; 0043-0055]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Tong to have included a sampling pin, as disclosed in Tong ‘571, in order to allow for production efficiency and lower manufacturing costs.
With respect to claim 7, Tong discloses wherein the first connector 211/212 further comprises a third plugging frame 212/3 [Figure 1-2], the external connector 6 further comprises a fourth plugging frame 62 and a fourth pin 61 [Figure 8], and the third plugging frame 212/3 is configured to be plugged with the fourth plugging frame 62 [0046-0064]
Tong does not disclose wherein the third pin and the fourth pin are connected.
Tong ‘571 discloses wherein the first connector further comprises a third pin configured to sample the battery cell plugged with the external connector. [Abstract; 0043-0055]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Tong to have included a sampling pin, as disclosed in Tong ‘571, in order to allow for production efficiency and lower manufacturing costs.
With respect to claim 8, Tong discloses wherein the first plugging frame and the third plugging frame are arranged in the third direction z, and the second plugging frame and the fourth plugging frame are arranged in the third direction z. [Figures 1-2 & 8]
12. The battery according to claim 11, wherein:
the stepped structure 3/31/32 comprises a first stepped surface perpendicular to the first direction and a second stepped surface perpendicular to a second direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; and
after the connection row is plugged with the first connector:
in the second direction, a first distance of the connection row from the second stepped surface is not greater than a length of the first stepped surface protruding from the second stepped surface, wherein the first distance is a distance from the second stepped surface at a position on the connection row farthest from the second stepped surface in the second direction; or
in the first direction, a second distance of the connection row from the first stepped surface is not greater than a length of the second stepped surface protruding from the first stepped surface, wherein the second distance is a distance from the first stepped surface at a position on the connection row farthest from the first stepped surface in the first direction.
Conclusion
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751