CTFR 18/356,701 CTFR 83471 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151-10 AIA 12-51-10 Claim s 1, 4-9, 11, and 16 are pending. Claims 2, 3, 10, 12-15, 17, and 18 have been canceled. The foreign priority application No.2021-009187 filed on January 22, 2021 in Japan has been received and it is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-9, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2019/0219921) in view of Tsutsumi et al. (US Patent 4,822,721) . With regard to claim 1, Tsubaki et al. teach an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition including (A) a resin including a repeating unit (a) of formula (1), and (B) a compound that generates an acid by irradiation with actinic rays or radiation: PNG media_image1.png 128 148 media_image1.png Greyscale (abstract), wherein the group L may be a combination of an ester bond and an alkylene group, and the alkylene group may have a substituent (par.0089, par.0091). A specific example of repeating unit (a) of formula (1) is: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale , wherein R is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group, and a represents 2 or 3 (par.0096). The repeating unit above does not meet the limitations of claim 1. Tsutsumi et al. teach polyacrylate derivative of formula: PNG media_image3.png 82 130 media_image3.png Greyscale , wherein R may be: PNG media_image4.png 90 64 media_image4.png Greyscale , wherein each of R 1 and R 2 is a hydrogen atom or a fluorinated methyl group, provided that R 1 and R 2 are noy hydrogen atoms at the same time (abstract). The polymer is useful for a resist material having improved dry etching resistance (column 1, lines 39-41). Tsutsumi et al. further teach that the derivative having a fluorine atom and a benzene ring at the ester moiety and when irradiated with electron beam or X-rays, they undergo main chain degradation reaction, whereby the irradiated portions will have a substantially larger solubility then the non-irradiated portion (column 9, lines 58-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to substitute with a fluorinated methyl group the -CH 2 - group linking the ester group (-COO-) and the benzene ring in the repeating unit of formula: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale Tsubaki et al., in order to increase the solubility of the exposed areas and the dry etching resistance of the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition. A repeating unit of formula: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale R is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group, a represents 2 or 3, a fluorinated methyl group substituent on the -CH 2 - group between the ester group (-COO-) and the benzene ring of Tsubaki modified by Tsutsumi is a repeating unit of Formula (3) in claim 1, wherein X is hydrogen or a methyl group, L 2 is a single bond, R 1 is a fluorinated methyl group, R 2 is hydrogen, p=0, R 4 is hydrogen, and n=2 or 3. With regard to claim 4, Tsubaki et al. teach that the compound (B) that generates an acid by irradiation with actinic rays or radiation may be a sulfonium salt or an iodonium salt (par.0254-0255). With regard to claims 5 and 16, Tsubaki et al. teach that the resin (A) may comprises a repeating unit represented by the formula (A1): PNG media_image5.png 170 370 media_image5.png Greyscale , wherein X a1 is a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group that may have a substituent, T may be a single bond, R x1 , R x2 , and R x3 may each independently represent alkyl groups, two or R x1 , R x2 , and R x3 may be bonded with each other for form a cycloalkyl group (par.0105-0110). With regard to claim 6, Tsubaki et al. teach that the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition forms a film (par.0390, par.0392-0393). With regard to claim 7, Tsubaki et al. teach a process comprising the steps of: -applying the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition onto a substrate and drying to form an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive film; -exposing the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive film; and -developing the exposed actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive film to form a pattern (par.0384-0388). With regard to claim 8, Tsubaki et al. teach a method of manufacturing an electronic device including the pattern forming method (par.0003). With regard to claims 9 and 11, Tsubaki et al. teach a resin including a repeating unit (a) of formula (1): PNG media_image1.png 128 148 media_image1.png Greyscale (abstract), wherein the group L may be a combination of an ester bond and an alkylene group, and the alkylene group may have a substituent (par.0089, par.0091). A specific example of repeating unit (a) of formula (1) is: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale , wherein R is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group, and a represents 2 or 3 (par.0096). The monomer generating the repeating unit above does not meet the limitations of claim 9. Tsutsumi et al. teach polyacrylate derivative of formula: PNG media_image3.png 82 130 media_image3.png Greyscale , wherein R may be: PNG media_image4.png 90 64 media_image4.png Greyscale , wherein each of R 1 and R 2 is a hydrogen atom or a fluorinated methyl group, provided that R 1 and R 2 are noy hydrogen atoms at the same time (abstract). The polymer is useful for a resist material having improved dry etching resistance (column 1, lines 39-41). Tsutsumi et al. further teach that the derivative having a fluorine atom and a benzene ring at the ester moiety and when irradiated with electron beam or X-rays, they undergo main chain degradation reaction, whereby the irradiated portions will have a substantially larger solubility then the non-irradiated portion (column 9, lines 58-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to substitute with a fluorinated methyl group the -CH 2 - group linking the ester group (-COO-) and the benzene ring in the repeating unit of formula: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale Tsubaki et al., in order to increase the solubility of the exposed areas and the dry etching resistance of the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition. A monomer generating a repeating unit of formula: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale R is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group, a represents 2 or 3, a fluorinated methyl group substituent on the -CH 2 - group between the ester group (-COO-) and the benzene ring of Tsubaki modified by Tsutsumi is a compound of Formula (3) in claim 9, wherein X is hydrogen or a methyl group, L 2 is a single bond, R 1 is a fluorinated methyl group, R 2 is hydrogen, p=0, R 4 is hydrogen, and n=2 or 3. The resin comprising a repeating unit of formula: PNG media_image2.png 132 158 media_image2.png Greyscale R is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group, a represents 2 or 3, a fluorinated methyl group substituent on the -CH 2 - group between the ester group (-COO-) and the benzene ring of Tsubaki modified by Tsutsumi is the resin in claim 11 of the instant application. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner would like to note that: -the rejection of claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsunoda et al. (JP 2004-083900 A, with machine translation made of record on February 02, 2026) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1; -the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR100557616 B1, with machine translation made of record on February 02, 2026) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1; -the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2002/0061466) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1; and -the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunoda et al. (JP 2004-083900 A, with machine translation made of record on February 02, 2026) in view of Kramer et al. (US 2014/0065550) is withdrawn after the applicant’s amendment to claim 1. However, new grounds of rejection for claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 16 are presented in paragraphs 4-5 above. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANCA EOFF whose telephone number is (571)272-9810. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 10am-6:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at (571)272-3433. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 2 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 3 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 4 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 5 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 6 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 7 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/356,701 Page 8 Art Unit: 1722