DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0044970 A1) in view of Sekiya (PG Pub. No. US 2019/0206734 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagaoka teaches a manufacturing method of a semiconductor apparatus, comprising:
preparing a wafer (¶ 0174: W) on which an adhesion layer (¶ 0186: 26) is provided in an outer peripheral region of a front surface (fig. 3: 26 provided in an outer peripheral front surface of W);
applying a protective tape (¶ 0183: protective film 22; since protective film is adhered to W, it meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “protective tape”) on the front surface of the wafer (fig. 3: 22 applied on front surface 2 of W), wherein the protective tape is applied on the adhesion layer (fig. 3: 2 applied on 26);
cutting a front surface of the protective tape (¶¶ 0171, 0185: at least a front surface of 22 cut to have same shape as W); and
grinding a back surface of the wafer while holding the wafer by a grinding apparatus (¶¶ 0171, 0221 & figs. 10-11, 17: back surface 4 of W ground while holding W by non-illustrated grinding apparatus).
Nagaoka fails to explicitly teach the step of grinding the back surface of the wafer includes holding the wafer by the grinding apparatus through the protective tape.
Sekiya teaches a method of grinding a back surface of a wafer (¶ 0028: 11, similar to W of Nagaoka) while holding the wafer by a grinding apparatus through a protective film (¶ 0045 & fig. 5A: back surface of 11 ground while holding front surface of 11 by grinding apparatus 42 through film 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to hold the wafer by the grinding apparatus of Nagaoka through the protective film, as a means to securely support the wafer during the grinding operation, providing a highly planarized wafer in a relatively short period of time (Sekiya, ¶ 0048).
Regarding claim 2, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the outer peripheral region is a region surrounding a central region in which a semiconductor device is provided on the front surface of the wafer (Nagaoka, figs. 1-3: peripheral region of W including 26 surrounds device area 6 on front surface of W).
Regarding claim 3, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
a width of the outer peripheral region is 1 mm or more and 3 mm or less (Nagaoka, ¶ 0177 & figs. 2-3: 26 applied to marginal area 10, which includes a range of 1-3 mm).
Although Nagaoka in view of Sekiya does not explicitly teach a width of the outer peripheral region is 2 mm or more and 6 mm or less, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range of “2 mm or more and 6 mm or less” overlaps the range disclosed by Nagaoka.
Regarding claim 7, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a protective tape (Nagaoka, 22) adhered to an adhesion layer (Nagaoka, 26), the protective tape (Nagaoka, 22) also adhered to a wafer (Nagaoka, fig. 3 among others: 22 adhered to 26 and wafer W).
Nagaoka in view of Sekiya does not teach an adhesive strength of the protective tape to the adhesion layer is greater than an adhesive strength of the protective tape to the wafer.
However, Nagaoka teaches removing both the protective tape and the adhesive layer from the wafer (Nagaoka, fig. 11: 22 and 26 removed from W).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the adhesive strength between the protective tape and the adhesive layer, as a means to remove both the protective tape and the adhesive layer from the wafer in a single process step, minimizing manufacturing steps and optimizing manufacturing efficiency.
Furthermore, it has been held that “[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. In the instant case, there are only three solutions to the problem of removing the protective tape and the adhesive layer from the wafer: an adhesive strength of the protective tape to the adhesion layer is the same as, greater than, or less than an adhesive strength of the protective tape to the wafer. Accordingly, it would have been within the technical grasp of said artisan to configure an adhesive strength of the protective tape to the adhesion layer to be greater than an adhesive strength of the protective tape to the wafer.
Regarding claim 9, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the adhesion layer is a resist (Nagaoka, ¶¶ 0104, 0195: adhesive layer 26 is sensitive to radiation, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘resist’).
Regarding claim 12, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the preparing the wafer has forming the adhesion layer on an entire circumference of the wafer in the outer peripheral region (Nagaoka, ¶ 0186: 26 formed only in peripheral marginal area 10 of W; since Nagaoka teaches 22 is circular, 26 is formed in a peripheral area of 22, 26 meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “forming the adhesion layer on an entire circumference of the wafer”).
Regarding claim 14, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, comprising,
after the grinding the back surface of the wafer, removing the protective tape (Nagaoka, fig. 6: 22 removed).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka in view of Sekiya as applied to claims 2-3 above, and further in view of Gambino et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0132527 A1).
Regarding claims 4-5, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing methods of the semiconductor apparatus according to claims 2 and 3, comprising an outer peripheral edge of the adhesion layer and an outer peripheral edge of the wafer on the front surface of the wafer (Nagaoka, fig. 3: respective outer edges of 26 and W).
Nagaoka in view of Sekiya does not teach wherein the outer peripheral edge of the adhesion layer is farther inward than an outer peripheral edge of the wafer.
Gambino teaches an adhesion layer (¶ 0020: 20) provided in an outer peripheral region of a front wafer surface (¶ 0019 & fig. 2a: 20 provided in an outer peripheral region of a front surface of wafer 16b), wherein an outer peripheral edge of the adhesion layer is farther inward than an outer peripheral edge of the wafer (fig. 2a: before a grinding process, outer peripheral edge of 20 is farther inward than an outer peripheral edge of 16b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the adhesion layer inward from the wafer edge, as a means to utilize the grinding method with wafers having curved outer edges, such that the wafers can be handled outside of an active device region. In addition, minimizing the size of the adhesion layer reduces risk of damage to the substrate (Nagaoka, ¶ 0089).
Regarding claim 6, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya and Gambino teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 4, wherein
a width of the outer peripheral region is 1 mm or more and 3 mm or less (Nagaoka, ¶ 0177 & figs. 2-3: 26 applied to marginal area 10, which includes a range of 1-3 mm).
Although Nagaoka in view of Sekiya and Gambino does not explicitly teach a width of the outer peripheral region is 2 mm or more and 6 mm or less, it has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the claimed range of “2 mm or more and 6 mm or less” overlaps the range disclosed by Nagaoka.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka in view of Sekiya as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Priewasser et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0148905 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, comprising an adhesion layer (Nagaoka, 26).
Nagaoka in view of Sekiya does not teach the adhesion layer is an organic thin film.
Priewasser teaches an adhesion layer (¶ 0042: 2, similar to 26 of Nagaoka) comprising an organic thin film (¶¶ 0053-0054: 2 is a thin film comprising organic material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the adhesive layer of Nagaoka in view of Sekiya with an organic thin film, as a means to optimize removal of the protective film (Priewasser, ¶ 0097 & fig. 2E).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In the instant case, an organic thin film is a suitable material to provide adhesive between a wafer and a protective tape, as evidenced by Priewasser.
Regarding claim 13, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer is greater than 0 μm (Nagaoka, fig. 3: 26 is greater than 0 µm).
Nagaoka in view of Sekiya does not teach a thickness of the adhesion layer is 20 μm or less.
Priewasser teaches an adhesion layer (¶ 0042: 2, similar to 26 of Nagaoka) comprising a thickness of 50 μm or less (¶ 0053: adhesive layer 2 has a thickness of 5 to 50 μm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the adhesive layer thickness of Nagaoka in view of Sekiya, as a means to accommodate active device features (Priewasser, ¶ 0052 & fig. 1D among others).
Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In the instant case, the general conditions of adhesive layer thickness is disclosed by Priewasser, such that arriving at the claimed range of “greater than 0 μm, and 20 μm or less” would be a matter of routine skill.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka in view of Sekiya as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patten et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0303171 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 1, comprising an adhesion layer (Nagaoka, 26).
Nagaoka in view of Sekiya not teach wherein the adhesion layer is a polyimide film.
Patten teaches an adhesion layer formed of polyimide (¶ 0022: adhesive 12 formed of polyimide material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the adhesive layer of Nagaoka in view of Sekiya with polyimide, as a means to provide a termporary bond to the wafer during the grinding step (Patten, ¶ 0022).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In the instant case, a polyimide film is a suitable material to provide adhesive to a wafer during a grinding step, as evidenced by Patten.
Regarding claim 11, Nagaoka in view of Sekiya and Patten teaches the manufacturing method of the semiconductor apparatus according to claim 10, wherein
the preparing the wafer has forming the adhesion layer on at least half a circumference of the wafer in the outer peripheral region (Nagaoka, ¶ 0186: 26 formed only in peripheral marginal area 10 of W; since Nagaoka teaches 22 is circular, 26 is formed in a peripheral area of 22, 26 meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “forming the adhesion layer on an entire circumference of the wafer”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saito et al. (Patent document KR 20230164029A, machine translation attached), teaches an adhesive layer (¶ 0036: adhesive layer 3) comprising resist (¶ 0036: 3 is energy ray curable, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘resist’).
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818