DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on June 30, 2026 has been received and considered. By this amendment, claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, and 13-17 are amended and claims 1-20 now pending in the application, with claims 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 6/12/2026, 7/29/2026, 8/5/2026, and 9/3/2026 has/have been acknowledged and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The Applicant is reminded to carefully review the drawing figures and the accompanying specification to ensure that all reference numerals present in the drawing figures are defined within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, previously cited). Regarding claim 1, Feler discloses a spinal cord stimulation device (Abstract) comprising:(a) an elongate thin film lead body 244 (see Figure 4); and(b) a thin film electrode body 230 disposed at one end of the elongate thin film lead body (see Figure 4), the thin film electrode body comprising: (i) a distal end, a proximal end, and first and second sides extending from the distal end to the proximal end (see Figure 4); (ii) at least one first pair of notches 412 defined in an outer edge of the first side and at least one second pair of notches 412 defined in an outer edge of the second side, whereby the electrode body has increased lateral and longitudinal flexibility (score lines 412 satisfy the broadest reasonable interpretation for notches, as a notch is understood to be an incision or slit in an object or edge); and (iii) at least two contacts 222 disposed on the electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 below).
Regarding claim 2, Feler discloses that the at least two contacts comprises at least twelve contacts (see Figure 4, which shows 25 contacts).
Regarding claim 3, Feler discloses that opposing notches of the at least one first pair of notches and the at least one second pair of notches are disposed across from each other (see annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 4, Feler discloses that each notch of the at least one first pair of notches and the at least one second pair of notches extends inward toward a center of the electrode body and is transverse to a longitudinal axis of the electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 5, Feler discloses that the thin film electrode body comprises a distal flap disposed at a distal end of the thin film electrode body (the broadest reasonable interpretation for a “flap” is a broad or flat structure, usually thin and flexible that hangs loose or projects freely, which is satisfied by the distalmost portion of the thin film electrode body shown in Figure 4 and reproduced below).
Regarding claim 6, Feler discloses that the at least one first pair of notches comprises two pairs of notches and the at least one second pair of notches comprises two pairs of notches (see annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 8, Feler discloses that the flap is moveable between a flat configuration and a pocket configuration (it is respectfully submitted that the flap is capable of being moved and manipulated into a pocket configuration based on the score lines and flexibility).
Regarding claim 9, Feler discloses that the flap is moveable between a flat configuration and a collar configuration (it is respectfully submitted that the flap is capable of being moved and manipulated into a collar configuration based on the score lines and flexibility).
Regarding claim 10, Feler discloses a spinal cord stimulation device (Abstract) comprising:(a) an elongate thin film lead body 244 (see Figure 4); and (b) a thin film electrode body 230 disposed at one end of the elongate thin film lead body (see Figure 4), the thin film electrode body comprising: (i) at least one pair of notches defined in first and second outer edges of the thin film electrode body, wherein a first notch of the at least one pair of notches is define in the first outer edge and a second notch of the at least one pair of notches is defined in the second outer edge, wherein the first and second outer edges are parallel with a longitudinal axis of the thin film electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 above); and (ii) at least two contacts disposed on the electrode body (see Figure 4), wherein first and second ends of the thin film electrode body are moveable in relation to each other via the at least one pair of notches such that the electrode body has increased longitudinal flexibility (“Score lines 410 and 412 extend intermediate each of the electrodes 222 to permit flexing of paddle portion 230”, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Feler discloses that the first and second notches are disposed across from each other (see annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 12, Feler discloses that the first and second outer edges are rotatable around a longitudinal axis of the electrode body (“The score lines of paddle portion facilitate the bending or shaping of paddle portion 230 to match the posterior shape of the epidural space.”, paragraph [0042], which is respectfully submitted to be a disclosure that the first and second outer edges are capable of rotation around a longitudinal axis of the electrode body).
Regarding claim 13, Feler discloses that the first and second notches extend inward toward a center of the electrode body and is transverse to the longitudinal axis of the electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 15, Feler discloses a spinal cord stimulation device (Abstract) comprising:(a) an elongate thin film lead body 244 (see Figure 4); and (b) a thin film electrode body 230 disposed at one end of the elongate thin film lead body (see Figure 4), the thin film electrode body comprising: (i) first and second edges parallel with a longitudinal axis of the thin film electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 above); (ii) at least two contacts 222 disposed on the electrode body; and (iii) at least two pairs of notches 412 defined in the first and second outer edges, wherein a first notch of the at least two pairs of notches is defined in the first outer edge and a second notch of the at least two pairs of notches is defined in the second outer edge, wherein each of the first and second notches extends inward toward a center of the electrode body and is transverse to a longitudinal axis of the electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 above); wherein the first and second outer edges are moveable in relation to each other such that the electrode body is laterally conformable to a shape of a target spinal cord (“the front surface or face 231 of paddle structure 230 includes lengthwise or longitudinal score lines 410 that extend between ends 250 and 252 from edge to edge”, paragraph [0031] and “The score lines increase the flexibility of the paddle in both the length and width directions which facilitate the implantation of the paddle within the epidural space of the spinal cord, and further permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.”, Abstract); and wherein first and second ends of the thin film electrode body are moveable in relation to each other via the at least one pair of notches such that the electrode body has increased longitudinal flexibility (“the front surface or face 231 of paddle structure 230 includes lengthwise or longitudinal score lines 410 that extend between ends 250 and 252 from edge to edge”, paragraph [0031] and “The score lines increase the flexibility of the paddle in both the length and width directions which facilitate the implantation of the paddle within the epidural space of the spinal cord, and further permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.”, Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Feler discloses that the first and second notches are disposed across from each other on the electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, cited above) in view of Imran et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,314,618). Feler discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to disclose that each notch of the first pair of notches and the second pair of notches has curved sides such that a width of the notch decreases as a depth of the notch increases. Imran teaches flexible electrode arrays 100 having electrodes 106 and notches 120, wherein each notch of a first pair of notches and a second pair of notches has curved sides such that a width of the notch decreases as a depth of the notch increases (see Figures 9, 13A, and 13B, “a plurality of serrations or notches 120 cut into the film structure 107. The notches 120 may have any suitable shape, dimension or spacing. Likewise, the notches 120 may be symmetrical, non-symmetrical, present along one edge 111 of the film structure 107 or along more than one edge.”, col. 9, ln. 49-54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Feler to include notches that have curved sides such that a width of the notch decreases as a depth of the notch increases, as taught by Imran, in order to provide anchoring and/or increased flexibility, and as it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/455,258 in view of Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, cited above). Claim 1 of the copending application provides the invention claimed in claims 1, 10, and 15 of the present application except for the claimed notches. Feler teaches a spinal cord stimulation device including notches 412 (see Figure 4) that serve the purpose of allowing greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and “permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers” (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application to include notches, as taught by Feler, in order to allow greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and permit the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/796,426 in view of Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, cited above). Claim 1 of the copending application provides the invention claimed in claims 1, 10, and 15 of the present application except for the claimed notches. Feler teaches a spinal cord stimulation device including notches 412 (see Figure 4) that serve the purpose of allowing greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and “permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers” (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application to include notches, as taught by Feler, in order to allow greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and permit the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the previous rejections of the claims as being anticipated by Feler, the Applicant argues that Feler fails to disclose the notches as presently claimed. As set forth in the rejection above, score lines 412 are considered to satisfy the broadest reasonable interpretation for the claimed notches, as a notch is understood to be an incision or slit in an object or edge. As such, and for at least the reasons given above, the rejections stand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796