DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2020/017718 A1~hereinafter “Li”) of record in view of Kim et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0242380 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) a display device comprising: electrodes (REL_1, REL2) spaced apart from each other in a pixel (see at least figs. 3 and 4); a bank (INS2) on the electrodes (REL_1, REL2) and around a light emitting area of the pixel; and light emitting elements (LD) between the electrodes (REL_1, REL2) in the light emitting area, wherein the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE_1, CNE2) comprise a first hole (i.e. the hole between REL_1, REL2) overlapping the bank (INS2) at one side of the pixel (see at least figs. 3 and 4), and a second hole (i.e. the hole between CH1, CH2) overlapping the bank (INS2) at another side of the pixel (see figs. 3 and 4), and a shape of the first hole of the electrodes is different from a shape of the second hole of the electrodes (see at least figs. 3 and 4).
Li does not expressly disclose the first hole and the second hole do not overlap the light emitting elements.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a display device comprises a first hole and a second hole that do not overlap the light-emitting elements as evident by Kim at least fig. 8.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill I the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Li with the first and second holes arrangement of Kim, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See also Chang et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0159250 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) an insulation layer (INS1) between the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1_1, CNE2) and the light emitting elements (LD).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the insulation layer (INS1) is between the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1_1, CNE2) and the bank (INS2).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the insulation layer (INS1) comprises a first hole overlapping the bank (INS2) at the one side of the pixel, and a second hole overlapping the bank at the other side of the pixel (see at least figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the first hole of the insulation layer (INS1) overlaps the first hole of the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1_1, CNE2), and the second hole of the insulation layer overlaps the second hole of the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1_1, CNE2).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) a partition wall (PW1, PW2) below the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1_1, CNE2).
Regarding claim 7, Li as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose the bank contacts the partition wall through the first hole of the electrodes and the second hole of the electrodes.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the display device comprised of, in part, a bank (INS2) and a partition (PW1, PW2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Li as modified by Kim such that the bank contacts the partition wall through the first hole of the electrodes and the second hole of the electrodes, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Li as modified by Kim discloses all the claimed limitations except for the partition wall comprises a recessed portion overlapping the first hole of the electrodes and the second hole of the electrodes.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the partition wall (PW1, PW2) comprises a recessed portion (i.e. the recessed portion is formed on the side of PW1, PW2 and is filled with INS1), and electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1, CNE2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the partition wall of Li as modified by Kim such that the recessed portion overlapping the first hole of the electrodes and the second hole of the electrodes, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Li as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose the pixel comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, the first hole of the electrodes is between the first pixel and the second pixel, and the second hole of the electrodes is between the second pixel and the third pixel.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 2-7) the pixel comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel (see at least fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Li as modified by Kim such that the first hole of the electrodes is between the first pixel and the second pixel, and the second hole of the electrodes is between the second pixel and the third pixel, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Li as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose the electrodes further comprise a third hole between the third pixel and the first pixel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the display electrodes of Li as modified by Kim with a third hole between the third pixel and the first pixel, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-7) the light emitting elements comprise a first light emitting element, a second light emitting element, and a third light emitting element that are configured to emit light of different colors from the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel, respectively (i.e. In one embodiment, each of the light emitting devices LD may emit light of any one of color and / or white light).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) a display device comprising: electrodes (REL_1, REL2) spaced apart from each other in a pixel; a bank (INS2) on the electrodes and around a light emitting area of the pixel (see at least figs. 3-6); and light emitting elements (LD) between the electrodes in the light emitting area, wherein the bank (INS2) comprises first areas that extend in a first direction and are spaced apart from each other (see at least figs. 3 and 4), the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1, CNE2) comprise a first hole (i.e. the hole between REL_1, REL2) and a second hole (between Ch1, Ch2) overlapping the first areas (see at least figs. 3 and 4), and a shape of the first hole of the electrodes is different from a shape of the second hole of the electrodes (see at least figs. 3 and 4).
Li does not expressly disclose the first hole and the second hole do not overlap the light emitting elements.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a display device comprises a first hole and a second hole that do not overlap the light-emitting elements as evident by Kim at least fig. 8.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill I the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Li with the first and second holes arrangement of Kim, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See also Chang et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0159250 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the bank (INS2) further comprises second areas that extends in a second direction crossing the first direction and are spaced apart from each other (see at least figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the first hole of the electrodes and the second hole of the electrodes do not overlap the second area.
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the electrodes (REL_1, REL2, CNE1, CNE2) comprise a connection portion outside of the bank (INS2).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-7) the pixel comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel arranged in the second direction, and a shape of the connection portion of the electrodes of the first pixel is different from a shape of the connection portion of the electrodes of the second pixel.
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-7) the light emitting elements comprise a first light emitting element, a second light emitting element, and a third light emitting element that are configured to emit light of different colors from the first pixel, the second pixel, and the third pixel, respectively (i.e. In one embodiment, each of the light emitting devices LD may emit light of any one of color and / or white light).
Regarding claim 18, Li as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose the first hole of the electrodes is between the first pixel and the second pixel, and the second hole of the electrodes is between the second pixel and the third pixel.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) display device comprises a first hole and a second hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the first hole of the electrodes of Li as modified by Kim between the first pixel and the second pixel, and the second hole of the electrodes is between the second pixel and the third pixel, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) an area of the first hole of the electrodes is different from an area of the second hole of the electrodes.
Regarding claim 20, Li as modified by Kim does not expressly disclose the first hole of the electrodes is a plurality of first holes of the electrodes, and the second hole of the electrodes is a plurality of second holes of the electrodes, and a number of the plurality of first holes of the electrodes is different from a number of the plurality of second holes of the electrodes.
However, Li discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) display device comprises a first hole and a second hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a plurality of first and second holes of Li, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875