Response to Amendment
The amendment received 6/4/2026 (“Amendment”) has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 depends from claim 9, however claim 9 is canceled. Examiner will reject claim 20 as it depending from claim1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-17 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20210399347A1 (Yamafuku).
Regarding claim 1, Yamafuku teaches a method for manufacturing an energy storage device including an electrode that has an active material layer, an electrolyte solution, and a case [abs], comprising a first electrode plate [#24; negative electrode], a second electrode plate [#23, positive electrode] [0047], and a first insulation layer [#6;0082 insulating member; fig. 2 ], the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate being wound to form the electrode assembly [fig. 4], wherein a winding terminating end of the first electrode plate exceeds a winding terminating end of the second electrode plate by at least half a turn so that the first electrode plate entirely covers an outer surface of an outermost turn of the second electrode plate [fig. 2/3/4], and the first insulation layer being applied on an outer surface of an outermost turn of the first electrode plate
wherein the electrode assembly further comprises a separator [#25; 0047], wherein the separator is disposed between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate, and a winding terminating end of the separator exceeds the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate by at least 1.75 turns [fig. 4 is annotated and the structural features are depicted below].
Regarding claim 2, Yamafuku teaches the electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first insulation layer [#6- 0082 fig. 2] extends from the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate by at least half a turn.
Regarding claim 3, Yamafuku teaches wherein the electrode assembly has a straight flat zone , a first bending zone, and a second bending zone, wherein the straight flat zone is located between the first bending zone and the second bending zone, and the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate is located in the first bending zone [fig. 4 is annotated and the structural features are depicted below].
Regarding claim 4, Yamafuku teaches wherein the first bending zone has a first vertex farthest away from a winding center of the electrode assembly, the second bending zone has a second vertex farthest away from the winding center of the electrode assembly, and the first insulation layer covers the first vertex and the second vertex [fig. 4 is annotated and the structural features are depicted above in claim 3].
Regarding claim 6, Yamafuku teaches wherein the first insulation layer is applied only on a portion of the first electrode plate exceeding the winding terminating end of the second electrode plate [fig. 2 0082].
Regarding claim 10, Yamafuku teaches a battery cell comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [i.e. #3 case; 0045].
Regarding claim 11, Yamafuku teaches a battery comprising the battery cell according to claim 10 [0044; energy storage, Li battery].
Regarding claim 12, Yamafuku teaches an electric device comprising the battery according to claim 11 [0044].
Regarding claim 13, Yamafuku teaches battery cell, characterized by comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 2, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0045].
Regarding claim 14, Yamafuku teaches a battery cell comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 3, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0045].
Regarding claim 15, Yamafuku teaches a battery cell comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 4, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0044].
Regarding claim 16, Yamafuku teaches a battery cell comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 5, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0044].
Regarding claim 17, Yamafuku teaches a battery cell comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 6, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0044].
Regarding claim 20, Yamafuku teaches wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0044].
Regarding claim 21, Yamafuku teaches wherein the first electrode plate is a negative electrode plate, and the second electrode plate is a positive electrode plate [0047] .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210399347A1 (Yamafuku)
Regarding claim 5, Yamafuku does not explicitly teach wherein the first insulation layer extends from the winding terminating end of the first electrode plate by at least one turn. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the length of the insulation layer of Yamafuku to be at least one turn as this is an obvious variation in the sizes of the insulation layer with no change in the function of the electrochemical system and it would yield nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143).
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210399347A1 (Yamafuku) in view of US20200144674A1 (Zheng)
Regarding claim 7, Yamafuku does not teach wherein an inner surface of the portion of the first electrode plate exceeding the winding terminating end of the second electrode plate is coated with a second insulation layer. Zheng teaches electrochemical device and the second insulation layer as claimed [#406; 0056; fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamafuku in view of Zheng and incorporate the second insulation layer as claimed so that the lithium battery has better safety performance and improved electrochemical performance [0044].
Regarding claim 8, Yamafuku does not teach wherein the inner surface or an outer surface of the portion of the first electrode plate exceeding the winding terminating end of the second electrode plate is coated with a flame retardant layer and/or a getter layer. Zheng teaches wherein the inner surface or an outer surface of the portion of the first electrode plate exceeding the winding terminating end of the second electrode plate is coated with a flame retardant layer and/or a getter layer [0047; boehmite; as noted in the instant specification, boehmite can be used as a flame retardant layer (0120)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamafuku in view of Zheng and incorporate the flame retardant layer as claimed so that the lithium battery has better safety performance and improved electrochemical performance [0044].
Regarding claim 18, Yamafuku teaches wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0044].
Regarding claim 19, Yamafuku teaches a battery cell comprising a housing and at least one electrode assembly according to claim 8, wherein the electrode assembly is disposed in the housing [0044].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729