DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a response dated May 26, 2026 in which claims 1-2, 5, and 7-8 have been amended, claims 3-4 and 6 have been canceled, and claim 9 ha been added. Therefore, claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Application 18/356,806 was filed on 07/21/2023 and claims benefit of JAPAN 2023-004715 01/16/2023.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or § 112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. (MPEP 2106). The claims are directed to a method and apparatus which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES). The recitation of the claimed invention is analyzed as follows, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of:
An information processing apparatus comprising: a display: a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and (ii) information indicating units of payment available for each of a plurality of settlement options: and a processor configured to: calculate, from a service designated for execution by an image forming apparatus, a fee as compensation for the service;
receive a selection of a first settlement option;
execute settlement of the fee by the first settlement option;
determine whether settlement by the first settlement option is insufficient to settle a full amount of the fee due to an insufficient balance;
upon determining that settlement by the first settlement option is insufficient to settle the full amount of the fee due to the insufficient balance, calculate a remainder by subtracting a maximum monetary amount settleable by the first settlement option from the fee;
for each of a plurality of selectable second settlement options different from the first settlement option, determine whether the calculated remainder is settleable in units acceptable for the selectable second settlement option;
for each selectable second settlement option for which the calculated remainder is determined not to be settleable in units acceptable for the selectable second settlement option;
set a monetary amount to be settled by the selectable second settlement option by rounding up the remainder in units acceptable for the selectable second settlement option; and
set a monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option as an amount remaining after subtracting the monetary amount to be settled by the selectable second settlement option from the fee;
display, on the display, settlement amounts for the first settlement option and the respective selectable second settlement option for each combination of the first settlement option with one of the selectable second settlement options;
receive a selection of one of the displayed selectable second settlement options;
determine whether a unit fee per unit of service is different between settlement by the first settlement option and settlement by the selected second settlement option; upon a determination that the unit fee per unit of service is different between the settlement by the first settlement option and the settlement by the selected second settlement option;
set a fee for a number of units settleable by the first settlement option as the monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option; and set a fee for a number of units not settled by the first settlement option as the monetary amount to be settled by the selected second settlement option; and
cause execution of the designated service by the image forming apparatus after settlement of the fee using the first settlement option and the selected second settlement option.
The claim as a whole recites a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers collecting and analyzing data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. This is a fundamental economic practice of a financial transaction; a commercial interaction, such as for business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, which are certain methods of organizing human activity.
Furthermore, the claims cover the use of an information processing apparatus to provide for collecting and analyzing data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. As the steps could be performed by a human without a computer, the claim limitations fall within the mental processes grouping, and the claim recites an abstract idea.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1: YES).
Moreover, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Other than reciting a “An information processing apparatus comprising: a display: a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and (ii) information indicating units of payment available for each of a plurality of settlement options: and a processor configured to:” and “a service designated for execution by an image forming apparatus”, to perform the steps of “calculating”, “determining”, “setting”, and “displaying”, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being a certain method for organizing human activity or mental process. The claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting and analyzing data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction in a computer environment. The additional computer elements recited in the claim limitations are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception utilizing generic computer components.
For example, the Specification discloses “[0041] The CPU 11 is a processor that controls operations by the image forming apparatus 10 by executing predetermined processing on the basis of a control program stored in the memory 12 or the storage device 13. Note that although the CPU 11 is described as reading out and executing a control program stored in the memory 12 or the storage device 13 in the exemplary embodiment, the control program is not limited thereto. The control program may also be provided by being recorded onto a computer-readable recording medium. For example, the program may be provided by being recorded on an optical disc, such as a Compact Disc Read-Only Memory (CD-ROM) or a Digital Versatile Disc Read-Only Memory (DVD-ROM), or by being recorded on a semiconductor memory, such as Universal Serial Bus (USB) memory or a memory card. Additionally, the control program may also be acquired from an external apparatus over a communication channel connected to the communication interface 14.”
Thus, the specification supports that general purpose computers or computer components are utilized to implement the steps of the abstract idea.
Merely implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The claim as a whole, in viewing the additional elements both individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A prong two: No)
The claim does not include additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “An information processing apparatus comprising: a display: a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and (ii) information indicating units of payment available for each of a plurality of settlement options: and a processor configured to:” and “a service designated for execution by an image forming apparatus”, to perform the steps of “calculating”, “determining”, “setting”, and “displaying”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting and analyzing data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Such additional elements are determined to not contain an inventive concept according to MPEP 2106.05(f). It should be noted that (1) the “recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”, and (2) “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice, commercial interaction, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, mental process, or mathematical calculation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”.
Claims 7 and 8 are substantially similar to claim 1, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 8 recites the additional elements of “A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a process comprising: accessing a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and (ii) information indicating units of payment available for each of a plurality of settlement options”.
For similar reasons as explained above with regard to claim 1, under Step 2A, prong two, these additional elements are merely applying generic computer components to implement the abstract idea. Under Step 2B, when viewing the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to an inventive concept amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception itself as the claimed computer-related technologies are mere tools for implementing the abstract idea as explained with regard to claim 1.
Dependent claims 2, 5, and 9 merely limit the abstract idea and do not recite any further additional elements beyond the cited abstract idea and the elements addressed above, thus, they do not amount to significantly more. The dependent claims are abstract for the reasons presented above because there are no additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Thus, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mugford, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0178113; in view of Gupta, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0405721; in view of Trubnikov, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0286925; in view of Yun, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0192727; in view of Malhotra, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2009/129568.
As per claim 1,
Mugford explicitly teaches:
for each of a plurality of settlement options: and a processor configured to:
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 77-89) ("[0081] FIG. 6 is a flowchart of an exemplary process 600 for responding to a transaction request and allocating funds for the underlying purchase, consistent with disclosed embodiments." "[0083] At step 604, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine whether the funding sources designated by the default allocation settings are sufficient to fund the transaction. If sufficient funds exist (step 604; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may approve the transaction request (see also step 412; YES). If insufficient funds do not exist using the default allocation settings (step 604; NO), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may identify additional allocations and/or funding sources associated with the multi-source payment account to fund the purchase (step 606)." "[0077] A user (e.g., user 104) may operate computing device 102 to indicate that all transactions below $100 are funded entirely by a checking account associated with the user. Thus, in embodiments where use of the primary account number (PAN) for a credit card account associated with multi-source transaction profile initiates process 400 (or other disclosed embodiments), the purchase may be processed by FSP system 116 and merchant system 110 as a credit card transaction even though funded by a debit card transaction. Regardless, computing device 102 may, in turn, transmit the user-inputted default allocation settings to multi-source transaction provider system 114 for association to the user's multi-source transaction profile.")
receive a selection of a first settlement option;
(Mugford US20170192727 at paras. 64-66) ("[0065] If the transaction authorization request is declined (step 412; NO), the process may end. On the other hand, if the transaction authorization request is approved (step 412; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine which of the payment sources (step 414) from among the potential payment sources identified in step 408 should be used to fund the purchase. In some embodiments, user 104's multi-source payment account profile may include default allocation settings that define the default allocation of funds from among the identified of potential payment sources for the purchase. Additionally or alternatively, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine which of the payment sources should be used to fund the purchase allocations based on, for example, a determination that the user would qualify for a special promotion or other benefit by using a particular payment source or type of payment method. For example, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine that using a particular linked payment source to fund a transaction with the merchant associated with the received transaction request would qualify the user for some other promotional offer (additional reward points, a purchase price discount, etc.). Additional details regarding payment source determination are described below with respect to process 600 of FIG. 6.")
execute settlement of the fee by the first settlement option;
(Mugford US20170192727 at paras. 64-66) ("[0066] At step 416, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may allocate the funds among the determined payment sources to cover the purchase underlying the transaction authorization request. For example, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may initiate reconciliation of the determined payment sources to fund the purchase according to the default allocation of funds. In some embodiments, reconciliation of the determined payment sources may include interfacing a plurality of separate servicing platforms (e.g., credit servicing platform 116a, debit servicing platform 116b, and/or HELOC servicing platform 116c) to coordinate the transfer of funds from the funding source(s) serviced by each platform as determined by multi-source transaction provider system 114. In some examples, reconciliation of the determined payment sources may happen simultaneously with the transaction request, while in other examples, reconciliation may be delayed and payment sources may be adjusted by user 104 and/or FSP system 116 prior to reconciliation.")
determine whether settlement by the first settlement option is insufficient to settle a full amount of the fee due to an insufficient balance;
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 77-89) ("[0083] If insufficient funds do not exist using the default allocation settings (step 604; NO), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may identify additional allocations and/or funding sources associated with the multi-source payment account to fund the purchase (step 606). For example, FIG. 9A depicts an exemplary user interface 901 on computing device 102. As depicted in FIG. 9A, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may transmit instructions to computing device 102 for displaying an interface 901 on computing device 102 requesting input from user 104 as to whether an alternative allocation of funds may be used to fund the purchase. In particular, interface 901 may include a window 903 identifying a particular transaction and asking whether the user would like to modify default funding sources 905 and/or their respective allocations. Interface 901 may further identify the default funding source(s) and allocations under the default allocation settings that are insufficient to fund transaction." "[0078] In another example, FIG. 11A depicts an exemplary user interface 1101 on computing device 102. As shown in FIG. 11A, computing device 102 may display interface 1101 to receive default allocation settings associated with transactions between $100 and $1000. Interface 1101 may include window 1103 listing potential payment sources available to include in the default allocation settings." "[0080] The default allocation settings discussed above with respect to step 516 and FIGS. 11A and 11B are exemplary only. Fewer, different, or additional default allocation settings may be associated with user's multi-source transaction profile, consistent with disclosed embodiments. In some embodiments, different default settings may be used for different transaction categories. For example, default allocation settings may distinguish which potential payment sources should be used, and in what relative amounts, to fund different purchases based on the transaction type and/or any other distinguishing feature discernable from a transaction authorization request.")
for each of a plurality of selectable second settlement options different from the first settlement option, determine whether the calculated remainder is settleable
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 65-66, 77-89) ("[0065] if the transaction authorization request is approved (step 412; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine which of the payment sources (step 414) from among the potential payment sources identified in step 408 should be used to fund the purchase. In some embodiments, user 104's multi-source payment account profile may include default allocation settings that define the default allocation of funds from among the identified of potential payment sources for the purchase." "[0066] At step 416, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may allocate the funds among the determined payment sources to cover the purchase underlying the transaction authorization request." "[0067] For example, in some embodiments, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may coordinate the debit (for debit accounts via debit service platform 116b) and/or credit (for credit accounts via credit service platform 116a) of the payment sources in proportion to user 104's default settings for funding the purchase." "[0083] At step 604, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine whether the funding sources designated by the default allocation settings are sufficient to fund the transaction. If sufficient funds exist (step 604; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may approve the transaction request (see also step 412; YES). If insufficient funds do not exist using the default allocation settings (step 604; NO), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may identify additional allocations and/or funding sources associated with the multi-source payment account to fund the purchase (step 606).")
for each selectable second settlement option for which the calculated remainder is determined not to be settleable [in units acceptable] for the selectable second settlement option;
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 65-66, 77-89) ("[0065] if the transaction authorization request is approved (step 412; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine which of the payment sources (step 414) from among the potential payment sources identified in step 408 should be used to fund the purchase. In some embodiments, user 104's multi-source payment account profile may include default allocation settings that define the default allocation of funds from among the identified of potential payment sources for the purchase." "[0066] At step 416, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may allocate the funds among the determined payment sources to cover the purchase underlying the transaction authorization request." "[0067] For example, in some embodiments, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may coordinate the debit (for debit accounts via debit service platform 116b) and/or credit (for credit accounts via credit service platform 116a) of the payment sources in proportion to user 104's default settings for funding the purchase." "[0083] At step 604, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine whether the funding sources designated by the default allocation settings are sufficient to fund the transaction. If sufficient funds exist (step 604; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may approve the transaction request (see also step 412; YES). If insufficient funds do not exist using the default allocation settings (step 604; NO), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may identify additional allocations and/or funding sources associated with the multi-source payment account to fund the purchase (step 606).")
set a monetary amount to be settled by the selectable second settlement option [by rounding up the remainder] [in units acceptable] for the selectable second settlement option; and
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 65-66, 77-89) ("[0065] if the transaction authorization request is approved (step 412; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine which of the payment sources (step 414) from among the potential payment sources identified in step 408 should be used to fund the purchase. In some embodiments, user 104's multi-source payment account profile may include default allocation settings that define the default allocation of funds from among the identified of potential payment sources for the purchase." "[0066] At step 416, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may allocate the funds among the determined payment sources to cover the purchase underlying the transaction authorization request." "[0067] For example, in some embodiments, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may coordinate the debit (for debit accounts via debit service platform 116b) and/or credit (for credit accounts via credit service platform 116a) of the payment sources in proportion to user 104's default settings for funding the purchase." "[0083] At step 604, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may determine whether the funding sources designated by the default allocation settings are sufficient to fund the transaction. If sufficient funds exist (step 604; YES), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may approve the transaction request (see also step 412; YES). If insufficient funds do not exist using the default allocation settings (step 604; NO), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may identify additional allocations and/or funding sources associated with the multi-source payment account to fund the purchase (step 606).")
display, on the display, settlement amounts for the first settlement option and the respective selectable second settlement option for each combination of the first settlement option with one of the selectable second settlement options;
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 65-66, 76-89) ("[0077] In some embodiments, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may transmit instructions to computing device 102 for displaying an interface on computing device 102 requesting identification of which potential payment sources should be used, and in what relative amounts, to fund different purchases. For example, computing device 102 may display an interface for receiving default allocation settings associated with transactions below $100. A user (e.g., user 104) may operate computing device 102 to indicate that all transactions below $100 are funded entirely by a checking account associated with the user. Thus, in embodiments where use of the primary account number (PAN) for a credit card account associated with multi-source transaction profile initiates process 400 (or other disclosed embodiments), the purchase may be processed by FSP system 116 and merchant system 110 as a credit card transaction even though funded by a debit card transaction. Regardless, computing device 102 may, in turn, transmit the user-inputted default allocation settings to multi-source transaction provider system 114 for association to the user's multi-source transaction profile.")
receive a selection of one of the displayed selectable second settlement options;
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 65-66, 76-89) ("[0077] In some embodiments, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may transmit instructions to computing device 102 for displaying an interface on computing device 102 requesting identification of which potential payment sources should be used, and in what relative amounts, to fund different purchases. For example, computing device 102 may display an interface for receiving default allocation settings associated with transactions below $100. A user (e.g., user 104) may operate computing device 102 to indicate that all transactions below $100 are funded entirely by a checking account associated with the user. Thus, in embodiments where use of the primary account number (PAN) for a credit card account associated with multi-source transaction profile initiates process 400 (or other disclosed embodiments), the purchase may be processed by FSP system 116 and merchant system 110 as a credit card transaction even though funded by a debit card transaction. Regardless, computing device 102 may, in turn, transmit the user-inputted default allocation settings to multi-source transaction provider system 114 for association to the user's multi-source transaction profile.")
using the first settlement option and the selected second settlement option.
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 65-66, 76-89) ("[0077] In some embodiments, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may transmit instructions to computing device 102 for displaying an interface on computing device 102 requesting identification of which potential payment sources should be used, and in what relative amounts, to fund different purchases. For example, computing device 102 may display an interface for receiving default allocation settings associated with transactions below $100. A user (e.g., user 104) may operate computing device 102 to indicate that all transactions below $100 are funded entirely by a checking account associated with the user. Thus, in embodiments where use of the primary account number (PAN) for a credit card account associated with multi-source transaction profile initiates process 400 (or other disclosed embodiments), the purchase may be processed by FSP system 116 and merchant system 110 as a credit card transaction even though funded by a debit card transaction. Regardless, computing device 102 may, in turn, transmit the user-inputted default allocation settings to multi-source transaction provider system 114 for association to the user's multi-source transaction profile.")
Mugford does not explicitly teach, however, Gupta does teach:
upon determining that settlement by the first settlement option is insufficient to settle the full amount of the fee due to the insufficient balance, calculate a remainder by subtracting a maximum monetary amount settleable by the first settlement option from the fee;
(Gupta US20220405721 at Figs. 5A-6J, paras. 20-23, 31-33) ("[0032] If the product is eligible, in step 206, the cost of the product is allocated to the first payment instrument. In step 207, the system determines whether any fund remains on the payment instrument. If the payment instrument's fund has been exhausted, the system proceeds to step 210. If some fund remains, the system moves to step 208 to determine whether there are more products on the list of products. If so, the system repeats the eligibility determination in step 205 for the next item on the list. When all items have been checked for eligibility for a payment instrument, the system determines whether all item costs have been allocated in step 209. If unallocated cost remains, the system selects the next payment instrument according to the allocation order in step 210 and repeats steps 205-209 with the next payment instrument. In some embodiments, at least one payment instrument may comprise an unrestricted payment method that is eligible to pay for the cost of any product for sale. In some embodiments, when the next payment instrument is an unrestricted payment instrument, the system may allocate any remaining cost to the unrestricted payment instrument without repeating steps 210-208.")
set a monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option as an amount remaining [after subtracting the monetary amount] to be settled by the selectable second settlement option from the fee;
(Gupta US20220405721 at Figs. 5A-6J, paras. 20-23, 31-33) ("[0022] In some embodiments, eligibility rules may comprise one or more of included products, included product categories, included product characteristics, excluded products, excluded product categories, excluded product characteristics, maximum per-item cost, maximum total cost, maximum per-period spending, etc. For example, rules for a group of payment instruments may exclude the purchase of alcohol and tobacco products. In another example, rules for another group of payment instruments may include only health care products." "[0032] If the product is eligible, in step 206, the cost of the product is allocated to the first payment instrument. In step 207, the system determines whether any fund remains on the payment instrument. If the payment instrument's fund has been exhausted, the system proceeds to step 210. If some fund remains, the system moves to step 208 to determine whether there are more products on the list of products. If so, the system repeats the eligibility determination in step 205 for the next item on the list. When all items have been checked for eligibility for a payment instrument, the system determines whether all item costs have been allocated in step 209. If unallocated cost remains, the system selects the next payment instrument according to the allocation order in step 210 and repeats steps 205-209 with the next payment instrument. In some embodiments, at least one payment instrument may comprise an unrestricted payment method that is eligible to pay for the cost of any product for sale. In some embodiments, when the next payment instrument is an unrestricted payment instrument, the system may allocate any remaining cost to the unrestricted payment instrument without repeating steps 210-208.")
determine whether a [unit fee per unit of service is different] between settlement by the first settlement option and settlement by the selected second settlement option; upon a determination that the [unit fee per unit of service is different] between the settlement by the first settlement option and the settlement by the selected second settlement option;
(Gupta US20220405721 at Figs. 5A-6J, paras. 20-23, 31-33) ("[0022] In some embodiments, eligibility rules may comprise one or more of included products, included product categories, included product characteristics, excluded products, excluded product categories, excluded product characteristics, maximum per-item cost, maximum total cost, maximum per-period spending, etc. For example, rules for a group of payment instruments may exclude the purchase of alcohol and tobacco products. In another example, rules for another group of payment instruments may include only health care products." "[0032] If the product is eligible, in step 206, the cost of the product is allocated to the first payment instrument. In step 207, the system determines whether any fund remains on the payment instrument. If the payment instrument's fund has been exhausted, the system proceeds to step 210. If some fund remains, the system moves to step 208 to determine whether there are more products on the list of products. If so, the system repeats the eligibility determination in step 205 for the next item on the list. When all items have been checked for eligibility for a payment instrument, the system determines whether all item costs have been allocated in step 209. If unallocated cost remains, the system selects the next payment instrument according to the allocation order in step 210 and repeats steps 205-209 with the next payment instrument. In some embodiments, at least one payment instrument may comprise an unrestricted payment method that is eligible to pay for the cost of any product for sale. In some embodiments, when the next payment instrument is an unrestricted payment instrument, the system may allocate any remaining cost to the unrestricted payment instrument without repeating steps 210-208.")
set a fee for a number of units settleable by the first settlement option as the monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option; and set a fee for a number of units not settled by the first settlement option as the monetary amount to be settled by the selected second settlement option; and
(Gupta US20220405721 at Figs. 5A-6J, paras. 20-23, 31-33) ("[0022] In some embodiments, eligibility rules may comprise one or more of included products, included product categories, included product characteristics, excluded products, excluded product categories, excluded product characteristics, maximum per-item cost, maximum total cost, maximum per-period spending, etc. For example, rules for a group of payment instruments may exclude the purchase of alcohol and tobacco products. In another example, rules for another group of payment instruments may include only health care products." "[0032] If the product is eligible, in step 206, the cost of the product is allocated to the first payment instrument. In step 207, the system determines whether any fund remains on the payment instrument. If the payment instrument's fund has been exhausted, the system proceeds to step 210. If some fund remains, the system moves to step 208 to determine whether there are more products on the list of products. If so, the system repeats the eligibility determination in step 205 for the next item on the list. When all items have been checked for eligibility for a payment instrument, the system determines whether all item costs have been allocated in step 209. If unallocated cost remains, the system selects the next payment instrument according to the allocation order in step 210 and repeats steps 205-209 with the next payment instrument. In some embodiments, at least one payment instrument may comprise an unrestricted payment method that is eligible to pay for the cost of any product for sale. In some embodiments, when the next payment instrument is an unrestricted payment instrument, the system may allocate any remaining cost to the unrestricted payment instrument without repeating steps 210-208.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford and Gupta, because it allows for an improved system to allow the consumer to split payment between multiple payment options. (Gupta at Abstract and paras. 2-3).
Mugford and Gupta do not explicitly teach, however, Trubnikov does teach:
by rounding up the remainder…
(Trubnikov US20170286925 at paras. 35-42) ("[0036] In one embodiment shown in FIG. 1, system 100 automatically transfers the difference between the transaction amount and the rounded up monetary unit amount to the aggregate account 110. This automated process occurs without requiring input or actions from the user 102 or a merchant 104. [0037] Additionally, the system 100 transfers the funds, generally through transactions 106 that are conducted through electronic payments, such as credit cards, ATM withdrawals, debit cards, and bank transfers. However, in other embodiments, any payment process for initial transaction 106 may follow system 100, as indicated here. In one embodiment, the system 100 rounds up the transaction price to the nearest dollar. For example, initial transaction 106 for $3.15 is automatically rounded up to $4.00, with the excess $0.85 portion of the $4.00 transferring to the aggregate account 110.")
as an amount remaining after subtracting the monetary amount…
(Trubnikov US20170286925 at paras. 35-42) ("[0036] In one embodiment shown in FIG. 1, system 100 automatically transfers the difference between the transaction amount and the rounded up monetary unit amount to the aggregate account 110. This automated process occurs without requiring input or actions from the user 102 or a merchant 104. [0037] Additionally, the system 100 transfers the funds, generally through transactions 106 that are conducted through electronic payments, such as credit cards, ATM withdrawals, debit cards, and bank transfers. However, in other embodiments, any payment process for initial transaction 106 may follow system 100, as indicated here. In one embodiment, the system 100 rounds up the transaction price to the nearest dollar. For example, initial transaction 106 for $3.15 is automatically rounded up to $4.00, with the excess $0.85 portion of the $4.00 transferring to the aggregate account 110.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford, Gupta, and Trubnikov, because it allows for an improved system to facilitate financial transactions by rounding up for transactions and automatically transferring the rounded up amount, by enabling a triggering event to trigger predetermined purchases, by automating transactions at predetermined durations, and to enable automated linking of a payment means. (Trubnikov at Abstract and paras. 2-19).
Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov do not explicitly teach, however, Yun does teach:
An information processing apparatus comprising: a display: a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 228-233) ("[0228] Here, the preset priority criterion may be an item that is to be preferentially considered when selecting an apparatus for constituting a virtual device based on at least one selected from job execution cost, a job execution speed, a distance between apparatuses, and a distance between a user and an apparatus. [0229] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 receives specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4 by requesting the specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. Here, the specification information may be information about printing execution speeds of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4, printing cost per one sheet, and distances between the first image forming apparatus 1000-1 and the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. [0230] In detail, the second image forming apparatus 100-2 is printer 1, has a printing speed of 20 ppm and printing cost of 100 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 5 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0231] Also, the third image forming apparatus 1000-3 is printer 2, has a printing speed of 50 ppm and printing cost of 50 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 10 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0232] In addition, the fourth image forming apparatus 1000-4 is printer 3, has a printing speed of 30 ppm and printing cost of 30 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 20 m from the first image forming apparatus 100-1. [0233] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 stores apparatus order information 1100 according to each priority criterion as shown in FIG. 11 by using specification information of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4.")
calculate, from a service designated for execution by an image forming apparatus, a fee as compensation for the service;
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 53-55) ("[0054] The receiving may further include receiving a function of an image forming apparatus to be used and option information of the function. The printing control method may further include calculating charges based on the received function and the option information of the function; notifying the mobile device of the calculated charges; and receiving payment information from the mobile device. The transmitting of the information for identifying the user may include transmitting the information for identifying the user corresponding to the mobile device to the searched image forming apparatus merely if the payment information is received.")
unit fee per unit of service is different…
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 228-233) ("[0228] Here, the preset priority criterion may be an item that is to be preferentially considered when selecting an apparatus for constituting a virtual device based on at least one selected from job execution cost, a job execution speed, a distance between apparatuses, and a distance between a user and an apparatus. [0229] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 receives specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4 by requesting the specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. Here, the specification information may be information about printing execution speeds of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4, printing cost per one sheet, and distances between the first image forming apparatus 1000-1 and the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. [0230] In detail, the second image forming apparatus 100-2 is printer 1, has a printing speed of 20 ppm and printing cost of 100 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 5 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0231] Also, the third image forming apparatus 1000-3 is printer 2, has a printing speed of 50 ppm and printing cost of 50 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 10 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0232] In addition, the fourth image forming apparatus 1000-4 is printer 3, has a printing speed of 30 ppm and printing cost of 30 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 20 m from the first image forming apparatus 100-1. [0233] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 stores apparatus order information 1100 according to each priority criterion as shown in FIG. 11 by using specification information of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4.")
cause execution of the designated service by the image forming apparatus after settlement of the fee
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 476-488) ("[0485] Also, portion information about at least one image forming apparatus adjacent to the mobile device and charges are received from the cloud server, and the received position information about the at least one image forming apparatus is displayed in operation S3920. [0486] In addition, if an image forming apparatus that is to execute a job is selected, information about the selected image forming apparatus and payment information corresponding to charges are provided for the cloud server in operation S3930. [0487] If an authentication method in the image forming apparatus is a pin code method, a pin code may be received from the cloud server 700 after transmitting payment information.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, and Yun, because it allows for an improved image forming apparatus capable of providing a function of an image forming apparatus even for an unspecific user and easily charging for using of the function of the image forming apparatus, and a printing control method, which also improves frequency of use of an image forming apparatus and improves the users’ convenience. (Yun at Abstract and paras. 2-19).
Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, and Yun do not explicitly teach, however, Malhotra does teach:
(ii) information indicating units of payment available
(Malhotra WO2009129568 at pp. 10-11) ("The card device 110 comprises a plurality of selectable digital notes 120 and/or a plurality of selectable digital coins 130. Preferably, the digital notes 120 and digital coins 130 are associated with a plurality of selectable denominations. For example, Australian currency would have digital notes 120 in denominations including one hundred, fifty, twenty, ten and five dollar denominations and digital coins 130 in two dollar, one dollar, fifty cent, twenty cent, ten cent and five cent denominations. Preferably, a preset amount of each denomination will be provided to amount to a maximum limit of the card device 110 and the float amount of each denomination will be adjusted upon making a payment or dispensing of the digital notes 120 and/or digital coins 130 or having a balance for a transaction credited to the card device 110. Each digital coin 120 and/or digital coin 130 is encrypted with the user's secret key so that it can be tracked whether it is stored on the card device 110, located within a computational device or in the process of being transferred.")
in units acceptable…
(Malhotra WO2009129568 at pp. 10-11) ("The card device 110 comprises a plurality of selectable digital notes 120 and/or a plurality of selectable digital coins 130. Preferably, the digital notes 120 and digital coins 130 are associated with a plurality of selectable denominations. For example, Australian currency would have digital notes 120 in denominations including one hundred, fifty, twenty, ten and five dollar denominations and digital coins 130 in two dollar, one dollar, fifty cent, twenty cent, ten cent and five cent denominations. Preferably, a preset amount of each denomination will be provided to amount to a maximum limit of the card device 110 and the float amount of each denomination will be adjusted upon making a payment or dispensing of the digital notes 120 and/or digital coins 130 or having a balance for a transaction credited to the card device 110. Each digital coin 120 and/or digital coin 130 is encrypted with the user's secret key so that it can be tracked whether it is stored on the card device 110, located within a computational device or in the process of being transferred.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, Yun, and Malhotra, because it allows for an improved system for facilitating payment of monetary transactions using a card device which stores money in a digital format. (Malhotra at Abstract and paras. 1-2).
As per claim 2,
Mugford does not explicitly teach, however, Gupta does teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, for a selected one of the selectable second settlement options for which the calculated remainder is settleable in [units acceptable] for the selected one of the selectable second settlement options, set the monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option to the maximum monetary amount settleable by the first settlement option, and set the monetary amount to be settled by the selected one of the selectable second settlement option to the calculated remainder.
(Gupta US20220405721 at Figs. 5A-6J, paras. 20-23, 31-33) ("[0032] If the product is eligible, in step 206, the cost of the product is allocated to the first payment instrument. In step 207, the system determines whether any fund remains on the payment instrument. If the payment instrument's fund has been exhausted, the system proceeds to step 210. If some fund remains, the system moves to step 208 to determine whether there are more products on the list of products. If so, the system repeats the eligibility determination in step 205 for the next item on the list. When all items have been checked for eligibility for a payment instrument, the system determines whether all item costs have been allocated in step 209. If unallocated cost remains, the system selects the next payment instrument according to the allocation order in step 210 and repeats steps 205-209 with the next payment instrument. In some embodiments, at least one payment instrument may comprise an unrestricted payment method that is eligible to pay for the cost of any product for sale. In some embodiments, when the next payment instrument is an unrestricted payment instrument, the system may allocate any remaining cost to the unrestricted payment instrument without repeating steps 210-208.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford and Gupta, because it allows for an improved system to allow the consumer to split payment between multiple payment options. (Gupta at Abstract and paras. 2-3).
Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, and Yun do not explicitly teach, however, Malhotra does teach:
units acceptable…
(Malhotra WO2009129568 at pp. 10-11) ("The card device 110 comprises a plurality of selectable digital notes 120 and/or a plurality of selectable digital coins 130. Preferably, the digital notes 120 and digital coins 130 are associated with a plurality of selectable denominations. For example, Australian currency would have digital notes 120 in denominations including one hundred, fifty, twenty, ten and five dollar denominations and digital coins 130 in two dollar, one dollar, fifty cent, twenty cent, ten cent and five cent denominations. Preferably, a preset amount of each denomination will be provided to amount to a maximum limit of the card device 110 and the float amount of each denomination will be adjusted upon making a payment or dispensing of the digital notes 120 and/or digital coins 130 or having a balance for a transaction credited to the card device 110. Each digital coin 120 and/or digital coin 130 is encrypted with the user's secret key so that it can be tracked whether it is stored on the card device 110, located within a computational device or in the process of being transferred.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, Yun, and Malhotra, because it allows for an improved system for facilitating payment of monetary transactions using a card device which stores money in a digital format. (Malhotra at Abstract and paras. 1-2).
As per claim 5,
Mugford does not explicitly teach, however, Gupta does teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, upon the determination that the [unit fee per unit of service is different] between settlement by the first settlement option and settlement by the selected second settlement option, and when the [unit fee per unit of service] for settlement by the first settlement option [is lower than the unit fee per unit of service] for settlement by the selected second settlement option, set the fee for a maximum number of units settleable by the first settlement option as the monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option.
(Gupta US20220405721 at Figs. 5A-6J, paras. 20-23, 31-33) ("[0022] In some embodiments, eligibility rules may comprise one or more of included products, included product categories, included product characteristics, excluded products, excluded product categories, excluded product characteristics, maximum per-item cost, maximum total cost, maximum per-period spending, etc. For example, rules for a group of payment instruments may exclude the purchase of alcohol and tobacco products. In another example, rules for another group of payment instruments may include only health care products." "[0032] If the product is eligible, in step 206, the cost of the product is allocated to the first payment instrument. In step 207, the system determines whether any fund remains on the payment instrument. If the payment instrument's fund has been exhausted, the system proceeds to step 210. If some fund remains, the system moves to step 208 to determine whether there are more products on the list of products. If so, the system repeats the eligibility determination in step 205 for the next item on the list. When all items have been checked for eligibility for a payment instrument, the system determines whether all item costs have been allocated in step 209. If unallocated cost remains, the system selects the next payment instrument according to the allocation order in step 210 and repeats steps 205-209 with the next payment instrument. In some embodiments, at least one payment instrument may comprise an unrestricted payment method that is eligible to pay for the cost of any product for sale. In some embodiments, when the next payment instrument is an unrestricted payment instrument, the system may allocate any remaining cost to the unrestricted payment instrument without repeating steps 210-208.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford and Gupta, because it allows for an improved system to allow the consumer to split payment between multiple payment options. (Gupta at Abstract and paras. 2-3).
Mugford, Gupta, and Trubnikov do not explicitly teach, however, Yun does teach:
unit fee per unit of service is different…and…unit fee per unit of service...is lower than the unit fee per unit of service…
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 228-233) ("[0228] Here, the preset priority criterion may be an item that is to be preferentially considered when selecting an apparatus for constituting a virtual device based on at least one selected from job execution cost, a job execution speed, a distance between apparatuses, and a distance between a user and an apparatus. [0229] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 receives specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4 by requesting the specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. Here, the specification information may be information about printing execution speeds of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4, printing cost per one sheet, and distances between the first image forming apparatus 1000-1 and the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. [0230] In detail, the second image forming apparatus 100-2 is printer 1, has a printing speed of 20 ppm and printing cost of 100 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 5 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0231] Also, the third image forming apparatus 1000-3 is printer 2, has a printing speed of 50 ppm and printing cost of 50 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 10 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0232] In addition, the fourth image forming apparatus 1000-4 is printer 3, has a printing speed of 30 ppm and printing cost of 30 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 20 m from the first image forming apparatus 100-1. [0233] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 stores apparatus order information 1100 according to each priority criterion as shown in FIG. 11 by using specification information of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, Yun, and Malhotra, because it allows for an improved image forming apparatus capable of providing a function of an image forming apparatus even for an unspecific user and easily charging for using of the function of the image forming apparatus, and a printing control method, which also improves frequency of use of an image forming apparatus and improves the users’ convenience. (Yun at Abstract and paras. 2-19).
As per claim 9,
Mugford explicitly teaches:
between settlement by the first settlement option and settlement by the selected second settlement option: set the monetary amount to be settled by the first settlement option based on [a fee for pages] settleable by the first settlement option; and set the monetary amount to be settled by the selected second settlement option based on [a fee for] remaining [pages.]
(Mugford US20170178113 at paras. 77-89) ("[0083] If insufficient funds do not exist using the default allocation settings (step 604; NO), multi-source transaction provider system 114 may identify additional allocations and/or funding sources associated with the multi-source payment account to fund the purchase (step 606). For example, FIG. 9A depicts an exemplary user interface 901 on computing device 102. As depicted in FIG. 9A, multi-source transaction provider system 114 may transmit instructions to computing device 102 for displaying an interface 901 on computing device 102 requesting input from user 104 as to whether an alternative allocation of funds may be used to fund the purchase. In particular, interface 901 may include a window 903 identifying a particular transaction and asking whether the user would like to modify default funding sources 905 and/or their respective allocations. Interface 901 may further identify the default funding source(s) and allocations under the default allocation settings that are insufficient to fund transaction." "[0078] In another example, FIG. 11A depicts an exemplary user interface 1101 on computing device 102. As shown in FIG. 11A, computing device 102 may display interface 1101 to receive default allocation settings associated with transactions between $100 and $1000. Interface 1101 may include window 1103 listing potential payment sources available to include in the default allocation settings." "[0080] The default allocation settings discussed above with respect to step 516 and FIGS. 11A and 11B are exemplary only. Fewer, different, or additional default allocation settings may be associated with user's multi-source transaction profile, consistent with disclosed embodiments. In some embodiments, different default settings may be used for different transaction categories. For example, default allocation settings may distinguish which potential payment sources should be used, and in what relative amounts, to fund different purchases based on the transaction type and/or any other distinguishing feature discernable from a transaction authorization request.")
Mugford, Gupta, and Trubnikov do not explicitly teach, however, Yun does teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the unit of service is a page; and the processor is configured to, when the unit fee per unit of service differs
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 228-233) ("[0228] Here, the preset priority criterion may be an item that is to be preferentially considered when selecting an apparatus for constituting a virtual device based on at least one selected from job execution cost, a job execution speed, a distance between apparatuses, and a distance between a user and an apparatus. [0229] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 receives specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4 by requesting the specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. Here, the specification information may be information about printing execution speeds of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4, printing cost per one sheet, and distances between the first image forming apparatus 1000-1 and the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. [0230] In detail, the second image forming apparatus 100-2 is printer 1, has a printing speed of 20 ppm and printing cost of 100 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 5 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0231] Also, the third image forming apparatus 1000-3 is printer 2, has a printing speed of 50 ppm and printing cost of 50 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 10 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0232] In addition, the fourth image forming apparatus 1000-4 is printer 3, has a printing speed of 30 ppm and printing cost of 30 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 20 m from the first image forming apparatus 100-1. [0233] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 stores apparatus order information 1100 according to each priority criterion as shown in FIG. 11 by using specification information of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4.")
a fee for pages…
(Yun US20170192727 at paras. 228-233) ("[0228] Here, the preset priority criterion may be an item that is to be preferentially considered when selecting an apparatus for constituting a virtual device based on at least one selected from job execution cost, a job execution speed, a distance between apparatuses, and a distance between a user and an apparatus. [0229] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 receives specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4 by requesting the specification information from the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. Here, the specification information may be information about printing execution speeds of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4, printing cost per one sheet, and distances between the first image forming apparatus 1000-1 and the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4. [0230] In detail, the second image forming apparatus 100-2 is printer 1, has a printing speed of 20 ppm and printing cost of 100 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 5 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0231] Also, the third image forming apparatus 1000-3 is printer 2, has a printing speed of 50 ppm and printing cost of 50 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 10 m from the first image forming apparatus 1000-1. [0232] In addition, the fourth image forming apparatus 1000-4 is printer 3, has a printing speed of 30 ppm and printing cost of 30 won per one sheet, and is positioned at a distance of 20 m from the first image forming apparatus 100-1. [0233] The first image forming apparatus 1000-1 stores apparatus order information 1100 according to each priority criterion as shown in FIG. 11 by using specification information of the second through fourth image forming apparatuses 1000-2, 1000-3, and 1000-4.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mugford, Gupta, Trubnikov, Yun, and Malhotra, because it allows for an improved image forming apparatus capable of providing a function of an image forming apparatus even for an unspecific user and easily charging for using of the function of the image forming apparatus, and a printing control method, which also improves frequency of use of an image forming apparatus and improves the users’ convenience. (Yun at Abstract and paras. 2-19).
Claims 7 and 8 are substantially similar to claim 1, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 101 rejections for now pending claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9, Examiner notes the following:
Regarding the applicant's argument that the amended features would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner disagrees and notes that the additional elements of the computer system - a “An information processing apparatus comprising: a display: a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and (ii) information indicating units of payment available for each of a plurality of settlement options: and a processor configured to:” and “a service designated for execution by an image forming apparatus”, to perform the steps of “calculating”, “determining”, “setting”, and “displaying”, in all steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The claims at issue covers collecting and analyzing data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. The claims invoke the “An information processing apparatus comprising: a display: a memory storing (i) a billing table in which unit fees for services are set, and (ii) information indicating units of payment available for each of a plurality of settlement options: and a processor configured to:” and “a service designated for execution by an image forming apparatus”, to perform the steps of “calculating”, “determining”, “setting”, and “displaying” merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a certain method of organizing human activity or mental process or mathematical calculation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05 (f))
Examiner notes that, the stated problems of an efficient payment transaction process is not a technical problem, and the claimed solution is not a technical solution. In the claim, the solution of performing a financial payment transaction utilizing differing unit is part of the abstract idea, as it is merely involves collecting and analyzing data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. Furthermore, the data manipulation and analysis could be completed mentally or manually by paper or pen.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 102 rejections for now pending claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9, Examiner notes that the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 103 rejections for now pending claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9, Examiner notes that the arguments are moot in light of the new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is available for review on Form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT J HASBROUCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695