DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trill (EP 1357328 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Trill discloses a transfer line for a motor vehicle, the transfer line comprising: a process line for transporting a cryogenic fluid (see par. 0001, double-walled pipe for cryogenic media); a sheath arranged to surround the process line to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (Id. and par. 0008, double-walled pipe with interspace vacuum, the outer wall being the sheath); one or more temperature sensors 6 arranged on an outer surface of the sheath to detect a current temperature of the sheath (par. 0010); and a control unit 11 operatively connected to the one or more temperature sensors, to determine, in response to receipt of a signal from the one or more temperature sensors that corresponds to the detected current temperature of the sheath, a tightness of the sheath relative to the process line (pars. 0011-0014; pars. 0022-0024). Note that the Figure and the labeled elements are shown on a double-wall cryogenic fluid container, but that Trill states that it may be a double-walled pipe as well (see pars. 0001, 0008, 0017, 0026).
Trill does not explicitly disclose the control unit having one or more processors and a non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the one or more processors comprising a set of instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the control unit to perform its determining of the tightness of the sheath. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that including in the control unit, a processor with non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the processor comprising a set of instructions executable by the processor to cause the control unit to perform its control functions, is a known and conventional way of making and designing a control unit. For example, conventional general computers include all these elements and function as control units for any of various processes and functions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used a known control unit with processor, memory and executable instructions for carrying out the function of the control unit in Trill; this would have been obvious to because computer processors provide efficient and precise control of measurement data and signal output.
Regarding claim 2, Trill discloses the control unit 11 functions to indicate, in response to determining the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line, an item of information regarding the determined tightness (par. 0014, if vacuum deteriorates and temperature drops, a warning signal is generated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that instructions are executable by one or more processors of the control unit to cause the control unit to operate this way for the same reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Trill does disclose that the control unit 11 functions to transmit, in response to determining the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line, a warning signal (see par. 0014; and see par. 0024, control unit 11 connected to driver and engine management via data line 12 so that information to driver is possible). Trill does not disclose that this warning signal is optical or acoustic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that warning signals in the form of optical signals, such as LED warning lights or display screens, and acoustic signals such as warning beeps or tones, have been known and common in the art for providing warning alerts to a user of a vehicle. Therefore it would have been obvious to have designed the warning signal to have been optical or acoustic or to have provided both and optical and acoustic warning signal, such as a conventional warning light with beep or warning audio tone, because it would have allowed the warning signal to be quickly and easily observed by the driver of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Trill discloses that that there is a vacuum arranged in the insulation space (see e.g. par. 0008, monitoring the interspace vacuum of a double-walled pipe).
Regarding claim 10, Trill discloses that the control unit 11 functions to determine the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line during operation of the motor vehicle (see par. 0015). It would have been obvious to have designed the control unit to perform these functions by direction of the set of instructions executable by the one or more processors as set forth above with regard to claim 1, for the reasons already set forth above, i.e. using a processor with memory and executable instructions for the functioning of a control unit is a common and conventional technique that is desirable for its efficiency and accuracy of operations.
Regarding claim 20, Trill discloses a control unit implemented method, comprising: detecting a current temperature of a sheath arranged to surround a process line configured to transport a cryogenic fluid (pars. 0008-0011); and determining, based on the detected current temperature, the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line (pars. 0014-0015).
Trill does not explicitly disclose the method being computer-implemented. However, the use of a computer to implement measuring processes has been well-known and routine in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the method of Trill using a computer in order to provide accurate and efficient control of the measurements and related processes.
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trill (EP 1357328 A2) in view of Peschka et al. (US 5,365,981).
Regarding claim 5, Trill does disclose that the temperature sensor 6 is arranged on the outer surface of the sheath 2 (see pars. 0011-0012, temperature measuring device attached to the outer wall of the double-walled piped). Trill does not explicitly disclose that the process line has a connector arranged at least at one end thereof and that the temperature sensor is in a region of the connector. Peschka et al. disclose a transfer line for a motor vehicle where the transfer line is a process line 48 for transporting a cryogenic fluid to a tank 42, and Peschka et al. disclose that the process line 48 has a connector 28. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a connector on the process line in Trill, as taught by Peschka et al. because it would have allowed the line to be properly and safely connected to a an external line for refueling of the tank. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the temperature sensor on the sheath in at any region of the pipe, including in a region of the connector, in order to allow the temperature to be quickly measured and monitored and all of the different areas of the transfer line.
Regarding claim 6, Trill discloses that the one or more temperature sensors 6 are arranged on the outer surface of the sheath between two ends of the process line (par. 0012, temperature measuring device attached to outer wall of double-walled pipe which necessarily means it is between two end of the pipe/line).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trill (EP 1357328 A2) in view of Lee (US 2016/0319982).
Regarding claims 8, Trill does not disclose an inert gas arranged in the insulation space. Lee discloses a transfer line for cryogenic fluid, comprising: a process line 102 for transporting a cryogenic fluid; and a sheath 118 arranged to surround the process line to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (see Fig. 1); and wherein there is a sealed dry gas arranged in the insulation space (see par. 0055, dry gas between wall 112 and 118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a dry gas in a portion of the insulation space as taught by Lee, in the transfer line of Trill, because it would help to protect the interior of the transfer line from the influx of contaminants in a case that the outer sheath is damaged. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an inert gas as the dry gas because an inert gas is safer and would prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 9, Trill does not disclose a multi-layer insulation arranged in the insulation space. Lee discloses a transfer line for cryogenic fluid, comprising: a process line 102 for transporting a cryogenic fluid; and a sheath 118 arranged to surround the process line to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (see Fig. 1); and wherein there is a multi-layer insulation 106 arranged in the insulation space (pars. 0023-0025 and Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a multi-layer insulation in the vacuum insulation space as taught by Lee, in the transfer line of Trill, because it would provide additional insulation that would prevent radiant heat from being transmitted into the process line.
Claim(s) 11, 13-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peschka et al. (US 5,365,981) in view of Trill (EP 1357328 A2).
Regarding claim 11, Peschka et al. disclose a motor vehicle 40, comprising: a transfer line 48 installed in the motor vehicle, the transfer line having one end thereof fluidically connected to a cryogenic tank 42 (see Figure).
Peschka et al. do not disclose all the particular details of the transfer line required by claim 11. Trill discloses a transfer line for use with cryogenic fluid (see par. 0001, double-walled pipe for cryogenic media), the transfer line including: - a process line (Id. and par. 0008, inner pipe of double-walled pipe) for transporting a cryogenic fluid, - a sheath arranged to surround the process line (Id., outer wall of double-walled pipe) to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (par. 0008, interspace vacuum of double-walled pipe), - one or more temperature sensors 6 arranged on an outer surface of the sheath to detect a current temperature of the sheath (par. 0010), and - a control unit 11 operatively connected to the one or more temperature sensors, to determine, in response to receipt of a signal from the one or more temperature sensors that corresponds to the detected current temperature of the sheath, a tightness of the sheath relative to the process line (pars. 0012-0014; pars. 0022-0024). Note that the Figure and the labeled elements are shown on a double-wall cryogenic fluid container, but that Trill states that it may be a double-walled pipe as well (see pars. 0001, 0008, 0017, 0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed the transfer line details of Trill in the transfer line in Peschka et al. because it would have allowed for the efficient detection of leakage or damage in the transfer line and improved the safety of the motor vehicle.
Trill does not explicitly disclose the control unit having one or more processors and a non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the one or more processors comprising a set of instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the control unit to perform its determining of the tightness of the sheath. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that including in the control unit, a processor with non-transitory memory operatively coupled to the processor comprising a set of instructions executable by the processor to cause the control unit to perform its control functions, is a known and conventional way of making and designing a control unit. For example, conventional general computers include all these elements and function as control units for any of various processes and functions. Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a known control unit with processor, memory and executable instructions for carrying out the function of the control unit of Trill in the combination of Trill and Peschka et al.; this would have been obvious to because computer processors provide efficient and precise control of measurement data and signal output.
Regarding claim 13, Trill discloses the control unit 11 functions to indicate, in response to determining the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line, an item of information regarding the determined tightness (par. 0014, if vacuum deteriorates and temperature drops, a warning signal is generated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that instructions are executable by one or more processors of the control unit to cause the control unit to operate this way for the same reasons set forth above with regard to claim 11. These details of the control unit and transfer line would necessarily be a part of the proposed combination of Trill with Peschka et al.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Trill does disclose that the control unit 11 functions to transmit, in response to determining the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line, a warning signal (see par. 0014; and see par. 0024, control unit 11 connected to driver and engine management via data line 12 so that information to driver is possible). Trill does not disclose that this warning signal is optical or acoustic. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that warning signals in the form of optical signals, such as LED warning lights or display screens, and acoustic signals such as warning beeps or tones, have been known and common in the art for providing warning alerts to a user of a vehicle. Therefore it would have been obvious to have used a warning signal as taught by Trill in the combination of Trill with Peschka et al., and it would have been obvious to have designed the warning signal to have been optical or acoustic or to have provided both and optical and acoustic warning signal, such as a conventional warning light with beep or warning audio tone, because it would have allowed a user to be alerted to faults or leakage and it would have allowed the warning signal to be quickly and easily observed by the driver of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Trill discloses that that there is a vacuum arranged in the insulation space (see e.g. par. 0008, monitoring the interspace vacuum of a double-walled pipe).
Regarding claim 19, Trill discloses that the control unit 11 functions to determine the tightness of the sheath relative to the process line during operation of the motor vehicle (see par. 0015). It would have been obvious to have designed the control unit to perform these functions by direction of the set of instructions executable by the one or more processors as set forth above with regard to claim 11 when making the combination with Peschka et al., for the reasons already set forth above, i.e. using a processor with memory and executable instructions for the functioning of a control unit is a common and conventional technique that is desirable for its efficiency and accuracy of operations.
Claim(s) 12, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peschka et al. (US 5,365,981) in view of Trill (EP 1357328 A2), and further in view of Lee (US 2016/0319982).
Regarding claim 12, Trill does not disclose the transfer line comprising a protective sheath arranged radially outside the sheath. Lee discloses a transfer line for cryogenic fluid, comprising: a process line 102 for transporting a cryogenic fluid; and a sheath 112 arranged to surround the process line to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (see Fig. 1), and wherein the transfer line further comprises a protective sheath 118 arranged radially outside the sheath 112 (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have employed a protective sheath as taught by Lee in the transfer line of Trill when making the combination of Trill and Peschka et al.; this would have been obvious because it would have provided additional protection and insulation of the transfer line, further reducing the risk of damage.
Regarding claims 17, Trill does not disclose an inert gas arranged in the insulation space. Lee discloses a transfer line for cryogenic fluid, comprising: a process line 102 for transporting a cryogenic fluid; and a sheath 118 arranged to surround the process line to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (see Fig. 1); and wherein there is a sealed dry gas arranged in the insulation space (see par. 0055, dry gas between wall 112 and 118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a dry gas in a portion of the insulation space as taught by Lee, in the transfer line of Trill when making the combination of Trill and Peschka et al., because it would help to protect the interior of the transfer line from the influx of contaminants in a case that the outer sheath is damaged. It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an inert gas as the dry gas because an inert gas is known to be generally safer and would prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 18, Trill does not disclose a multi-layer insulation arranged in the insulation space. Lee discloses a transfer line for cryogenic fluid, comprising: a process line 102 for transporting a cryogenic fluid; and a sheath 118 arranged to surround the process line to define an insulation space between the process line and the sheath (see Fig. 1); and wherein there is a multi-layer insulation 106 arranged in the insulation space (pars. 0023-0025 and Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a multi-layer insulation in the vacuum insulation space as taught by Lee, in the transfer line of Trill, when making the combination of Trill and Peschka et al., because it would provide additional insulation that would prevent radiant heat from being transmitted into the process line.
Conclusion
/PAUL M. WEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855