DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 1-14 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 02/03/2026 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner.
This office action consider claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
2. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (US 20200075709 A1; hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a semiconductor device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1A+; [0004+], and as cited below), comprising:
a metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({31, 10, 33, 10, 35a, 10, 35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) disposed between a first metallization level ({121a, 121b, 122}; Fig. 1C; [0015]) and a second metallization level ({1299, 129}; Fig. 1C; [0025]), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor comprising ({31, 10, 33, 10, 35a, 10, 35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) a first electrode ({31}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]), a second electrode ({33}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) and a third electrode ({35a}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]);
a first via (92a; Fig. 1C; [0023]) extended from and contacting a conductive line ({1299}; Fig. 1C; [0025]) of the second metallization level ({1299, 129}; Fig. 1C; [0025]); and
a second via (90a; Fig. 1C; [0022]) extended from and contacting the first via (92a; Fig. 1C; [0023]);
wherein the second via (90a; Fig. 1C; [0022]) contacts the first electrode ({31}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) and the third electrode ({35a}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) of the metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({31, 10, 33, 10, 35a, 10, 35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]); and
wherein a slope of a side surface of the first via (92a; Fig. 1C; [0023]) is different from a slope of a side surface of the second via (90a; Fig. 1C; [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Wu further teaches wherein a shape of the first via (92a; Fig. 1C; [0023]) is different from a shape of the second via (90a; Fig. 1C; [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Wu further comprising a dielectric layer ({10}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) disposed between the first electrode ({31}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) and the third electrode ({35a}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Wu further teaches wherein the second via (90a; Fig. 1C; [0022]) contacts the first electrode ({31}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) and the third electrode ({35a}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) at the side surface of the second via (90a; Fig. 1C; [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Wu further comprising: a third via (92b; Fig. 1C; [0023]) extended from and contacting an additional conductive line ({1299}; Fig. 1C; [0025]) of the second metallization level ({1299, 129}; Fig. 1C; [0025]); a fourth via (90b; Fig. 1C; [0022]) extended from and contacting the third via (92b; Fig. 1C; [0023]); wherein the fourth via (90b; Fig. 1C; [0022]) contacts the second electrode ({33}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) of the metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({31, 10, 33, 10, 35a, 10, 35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]); and wherein a slope of a side surface of the third via (92b; Fig. 1C; [0023]) is different from a slope of a side surface of the fourth via (90b; Fig. 1C; [0022]).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 11.
Wu further teaches wherein a shape of the third via (92b; Fig. 1C; [0023]) is different from a shape of the fourth via (90b; Fig. 1C; [0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 11.
Wu further teaches wherein the metal-insulator- metal capacitor ({31, 10, 33, 10, 35a, 10, 35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) further comprises a fourth electrode ({35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) and the fourth via (90b; Fig. 1C; [0022]) contacts the fourth electrode ({35b}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
3. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 20220328398 A1; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a semiconductor device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 2+; [0003+], and as cited below), comprising:
a metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({54, 58, 60, 64, 66}; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) disposed between a first metallization level ({46, 50}; Fig. 17; [0021]) and a second metallization level ({97, 90}; Fig. 17; [0048]), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor comprising ({54, 58, 60, 64, 66}; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) a first electrode ({54}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0030, 0031]), a second electrode ({60}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) and a third electrode ({66}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]);
a first via (86A-3; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) extended from and contacting a conductive line ({97}; Fig. 17; [0048]) of the second metallization level ({97, 90}; Fig. 17; [0048]); and
a second via (see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1) extended from and contacting the first via (86A-3; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]);
wherein the second via (see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1; hereinafter the second via) contacts the first electrode ({54}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0030, 0031]) and the third electrode ({66}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) of the metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({54, 58, 60, 64, 66}; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]); and
wherein a slope of a side surface of the first via (86A-3; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) is different from a slope of a side surface of the second via (the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1).
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further teaches wherein a shape of the first via (86A-3; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) is different from a shape of the second via (the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1).
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further teaches wherein the first via (86A-3; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) comprises a trapezoidal shape and the second via (the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1) comprises at least one of a rectangular shape (see Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; where 86A-2 has a rectangular shape) and a square shape.
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further comprising a dielectric layer ({58}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) disposed between the first electrode ({24}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) and the third electrode ({66}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further teaches wherein the second via (the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1) contacts the first electrode ({54}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0030, 0031]) and the third electrode ({66}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) at the side surface of the second via (86A-2; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further teaches wherein the second via (the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1) comprises a first portion (top portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the top portion is in contact with electrodes 54 and 66) contacting the first electrode ({54}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0030, 0031]) and the third electrode ({66}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) and a second portion (bottom portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the bottom portion is in contact with electrode 54) extended from the first portion (top portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the top portion is in contact with electrodes 54 and 66) and contacting the first electrode ({54}; Fig. 17; [0024, 0027, 0030, 0031]), and wherein a slope of a side surface of the first portion (top portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the top portion is in contact with electrodes 54 and 66) is different from a slope of a side surface of the second portion (bottom portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the bottom portion is in contact with electrode 54).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 6.
Huang further teaches wherein a dimension of the second portion (bottom portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the bottom portion is in contact with electrode 54) between side surfaces of the second portion is less than a dimension of the first portion (top portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the top portion is in contact with electrodes 54 and 66) between side surfaces of the first portion.
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 6.
Huang further teaches wherein the first portion (top portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the top portion is in contact with electrodes 54 and 66) and the second portion (bottom portion of the second via; see Annotated Fig. 17, above; where the bottom portion is in contact with electrode 54) respectively comprise at least one of a rectangular shape (see Annotated Fig. 17; rectangular shape) and a square shape.
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further comprising a third via (see 2nd Annotated Fig. 17, above; the third via includes part of 86A-1; the third via extends from the top portion of layer 54 to contact 46; hereinafter the third via) extended from the second via (the second via; see 2nd Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1) and contacting a conductive line ({46}; Fig. 17; [0021]) of the first metallization level ({46, 50}; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0021]); wherein a slope of a side surface of the third via (the third via; see 2nd Annotated Fig. 17, above; the third via includes part of 86A-1; the third via extends from the top portion of layer 54 to contact 46) is different from the slope of the side surface of the second via (the second via; see 2nd Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 9.
Huang further teaches wherein a shape of the third via (the third via; see 2nd Annotated Fig. 17, above; the third via includes part of 86A-1; the third via extends from the top portion of layer 54 to contact 46) is different from a shape of the second via (the second via; see 2nd Annotated Fig. 17, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1).
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Huang further comprising: a third via (86B-2; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) extended from and contacting an additional conductive line ({97}; Fig. 17; [0048]) of the second metallization level ({97, 90}; Fig. 17; [0048]);
a fourth via (86B-1; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) extended from and contacting the third via (86B-2; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]);
wherein the fourth via (86B-1; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) contacts the second electrode ({60}; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]) of the metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({54, 58, 60, 64, 66}; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0024, 0027, 0028, 0030, 0031]); and
wherein a slope of a side surface of the third via (86B-2; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) is different from a slope of a side surface of the fourth via (86B-1; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 11.
Huang further teaches wherein a shape of the third via (86B-2; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]) is different from a shape of the fourth via (86B-1; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (100; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
4. Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 20200350248 A1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a semiconductor device (see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0009+], and as cited below), comprising:
a metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({201, 203, 205, 207, 209}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]) disposed between a first metallization ({113, 115, 117}; Fig. 2; [0022]) and a second metallization level ({221, 223, 225}; Fig. 2; [0038]), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor comprising ({201, 203, 205, 207, 209}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]) a first electrode ({201}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]), a second electrode ({205}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]) and a third electrode ({209}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]);
a first via (CP2; Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3B; [0032-0038]) extended from and contacting a conductive line ({223}; Fig. 2; [0038]) of the second metallization level ({221, 223, 225}; Fig. 2; [0038]); and
a second via (see Annotated Fig. 3B, above; the portion of contact plug extending from CP2; hereinafter the second via) contacts the first electrode ({201}; see Annotated Fig. 3B, above) and the third electrode ({209}; see Annotated Fig. 3B, above) of the metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({201, 203, 205, 207, 209}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]); and
wherein a slope of a side surface of the first via (CP2; Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3B; [0032-0038]) is different from a slope of a side surface of the second via (the second via; see Annotated Fig. 3B, above; the second via includes 86A-2 and the top portion of 86A-1, where the second via extends from the top portion of layer 66 to the bottom portion of layer 54; Fig. 17 in view of Fig. 15; [0042]; in view of Fig. 15, the second via comprises of the portion of 86 that includes the diameters of D3 and D1).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches all of the features of claim 1.
Wu further comprising: a third via (CP1; Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3A; [0029]) extended from and contacting an additional conductive line ({221}; Fig. 2; [0038]) of the second metallization level ({221, 223, 225}; Fig. 2; [0038]);
a fourth via (see Annotated Fig. 3A, above; the portion of contact plug extending from CP1; hereinafter the fourth via) extended from and contacting the third via (CP1; Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3A; [0029]); wherein the fourth via (the fourth via; see Annotated Fig. 3A, above; the portion of contact plug extending from CP1) contacts the second electrode ({205}; Fig. 1C; [0028-0030]) of the metal-insulator-metal capacitor ({201, 203, 205, 207, 209}; Fig. 2 in view of Figs. 3A, 3B; [0024-0036]); and
wherein a slope of a side surface of the third via (CP1; Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3A; [0029]) is different from a slope of a side surface of the fourth via (the fourth via; see Annotated Fig. 3A, above; the portion of contact plug extending from CP1).
Regarding claim 13, Huang teaches all of the features of claim 11.
Huang further teaches wherein the third via (CP1; Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3A; [0029]) comprises a trapezoidal shape and the fourth via (the fourth via; see Annotated Fig. 3A, above; the portion of contact plug extending from CP1) comprises at least one of a rectangular shape (see Fig. 2 in view of Annotated Fig. 3A) and a square shape.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julio J. Maldonado, can be reached on 571-272-1864. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898