DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chelaidite et al. (US 2023/0150467 A1) in view of Pellmann (US 2019/0287705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chelaidite discloses a brake actuator (see Abstract, FIGS. 1-8), in particular for an electromechanical vehicle brake (10), having an electric motor (28) for activating the vehicle brake (10) [see ¶ 0056], a blocking module (106) for selectively rotationally blocking an output shaft (38) of the electric motor (28) so as to configure a parking brake function [see ¶ 0100], wherein the blocking module (106) comprises a blocking lever (114) which is mounted so as to be pivotable between a locking position and a releasing position, and a blocking actuator (112) for pivoting the blocking lever (114) [see ¶ 0008 & 0016], wherein configured on the blocking lever (114) is a blocking tooth (124) which in the locking position of the blocking lever (114) engages with a gear wheel coupled to the output shaft (38) of the electric motor (28) [see ¶ 0101].
Chelaidite does not disclose a magnetic actuator having a moveable, linearly guided armature which is displaceably connected to a tappet coupled to the blocking lever, wherein a spring for applying a pre-loading force in the direction of the locking position is integrated in the blocking actuator in such a manner that the tappet is resiliently mounted on the armature.
Pellmann teaches a blocking actuator (18) having a magnetic actuator with a moveable, linearly guided armature (36) which is displaceably connected to a tappet (22) coupled to the blocking lever (16), wherein a spring (37) for applying a pre-loading force in the direction of the locking position is integrated in the blocking actuator (18) in such a manner that the tappet (22) is resiliently mounted on the armature (36).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing of the claimed invention to replace the blocking actuator of Chelaidite with the blocking actuator of Pellmann to provide the additional functionality of the spring within the bi-stable blocking actuator to allow the tappet to encounter the intermediate position and ensure that the tappet inevitably reaches the extended position, without requiring the coil to be energized, thereby maintaining the bi-stable functionality of the blocking actuator and reducing the power consumption [see Pellmann, ¶ 0035].
Regarding claim 2, Pellmann teaches that the armature (48) has a central recess (72), wherein the recess (72) has a guide portion (72) in which the tappet (22) is linearly guided, and a receptacle portion (A) (see annotated Fig. 3 below) which adjoins the guide portion (72) and is widened in comparison to the guide portion (72), wherein accommodated in the receptacle portion (A) is the spring (37), the latter by way of one end being supported on the armature (36) and by way of the opposite end being supported on the tappet (22).
Regarding claim 3, Pellmann teaches that the spring (37) in the receptacle portion (A) circumferentially surrounds the tappet (22).
Regarding claim 4, Pellmann teaches that a laterally projecting appendage (82) on which the spring (37) is supported so as to impinge the tappet (22) towards the locking position is configured on the tappet (22).
Regarding claim 7, Chelaidite discloses that the blocking tooth (124) in the locking position of the blocking lever (114) engages with a drive pinion (40) that is disposed directly on the output shaft (38) of the electric motor (28) [see ¶ 0101].
Regarding claim 8, Pellmann teaches that the blocking actuator (18) comprises a bistable linear magnet (34) [see ¶ 0017].
Regarding claim 9, Chelaidite discloses the electric motor (28) for driving is coupled to an activation slide (88) by way of a gearbox unit (34) and a spindle drive (72), said activation slide (88) for bringing to bear a brake pad (96) on a brake rotor (100) being selectively displaceable between a retracted position and a deployed position [see Chelaidite, ¶ 0023].
Regarding claim 10, Chelaidite discloses an electromechanical vehicle brake (10) having a brake calliper (98), an activation slide (88) which is linearly displaceable in the brake calliper (98) and for bringing to bear a brake pad (96) on a brake rotor (100) is selectively displaceable between a retracted position and a deployed position, and having a brake actuator (see Abstract , FIGS. 1-4) according to Claim 1, wherein the electric motor (28) of the brake actuator for driving is coupled to an activation slide (88) by way of a gearbox unit (62) and a spindle drive (72) [see Chelaidite, ¶ 0023 & 0083].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chelaidite et al. (US 2023/0150467 A1) in view of Pellmann (US 2019/0287705 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Antanaitis et al. (US 2019/0152460 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chelaidite, as modified, does not disclose that the blocking tooth on one tooth flank has a blocking geometry and on an opposite tooth flank has a lifting geometry, said geometries being configured in such a manner that in a rotation of the electric motor in a first direction that boosts the braking force, the blocking lever by the rotation of the electric motor is lifted counter to the spring force so as to disengage from the gear wheel, and a rotation of the electric motor in an opposite direction that releases the braking force is blocked.
Antanaitis teaches a brake actuator [see Abstract, FIGS. 4, 5] comprising a blocking tooth (92) having a blocking geometry on one tooth flank [see FIG. 4, bottom side of tooth (92)] and on an opposite tooth flank (112) has a lifting geometry [see ¶ 0034], said geometries being configured in such a manner that in a rotation of the electric motor in a first direction that boosts a braking force [see ¶ 0037, “ratchets over parking”], the blocking lever by the rotation of the electric motor is lifted counter to a spring force (123) so as to disengage from the gear wheel [see ¶ 0037], and a rotation of the electric motor in an opposite direction that releases the braking force is blocked [see ¶ 0036].
It would have been obvious at the time of filing of the claimed invention to combine the opposite tooth flank geometry of Antanaitis with the blocking tooth of Chelaidite to accommodate any dimensional changes of braking components that may occur as a result of cooling without releasing parking lock control system [see ¶ 0037].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/358,370 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1 of the present application, claims 1 & 7 of the copending application recite a brake actuator, in particular for an electromechanical vehicle brake [see copending application, claim 1], having an electric motor for activating the vehicle brake [see copending application, claim 1], a blocking module for selectively rotationally blocking an output shaft of the electric motor so as to configure a parking brake function [see copending application, claim 1], wherein the blocking module comprises a blocking lever which is mounted so as to be pivotable between a locking position and a releasing position [see copending application, claim1], and a blocking actuator for pivoting the blocking lever [see copending application, claim1], wherein configured on the blocking lever is a blocking tooth which in the locking position of the blocking lever engages with a gear wheel coupled to the output shaft of the electric motor [see copending application, claim 1], wherein the blocking actuator is a magnetic actuator having a moveable, linearly guided armature which is displaceably connected to a tappet coupled to the blocking lever, wherein a spring for applying a pre-loading force in the direction of the locking position is integrated in the blocking actuator in such a manner that the tappet is resiliently mounted on the armature [see copending application, claim 7].
Regarding claim 6 of the present application, claim 1 of the copending application recites that the blocking tooth on one tooth flank has a blocking geometry [see copending application, claim 1], and on an opposite tooth flank has a lifting geometry [see copending application, claim 1], said geometries being configured in such a manner that in a rotation of the electric motor in a first direction that boosts a braking force, the blocking lever by the rotation of the electric motor is lifted counter to a spring force so as to disengage from the gear wheel, and a rotation of the electric motor in an opposite direction that releases the braking force is blocked [see copending application, claim 1].
Regarding claim 7 of the present application, claim 4 of the copending application recites that a blocking tooth in the locking position of the blocking lever engages with a drive pinion that is disposed directly on the output shaft of the electric motor.
Regarding claim 8 of the present application, claim 5 of the copending application recites that the blocking actuator comprises a bistable linear magnet.
Regarding claim 9 of the present application, claim 10 of the copending application recites that the electric motor for driving is coupled to an activation slide by way of a gearbox unit and a spindle drive, said activation slide for bringing to bear a brake pad on a brake rotor being selectively displaceable between a retracted position and a deployed position.
Regarding claim 10 of the present application, claim 11 of the copending application recites that an electromechanical vehicle brake having a brake calliper, an activation slide which is linearly displaceable in the brake calliper and for bringing to bear a brake pad on a brake rotor is selectively displaceable between a retracted position and a deployed position, and having a brake actuator, wherein the electric motor of the brake actuator for driving is coupled to an activation slide by way of a gearbox unit and a spindle drive.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-4 and 7-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chelaidite in view of Pellmann, Applicant argues that the actuator of Pellmann would not maintain the gear wheel in a locked position. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on Pellmann’s actuator as the structure that maintain the gear wheel in the locked position. Rather, Chelaidite’s blocking lever and blocking tooth remain the structures that engage the gear wheel and maintain the locking condition. Pellmann is relied upon for the actuator subassembly, including the moveable armature, tappet/pin, and spring arrangement.
Applicant’s argument appears to require bodily incorporation of Pellmann’s entire lever/gear arrangement into Chelaidite. Such bodily incorporation is not required. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Pellmann’s actuator could be oriented or connected to apply a pushing or pulling force to Chelaidite’s blocking lever as needed to move the blocking lever between the locking and releasing positions. Thus, the proposed modification would not defeat Chelaidite’s locking function because Chelaidite’s blocking lever and blocking tooth remain the structures that engage the gear wheel and maintain the locking condition.
Regarding the rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chelaidite in view of Pellmann and further in view of Antanaitis, Applicant argues that the proposed modification would permit rotation in one direction and therefore would not maintain the hear wheel in a locked condition. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 6 itself recites that rotation of the electric motor in a first direction that boosts the braking force causes the blocking lever to be lifted counter to the spring force, while rotation of the electric motor in an opposite direction that releases the braking force is blocked. Thus, permitting rotation in the brake-force-increasing direction is not contrary to the claim; it is the claimed ratchet-type function. Therefore, the proposed modification would not defeat the parking-lock function because the release direction remains blocked while the brake-force-increasing direction is permitted.
Regarding the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1 and 6-10 over claims 1, 4, 5, 10 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/358,370, Applicant argues that the present claims are patentably distinct because the present claims do not recite certain additional spring/tappet limitations of the copending claims. This argument is not persuasive. The proper inquiry is not whether the present claims include every additional limitation of the claims of the copending application. Rather, the proper inquiry is whether the present claims are patentably distinct from the claims of the copending application.
Claim 1 of the copending application recites the brake actuator, electric motor, blocking module, blocking lever, blocking actuator, blocking tooth engaging a gear wheel coupled to the output shaft, magnetic actuator, movable linearly guided armature, tappet coupled to the blocking lever, and spring/tappet arrangement corresponding to the present claim 1. Claim 1 of the copending application further recites the blocking geometry and lifting geometry corresponding to present claim 6. Claims 4, 5, 10, and 11 of the copending application correspond to present claims 7, 8, 9, and 10, respectively.
Applicant has not identified any limitation in present claims 1 and 6-10 that is absent from, or patentably distinct over, the claims of the copending application. Accordingly, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1 and 6-10 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616