DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 and 07/24/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PROJECTION SYSTEM AND CALIBRATION METHOD THEREOF,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuda (US 20030193566 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda teaches a projection system (Fig. 1-6), comprising: a projection device (20, 440) configured to project an image beam toward a projection surface (10); a light sensor (60) configured to sense at least one of a background beam and the image beam reflected by the projection surface (10), and configured to obtain chromaticity information; a control unit (420) electrically connected to the projection device (20, 440) and configured to control the image beam projected by the projection device (20, 440); and an arithmetic unit (450) electrically connected to the control unit (420) and the light sensor (60), wherein the arithmetic unit (450) is configured to generate an adjustment signal according to the chrominance information, and the control unit (420) is configured to adjust a color temperature, a brightness, and a color gamut of the image beam according to the adjustment signal ([0138]).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuda further teaches the background beam comprises at least one of an ambient beam (80) and the ambient beam (80) reflected by the projection surface (10; [0199]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuda further teaches a projection direction of the image beam projected by the projection device (20, 440) is opposite to a light sensing direction of the light sensor (60; Fig. 1; [0199]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuda further teaches the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor (60) according to the background beam ([0145], [0182]) is a first RGB value, and the arithmetic unit (450) is configured to calculate a first chromaticity coordinate value (XYZ value) according to the first RGB value ([0041], [0079], [0125], [0126], [0160], [0211]).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuda further teaches the control unit (420) is configured to make the projection device (20, 440) output a preset all-white projection beam ([0170]) according to an original preset parameter, and the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor (60) according to the background beam and the preset all-white projection beam reflected by the projection surface (10) is a second RGB value of the background beam superimposed on the preset all-white projection beam ([0041], [0079], [0125], [0126], [0160], [0211]).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda further teaches the arithmetic unit (450) is configured to generate the adjustment signal according to the first chromaticity coordinate value (XYZ value) of the background beam, so that the control unit (420) is configured to adjust a color gamut of the projection beam ([0138]), and the projection beam becomes an adjusted projection beam, wherein a plurality of chromaticity coordinate values of the adjusted projection beam during different timing sequences all fall within one of a plurality of target color gamuts ([0150]-[0151]).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuda inherently teaches the larger the first RGB value of the background beam, the larger an area of the one of the plurality of target color gamuts on a chromaticity coordinate.
Regarding claim 11, Matsuda teaches a calibration method of a projection system (Fig. 1-6), comprising: projecting an image beam toward a projection surface (10) via a projection device (20, 440); sensing at least one of a background beam and the image beam reflected by the projection surface (10) and obtaining chromaticity information via a light sensor (60); generating an adjustment signal via an arithmetic unit (450) according to the chromaticity information; and adjusting a color temperature, a brightness, and a color gamut of the image beam via a control unit (420) according to the adjustment signal ([0138]).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Hikosaka (US 20110169854 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuda does not teach the arithmetic unit (450) is configured to set an RGB depletion ratio of the preset all-white projection beam according to the first RGB value and the second RGB value, and generate the adjustment signal according to the RGB depletion ratio, so that the control unit (420) is configured to adjust the color temperature and the brightness of the image beam.
Kikosaka teaches the arithmetic unit is configured to set an RGB depletion ratio ([0099]) of the preset all-white projection beam according to the first RGB value and the second RGB value, and generate the adjustment signal according to the RGB depletion ratio, so that the control unit is configured to adjust the color temperature and the brightness of the image beam (Fig. 4, 5, 9, and 11; [0099]-[0100]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Hikosaka; because it allows correcting for uneven reflectance on the projection surface.
Regarding claim 12, Matsuda further teaches the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor (60) according to the background beam ([0145], [0182]) is a first RGB value; and calculating a first chromaticity coordinate value (XYZ value) via the arithmetic unit (450) according to the first RGB value ([0041], [0079], [0125], [0126], [0160], [0211]).
Matsuda does not teach the projection device (20, 440) is in an off state when the first RGB value is obtained.
Hikosaka teaches the projection device (20, 440) is in an off state when the first RGB value is obtained (S31; Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Hikosaka; because it allows correcting for uneven reflectance on the projection surface.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matsuda and Hikosaka consequently results in making the projection device (20, 440 of Matsuda) output a preset all-white projection beam ([0170] of Matsuda; S34, Fig. 4 of Hikosaka) via the control unit (420 of Matsuda) according to an original preset parameter; and obtaining the chromaticity information according to the background beam and the preset all-white projection beam reflected by the projection surface (10 of Matsuda) via the light sensor (60 of Matsuda), and the chromaticity information is a second RGB value of the background beam superimposed on the preset all-white projection beam ([0041], [0079], [0125], [0126], [0160], [0211] of Matsuda).
Regarding claim 14, Matsuda does not teach setting an RGB depletion ratio of the preset all-white projection beam according to the first RGB value and the second RGB value, and generating the adjustment signal according to the RGB depletion ratio via the arithmetic unit (450); and adjusting the color temperature and the brightness of the image beam via the control unit (420) according to the adjustment signal.
Kikosaka teaches setting an RGB depletion ratio ([0099]) of the preset all-white projection beam according to the first RGB value and the second RGB value, and generating the adjustment signal according to the RGB depletion ratio via the arithmetic unit; and adjusting the color temperature and the brightness of the image beam via the control unit (according to the adjustment signal (Fig. 4, 5, 9, and 11; [0099]-[0100]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Hikosaka; because it allows correcting for uneven reflectance on the projection surface.
Regarding claim 15, Matsuda, as modified by Hikosaka, further teaches: generating the adjustment signal via the arithmetic unit (450) according to the first chromaticity coordinate value (XYZ value) of the background beam; and adjusting a color gamut of the projection beam via the control unit (420) according to the adjustment signal ([0138]), and the projection beam becomes an adjusted projection beam, wherein a plurality of chromaticity coordinate values of the adjusted projection beam during different timing sequences all fall within one of a plurality of target color gamuts ([0151]).
Claims 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda in view of Nakanishi (US 20040036668 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuda does not explicitly teach a first light source, a second light source, and a third light source respectively configured to provide a first color beam, a second color beam, and a third color beam, the image beam comprises at least one of the first color beam, the second color beam, and the third color beam, during a first timing sequence, the control unit is configured to adjust the first color beam according to the adjustment signal, during a second timing sequence, the control unit is configured to adjust the second color beam according to the adjustment signal, and during a third timing sequence, the control unit is configured to adjust the third color beam according to the adjustment signal, so that the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor is a target brightness and a target color temperature.
Nakanishi teaches a projection system having a first light source (11), a first light source (12), and a third light source (13) respectively configured to provide a first color beam (R), a second color beam (G), and a third color beam (B), the image beam comprises at least one of the first color beam (R), the second color beam (G), and the third color beam (B) (Fig. 4), during a first timing sequence (R-video), the control unit (62) is configured to adjust the first color beam (R) according to the adjustment signal, during a second timing sequence (G-video), the control unit (62) is configured to adjust the second color beam (G) according to the adjustment signal, and during a third timing sequence (B-video), the control unit (62) is configured to adjust the third color beam (B) according to the adjustment signal, so that the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor is a target brightness and a target color temperature (Fig. 4-6 and 8; [0171], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Nakanishi; because it allows greater flexibility in controlling the color gamut.
Regarding claim 10, Matsuda does not explicitly teach a first light source, a second light source, and a third light source respectively configured to provide a first color beam, a second color beam, and a third color beam, the image beam comprises at least one of the first color beam, the second color beam, and the third color beam, during a first timing sequence, the first color beam is continuously emitted, and the control unit is configured to adjust the second color beam and the third color beam according to the adjustment signal, during a second timing sequence, the second color beam is continuously emitted, and the control unit is configured to adjust the first color beam and the third color beam according to the adjustment signal, and during a third timing sequence, the third color beam is continuously emitted, and the control unit is configured to adjust the first color beam and the second color beam according to the adjustment signal,
Nakanishi teaches a projection system having a first light source (11), a second light source (12), and a third light source (13) respectively configured to provide a first color beam (R), a second color beam (G), and a third color beam (B), the image beam comprises at least one of the first color beam (R), the second color beam (G), and the third color beam (B), during a first timing sequence (R-video), the first color beam (R) is continuously emitted, and the control unit (62) is configured to adjust the second color beam (G) and the third color beam (B) according to the adjustment signal, during a second timing sequence (G-video), the second color beam (G) is continuously emitted, and the control unit (62) is configured to adjust the first color beam (R) and the third color beam (B) according to the adjustment signal, and during a third timing sequence (B-video), the third color beam (B) is continuously emitted, and the control unit (62) is configured to adjust the first color beam (R) and the second color beam (G) according to the adjustment signal (Fig. 4-6 and 8; [0171], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Nakanishi so that the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor conforms to a target color gamut; because it allows greater flexibility in controlling the color gamut.
Regarding claim 16, Matsuda does not explicitly teach the image beam comprises at least one of a first color beam, a second color beam, and a third color beam, and the step of adjusting the color temperature and the brightness of the image beam via the control unit (420) according to the adjustment signal comprises: adjusting a first color beam emitted by the projection device (20, 440) during a first timing sequence; adjusting a second color beam emitted by the projection device (20, 440) during a second timing sequence; and adjusting a third color beam emitted by the projection device (20, 440) during a third timing sequence, wherein the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor (60) is a target brightness and a target color temperature.
Nakanishi teaches the image beam comprises at least one of a first color beam (R), a second color beam (G), and a third color beam (B), and the step of adjusting the color temperature and the brightness of the image beam via the control unit (62) according to the adjustment signal comprises: adjusting a first color beam (R) emitted by the projection device during a first timing sequence (R-video); adjusting a second color beam (G) emitted by the projection device during a second timing sequence (G-video); and adjusting a third color beam (B) emitted by the projection device during a third timing sequence (B-video; Fig. 4-6 and 8; [0171], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Nakanishi such that the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor is a target brightness and a target color temperature; because it allows greater flexibility in controlling the color gamut.
Regarding claim 17, Matsuda does not explicitly teach the image beam comprises at least one of a first color beam, a second color beam, and a third color beam, and the step of the control unit (420) adjusting the color gamut of the image beam according to the adjustment signal comprises: continuously emitting the first color beam and adjusting the second color beam and the third color beam during a first timing sequence; continuously emitting the second color beam and adjusting the first color beam and the third color beam during a second timing sequence; and continuously emitting the third color beam and adjusting the first color beam and the second color beam during a third timing sequence, wherein the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor (60) conforms to a target color gamut.
Nakanishi teaches the image beam comprises at least one of a first color beam (R), a second color beam (G), and a third color beam (B), and the step of the control unit (62) adjusting the color gamut of the image beam according to the adjustment signal comprises: continuously emitting the first color beam (R) and adjusting the second color beam (G) and the third color beam (B) during a first timing sequence (R-video); continuously emitting the second color beam (G) and adjusting the first color beam (R) and the third color beam (B) during a second timing sequence (G-video); and continuously emitting the third color beam (B) and adjusting the first color beam (R) and the second color beam (G) during a third timing sequence (B-video; Fig. 4-6 and 8; [0171], [0195]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Matsuda with Nakanishi such that the chromaticity information obtained by the light sensor (60) conforms to a target color gamut; because it allows greater flexibility in controlling the color gamut.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20110149152 A1, US 20100265403 A1, US 20030234785 A1, US 20040001185 A1, US 20030164927 A1, US 20020051121 A1, and US 20020122048 A1, disclose color calibration method using a sensor to measure ambient lighting condition/s.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882