DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 07/24/2023, 03/03/2025 and 03/03/2025 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 07/24/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16 in the reply filed on 02/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims Status.
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 02/13/2026. Claims 1-16 were pending. Claims 1-16 are now pending. Claims 2-9, 11 and 14 are withdrawn from examination as being drawn to non-elected invention Claims 1-3, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are presented for examination. Applicant's arguments have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by CN 110752345 to Du (Du machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Du discloses an electrode plate (electrode sheet, Claim 1) comprising a current collector and an electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the current collector (claim 1), wherein the electrode active material layer has a maximum porosity on an outer surface side thereof (para 15, This results in an electrode sheet with gradually increasing porosity from the surface near the current collector to the surface away from the current collector, i.e., an electrode sheet with gradient porosity). Therefore, instant claim 1 is anticipated by Du.
Regarding claim 2, Du discloses wherein the electrode active material layer has a minimum porosity on a bottom surface side thereof that is opposite the outer surface side (para 15).
Regarding claim 3, Du discloses wherein a compacted density for the positive electrode is 2.3 g/cm3 and a compacted density for the negative electrode is 1.5 g/cm3.
It is noted that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03
Regarding claim 10, Du discloses a secondary battery (para 4).\
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN 110752345 to Du (Du machine translation) in view of US 2007/0009797 to Takami (Takami).
Regarding claim 12, Du discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 10 and incorporated therein. Du does not expressly disclose a battery module, battery pack or electrical apparatus comprising above mentioned battery module and battery pack.
Takami teaches a secondary battery (para 81), comprising porous electrode layers ( para 49), a battery module ( para 90, re claim 12) and a battery pack (para 90, re claim 13), both used in in vehicle (para 104, claim 20, re claims 15 and 16). Therefore, a use batteries having porous electrodes in the battery packs, battery modules and electrical devices such a vehicles is well known in the art. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the high energy density battery of Du within battery module and battery back for vehicles, as taught by Takami, in order to expand a field of applicability said batteries.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751