DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Arguments filed October 23, 2025.
Claims 1-30 are pending. Claims 1, 21 and 30 are independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 received on August 18, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on October 23, 2025. This IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (U.S. 2023/0071618; hereinafter “Shin”).
Regarding independent claim 21, Shin discloses a memory device (Fig. 1: 100), comprising:
a memory cell array (Fig. 2: 110) including memory cells (Fig. 4: MCs); and
peripheral circuitry (Fig. 2: 120 and 130) coupled to the memory cell array (Fig. 2: 110) through word lines (Fig. 4: WLs) and configured to
apply an N-th programming pulse (Fig. 5: Vpgms) to the memory cells (Fig. 4: MCs) each with a target programming state being an i-th programming state, wherein I and N are positive integers (see page 6, par. 0099).
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “perform a first sub-verification and an M-th second sub-verification corresponding to the i-th programming state on the memory cells to obtain a first sub- result and an M-th second sub-result, respectively, wherein M is a positive integer, the first sub-result indicates whether a threshold voltage-of each of the memory cells is less than a preset voltage, the M-th second sub-result indicates whether the threshold voltage of each of the memory cells is less thana target threshold voltage of the i-th programming state, and wherein the target threshold voltage is greater than the preset voltage, determine a first subset of the memory cells to be programmed with an (N+1)-th programming pulse, based on the M-th second sub-result, wherein a voltage difference between the (N+L)-th programming pulse and the N-th programming pulse is greater than or equal to a voltage difference between the target threshold voltage and the preset voltage, and apply the (N+1)-th programming pulse to the word line, wherein the memory cells are determined to be successfully programmed to the i-th programming state after applying the (N+1)-th programming pulse to the word line, based on the first sub-result indicating that a number of failed bits in the first sub-verification is less than a first preset value.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 22, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “perform the first sub-verification on the memory cells based on a first sensing duration to obtain the first sub-result and perform the M-th second sub-verification on the memory cells based on a second sensing duration to obtain the M-th second sub-result, wherein the second sensing duration is greater than the first sensing duration.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 23, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “apply a first sub-verification voltage to the word line to perform the first sub- verification on the memory cells to obtain the first sub-result, wherein the first sub-verification voltage is equal to the preset voltage and apply a second sub-verification voltage to the word line to perform the M-th second sub-verification on the memory cells to obtain the M-th second sub-result, wherein the second sub-verification voltage is equal to the target threshold voltage.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 24, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “apply a first pre-charging voltage to a bit line coupled to the memory cells to perform the first sub-verification on the memory cells based on a preset sensing duration to obtain the first sub-result and apply a second pre-charging voltage to the bit line to perform the M-th second sub-verification on the memory cells based on the preset sensing duration to obtain the M-th second sub-result, wherein the second pre-charging voltage is greater than the first pre-charging voltage.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 25, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the threshold voltage of each of the first subset of the memory cells is less than the target threshold voltage based on the M-th second sub-result.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 26, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “determine a second subset of the memory cells to be performed with an (M+1)-th second sub-verification, based on the first sub-result indicating that the number of failed bits in the first sub-verification is greater than or equal to the first preset value and perform the (M+1)-th second sub-verification on the second subset of the memory cells to obtain an (M+1)-th second sub-result after the (N+1)-th programming pulse is applied, wherein the (M+1)-th second sub-result indicates whether a threshold voltage of each of the second subset of the memory cells is less than the target threshold voltage.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 27, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “count the number of failed bits in the first sub-verification during applying the (N+1)-th programming pulse.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 28, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the number of failed bits is within a range allowed by an error correction mechanism.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 29, Shin discloses the limitations with respect to claim 21.
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “in response to the first sub-result indicating that the number of failed bits in the first sub-verification is less than the first preset value, determine that a programming verification operation is not performed on the memory cells after applying the (N+1)-th programming pulse.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding independent claim 30, Shin discloses a memory system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a memory device (Fig. 2: 100) comprising:
a memory cell array (Fig. 2: 110) including memory cells (Fig. 4: MCs), and
peripheral circuitry (Fig. 2: 120 and 130) coupled to the memory cell array (Fig. 2: 110) through word lines (Fig. 4: WLs) and configured to
apply an N-th programming pulse (Fig. 5: Vpgms) to a word line (Fig. 4: WLs) coupled to the memory cells (Fig. 4: MCs) each with a target programming state being an i-th programming state, wherein i and N are positive integers (see page 6, par. 0099); and
a memory controller (Fig. 1: 200) coupled to the memory device and configured to control the memory device (Fig. 1: 100).
As discussed above, Shin’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “perform a first sub-verification and an M-th second sub-verification corresponding to the i-th programming state on the memory cells to obtain a first sub-result and an M-th second sub-result, respectively, wherein M is a positive integer, the first sub-result indicates whether a threshold voltage of each of the memory cells is less than a preset voltage, the M-th second sub-result indicates whether the threshold voltage of each of the memory cells is less than a target threshold voltage of the i-th programming state and wherein the target threshold voltage is greater than the preset voltage, determine a first subset of the memory cells to be programmed with an (N+1)-th programming pulse, based on the M-th second sub-result, wherein a voltage difference between the (N+1)-th programming pulse and the N-th programming pulse is greater than or equal to a voltage difference between the target threshold voltage and the preset voltage, and apply the (N+1)-th programming pulse to the word line, wherein the memory cells are determined to be successfully programmed to the i-th programming state after applying the (N+1) programming pulse to the word line, based on the first sub-result indicating that a number of failed bits in the first sub-verification is less than a first preset value and a-memory controller coupled to the memory device and configured to control the memory device.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Shin’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to independent claim 1, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited steps of determining a first subset of the memory cells to be programmed with an (N+1)-th programming pulse, based on the M-th second sub-result, wherein a voltage difference between the (N+1)-th programming pulse and the N-th programming pulse is greater than or equal to a voltage difference between the target threshold voltage and the preset voltage, and applying the (N+1)-th programming pulse to the word line, wherein the memory cells are determined to be successfully programmed to the i-th programming state after applying the (N+1-th programming pulse to the word line, based on the first sub-result indicating that a number of failed bits in the first sub-verification is less than a first preset value,
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 21-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to apparatus claims 21-30, Applicant asserts that it has not been shown that the cited reference inherently disclosed a memory device that comprises peripheral circuitry. Further, Applicant asserts that the peripheral circuitry and the memory device recited in Claim 21 are structurally configured to perform the claimed operations, and Shin does not disclose or suggest a peripheral circuit configured to perform these operations, nor has the Office Action provide evidence that Shin’s peripheral circuit is inherently capable of performing the claimed sequence of programming/verification operations, see Applicant’s Remarks pages 4-5. These particular remarks are not considered persuasive.
MPEP 2112.01(I) instructs examiners to presume functional limitations of an apparatus claim are inherent, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims. Here, as explained in the rejection above, Shin’s device is substantially identical as the device applicant claims, it was reasonable to presume Shin inherently perform the claimed functions.
Additionally, Applicant asserts that the functional elements in Claim 21 should not be ignored, see Applicant’s Remarks page 5.
All functional limitations in apparatus claims 21-30 were fully considered in accordance with procedures detailed in the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure. As explained in the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) Foreword, “[T]he Manual contains instructions to examiners, as well as other material in the nature of information and interpretation, and outlines the current procedures which the examiners are required or authorized to follow in appropriate cases in the normal examination of a patent application.”
Furthermore, Applicant asserts that “[t]he fact that a certain result or characteristic may occur or be present in the prior art is not sufficient to establish the inherency of that result or characteristic,” see Applicant’s Remarks page 5. This particular remark is not considered persuasive.
As described above, Shin’s structure is identical to applicant’s claimed structure. The burden, under the presumption explained in MPEP 2112.01(I), shifter to applicant to provide evidence. Applicant has not presented evidence to rebut the presumption.
Finally, Applicant asserts that as set forth in MPEP 2112, “in relying upon the theory of inherency, the Examiner must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art,” see Applicant’s Remarks page 6.
MPEP 2182 also instructs that “If the prior art reference teaches the identical structure or acts but is silent about performing the claimed function, a reasonable presumption is that the prior art structure inherently perform the same function. Applicant is reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Applicant fails to show how the prior art device and claimed device are not the same in terms of structure and fails to provide that the prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions.
For the above reasons, the applied rejection is considered proper and maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825