DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Fig. 3 of Lee as labeled by examiner below discloses a first connection portion 230 in the first area and on a layer different from layers of the first line portion 210 and the second line portion 240,
wherein the first connection portion comprise a first portion (dotted line region - as labeled by examiner below) overlapping the first line portion 210 and a second portion (solid line portion - as labeled by examiner below) overlapping the second line portion 240 and being entirely offset (as labeled by examiner below) from the first portion in the first direction,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. 20190164995 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, fig. 3 of Lee discloses an electronic device comprising a display device, the display device comprising:
a base substrate comprising a first area 1A, a second area 2A spaced apart from the first area in a first direction X, and a third area BA between the first area and the second area in the first direction and bendable to a set degree;
a plurality of insulating layers on the base substrate;
a pixel on the first area; and
a signal line (210/240/220) overlapping the first area, the second area, and the third area,
wherein the signal line comprises:
a first line portion 210 in the first area;
a second line portion 240 in the first area, the second area, and the third area and on a layer different from a layer of the first line portion; and
a first connection portion 230 in the first area and on a layer different from layers of the first line portion 210 and the second line portion 240,
wherein the first connection portion comprise a first portion (as labeled by examiner below) overlapping the first line portion 210 and a second portion (as labeled by examiner below) overlapping the second line portion 240 and being entirely offset (as labeled by examiner below) from the first portion in the first direction,
wherein the first portion (as labeled by examiner above) of the first connection portion 230 is connected to the first line portion 210 via at least one first contact hole CNT1 defined in a first insulating layer 131 of the plurality of insulating layers between the first portion of the first connection portion 230 and the first line portion 210, and
wherein the second line portion 240 is connected to a second portion (as labeled by examiner above) of the first connection portion via a single second contact hole CNT2 defined in a second insulating layer 141 of the plurality of insulating layers between the second line portion 240 and the second portion of the first connection portion, the second insulating layer being an organic layer.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 3 of Lee discloses wherein the signal line further comprises:
a third line portion 220 in the second area; and
a second connection portion 230 (in 2A region) in the second area and on a layer different from layers of the second line portion 240 and the third line portion 220,
wherein a first portion (as labeled by examiner above) of the second connection portion is connected to the third line portion via at least one third contact hole CNT1 defined in a third insulating layer 132 of the plurality of insulating layers between the first portion of the second connection portion and the third line portion 220, and
wherein the second line portion 230 is connected to a second portion of the second connection portion 230 via a single fourth contact hole CNT2 defined in a fourth insulating layer 141 (on the left above 2A) of the plurality of insulating layers between the second line portion and the second portion of the second connection portion, the fourth insulating layer being an organic layer.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 3 of Lee discloses wherein the second insulating layer and the fourth insulating layer are a same organic layer.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 3 of Lee discloses wherein the at least one first contact hole comprises a plurality of first contact holes, wherein the first insulating layer comprises a plurality of inorganic layers.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 3 of Lee discloses wherein the second line portion 240 comprises: a connected portion overlapping the second portion of the first connection portion; and a plurality of line portions extending in the first direction from the connected portion, arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction, and overlapping the third area.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 1 of Lee discloses further comprising: a scan driving circuit 22 that is in the first area and provides a scan signal to the pixel, wherein the signal line is connected (physically) to the scan driving circuit.
Regarding claim 10, figs. 1 and 3 of Lee discloses wherein the signal line comprises a first signal line 220 configured to receive a first bias voltage and a second signal line 210 configured to receive a second bias voltage lower than the first bias voltage (as there exist a voltage drop).
Regarding claim 12, fig. 1 of Lee discloses wherein the signal line is electrically connected to the pixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 6, Lee does not disclose wherein a contact area of the second contact hole is larger than a sum of contact areas of the plurality of first contact holes.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of Lee comprising wherein a contact area of the second contact hole is larger than a sum of contact areas of the plurality of first contact holes in order to form a lower contact resistance for the second contact hole than the first contact holes.
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not disclose wherein a voltage difference between the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage is equal to or greater than about 10 V.
In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of Lee comprising wherein a voltage difference between the first bias voltage and the second bias voltage is equal to or greater than about 10 V in order to meet the applicant design.
Claims 7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang et al. 20190094598.
Regarding claims 7 and 18 (see rejection of claim 1 above), lee discloses a display device comprising:
a base substrate comprising a first area, a second area spaced apart from the first area in a first direction X, and a third area between the first area and the second area;
a plurality of inorganic layers (110/120/131/132) on the base substrate, and defining an opening extending in a second direction Z crossing the first direction and overlapping the third area;
a plurality of organic layers 141/142/150 on the plurality of inorganic layers;
a pixel on the base substrate and overlapping the first area; and
a signal line overlapping the first area, the second area, and the third area,
wherein the signal line comprises:
a first line portion in the first area;
a second line portion in the first area, the second area, and the third area and on a layer different from a layer of the first line portion; and
a first connection portion in the first area and on a layer different from layers of the first line portion and the second line portion,
wherein the first connection portion comprise a first portion overlapping the first line portion and a second portion overlapping the second line portion and being entirely offset from the first portion in the first direction,
wherein the first portion of the first connection portion is connected to the first line portion via a plurality of first contact holes CNT1s defined in at least one inorganic layer of the plurality inorganic layers between the first portion of the first connection portion and the first line portion,
wherein the second line portion is connected to the second portion of the first connection portion via a second contact hole CNT2 defined in at least one organic layer 141 of the plurality of organic layers between the second line portion and the second portion of the first connection portion.
Lee does not disclose of wherein a diameter of the second contact hole is equal to or greater than about 10 micrometers.
However, Wang discloses a display device and fig. 6 and par [0050] of Wang disclose that film thicknesses are generally in a level of thousand Angstroms (for example, the film thickness is 4000 Å). Because the insulation layer is thin, the via hole is small (generally with a diameter less than 10 μm). Note this implies for thicker insulation, via hole would 10um or greater.
As such it would have been obvious to form a device of Lee further comprising wherein a diameter of the second contact hole is equal to or greater than about 10 micrometers in order to form a contact hole in thicker insulating film to get a desired contact resistance such as taught by Wang.
Regarding claim 19, fig. 3 of Lee discloses wherein a portion 142 of an organic layer on the at least one organic layer among the plurality of organic layers is inside the second contact hole CNT2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893