DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-2 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups IA, IB, and IID, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 16th, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IIC (Claims 3-26) in the reply filed on April 16th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract currently recites “[a]n exemplary method for characterizing a quality of a membrane measurement may comprise receiving a reflected signal from a tympanic membrane in response to a pneumatic challenge; characterizing a quality of a seal in response to the reflected signal, wherein the quality of the seal is characterized based on a leak rate; and providing an indication that the leak rate is sufficiently small to continue with a measurement”. However, the claimed invention is not directed towards an “exemplary method for characterizing a quality of a membrane measurement”. Instead, the claims are directed towards a “system for automated pneumatic otoscopy” with a different scope than what the abstract recites. A corrected abstract that properly represents the claimed invention is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 11-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehring et al (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0365292; cited by Applicant) in view of Iseberg et al (U.S. Publication No. 2007/0112279; cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 3, Moehring discloses a system for automated pneumatic otoscopy (acoustic otoscope; Abstract; [0013]), comprising:
a pressure source (pressure excitation generator 106; [0013]; piston (or diaphragm) 606; [0040]) configured to provide a plurality of pressure profiles to a pneumatic volume comprising a target object (tympanic membrane) or region (Figures 1 and 6; [0040-0041]);
one or more sensors (pressure sensor 108; [0013]; sensor 614; [0040]) configured to detect or measure (i) a pressure within the pneumatic volume, (ii) a leak rate of the pneumatic volume, or both (i) and (ii) (Figures 1 and 6; [0036-0040]); and
a control unit (controller 104; Figure 1; central controller 601; [0040]).
Moehring fails to disclose wherein the control unit is configured to implement a closed loop control scheme to adjust or modulate an operation, a position, and/or a movement, or any combination thereof, of the pressure source based on one or more measurements obtained using the one or more sensors.
In a similar technical field, Iseberg teaches a hearing screening system for testing hearing abilities of a patient (Abstract), wherein the control unit is configured to implement a closed loop control scheme to adjust or modulate an operation, a position, and/or a movement, or any combination thereof, of the pressure source based on one or more measurements obtained using the one or more sensors (The tymp module 14 may also be operated to analyze whether the pump system 38 is properly controlling air pressure within the probe. Initially, the tymp module 14 may control the pump system 38 to drive pressure in an ear canal to test levels, while analyzing pressure change rate to detect whether there is a leak, such as in the air tube 64. If an unacceptable pressure change rate is detected, signifying a possible leak, the lever arm 76 is re-centered; [0063-0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to control the system based on the pressure changes within the system to properly detect leaks and maintain pressure values (Iseberg [0063-0069]).
Regarding Claim 4, Moehring discloses a release valve configured to equalize or reset the pressure within the pneumatic volume (where the excitation source is coupled to a source of greater or lower air pressure through one or more valves controlled by the excitation input; Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 5, Moehring fails to disclose wherein the control unit is configured to adjust an operation or a movement of the release valve based on the one or more measurements obtained using the one or more sensors.
In a similar technical field, Iseberg teaches a hearing screening system for testing hearing abilities of a patient (Abstract), wherein the control unit is configured to adjust an operation or a movement of the release valve based on the one or more measurements obtained using the one or more sensors (After the lever arm 76, and therefore the piston 70, are centered, the pressure release valve 40 is opened and a reading is taken from the pressure sensor 42…After the lever arm 76, and therefore the piston 70, are centered, the pressure release valve 40 is opened and a reading is taken from the pressure sensor 42; [0066-0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to control the system based on the pressure changes within the system to properly detect leaks and maintain pressure values (Iseberg [0063-0069]).
Regarding Claim 11, Moehring discloses wherein the plurality of pressure profiles comprises (i) a first pressure profile for a pressure scouting mode or a seal quality assessment mode (When inserted into the ear canal of a subject (detail 122), a conformable seal 120 may be used which comfortably seals the speculum tip 116, thereby providing effective coupling of volume changes generated by volume excitation generator 106 to the inner ear and tympanic membrane 124; [0014]; In another measurement method, a trapezoidal pressure excitation 402 is applied by the controller, and the measured pressure 406 in the speculum tip 406 is examined to determine a settling time t1 404 where the temporal rate of change in pressure is reduced to an exemplar ¼ of its initial rate of change value, or is selected to be a particular fixed time 404, whichever occurs first; [0019]; comparatively smaller values of k1 and k2 may be used to indicate a poor seal (or perforated TM), particularly when accompanied by comparatively short τ1 or τ2; [0033]; the signatures of the pressure responses are examined for evidence of a seal 120 leak…if the seal leak is large enough, no pressure will be measured in response to a pressure excitation; [0035-0038]) and (ii) a second pressure profile for a tympanic challenge mode or a tympanic response measurement mode (A pressure excitation generator 106 couples a volume change from an excitation generator through hose 112 to the speculum tip 116, and a pressure measurement hose to a pressure sensor 108 provides a measurement of pressure change in the speculum tip 116 from the excitation generator change in volume; [0014]; FIG. 6 shows an alternative tympanic membrane displacement measurement system comprising piston (or diaphragm) 606 which is sealed 604 to create a closed chamber 608 with the displacement volume coupled via hose 112 to speculum tip 116 with optical viewer 126…The controller 601 also reads a pressure measurement 616 of the pressure developed in the speculum tip 116 delivered from chamber 608 to the speculum tip 116 via hose 112; [0040]; Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Moehring discloses wherein the first pressure profile (When inserted into the ear canal of a subject (detail 122), a conformable seal 120 may be used which comfortably seals the speculum tip 116, thereby providing effective coupling of volume changes generated by volume excitation generator 106 to the inner ear and tympanic membrane 124; [0014]; In another measurement method, a trapezoidal pressure excitation 402 is applied by the controller, and the measured pressure 406 in the speculum tip 406 is examined to determine a settling time t1 404 where the temporal rate of change in pressure is reduced to an exemplar ¼ of its initial rate of change value, or is selected to be a particular fixed time 404, whichever occurs first; [0019]; comparatively smaller values of k1 and k2 may be used to indicate a poor seal (or perforated TM), particularly when accompanied by comparatively short τ1 or τ2; [0033]; the signatures of the pressure responses are examined for evidence of a seal 120 leak…if the seal leak is large enough, no pressure will be measured in response to a pressure excitation; [0035-0038]) and the second pressure profile (A pressure excitation generator 106 couples a volume change from an excitation generator through hose 112 to the speculum tip 116, and a pressure measurement hose to a pressure sensor 108 provides a measurement of pressure change in the speculum tip 116 from the excitation generator change in volume; [0014]; FIG. 6 shows an alternative tympanic membrane displacement measurement system comprising piston (or diaphragm) 606 which is sealed 604 to create a closed chamber 608 with the displacement volume coupled via hose 112 to speculum tip 116 with optical viewer 126…The controller 601 also reads a pressure measurement 616 of the pressure developed in the speculum tip 116 delivered from chamber 608 to the speculum tip 116 via hose 112; [0040]; Figure 6) are different.
Regarding Claim 13, Moehring fails to disclose wherein the control unit comprises a pressure monitor configured to override an operation or a movement of a release valve for an air manifold in pneumatic communication with the pressure source, based on the one or more measurements.
In a similar technical field, Iseberg teaches a hearing screening system for testing hearing abilities of a patient (Abstract), wherein the control unit comprises a pressure monitor configured to override an operation or a movement of a release valve for an air manifold in pneumatic communication with the pressure source, based on the one or more measurements (The processing unit 61 is in communication with the first sound receiver 36, the sensor 42, the pressure release valve 40…the release valve 40 may be automatically or manually activated to release air pressure within the tube 64, and therefore an ear canal sealed by the probe tip 54, which is in fluid communication with the air tube 64. The pump system 38 is also connected to the processing unit 61, which operates and controls the pump system 38 based on information received from the pressure sensor 42; [0045-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to control the system based on the pressure changes within the system to properly detect leaks and maintain pressure values (Iseberg [0063-0069]).
Regarding Claim 14, Moehring discloses wherein the pressure source may be movable (piston actuator 602 (which may be a voice coil actuator or other electromagnetic actuator) causes piston 606 to move along the axis of chamber 608; [0040]), Moehring fails to specifically disclose wherein the pressure monitor is configured to control or modulate an operation or a movement of the pressure source based on the one or more measurements.
In a similar technical field, Iseberg teaches a hearing screening system for testing hearing abilities of a patient (Abstract), wherein the pressure monitor is configured to control or modulate an operation or a movement of the pressure source based on the one or more measurements (The processing unit 61 is in communication with the first sound receiver 36, the sensor 42, the pressure release valve 40, the pump system 38…The pump system 38 is also connected to the processing unit 61, which operates and controls the pump system 38 based on information received from the pressure sensor 42; [0045-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to control the system based on the pressure changes within the system to properly detect leaks and maintain pressure values (Iseberg [0063-0069]).
Regarding Claim 15, Moehring discloses wherein the control unit and/or the pressure monitor, or both is configured to determine a seal quality for the pneumatic volume based on (i) the one or more measurements or (ii) an amount of movement or displacement needed for the pressure source to achieve or maintain a threshold pressure for the pneumatic volume (comparatively smaller values of k1 and k2 may be used to indicate a poor seal (or perforated TM), particularly when accompanied by comparatively short τ1 or τ2; [0033]).
Regarding Claim 16, Moehring fails to disclose an indicator for providing an indication of the seal quality to a user or an operator.
In a similar technical field, Iseberg teaches a hearing screening system for testing hearing abilities of a patient (Abstract), comprising an indicator for providing an indication of the seal quality to a user or an operator (If it is determined that the probe 18 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) is within an ear canal of a patient (e.g., analyzing whether there is a change in pressure during the piston centering routine), the tymp module 14 may transmit an alert signal (such as a sound or flashing light) to remove the probe 18 from the ear canal; [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to alert the user to remove the probe from the ear canal to ensure proper positioning and pressures (Iseberg [0064-0067]).
Regarding Claim 17, Iseberg further teaches wherein the indication comprises an auditory, visual, or haptic alert or feedback (If it is determined that the probe 18 (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) is within an ear canal of a patient (e.g., analyzing whether there is a change in pressure during the piston centering routine), the tymp module 14 may transmit an alert signal (such as a sound or flashing light) to remove the probe 18 from the ear canal; [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to alert the user to remove the probe from the ear canal to ensure proper positioning and pressures (Iseberg [0064-0067]).
Regarding Claim 18, Moehring discloses wherein the pressure source comprises an electroacoustic device (Volume (or pressure) excitation generator 106 may be any of: a voice coil integrated with a movable diaphragm, a diaphragm coupled to a piston actuator, or any mechanism modulating a volume or introducing an external pressure source which is coupled to speculum tip 116 tto cause a change in pressure (such as by a change in enclosed volume or introduction and removal of a gas such as air from a fixed volume) which couples the change in pressure into the speculum tip 116 and to the tympanic membrane; [0014]; Piston actuator 602 (which may be a voice coil actuator or other electromagnetic actuator) causes piston 606 to move along the axis of chamber 608, with the displacement measured by sensor 614 coupled to displacement measurement 618. A central controller 601 issues commands for the piston actuator 602 to cause the piston 606 to modulate position, with the displacement measured 618 and reported to controller 601; [0040]).
Regarding Claim 19, Moehring discloses wherein the electroacoustic device comprises a speaker (Piston actuator 602 (which may be a voice coil actuator or other electromagnetic actuator) causes piston 606 to move along the axis of chamber 608, with the displacement measured by sensor 614 coupled to displacement measurement 618. A central controller 601 issues commands for the piston actuator 602 to cause the piston 606 to modulate position, with the displacement measured 618 and reported to controller 601. The controller 601 also reads a pressure measurement 616 of the pressure developed in the speculum tip 116 delivered from chamber 608 to the speculum tip 116 via hose 112; [0040]).
Regarding Claim 20, Moehring discloses wherein the electroacoustic device comprises an air impulse generator or air pump configured to displace a volume of air in the pneumatic volume (A pressure excitation generator 106 couples a volume change from an excitation generator through hose 112 to the speculum tip 116, and a pressure measurement hose to a pressure sensor 108 provides a measurement of pressure change in the speculum tip 116 from the excitation generator change in volume; [0013]).
Regarding Claim 21, Moehring discloses wherein the pneumatic volume comprises a sealed or partially sealed volume or region between the pressure source and the target object or region (When inserted into the ear canal of a subject (detail 122), a conformable seal 120 may be used which comfortably seals the speculum tip 116, thereby providing effective coupling of volume changes generated by volume excitation generator 106 to the inner ear and tympanic membrane 124; [0014]).
Regarding Claim 22, Moehring discloses wherein the pneumatic volume extends from the pressure source to at least an ear canal of a patient or a subject (FIG. 1 shows an otoscope 130 which includes a speculum tip 116 for insertion into an ear canal of a subject to be characterized…it may be preferable for the speculum tip 116 to be sealed where it attaches to the optical unit 114 to minimize the volume being excited to include only the ear canal and speculum tip 116 volume, or the speculum tip 116 may be sealed to the ear canal in other locations including the concha and tragus at the entrance to the ear canal or in any location which completes a seal to the ear canal; [0013-0014]).
Regarding Claim 23, Moehring fails to disclose one or more additional sensors configured to detect (i) one or more signals received, transmitted, or reflected from the target object or region, and/or (ii) a behavior or a movement of the target object or region in response to one or more of the plurality of pressure profiles, or both (i) and (ii).
In a similar technical field, Iseberg teaches a hearing screening system for testing hearing abilities of a patient (Abstract), comprising one or more additional sensors (microphone 50) configured to detect (i) one or more signals received, transmitted, or reflected from the target object or region, and/or (ii) a behavior or a movement of the target object or region in response to one or more of the plurality of pressure profiles, or both (i) and (ii) (The probe 18 includes a microphone 50 and a second sound receiver 52 in communication with a probe tip 54 through a microphone sound tube 56 and a second receiver sound tube 58, respectively; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the microphone teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to enable the probe to be able to receive or sense sounds for processing and analysis (Iseberg [0048]).
Regarding Claim 24, Iseberg teaches wherein the one or more additional sensors comprise a microphone (The probe 18 includes a microphone 50 and a second sound receiver 52 in communication with a probe tip 54 through a microphone sound tube 56 and a second receiver sound tube 58, respectively; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the microphone teachings of Iseberg into the invention of Moehring in order to enable the probe to be able to receive or sense sounds for processing analysis (Iseberg [0048]).
Regarding Claim 25, Moehring discloses wherein the target object or region comprises a biological membrane (FIG. 1 shows an otoscope 130 which includes a speculum tip 116 for insertion into an ear canal of a subject to be characterized…when inserted into the ear canal of a subject (detail 122), a conformable seal 120 may be used which comfortably seals the speculum tip 116, thereby providing effective coupling of volume changes generated by volume excitation generator 106 to the inner ear and tympanic membrane 124; [0013-0014]).
Regarding Claim 26, Moehring discloses wherein the biological membrane comprises a tympanic membrane (When inserted into the ear canal of a subject (detail 122), a conformable seal 120 may be used which comfortably seals the speculum tip 116, thereby providing effective coupling of volume changes generated by volume excitation generator 106 to the inner ear and tympanic membrane 124; [0013-0014]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehring and Iseberg as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Buckler et al (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0000678; cited by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 6, Moehring and Iseberg fail to specifically disclose wherein the control unit is configured to select or modify a pressure profile of the plurality of pressure profiles provided by the pressure source.
In a similar technical field, Buckler teaches a method for external ear canal pressure regulation (Abstract), wherein the control unit is configured to select or modify a pressure profile of the plurality of pressure profiles provided by the pressure source (The external ear canal pressure differential (9) can, but not necessarily, have a pressure amplitude (19) in a range of between 0 kilopascals to about 50 kilopascals, whether positive or negative…The one or more pressure amplitudes (19) desired for use in particular embodiments of the inventive method can be influenced by such factors as auditory meatus anatomy, physiology, or biochemistry; disorder symptom targeted for alleviation; disorder targeted for treatment; observable effect(s) of the inventive method; or the like; or combinations thereof; but not so much as to cause discomfort to a user (20) or injury to an auditory meatus (21) or a tympanic membrane (22); [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the modification of pressure profiles teachings of Buckler into those of Moehring and Iseberg in order to optimize testing without causing discomfort to a user (Buckler [0044]).
Regarding Claim 7, Moehring and Iseberg fail to specifically disclose wherein the control unit is configured to select or modify the pressure profile based on an input provided by a user or an operator.
In a similar technical field, Buckler teaches a method for external ear canal pressure regulation (Abstract), wherein the control unit is configured to select or modify the pressure profile based on an input provided by a user or an operator (The external ear canal pressure differential (9) can, but not necessarily, have a pressure amplitude (19) in a range of between 0 kilopascals to about 50 kilopascals, whether positive or negative…The one or more pressure amplitudes (19) desired for use in particular embodiments of the inventive method can be influenced by such factors as auditory meatus anatomy, physiology, or biochemistry; disorder symptom targeted for alleviation; disorder targeted for treatment; observable effect(s) of the inventive method; or the like; or combinations thereof; but not so much as to cause discomfort to a user (20) or injury to an auditory meatus (21) or a tympanic membrane (22); [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the modification of pressure profiles teachings of Buckler into those of Moehring and Iseberg in order to optimize testing without causing discomfort to a user (Buckler [0044]).
Regarding Claim 8, Moehring discloses wherein the input comprises a selection of one or more operational modes ([0019]; [0033]; Each of the above methods as described for FIGS. 2, 3A, 3B, 4, and 5 may be used in a differential method, by comparing results from a left and right ear, in the case where ear infection of only one ear is clinically suspected; [0035-0038]).
Regarding Claim 9, Moehring discloses wherein the one or more operational modes comprise a pressure scouting mode or a seal quality assessment mode (When inserted into the ear canal of a subject (detail 122), a conformable seal 120 may be used which comfortably seals the speculum tip 116, thereby providing effective coupling of volume changes generated by volume excitation generator 106 to the inner ear and tympanic membrane 124; [0014]; In another measurement method, a trapezoidal pressure excitation 402 is applied by the controller, and the measured pressure 406 in the speculum tip 406 is examined to determine a settling time t1 404 where the temporal rate of change in pressure is reduced to an exemplar ¼ of its initial rate of change value, or is selected to be a particular fixed time 404, whichever occurs first; [0019]; comparatively smaller values of k1 and k2 may be used to indicate a poor seal (or perforated TM), particularly when accompanied by comparatively short τ1 or τ2; [0033]; the signatures of the pressure responses are examined for evidence of a seal 120 leak…if the seal leak is large enough, no pressure will be measured in response to a pressure excitation; [0035-0038]).
Regarding Claim 10, Moehring discloses wherein the one or more operational modes comprise a tympanic challenge mode or a tympanic response measurement mode (A pressure excitation generator 106 couples a volume change from an excitation generator through hose 112 to the speculum tip 116, and a pressure measurement hose to a pressure sensor 108 provides a measurement of pressure change in the speculum tip 116 from the excitation generator change in volume; [0014]; FIG. 6 shows an alternative tympanic membrane displacement measurement system comprising piston (or diaphragm) 606 which is sealed 604 to create a closed chamber 608 with the displacement volume coupled via hose 112 to speculum tip 116 with optical viewer 126…The controller 601 also reads a pressure measurement 616 of the pressure developed in the speculum tip 116 delivered from chamber 608 to the speculum tip 116 via hose 112; [0040]; Figure 6).
Conclusion
/CHANEL J YOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791