DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 25 March 2025 attempts to cite two non-patent literature references, citing “All Office Actions” in two different US Patent applications. In each of these applications there have not been any Office Actions issued, thus these citations have not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sensor-cooperation unit” in claim 1 (corresponds to a permanent magnet, a dielectric object, reflective object; see page 4 lines 7-25), “a spring unit” in claim 1 (corresponds to a leaf spring, spring rod, two spring rods; see page 5 line 16 to page 6 line 6), “a vibration-cancellation unit” in claim 21 (corresponds to a mass and springs; see page 13 line 26 to page 14 line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the motor drive signal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller, US 2015/0202030 in view of Ziegler et al., US 2012/0019079.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a personal hygiene device (toothbrush, Abstract) comprising: a handle having a longitudinal extension and structured and configured to be grasped by a user (housing of handle not shown, Abstract); a motorized treatment head structured and configured to be pressed against a body portion of a user (38, configured to be pressed against teeth as a toothbrush) wherein the treatment head is pivotably connected to the handle (about pivot point 52, Figure 1, paragraph [0015]) so that applying a treatment force (54) against the treatment head at least a treatment direction leads to a pivoting of the treatment head relative to the handle about a pivot axis (paragraph [0015]); a sensor for measuring a measurement variable (58, paragraph [0016], measures force or load during brushing) and a sensor-cooperation unit for defining or influencing the measurement variable in dependence on a relative position of the sensor and the sensor-cooperation unit (magnet 56, Neodymium, paragraph [0016]), wherein the sensor is fixedly secured with respect to one of the handle and treatment head, and the sensor-cooperation unit is fixedly secured with respect to the other one of the handle and treatment head (paragraph [0016] and Figure 2 describes the sensor 58 mounted to the frame of the handle with the sensor-cooperation unit magnet 56 being secured to the treatment head); and a spring unit (includes leaf spring 40) for defining a rest position of the treatment head (rest positions shown in Figure 1). Regarding claim 3, the spring unit comprises at least a first rod-like spring element (40) that extends essentially along the longitudinal extension of the handle between a support structure disposed within the handle and the handle (paragraph [0012], mounted between the housing not shown and a support structure 16, Figure 2), wherein the support structure is connected to the treatment head so that the support structure pivots around the pivot axis together with the treatment head (Figure 2). Regarding claim 6, the at least first rod-like spring element has an essentially rectangular cross-sectional shape (in that spring 40 is a leaf spring, paragraph [0013]). Regarding claim 14, the sensor comprises a Hall sensor (58, paragraph [0016]). Regarding claim 15, the sensor-cooperation unit comprises a permanent magnet (Neodymium, paragraph [0016]). Regarding claim 16, the support structure comprises a motor carrier (not shown, component within handle housing where the motor rests or is provided physical support, paragraph [0012] describes the motor within the handle). Regarding claim 20, the device comprises a spring-mass resonance motor having a first resonance frequency of a motor drive signal (motor 11 is designed as part of a spring-mass resonance system, back-and-forth action, the motion output by the motor has a frequency, see Abstract, paragraphs [0001] and [0015]).
Miller does not disclose any properties of the leaf spring (40), including a first or second spring constant. The spring of Miller (14, 40) elastically twists or rotates during use as supported to convert the direction of the output of the motor (paragraph [0006]).
Like Miller, Ziegler et al. disclose a personal hygiene device (toothbrush or shaver, paragraph 0030) comprising: a handle having a longitudinal extension and structured and configured to be grasped by a user (housing, 2 extends longitudinally in Figures 1-3; see also paragraph 0015 that states that a user grips the housing); a motorized treatment head structured and configured to be pressed against a body portion of a user (not shown, paragraphs 0062-0063, head configured to be pressed against teeth). Regarding claim 1, Ziegler et al. teach that the device has a spring unit (5, 6, 7, or 20), the spring unit has a first spring constant in the treatment direction and a second spring constant in a lateral direction perpendicular to the treatment direction, wherein the second spring constant is at least about twice as high as the first spring constant (by factors of 5, 10, 20, 50 or even 100 in paragraphs [0019] or [0021]) in order to provide a rigid support across different perpendicular directions of the spring (paragraph [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the leaf spring or spring unit of Miller so that it has first and second spring constants, the second spring constant in a lateral direction perpendicular to the treatment direction of the first spring constant, wherein the second spring constant is at least twice as high as the first, as taught by Ziegler et al., so that the spring is designed and supported to flex or bias to a greater in one direction while remaining more rigid in the other direction.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller, US 2015/0202030 and Ziegler et al., US 2012/0019079 in view of Lev et al., US 6,952,855.
Miller and Ziegler et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fails to disclose that the treatment head is mounted for driven oscillatory rotation around a rotation axis that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal extension of the handle.
Lev et al. teach a personal hygiene device (toothbrush, Title) wherein the treatment head (18) is mounted for driven oscillatory rotation around a rotation axis that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal extension of the handle (column 4 lines 2-6, Figures 1 and 5; via motor 14, drive 24, and mechanical system shown in many components in Figure 5). Lev et al. also teach that it is known for a treatment/toothbrush head to be oscillated in a rotational manner to provide motion to aid in cleaning teeth (column 1 lines 16-19).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hygiene device of Miller and Ziegler et al. so that the head that is mounted for driven oscillatory rotation about a rotation axis perpendicular to the longitudinal extension of the handle, as taught by Lev et al., so that the head is driven in an oscillatory manner to provide motion to the treatment head to improve teeth cleaning.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,893,746 (‘746) in view of Lev et al., US 6,952,855.
Claims 1 of ‘746 recite all of the limitations found in claim 1 of the present application, except do not include (in italics) the handle having “a longitudinal extension and structured and configured” to be grasped by a user or that the personal hygiene device comprises “a motorized treatment head”. Instead, claim 1 of ‘746 recites that “a handle intended for” being grasped by a user and recites a general “treatment head”. It is well known that handles have a longitudinal dimension and by definition are structured and configured to be grasped by a user (www.merriam-webster.com defines handle as “a part that is designed especially to be grasped by the hand”). Further, claim 1 of ‘746 is not verbatim in the recitation of the sensor and sensor cooperation unit, however does include the same limitations of the sensor and sensor cooperation unit of the present application (the language is written in a different order). Claim 1 of ‘746 also includes the limitations found in claims 2 and 14-15 of the present application. Claims 2-12 of ‘746 correspond to and are near verbatim to dependent claims 3-13, 16, and 19 of the present application (claim 2 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 3, claim 3 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 4, claim 4 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 5, claim 5 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 6, claim 6 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 7, claim 7 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 8, claim 8 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 9, claim 9 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 10, claim 10 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 11, claim 11 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 12, claim 12 of ‘746 corresponds to claim 13, claim 2 of ‘746 includes the limitation of claim 16, claim 9 of ‘746 includes the limitation of claim 19).
Lev et al. teach a personal hygiene device (toothbrush) that includes a handle having a longitudinal extension and structured and configured to be grasped by a user (13, Figure 1, the length of handle 13 is the longitudinal extension) and teach that it is known for a treatment/toothbrush head to be motorized to provide motion to aid in cleaning teeth (column 1 lines 16-19).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hygiene device of claim 1 of ‘746 so that the handle has a longitudinal extension and also to have a head that is motorized, as taught by Lev et al., so that a user can easily grasp the hygiene device and also so that the head is driven to provide motion to the treatment head to improve teeth cleaning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and taking into account the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As best understood, none of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the invention of claims 17-18 or 21. Note that US 2009/0188058 to Schwarz-Hartmann et al. teach an personal hygiene device that includes many of the aspects of the claimed invention and includes a spring unit (16) that has a first spring constant in the treatment direction and a second spring constant in a lateral direction perpendicular to the treatment direction, the second spring constant is at least 25% as high as the first spring constant (see paragraphs [0004]-[0005], [0038]).
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg