DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, drawn to claims 1-13, a case/a battery/a power consuming apparatus in the reply filed on 03/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a pressure balancing mechanism(s) in claims 1-3 and 10. Applicant’s specification indicates that the pressure balancing mechanism includes “As shown in Fig. 9, the pressure balancing mechanism 113 may comprise a valve plate 1131, a valve cover 1132, a valve body 1133, and an air flow channel 1134.” (See [0098]-[00100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites "the pressure balancing mechanism" however there are two pressure balancing mechanisms recited in claim 1 so it is unclear which pressure balancing mechanism is being referred to. In addition, claim 10 recites “the pressure
balancing mechanism is a pressure relief mechanism that is used, when not connected to the ventilation assembly, to actuate to release the internal pressure of the case when the internal pressure reaches a threshold” it is unclear when this condition occurs since in Applicant’s specification the pressure balancing mechanism is always connected to the ventilation assembly. Furthermore it is unclear if the condition is met by if the condition “when not connected to the ventilation assembly” never occurs. Further clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan (US 20130111939 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a case of a battery (see Fig. 1 10 [0024]), characterized in that the case is provided with at least two pressure balancing mechanisms ( see Fig. 1 15 and 12 and/or 13), the pressure balancing mechanisms being used to balance the pressure inside and outside the case ( [0021]-negative pressure is compensated for [0024] positive pressure is compensated for), and the at least two pressure balancing mechanisms being connected to a ventilation assembly (see Fig. 1 piping and other mechanisms connected at 60 at either end of housing) at an outer side of the case,
wherein a first ventilation assembly ( see Fig. 1 piping connected at 60 connected to 12 and 13 or piping connected at 60 connected to 15) connected to a first pressure balancing mechanism ( see Fig. 1 12 and/or 13 or 15) in the at least two pressure balancing mechanisms is used to open the first pressure balancing mechanism to introduce air into the case ([0024] 12 and 13 or [0020][0025] air is circulated so air is introduced into dryer device 50) , and a second ventilation assembly (piping connected at 60 connected to 15 or piping connected at 60 connected to 12 and 13) connected to a second pressure balancing mechanism (15 or 12 and/or 13) in the at least two pressure balancing mechanisms is used to open the second pressure balancing mechanism so that the air in the case is discharged ([0024 or [0020] air discharged into case).
Regarding claim 2, Yan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yan discloses that the first ventilation assembly (see Fig. 1 piping connected at 60 connected to 12 and 13) is configured to be connected to an air outlet of an air conditioner ([0015], drying device 50 is part of air conditioner and claim 10) and the second ventilation assembly (piping connected at 60 connected to 15) is configured to be connected to an air inlet of the air conditioner (a circulating in circulating air mode [0020][0025]-closed loop mode) system, so that the air in the case enters an air flow circulation of the air conditioner (air from 15 flows back into drying device 50).
Regarding claim 3, Yan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yan discloses that the first pressure balancing mechanism ( see Fig. 1 12 and/or 13 or 15) and the second pressure balancing mechanism (15 or 12 and/or 13) are respectively provided on two opposite walls of the case (10) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Yan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yan discloses characterized in that the pressure balancing mechanism is a pressure relief mechanism that is used (gas is discharged when the pressure is positive ([0006] [0019][0026]), when not connected to the ventilation assembly (piping connected 12 directly), to actuate to release the internal pressure of the case when the internal pressure reaches a threshold ([0006] [0019][0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Yan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yan discloses a battery (See Fig. 1 [0024]), characterized by comprising: battery cells (1 [0024]); and a case (10) according to claim 1, wherein the battery cells are accommodated in the case.
Regarding claim 12, Yan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yan discloses a power consuming apparatus (motor vehicle), characterized by comprising a battery according to claim 11 for supplying electric energy ([0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Yan discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Yan discloses a that the power consuming apparatus further comprises an air conditioner (50), with an air outlet of the air conditioner being connected to the first ventilation assembly (see Fig. 1 piping connected at 60 connected to 12 and 13), and an air inlet of the air conditioner being connected to the second ventilation assembly (piping connected at 60 connected to 15 a circulating in circulating air mode [0020][0025]-closed loop mode, air from 15 flows back into drying device 50).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vieth (US 2374513 A) discloses a venting valve with a pressure balancing mechanism and a venting assembly (see Fig. 1 and columns 1-2). Gretag (GB 2057639 A) discloses a valve which shuts off and opens an airway which comprises a pressure balancing mechanism and a venting assembly (See Fig. 1 pgs. 1-2).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726