DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/15/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “system-on-chip type” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23 states “the first dielectric region comprising a first ring-shaped etch block structure including portions of one or more metal layers interspersed within the first dielectric region”. It should read “the first dielectric region comprising a first ring-shaped etch block structure and including portions of one or more metal layers interspersed within the first dielectric region”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 21-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, 9, 12 and 21-27 use the term “near infrared”. It is not clear what the Applicant means with word “near”. The Specification does not define the term “near infrared” and the claim does not specify a wavelength range in which “near infrared” is considered. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider the term “near infrared” as infrared.
Claim 25 states the term “deep trench”. The term is indefinites because the claim does not specify how deep is the trench and Specification does not define the term. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “deep trench” as a trench of any dimension.
Claim 25 states the term “high absorption region”. The term is indefinites because the claim does not specify a range of absorption and Specification does not define the term. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “high absorption” as any region that absorbs light.
Claims 2-5 are rejected due to their dependency with claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotellier (US Patent US-20230085957-A1) in the view of Hsieh (US Patent US-20230067395-A1), hereinafter Hsieh; and Li (US Patent US-20210091244-A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Hotellier teaches an optoelectronic device (Fig. 4 optoelectronic device 300), comprising:
a first semiconductor device (Fig. 4 base chip 302) comprising:
a first layer of a first semiconductor material (Fig. 4 Si die 306); and
an array of infrared light photodiodes (Fig. 4 photodiode 322 is an array infrared detector, see [0058] & [049]), and
a second semiconductor device (Fig. 4 emitter chip 304) joined with the first semiconductor device (Fig. 4 emitter chip 304 is joined to base chip 322), below the first semiconductor device (Fig. 4 emitter chip 304 is below 306 by rotating the device), and comprising:
a second layer of a second semiconductor material (Fig. 2ab-b semiconductor die 126; [0048] states “wherein the emitter chip is identical to emitter chip 104 ”); and a portion of a near infrared light emitting structure (Fig. 4 mesa structure [0035] the structure is an infrared structure since VCSEL 132 is an infrared device [003], [0025]) comprising:
a near infrared emitting laser diode comprising a second epitaxial material and within the second layer of the second semiconductor material (Fig. 4 VCSEL 132 is an infrared emitter ,[003] & [0025], comprises an epitaxial material, [0028], within semiconductor die 30).
Hotellier fails to teach an array of pixel structures comprising: an array of visible light photodiodes within the first layer of the first semiconductor material; and an array photodiodes comprising a first epitaxial material and within the first layer of the first semiconductor material; wherein the array of photodiodes is interspersed amongst the array of visible light photodiodes.
However, Hsieh teaches an array of pixel structures (Fig. 3a) comprising: an array of visible light photodiodes (Fig. 3a red, green, blue, yellow & white pixel sensor 202 includes a photodiode; [0044]); and an array of near infrared light photodiodes (Fig. 3a NIR pixel sensor 202, [0044] ); wherein the array of near infrared light photodiodes is interspersed amongst the array of visible light photodiodes (Fig. 3a NIR pixel sensor 202 is dispersed amongst red, green, blue, yellow & white pixel sensor 202).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device with an array of pixel structures as taught by Hsieh (e.g. having an array of visible & NIR photodiode as photodiode 22 within Si die 16 from Hotellier) because having an array of visible & NIR photodiode would allow to detect a both visible light and infrared light.
Hotellier’s device modified above failed to teach an array of photodiodes comprising a first epitaxial material; and a near infrared light emitting diode.
However, Li teaches an infrared light photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material (Fig. 1 photodiode 24, comprising epitaxial material including InGaAsN [0025] is an infrared photodiode [0003]); a near infrared light emitting diode (Fig. 1 VCEL 30, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device in the view of Hsieh with an infrared light photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material; as taught by Li because it would allow to operate at infrared wavelengths in the range beyond 850 nm which would be safer to the eye (from Li [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, comprises the first epitaxial material (from Li [0025] InGaAsN is an epitaxial material) and a second epitaxial material (from Hotellier [0035] VCSEL comprises a stack of epitaxial layers).
Hotellier’s modified device failed to teach wherein the first epitaxial material and the second epitaxial material are a same selectively grown epitaxial material.
However, Li teaches wherein the first epitaxial material and the second epitaxial material are a same selectively grown epitaxial material (Fig. 1 first stack of epitaxial layers 24 & second stack of epitaxial layers 30 are made of InGaAsN [0010] & [0025]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s in the view of Hsieh and Li having the first epitaxial material and the second epitaxial material are a same selectively grown epitaxial material as further taught by Li because it would allow to operate at infrared wavelengths in the range beyond 850 nm which would be safer to the eye (from Li [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, comprises the first epitaxial material (from Li [0025] InGaAsN is an epitaxial material) and a second epitaxial material (from Hotellier [0035] VCSEL comprises a stack of epitaxial layers).
Hotellier’s modified device failed to teach wherein the first epitaxial material and the second epitaxial material are different selectively grown epitaxial materials.
However, Li teaches wherein the first epitaxial material and the second epitaxial material are different selectively grown epitaxial materials (Fig. 1 first stack of epitaxial layers 24 comprises made of InGaAsN [0010] & second stack of epitaxial layers 30 are made of InGaAs [0010] ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s in the view of Hsieh and Li having the first epitaxial material and the second epitaxial material are a same selectively grown epitaxial material as further taught by Li because it would allow to operate at infrared wavelengths in the range beyond 850 nm which would be safer to the eye (from Li [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the first epitaxial material or the second epitaxial material comprises: a type III periodic element; or a type V periodic element (from Li [0025] first stack of Fig. 1 comprises InGaAsN).
Regarding claim 5, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the first epitaxial material or the second epitaxial material comprises: a germanium material; a silicon germanium material; a gallium arsenide material (from Li [0025] first stack of Fig. 1 comprises InGaAsN); or an indium phosphide material.
Regarding claim 6, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a seal ring structure between the array of near infrared light photodiodes and the portion of the near infrared light emitting structure (from Hotellier Fig. 4 gap 338 is filled with a dielectric material [0050] between VCSEL 132 and photodiode 322; Hotellier’s modified device would have infrared light photodiodes as per claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the portion of the near infrared light emitting structure (from Hotellier Fig. 4 mesa structure, [0035], is an infrared structure since VCSEL 132 is an infrared device, [0003], [0025]) further comprises:
a first distributed Bragg reflection structure below the near infrared light emitting laser diode; and a second distributed Bragg reflection structure above the near infrared light emitting laser diode (from Hotellier [0030] “VCSEL 40 typically comprises a quantum well layer sandwiched between upper and lower distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) stacks”).
Regarding claim 21, Hotellier teaches an optoelectronic device, comprising:
a first semiconductor device (Fig. 4 base chip 302) comprising a first semiconductor layer (Fig. 4 silicon die 306), and a near infrared light photodiode (Fig. 4 photodiode 322 is an infrared detector, see [0049]);
a second semiconductor device (Fig. 4 emitter chip 304) joined with the first semiconductor device (Fig. 4 emitter chip 304 is joined to base chip 302) and comprising a second semiconductor layer (Fig. 1 semiconductor die 126; [0048] states “wherein the emitter chip is identical to emitter chip 104 ”) and a near infrared light emitting laser diode (Fig. 4 VCSEL 132 is an infrared device, [003]; [0205]) comprising a second epitaxial material (Fig. 4 VCSEL 132, [0003]; [0025]); and
a near infrared transmission region (annotated figure below Fig. 4 “transmission region” transmits the that travels between 132&322; the transmission region is an infrared region since 132 and 122 are IR devices) extending through portions of the first and second semiconductor devices to a structure including the near infrared light emitting laser diode (Fig. 4 transmission region extends through portions of 302 & 304 to a mesa structure including VCSEL 132).
Hotellier fails to teach a visible light photodiode; photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material.
However, Hsieh teaches an array of pixel structures (Fig. 3a) comprising: an array of visible light photodiodes (Fig. 3a red, green, blue, yellow & white pixel sensor 202 includes a photodiode; [0044]); and an array of near infrared light photodiodes (Fig. 3a NIR pixel sensor 202, [0044] ); wherein the array of near infrared light photodiodes is interspersed amongst the array of visible light photodiodes (Fig. 3a NIR pixel sensor 202 is dispersed amongst red, green, blue, yellow & white pixel sensor 202).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device with an array of pixel structures as taught by Hsieh (e.g. having an array of visible & NIR photodiode as photodiode 22 within Si die 16 from Hotellier) because having an array of visible & NIR photodiode would allow to detect a both visible light and infrared light.
However, Li teaches a photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material (Fig. 1 photodiode 24, comprising epitaxial material including InGaAsN [0025]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device in the view of Hsieh with a photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material; as taught by Li because it would allow to operate at infrared wavelengths in the range beyond 850 nm which would be safer to the eye (from Li [0021]).
Regarding claim 22, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 21, wherein: the visible light photodiode is included in an array of visible light photodiodes within the first semiconductor layer (Hotellier’s modified device would have within Si die 306 an array of visible light photodiodes; from Hsieh Fig. 3a);
the near infrared light photodiode is included in an array of near infrared light photodiodes within the first semiconductor layer (from Hsieh Fig. 3a ed, green, blue, yellow & white pixel sensor 202 & NIR pixel sensor 202); and
the array of near infrared light photodiodes is interspersed amongst the array of visible light photodiodes (from Hsieh Fig. 3a NIR pixel sensor 202 is dispersed amongst red, green, blue, yellow & white pixel sensor 202).
Regarding claim 23, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 21, further comprising:
a first dielectric region of the first semiconductor device (from Hotellier Fig. 4 dielectric layers 315 & 314 of base chip 302), the first dielectric region (from Hotellier Fig. 4 multilayers 315 & 314 comprises a dielectric layer [0049]) comprising a portions of one or more metal layers interspersed within the first dielectric region (from Hotellier Fig. 4 Fig. 4 multilayers 315 & 314 comprises metal traces interspersed with the dielectric layers [0049]); and a second dielectric region of the second semiconductor device (Fig. 4 gap 338 is filled with a dielectric material [0050]), the second dielectric region comprising (Fig. 4 gap 338) portions of one or more metal layers interspersed within the second dielectric region (Fig. 4 metal junctions 332 and 334 within 338).
Hotellier’s modified device fails to teach a first ring-shaped etch block structure; a second ring-shaped etch block structure co-axially aligned with the first ring-shaped etch block structure; wherein the near infrared light transmission region extends through a center of the first ring-shaped etch block structure and through a center of the second ring-shaped etch block structure.
However, Hotellier further teaches in a different embodiment a first ring-shaped etch block structure (Fig. 7a gap 609a; [0056] & [0057] states device 600a is the same as 100 in Fig. 2a expect for the gaps not being filled; Fig. 2a cavity 122 is an etched cavity, hence, gap 609a is an etched gap; a second ring-shaped etch block structure (Fig. 7a gap 610b; [0056] & [0057] states device 600a is the same as 100 in Fig. 2a expect for the gaps not being filled; Fig. 2a cavity 122 is an etched cavity, hence, gap 610a is an etched gap) co-axially aligned with the first ring-shaped etch block structure (Fig. 7a gap 610b is co-axially aligned with gap 609a); wherein the near infrared light transmission region ( see annotated Fig. 7a “transmission region” in claim 9 ) extends through a center of the first ring-shaped etch block structure and through a center of the second ring-shaped etch block structure (“transmission region” extends through a center of 609a and 610a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device in the view of Hsieh and Li with a first and second-shaped etch block structure as further taught by Hotellier because it would reduce the absorption and scattering of the optical radiation (from Hotellier [0057]).
Regarding claim 24, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 21, wherein the structure (from Hotellier Fig. 4 mesa structure) including the near infrared light emitting laser diode (from Hotellier’s Fig. 4 VCSEL 132 is an infrared VCSEL, [0003]; [0025]) comprises:
a first distributed Bragg reflection structure below the near infrared light emitting laser diode; and a second distributed Bragg reflection structure above the near infrared light emitting laser diode (from Hotellier [0030] VCSEL 40 typically comprises a quantum well layer sandwiched between upper and lower distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) stacks),
wherein the near infrared light transmission region intersects the second distributed Bragg reflection structure (from Hotellier annotated Fig. 4 in claim 21 transmission region transmit infrared light and intersects lower DBR, [0030]).
Regarding claim 25, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 21.
Hotellier’s modified device fails to teach a deep trench isolation structure extending into the first semiconductor layer between the visible light photodiode and the near infrared light photodiode; and a high absorption (HA) region above at least one of the visible light photodiode and the near infrared light photodiode.
However, Hsieh teaches a deep trench isolation structure extending into the first semiconductor layer between the visible light photodiode and the near infrared light photodiode (Fig. 11 DTI structures 414 extends through 202a-f); a high absorption region above at least one of the visible light photodiode and the near infrared light photodiode (Fig. 11 high absorption region 1002 are above 202a-f, [1002]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s in the view of Hsieh and Li with a deep trench isolation structure and a high absorption region as further taught by Hsieh because deep trench isolation structure would allow to isolate the array of photodiodes while the absorption region would allow to increase the absorption of incident light for a pixel sensor (from Hsieh [0084]).
Regarding claim 26, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 21.
Hotellier’s modified device to fails to teach a filter layer over the first semiconductor device; a grid structure over the first semiconductor device; and a micro-lens layer over the filter layer and the grid structure.
However, Hsieh teaches a filter layer (Fig. 4 filter layer 410); a grid structure (Fig. 3b and 4 shows a gris structure of 202a-f); and a micro-lens layer over the filter layer and the grid structure (Fig. 4 microlens 412 over filter 410 and grid formed by 202-a-f).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier in the view of Hsieh and Li with a filter layer, a grid structure and a micro-lens layer as further taught by Hsieh because a filter would allow to block undesired wavelengths (from Hsei [0048]); a grid would allow to place the photodiodes and a micro-lens layer would allow to control the direction of the light.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotellier (US Patent US-20230085957-A1) in the view of Hsieh (US Patent US-20230067395-A1), and Li (US Patent US-20210091244-A1), as per claim 1, in further view of Burroughs (US Patent US-20180301589-A1), hereinafter Burroughs.
Regarding claim 8, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 1, wherein the second semiconductor device comprises: an application-specific integrated circuit type of semiconductor device (Fig. 1 laser diode driver 28) joined with a vertical-cavity surface emitting laser type of semiconductor device (from Hotellier Fig. 1 laser diode driver 28 is join with VCSEL 40).
Hotellier’s modified device fails to teach wherein the first semiconductor device comprises: a system-on-chip type of semiconductor device.
However, Burroughs teaches a system-on-chip type of semiconductor device (Fig. 16a SoC 1600; [0134] states “the integrated SoC 1600 may include a heterogeneous combination of detectors 1604 and emitters 1603 commonly provided on a substrate 1607”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device in the view of Hsieh and Li with a system-on-chip type of semiconductor device as taught by Burroughs because it would allow to incorporate a ToF timing control processor configured to control the emitters and detectors (from Burroughs [0135]).
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotellier (US Patent US-20230085957-A1) in the view of Li (US Patent US-20210091244-A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 9, Hotellier device teaches an optoelectronic device (Fig. 7a/2a optoelectronic device 600a), comprising:
a first layer of a first semiconductor material (Fig. 2a Si die 106; [0056]) comprising:
a near infrared light photodiode (Fig. 7a photodiode 614a is an infrared device, [0003], [0025]);
a first dielectric region below the near infrared light photodiode, adjacent to the near infrared light photodiode (Fig. 2a multilayer 116 comprises alternating dielectric layers [0034] not label in Fig. 7a but that they are adjacent to 614a), and comprising:
a first etched ring-shaped block structure (Fig. 7a gap 609a; [0056] & [0057] states device 600a is the same as 100 in Fig. 2a expect for the gaps not being filled; Fig. 2a cavity 122 is an etched cavity, hence, gap 609a is an etched gap);
a second dielectric region below the first dielectric region (Fig. 7a underfilled material 608a; 608a would correspond to 154 in Fig. 2a that is filled with dielectric material [0040]) and comprising:
a second etched ring-shaped block structure (Fig. 7a gap 610b; [0056] & [0057] states device 600a is the same as 100 in Fig. 2a expect for the gaps not being filled; Fig. 2a cavity 122 is an etched cavity, hence, gap 610a is an etched gap) that is co-axially aligned with the first etched ring-shaped block structure (Fig. 7a gap 610b is co-axially aligned with gap 609a);
a second layer of a second semiconductor material below the second dielectric region (Fig. 2a semiconductor die 126, in Fig. 7a this layer is not label, below 608a by rotating the device) and comprising:
a near infrared light emitting laser diode comprising a second epitaxial material (Fig. 7a VCSEL 612a is an infrared device, [003], [0025], comprises an epitaxial material [0028]); and
a near infrared light transmission region (annotated Fig. 7a below “transmission region” is an infrared since 612a and 614a are infrared devices) disposed through a center of the first etched ring-shaped etch block structure, through a center of the second etched ring-shaped etch block structure, and to a structure including the near infrared light emitting laser diode (annotated Fig. 7a below “transmission region” disposed through centers of 609a & 610a and to mesa structure region including VCSEL 612a).
Hotellier fails to teach photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material.
However, Li teaches a photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material (Fig. 1 photodiode 24, comprising epitaxial material including InGaAsN, [0025]);.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s device in the view of Hsieh with a photodiode comprising a first epitaxial material; as taught by Li because it would allow to operate at infrared wavelengths in the range beyond 850 nm which would be safer to the eye (from Li [0021]).
Regarding claim 10, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 9, wherein the first ring-shaped etch block structure (from Hotellier Fig. 7a gap 609a) comprises: portions of one or more metal layers interspersed within the first dielectric region (from Hotellier Fig. 2a multilayer 116 comprises alternating dielectric and metal layers [0034] not label in Fig. 7a ).
Regarding claim 11, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 9, wherein the second ring-shaped etch block structure (from Hotellier Fig. 7a gap 610b) comprises: portions of one or more metal layers (from Hotellier Fig. 2a metal junctions 156 and 158 ) interspersed within the second dielectric region (from Hotellier Fig. 2a metal junctions 156 and 158 are interspersed with 608a ).
Regarding claim 12, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 9, wherein the near infrared light transmission region (Hotellier from annotated Fig. 7a in claim 1 “transmission region ”) comprises: a gaseous mixture that is disposed through the center of the first ring-shaped etch block structure, through the center of the second ring-shaped etch block structure, and to the structure including the near infrared light emitting laser diode (from Hotellier 609a and 610a will be filled with air, see [0057] to reach VCSEL 612a) .
Regarding claim 13, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 9, wherein the near infrared light transmission region intersects with a distributed Bragg reflection structure over the near infrared light emitting laser diode (Hotellier from annotated Fig. 7a in claim 1 “transmission region ” intersects with Bragg reflectors stack over VCSEL 612a, see [0030]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hotellier (US Patent US-20230085957-A1) in the view of Hsieh (US Patent US-20230067395-A1), and Li (US Patent US-20210091244-A1), as per claim 21, in further view of Scheller (US Patent US-20210408761-A1), hereinafter Scheller.
Regarding claim 27, Hotellier’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic device of claim 21, wherein the a near infrared transmission region (from Hotellier transmission region in annotated Fig. 4 claim 21 is an infrared transmission region).
Hotellier’s modified device fails to teach wherein transmission region comprises a gaseous mixture; a layer that is reflective to near infrared light is on surfaces of the near infrared light transmission region.
However, Hotellier further teaches wherein transmission region comprises a gaseous mixture (Fig. 7a transmission region illustrated in annotated figure in claim 9 comprises a gaseous mixture, see [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s in the view of Hsieh and Li with a transmission region comprising a gaseous mixture as further taught by Hotellier because it would reduce the absorption and scattering of the optical radiation (from Hotellier [0057]).
Hotellier’s modified device as above fails to teach a layer that is reflective to near infrared light is on surfaces of the near infrared light transmission region.
However, Scheller teaches a layer that is reflective to near infrared light (Fig. 11 reflective layer 1190; [0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hotellier’s with a layer that is reflective to near infrared light as taught by Scheller (e.g. having a reflective from Sheller layer between 304 and 302) because it would allow to have high reflectivity for IR light and a low reflectivity for visible light (from Scheller [0122] ).
Conclusion
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828