DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgment has been made to the amendment received on 05/05/2026. Claims 1-13 and 21-27 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-13, 22-23, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin et al (US20220208748A1).
Re claim 1 Rabkin teaches a memory device (fig 30A) comprising a memory die wherein the memory die (fig 30A) [0237] comprises:
an alternating stack of insulating layers (32, fig 30A) [0062] and electrically conductive layers (46, fig 30A) [0107] that overlies a backside dielectric material layer (250, fig30A) [0156];
a memory opening (49, fig 30A) [0096] vertically extending through the alternating stack (32/46, fig 30A) [0063, 0107];
a memory opening fill structure (58, fig 30A) [0096] located in the memory opening (49, fig 30A) [0096] and comprising a vertical stack of memory elements (fig 29G)[0262] and a vertical semiconductor channel (60L, fig 29G) [0261];
memory-side metal interconnect structures (98/94/96/168/178 fig 30A) [0117] embedded within memory-side dielectric material layers (160, 90, fig 30A A) [ 0117] that overlie the alternating stack (32, 46, fig 30A) [0096]; and
a conductive via structure (8P/194, fig 30A) [0117] vertically extending between one of the memory-side metal interconnect structures (168, fig 30A) and the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A) [0248]
wherein an entirety of an end surface of the conductive via structure (end of 8p/194, fig 30A) is in contact with the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A).
Rabkin (fig 30A) do not teach a backside boding pad located on the backside dielectric material layer.
Rabkin (fig 30E) does teach a backside bonding pad (336) [0275] located on the backside dielectric material layer (210) [0156].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Rabkin to include a backside boding pad located on the backside dielectric material layer as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin in the above manner for the purpose of improving the pad area aspect ratio and to improve step coverage at pad area [0236].
Re claim 2 Rabkin teaches the memory device of claim 1, further comprising a source layer (261, fig 30A) [0248] underlying the alternating stack (32/46), overlying a portion of the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A) [ Rabkin, 0248], and contacting a bottom end of the vertical semiconductor channel (60L, fig 30A) [0083].
Re claim 3 Rabkin teaches the memory device of claim 2,
the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A) [0248] has a contoured bottom surface (32C) [0290] such that a bottom surface of a first portion (left side portion of 261, fig 30A) [0248] of the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A) that underlies the memory opening fill structure (58, fig 30A) [0095] is recessed below (210, FIG 32C-32D) [0292] a horizontal plane including a bottom surface of a second portion (261 below 84, fig 30A) of the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A) that underlies the conductive via structure (8p/194, fig 30A) [0143]; and
the second portion of the backside dielectric material layer (261 below 84, fig 30A) [0248]has a same thickness as the first portion (261 below 58, fig 30A) of the backside dielectric material layer (210, fig 30A) [0290].
Re claim 4 Rabkin teaches the memory device of Claim 1, wherein the conductive via
structure (8p/194, g30A) [0143] vertically extends at least from a first horizontal plane including a top surface of a bottommost insulating layer (210, fig 30A) [0248] within the alternating stack (32/46) [0107] to a second horizontal plane (top plane of top 32, fig 30A) [0061] including a top
surface of a topmost insulating layer (top of 210) within the alternating stack (fig 30A) [0270].
Re claim 5 Rabkin teaches, the memory device of Claim 4, wherein the conductive via
structure (84, fig 30A) [0143] is not direct contact with any conductive material or with any semiconductor material located below the first horizontal plane (horizontal plane of 210, fig 30A).
Re claim 6 Rabkin teaches, the memory device of Claim 1, wherein:
the memory opening fill structure (58, fig 30A) [0095] further comprises a drain region (63, fig 5F) [0094] contacting a top end of the vertical semiconductor channel (60L, fig 0089]; the memory-side metal interconnect structures (168/98/94/96, fig 30A) [0117] comprise a bit line (98, fig 30A) [0116] that is electrically connected to the drain region (60L, fig 30) through at least one metal via structure (88, fig 30A) [0114]; and
the conductive via structure (8p, fig 30) is electrically connected to the bit line (98/96, fig 30A) through at least one additional metal via structure (194, fig 30A) [114].
Re claim 7 Rabkin teaches, the memory device of Claim 1, further comprising: memory-
side bonding pads (178, fig 30A) embedded within the memory-side dielectric material layers (140, fig 30 A) and electrically connected to the memory-side metal interconnect structures(168, fig30A) [0117]; and
a logic die (700, fig 30A) [0118] comprising a peripheral circuit (700, fig 30A) [0118],
logic-side metal interconnect structures (780, fig 30A) [0120] embedded in logic-side dielectric material layers [760, fig 30A) [0120] and electrically connected to the peripheral circuit (710, fig 30A) [0118], and logic-side bonding pads (788, fig 30 A) [0120] electrically connected to the logic-side metal interconnect structures (780, fig 30A) [012] and bonded to the memory -side bonding pads (788, fig 30A) [0120].
Re claim 12 Rapkin the memory device of Claim 1, further comprising a dielectric material portion (65, fig 30A) [0075] located adjacent to the alternating stack (32/46, fig 30A) and having a same vertical extent (top to bottom) as that alternating stack (32/46, fig 30A) [0107], wherein the conductive via structure (8p, fig 30A) [0113] vertically extends through, and is in contact with (8p, fig 30A) [0113] is in contact with, the dielectric material portion (65, fig 30A) [0075].
Re claim 13 Rabkin teaches, the memory device of Claim 1, wherein:
the memory-side metal interconnect structures (168/98/96/94, fig 30A) comprise a plurality of bit lines (98/96/94, fig 30A) that are laterally spaced (98/96/94 are laterally spaced, fig 30A) from each other along a first horizontal direction (left to right) and laterally extend along a second horizontal direction (top to bottom, fig 30);
the memory-side metal interconnect structures (168/98/96/94, fig 30A) [0270] further comprise a plurality of dummy bit lines (left and right 94 of 8p, fig 30A, [0116] (electrically isolated from each other) [0116] that are laterally spaced from each other along the first horizontal direction and laterally spaced from the plurality of bit lines along the second horizontal direction by a dielectric filled gap (90, fig 30A) [0115]; and
the conductive via structure (8p, fig 30A) is electrically connected to the plurality of dummy bit lines (right 94, fig 30A) and is electrically isolated from each of the plurality of bit lines (8p is isolated from 98, fig 30A).
Re claim 22 Rabkin teaches the memory device of Claim 1,
Rabkin fig 30A does not teach the conductive via structure is located in a dummy memory block area of the memory array region that is laterally spaced from active memory blocks containing the memory opening fill structures configured to store data; and
the dummy memory block area is separated from the active memory blocks by at least one backside trench that extends through the alternating stack.
Rabkin fig 12A teach the conductive via structure (right 86, fig 12A) is located in a dummy memory block area (300, seen in fig 8) of the memory array region (300/100) that is laterally spaced from active memory blocks (100) containing the memory opening fill structures (58, fig 12A) [0095] configured to store data [0093]; and
the dummy memory block area (300), fig 12A) is separated from the active memory blocks (100, fig 12A) by at least one backside trench (79, fig 10B/12A) [0112] that extends through the alternating stack (46/32, fig 12A) [0112].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Rabkin to include the conductive via structure is located in a dummy memory block area of the memory array region that is laterally spaced from active memory blocks containing the memory opening fill structures configured to store data; and
the dummy memory block area is separated from the active memory blocks by at least one backside trench that extends through the alternating stack as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin in the above manner for the purpose of prevent leakage.
Re claim 23 Rabkin teaches the memory device of Claim 1,
Rabkin fig 30A does not teach the conductive via structure is electrically connected to at least one bit line of the memory-side metal interconnect structures through at least one discharge-path via structure.
Rabkin fig 13A teaches the conductive via structure (86, fig 13A) [0113] is electrically connected to at least one bit line (98, 96) [0115] of the memory-side metal interconnect structures through at least one discharge-path via structure (196, fig 13A) [0114].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Rabkin to include the conductive via structure is electrically connected to at least one bit line of the memory-side metal interconnect structures through at least one discharge-path via structure as claimed.
Re claim 26 Rabkin teaches the memory device of Claim 1, wherein: the memory-side metal interconnect structures (168/98/96/94, fig 30A) comprise a plurality of active bit lines (98/96/94, fig 30A ) that are laterally spaced from each other along a first horizontal direction (x-axis ) and a plurality of dummy bit lines (left and right 94, 96 of 8p, fig 30A) [0116] and the conductive via structure (middle 86) is electrically connected to the plurality of dummy bit lines (96, fig 13A) and is electrically isolated (due to 90) from each of the plurality of active bit lines (98, fig 13A).
Rabkin fig 30A do not teach the plurality of active bit lines that are laterally spaced from each other along a first horizontal direction and plurality of dummy bit lines along a second horizontal direction by a dielectric- filled cut trench; and
Rabkin fig 13A teach the plurality of active bit lines (plurality of 98s, fig 13A) that are laterally spaced from each other along a first horizontal direction (x-axis) and plurality of dummy bit lines (94, fig 13A) along a second horizontal direction by a dielectric- filled cut trench (middle 90, fig 13A);
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught Rabkin to include the plurality of active bit lines that are laterally spaced from each other along a first horizontal direction and plurality of dummy bit lines along a second horizontal direction by a dielectric-filled cut trench as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin in the above manner for the purpose of reducing the crosstalk.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin et al (US 20220208748A1) in view of Baraskar et al (US 202110408032A1).
Re claim 8 Rabkin teaches, the memory device of Claim 1,
Rabkin does not teach the conductive via structure vertically extends through and is
laterally surrounded by each electrically conductive layer within the alternating stack.
Baraskar teaches, the conductive via structure (76, fig 15A) [0153] vertically extends through and is laterally surrounded by each electrically conductive layer (46, fig 15A) within the alternating stack (32/46, fig 15A) [0142].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Baraskar into the structure of Rabkin to include the conductive via structure vertically extends through and is laterally surrounded by each electrically conductive layer within the alternating stack as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Baraskar in the above manner for the purpose of improve electrical performance.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin et al (US 20220208748A1) modified by Baraskar et al (US 202110408032A1) as applied to claim 8 and further in view of Otsu et al (US 20200343258A1).
Re claim 9 Rabkin in view of Baraskar teach the memory device of claim 8 ,
the memory device (15A) [0142] comprises a vertical stack of cylindrical dielectric semiconductor oxide portions (44, fig 12) [Baraskar 0141] that laterally surrounds the conductive via (76, fig 15) structure and contacts the electrically conductive layers (46A/46B, fig 15) [Barasakar 0141].
Rabkin and Baraskar do not teach the conductive via structure comprises a doped semiconductor material.
Otsu teaches the conductive via structure (76, fig 25) [0124] comprises a doped semiconductor material [0124].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Otsu into the structure of Rabkin and Baraskar to include teach the conductive via structure comprises a doped semiconductor material as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin and Baraskar based on the teaching of Otsu in the above manner for the purpose of improving conductivity.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin in view of Otsu et al (US 20200343258A1).
Re claim 10 Rabkin does not teach the memory device of Claim 1,
Rabkin does not teach a vertical stack of dielectric material plates and interlaced with the insulating layers within the alternating stack along a vertical direction,
wherein each dielectric material plate within the vertical stack of dielectric material plates is located at a level of, and is contact with, a respective electrically conductive layer of the electrically conductive layers, and the conductive via structure vertically extends through the vertical stack of dielectric material plates and each insulating layer within the alternating stack.
Otsu teaches a vertical stack of dielectric material plates (74, fig 25) [0121] and interlaced with the insulating lay (232, fig25) [0077] within the alternating stack (232/2426, fig25) [0077] along a vertical direction (top to bottom, fig 25).
wherein each dielectric material plate (74, fig 25) within the vertical stack of dielectric
material plates (74, fig 25) is located at a level of, and is contact with, a respective electrically conductive layer (246, fig 25) [0122] of the electrically conductive layers (246, fig 25), and the conductive via structure (76, fig 25) [0124] vertically extends through the vertical stack of dielectric material plates (74, fig 25) and each insulating layer (232, fig 25) within the alternating stack (232/246, fig 25) [0122].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Otsu into the structure of Rabkin to include a vertical stack of dielectric material plates and interlaced with the insulating layers within the alternating stack along a vertical direction ,
wherein each dielectric material plate within the vertical stack of dielectric material plates is located at a level of, and is contact with, a respective electrically conductive layer of the electrically conductive layers, and the conductive via structure vertically extends through the vertical stack of dielectric material plates and each insulating layer within the alternating stack as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin based on the teaching of Otsu in the above manner for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance.
Re claim 11 Rabkin in view of Otsu teach the memory device of Claim 10, wherein the conductive via structure (76, fig 25) [Rabkin, 0124] comprises a metallic material [Rabkin, 0124] and is in contact with the vertical stack of dielectric material plates (74, fig 25) and each insulating layer (232, fig 25) [Rabkin, 0077] within the alternating stack (232/246, fig 25) [Rabkin, 0077].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin in view of Chen et al (US20160093572A1).
Re claim 21 Rabkin teaches the memory device of Claim 1, wherein: the backside bonding pad (336, fig 30E) [0275] underlies a first horizontal plane (bottom of 336, fig 30E) including a bottommost surface (top of 318, fig 30E) [0274] of the electrically conductive layers (318, 271, 261, fig 30E) [0274];
Rabkin does not teach the conductive via structure is electrically isolated from the backside bonding pad.
Chen teaches the conductive via structure (304, fig 8) [0029] is electrically isolated (dummy) from the backside bonding pad (608, fig 8) [0029].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Chen into the structure of Rabkin to include teach the conductive via structure is electrically isolated from the backside bonding pad as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin in the above manner for the purpose of preventing irregularities in the ground substrate surface. [0011].
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabkin et al (US 20220208748A1) in view of Otsu et al (US 20200343258A1) and Baraskar et al (US 202110408032A1).
Re claim 24 Rabkin teach the memory device of claim 1,
Rabkin do not each the conductive via structure comprises a doped silicon material,
Otsu teaches the conductive via structure (76, fig 25) [0124] comprises a doped semiconductor material [0124].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by otsu into the structure of Rabkin to include the conductive via structure comprises a doped silicon mater as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin based on the teaching of Otsu in the above manner for the purpose of improving conductivity.
Rabkin and Otsu do not teach the memory device further comprises a vertical stack of cylindrical silicon oxide portions that laterally surround the conductive via structure and contact each of the electrically conductive layers within the alternating stack.
Baraskar teaches the memory device (15A) [0142] comprises a vertical stack of cylindrical dielectric semiconductor oxide portions (44, fig 12) [Baraskar 0141] that laterally surrounds the conductive via (76, fig 15) structure and contacts the electrically conductive layers (46A/46B, fig 15) [Baraskar 0141].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Baraskar into the structure of Rabkin and Otsu to include the memory device further comprises a vertical stack of cylindrical silicon oxide portions that laterally surround the conductive via structure and contact each of the electrically conductive layers within the alternating stack as claimed.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin and Otsu based on the teaching of Baraskar in the above manner for the purpose of improving device functionality.
Further, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within th level of ordinary skill in the art.In re Dailey , 357 F.2d 669, 149USPQ 47 (CCP 1966) and it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Re claim 25 Rabkin teaches the memory device of Claim 1,
Rabkin do not teach a vertical stack of dielectric material plat in a dummy memory block area, wherein each dielectric material plate is located at a level of a respective electrically conductive layer , and wherein the conductive via structure vertically extends through the vertical stack of dielectric material plates and each insulating layer.
Otsu teaches a vertical stack of dielectric material plates (74, fig 25) interlaced with the insulating layers (232, fig25) within a portion of the alternating stack (232/2426, fig25) [0077] ) in a dummy memory block area, wherein each dielectric material plate (74 ) is located at a level of a respective electrically conductive layer 246, fig 25) [0125), and wherein the conductive via structure (76, fig 25) [0124] vertically extends through the vertical stack of dielectric material plates(74, fig 25) and each insulating layer (232, fig 25).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Otsu into the structure of Rabkin to include each dielectric material plate within the vertical stack of dielectric material plates is located at a level of, and is contact with, a respective electrically conductive layer of the electrically conductive layers, and the conductive via structure vertically extends through the vertical stack of dielectric material plates and each insulating layer within the alternating stack as as claimed.
the ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Rabkin based on the teaching of Otsu in the above manner for the purpose of reducing parasitic capacitance., further it has been held that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected toas being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if written in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRATIKSHA JAYANT LOHAKARE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 6/29/26