Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Su states “[t]aking advantage that not all solder balls are electrically connected, i.e., not connected (NC) pins, and some solder balls share the same function, a plurality of solder balls can be combined to form a larger solder island in accordance with the teachings of the present invention.” 3:57-61. The statement necessarily implies that some solder balls share the same function, then some must share different functions, satisfying the amended limitation “different types” of signal pins. Stated most simply, the person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Su can readily electrically connect (associate) any of the solder bars or balls with any I/O, power, ground, etc. as applications require.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the masking means must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
In Claim 20, “masking means” is understood to be a solder mask [0051, 0063-0064].
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The limitation “in place of an underfill material” renders the claim indefinite as the reason for the placement of the solder balls/bars exists in the mind of the designer, making the metes and bounds of the claim impossible to determine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11- 16, 19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 9560771 to Su et al. (Su) in view of U.S. Pat. No . 7057292 to Elenius et al. (Elenius).
Regarding Claim 1, Su teaches an integrated circuit, comprising:
a substrate 304; and
a grid 330 of connection points disposed on a surface of the substrate, the grid of connection points comprising:
a first connection point type 302 having a first structure; and
a second connection point type 310 having a second structure that is different from the first structure, the second connection point type being disposed on a perimeter of the substrate and being associated with a plurality of signal pins, wherein the plurality of signal pins associated with the second connection point type are selected from a group consisting of: a ground pin; a no-connect pin; and a non-critical pin. (“[t]aking advantage that not all solder balls are electrically connected, i.e., not connected (NC) pins, and some solder balls share the same function, a plurality of solder balls can be combined to form a larger solder island in accordance with the teachings of the present invention.” 3:57-61).
Su teaches a packaged IC and therefore does not explicitly teach that the signal pins of the IC in the package are clustered at the perimeter of the substrate. Rather, Su is silent regarding internal routing. However, in analogous art, Elenius teaches a flip-chip having solder bars 36/37 at a perimeter of a substrate for connection to high current signal pins, such as ground 7:25-28. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to include the teaching of Elenius as Su is silent regarding the position of signal pins with respect to external solder balls or bars, motivating the person of ordinary skill to seek out such teachings.
Regarding Claim 2, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the first connection point type is a solder ball and the second connection point type is a solder bar (see Figs. 3D and 4B; round pads 302 become solder balls 402 and elongated pads 310 become solder bars 410 upon reflow).
Regarding Claim 3, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein multiple second connection point types are disposed around the perimeter of the substrate and wherein at least one first connection point type is disposed around the perimeter between the multiple second connection point types (see Fig. 3D, individual balls 302 between bars 310).
Regarding Claim 4, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein a height of the first connection point type is substantially equivalent to a height of the second connection point type 4:5-8.
Regarding Claim 6, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the single signal pin is selected from a group comprising: a power pin; a data pin; a control pin; and a clock pin (Elenius teaches control and interface pins in the above quoted section).
Regarding Claim 7, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit is coupled to a printed circuit board and wherein the printed circuit board comprises copper pads that at least substantially match a shape and a layout of the first connection point type and a shape and a layout of the second connection point type disposed on the substrate (4:21-23; although Su does not explicitly teach copper pads and is silent as to the contact material, the person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use copper as it is the most common, well known and understood material for PCB traces).
Regarding Claim 8, Su and Elenius teach an integrated circuit, comprising:
a substrate; and
a grid of connection points disposed on a surface of the substrate, the grid of connection points comprising:
a plurality of solder bars disposed around a perimeter of the substrate, each solder bar being associated with a plurality of signal pins, wherein the plurality of signal pins associated with each solder bar are clustered at the perimeter of the substrate and are selected from a group consisting of:
a ground pin; a no-connect pin; and anon-critical pin;
a first plurality of solder balls disposed around the perimeter of the substrate, wherein at least one solder ball of the plurality of solder balls is disposed between a first solder bar of the plurality of solder bars and a second solder bar of the plurality of solder balls; and
a second plurality of solder balls disposed within the perimeter of the substrate (see rejections of claims 1-3 above, Figs. 3D and 4B).
Regarding Claim 9, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein each solder ball of the first plurality of solder balls and each solder ball of the second plurality of solder balls are associated with a single signal pin (see rejection of Claim 2 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein the single signal pin is selected from a group comprising: a power pin; a data pin; a control pin; and a clock pin (see rejection of Claim 6 above).
Regarding Claim 12, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the integrated circuit is coupled to a printed circuit board and wherein the printed circuit board comprises copper pads that at least substantially match a shape and a layout of the plurality of solder bars and a shape and layout of the first plurality of solder balls and the second plurality of solder balls (see rejection of Claim 7 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 8, further comprising a solder mask that causes a height of each of the plurality of solder bars to be substantially equivalent to a height of each of the first plurality of solder balls and to a height of each of the second plurality of solder balls (see rejection of Claim 4 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Su and Elenius teach a grid of connection points for electrically coupling a first computing component to a second computing component, comprising:
a first connection means having a first structure and being associated with a single signal means; and
a second connection means having a second structure that is different from the first structure, the second connection means being disposed on a perimeter of the first computing component and being associated with a plurality of signal means, wherein the plurality of signal means associated with the second connection means are clustered at the perimeter of the first computing component and are selected from a group consisting of:
a ground signal means; a no-connect signal means; and a non-critical signal means. (see rejection of Claims 1 and 5 above at least, see also 2:44-45 teaching that the IC may be combinational logic which is a computing component, and further the person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Suh may arrange the I/O to meet application specific requirements).
Regarding Claim 15, Su and Elenius teach the the grid of connection points of claim 14, wherein the first connection means is a solder ball and the second connection means is a solder bar (see the rejection of Claim 2 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Su and Elenius teach the the grid of connection points of claim 14, wherein multiple second connection means are disposed around the perimeter of the first computing component and wherein at least one first connection means is disposed around the perimeter of the first computing component between the multiple second connection means (see Fig. 3D).
Regarding Claim 18, Su and Elenius teach the the grid of connection points of claim 14, wherein the single signal means is selected from a group comprising: a power signal means; a data signal means; a control signal means; and a clock signal means (see above).
Regarding Claim 19, Su and Elenius teach the the grid of connection points of claim 14, wherein the second computing component is a printed circuit board that comprises a third connection means, the third connection means having one or more shapes and a layout that substantially match a shape and layout of the first connection means and a shape and a layout of the second connection means disposed on the first computing component (see above, it would further be obvious for the pads on the PCB to match the shape of the connection points to maximize electrical contact and enhance structural rigidity).
Regarding Claim 21, Su and Elenius teach the grid of connection points of claim 14, wherein the first connection means and the second connection means form a solder barrier at the perimeter of the first computing component, the solder barrier providing mechanical support between the first computing component and the second computing component (similar structures will serve similar purposes, see MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding Claim 22, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the first connection point type and the second connection point type form a solder barrier at the perimeter of the substrate, the solder barrier providing mechanical support (Su teaches mechanical support throughout).
Regarding Claim 23, Su and Elenius teach the integrated circuit of claim 8, wherein the plurality of solder bars and the first plurality of solder balls disposed around the perimeter of the substrate form a solder barrier, the solder barrier providing mechanical support in place of an underfill material (similar structures will serve similar purposes, see MPEP 2112.01).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 6133134 to Mehr.
Regarding Claim 19, Su teaches the grid of connection points of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach a masking means that causes a height of the first connection means to be substantially equivalent to a height of the second connection means.
However, in analogous art, Mehr teaches a solder mask 32 for maintaining a height of solder balls 34. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to include the teaching of Mehr since Su explicitly suggests maintaining a height of the solder balls.
Conclusion
/EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812