DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed February 17, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending. Claims 1-12 and 18-20 remain withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 13-17 are examined in this action.
The previous 112(b) rejection of claims 13-17 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards et al. (US 2016/0023826) in view of Edwards et al. (9,795,990; cited on IDS filed 7/25/2023).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Edwards ‘826 teaches a method for manufacturing an edible transport system (i.e., enclosed edible hydration pod) by
Providing a liquid [0100-0101];
Providing a casing. Edwards ‘826 teaches the casing may comprise a combination of polymers, where polymers taught include e.g., gelatin and a microcrystalline cellulose (i.e., a polymer derived from cellulose) [0061].
Forming a cavity using the casing. At [0060-0061], Edwards ‘826 teaches forming the membranes.
Edwards ‘826 is silent as to filling the cavity with the liquid and encapsulating the liquid within the casing.
Edwards ‘990 also teaches a method for manufacturing an edible transport system (i.e., enclosed edible hydration pod) (col. 1 lines 37-49). Edwards ‘990 teaches forming a cavity using a casing, followed by filling the casing with liquid, and encapsulating the liquid within the casing (col. 3 lines 43-53).
Both Edwards ‘826 and Edwards ‘990 teach the formation of the edible pods by manufacturing before the pod is shipped (‘826 at [0043]; ‘990 at Fig. 3, col. 1 lines 37-49).
Therefore, since both Edwards ‘826 and Edwards ‘990 are concerned with enclosing liquids in edible polymer shells for consumption at a later time, it would have been obvious to have filled the cavity of Edwards ‘826 with a liquid as taught by Edwards ‘990 in order to provide a pod filled with a liquid. This would have required no more than routine experimentation, and would have been expected to provide the predictable result of a method of encapsulating a liquid in a casing comprising gelatin and a cellulose derivative as claimed.
Regarding the casing including at least one (claim 13) or multiple (claim 17) weak points, Edwards ‘826 teaches that the external surface area, thickness and thinness can be modulated [0113]. They do not teach the casing (i.e., external surface) includes at least one weak point corresponding to a bite force needed for piercing the casing. However, where Edwards ‘826 does teach modulating the thickness/thinness of the external surface, it would have been obvious to have provided the casing with a weak point (i.e., thinner area) as claimed in order to correspond to a bite force as claimed. This would have required no more than routine experimentation, as Edwards ‘826 allows for variations in the thickness of the outer surface, and further would have been expected to provide the predictable result of a weak point in the capsule.
Regarding claim 14, Edwards ‘826 teaches that the encased material can be frozen [0115]. Edwards ‘826 also teaches that a frozen object can be shaped and then a membrane formed thereon [0131]. Therefore, while Edwards ‘826 does not specifically teach freezing the liquid followed by sealing the casing around the frozen liquid, any order of steps is considered prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)C. Given that the methods of both Edwards ‘826 and the claimed invention provide a liquid encased in a casing comprising gelatin and cellulose as set forth above with regard to claim 13, the timing of the freezing of the liquid and the sealing of the casing around the frozen liquid is not considered to provide a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Regarding claim 15, Edwards ‘826 teaches the addition of flavoring to both the liquid [0101] and to the casing [0071]. Also, at [0109] Edwards ‘826 speaks to the importance of flavor to almost any food product. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added flavoring to the liquid and the casing as flavors are an important part of foodstuffs.
Regarding claim 16, Edwards ‘826 teaches that their transport systems (i.e., edible hydration pods) can be enclosed in various shells for packaging, transportation or storage [0122]. Where the transport systems “can be” enclosed, this is not required. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have shipped the transport systems of Edwards ‘826 without individual packaging as Edwards ‘826 does not require their transport systems to be individually packaged.
Double Patenting
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,707,074. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the patented claims recite a method of manufacturing an enclosed edible hydration pod.
Instant claims
Patented claims
13. A method of manufacturing an enclosed edible hydration pod, comprising:
9. A method of manufacturing an enclosed edible hydration pod for a non-human animal, comprising:
providing a liquid;
providing a liquid;
providing a casing that includes a gelatin in the range of 35% to 55% and a polymer derived from cellulose;
providing a casing for a particular non-human animal that includes a gelatin in the range of 35% to 55% and a polymer derived from cellulose;
strengthening the casing for transportation of the dibble hydration pod;
forming a caving using the casing; wherein the casing includes at least one week point corresponding to a bite force needed for piercing the casing;
forming a caving using the casing;
filling the cavity with the liquid;
filling the cavity with the liquid;
encapsulating the liquid within the casing, wherein the forming the cavity, the filling the cavity, and the encapsulating the liquid are performed by a manufacturer before the enclosed edible hydration pod is shipped.
forming the enclosed edible hydration pod by encapsulating the liquid within the casing, wherein the casing is digestible by the particular non-human animate, and the forming the cavity, the filling the cavity and the forming the enclosed edible hydration pod are performed by a manufacturer before the enclosed edible hydration pod is shipped.
Patented claim 10, which depends from patented claim 9 (shown above) recites the casing includes at least one weak point.
Instant claim 17 recites that the casing includes multiple weak points corresponding to a bite force needed to pierce the casing.
Where patented claim 10 recites “at least one” weak point, this renders obvious the “multiple weak points” recited in instant claim 17.
Although the claims are not identical, given the strong overlap between the patented claims and the present claims, it would have been obvious to, as well as within the skill level of, one of ordinary skill in the art to use the method which is both disclosed in the patented claims and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the present invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the use of “modulate” in [0113] of Edwards ‘826 does not appear to suggest a variation with any intentional design and not specifically directed to a weak point that corresponds to a bite force. Thus, applicant asserts, no teaching or suggestion of the claimed “at least one weak point corresponding to a bite force needed for piercing the casing” exists in the combination of applied prior art (Remarks, p. 7).
This argument is not persuasive. As stated in the rejection above, Edwards ‘826 at [0113] teaches that the “thickness or thinness of the exterior surface material… can be modulated.” Therefore to have done just that, i.e., modulated (changed) the thickness or thinness of the exterior surface material, is not considered to represent an unobvious contribution over the prior art.
Further, where the weak point corresponds to “a bite force,” there is no limit on what that bite force is. Any difference in the thickness/thinness of the exterior surface material would provide a weak point that corresponds to “a” bite force needed to pierce the casing.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 13-17 is maintained as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Nikki H. Dees
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791