DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that an examination can be made without serious burden. This is not agreed upon as the restriction requirement is proper because the two inventions listed are independent or distinct and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required in view of the following: (a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; and (b) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 & 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (US Pub. 2021/0154794) in view of ZENG et al. (US Pub. 2022/0152742) and Kawashima (US Pub. 2004/0241963).
Regarding claim 1, KIM teaches a semiconductor device fabrication apparatus comprising:
a grinder (e.g. Section B & Section C) comprising a grinding part (e.g. Section B), the grinding part configured to grind a first surface of a substrate 11 (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3-4B);
a laser emitter (78a-78d) configured to emit a laser pulse to the first surface of the substrate 11 transferred from the grinder (Para [0056]); and
a mount (4c or 4b) configured to receive the substrate transferred from the laser emitter (78a-78d),
wherein the grinding part is configured to grind the first surface of the substrate 11, which has been introduced into the grinder, and the laser emitter is configured to emit the laser pulse to the ground first surface of the substrate (Fig. 2 and associated text).
KIM is silent on (i) wherein the laser emitter is a femtosecond pulse laser; and (ii) wherein the mount is configured to attach a die attach film to the first surface of the substrate.
ZENG teaches in Para [0014] (i) a wafer processing apparatus comprising a laser emitter that emits femtosecond laser pulse. This has the advantage of providing extremely short pulses for extremely precise scanning and imaging and/or allowing to study ultrafast molecular dynamics and create micro-scale structures while avoiding damage to surrounding areas of the semiconductor wafer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of KIM with the femtosecond laser, as taught by ZENG, so as to deliver intense energy in tiny bursts to obtain enhanced imaging/scanning while avoiding damage to surrounding areas of the semiconductor wafer.
Kawashima teaches (ii) a semiconductor device fabrication apparatus comprising a mount 20 configured to attach a die attach film 25 to a first surface of the substrate 12 (Fig. 1-Fig. 2b and associated text). This has the advantage of providing adhesion on wafer surface during die bonding operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of KIM and ZENG with the die attach film (DAF), as taught by Kawashima, so as to provide adhesion for a semiconductor wafer/die surface during a die bonding operation.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the grinding part comprises a first grinding part (section B), a second grinding part (section C), a polishing part (section D), the first grinding part configured to perform a first grinding process on the first surface of the substrate, the second grinding part configured to perform a second grinding process on the first surface of the substrate on which the first grinding process has been performed, and the polishing part configured to polish the first surface of the substrate on which the second grinding process has been performed, and the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus further comprises a controller 74 configured to control an operation of the polishing part (KIM’s Fig. 2 and associated text).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 2, wherein when the controller 74 controls the polishing part to not operate, the laser emitter is configured to emit the femtosecond pulse laser to the first surface of the substrate on which the second grinding process has been performed (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 3, wherein the laser emitter is configured to remove at least a portion of the substrate by emitting the femtosecond pulse laser to the first surface of the substrate in a state in which the polishing part and the substrate are not in contact with each other (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]: the combination of KIM and ZENG’s device is capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 2, wherein when the controller 74 controls the polishing part to operate, the polishing part is configured to polish the first surface of the substrate on which the second grinding process, and the laser emitter is configured to emit the femtosecond pulse laser to the polished first surface of the substrate (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the laser emitter further comprises a suction part configured to support the substrate in a process of emitting the femtosecond pulse laser (KIM’s Para [0029 & 0032]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the laser emitter comprises a laser irradiating part, which is configured to irradiate the femtosecond pulse laser to the first surface of the substrate and move on the substrate in a direction parallel to the first surface of the substrate (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 8, wherein the laser irradiation part is configured to remove 5 um or less of a thickness of the substrate (ZENG’s femtosecond laser once incorporated into KIM’s device would be capable of removing 5 um or less of a thickness of the substrate). Notwithstanding, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the substrate 11having a protective tape 21 attached to a second surface opposed to the first surface is introduced into the grinder, the laser emitter is configured to emit the femtosecond pulse laser to the first surface of the substrate (KIM’s Fig. 4A-4B, also note protective tape 11 in Kawashima’s Fig. 2b) .
Regarding claim 11, KIM teaches a semiconductor device fabrication apparatus, comprising:
a transferer (6, 70 & 14) configured to transfer a substrate 11, the substrate having a first surface (bottom surface of wafer 11) on which a circuit pattern (note components 15 &19 in Fig. 4B) is provided and a second surface (e.g. top of wafer 11) opposed to the first surface (Fig. 2-3 & Fig 4A-4B);
a grinder (e.g. Section B & Section C) comprising a first grinding part (section B) and a second grinding part (section C) and a polishing part (section D), each of the first grinding part and the second grinding part configured to grind the second surface of the substrate transferred by the transferer, and the polishing part configured to polish the ground second surface of the substrate (Fig. 2-4B and associated text);
a laser emitter (78a-78d, Fig. 2) configured to emit a laser pulse to the second surface (top surface) of the substrate 11 transferred from the grinder (Para [0056]);
a controller 74 configured to control an operation of the polishing part (Fig. 2); and
a mount (4c or 4b) configured to receive the substrate transferred from the laser emitter (78a-78d),
wherein the first grind part (section B) is configured to perform a first grinding process on the second surface of the substrate 11 introduced into the grinder (Fig. 2 and associated text),
the second grind part (section C) is configured to perform a second grinding process on the second surface of the substrate on which the first grinding process has been performed (Fig. 2 and associated text), and
the laser emitter is configured to emit the laser pulse to the second surface of the substrate on which the first and second grinding processes have been performed.
Kim is silent on (i) wherein the laser emitter is a femtosecond pulse laser; and (ii) wherein the mount is configured to attach a die attach film to the first surface of the substrate.
ZENG teaches in Para [0014] (i) a wafer processing apparatus comprising a laser emitter that emits femtosecond laser pulse. This has the advantage of providing extremely short pulses for extremely precise scanning and imaging and/or allowing to study ultrafast molecular dynamics and create micro-scale structures while avoiding damage to surrounding areas of the semiconductor wafer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of KIM with the femtosecond laser, as taught by ZENG, so as to deliver intense energy in tiny bursts to obtain enhanced imaging/scanning while avoiding damage to surrounding areas of the semiconductor wafer.
Kawashima teaches (ii) a semiconductor device fabrication apparatus comprising a mount 20 configured to attach a die attach film 25 to a first surface of the substrate 12 (Fig. 1-Fig. 2b and associated text). This has the advantage of providing adhesion on wafer surface during die bonding operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of KIM and ZENG with the die attach film (DAF), as taught by Kawashima, so as to provide adhesion for a semiconductor wafer/die surface during a die bonding operation.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the controller 74 controls the polishing part to not operate, the laser emitter is configured to the femtosecond pulse laser to the second surface of the substrate on which the second grinding process has been performed (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 12, wherein the laser emitter is configured to remove at least a portion of the substrate by emitting the femtosecond pulse laser to the second surface of the substrate in a state in which the polishing part and the substrate are not in direct contact with each other (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]: the combination of KIM and ZENG’s device is capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 11, wherein when the controller 74 controls the polishing part to operate, the polishing part is configured to polish the second surface of the substrate on which the second grinding process, and the laser emitter is configured to emit the femtosecond pulse laser to the polished second surface of the substrate (KIM’s Fig. 2-3 and ZENG’s Para [0006 & 0014]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima teaches the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 11, wherein the laser emitter comprises a laser irradiating part, which is configured to irradiate a laser in a shape of a line beam to the second surface of the substrate and move a plurality of times in a direction parallel to the second surface of the substrate to remove at least a portion of the substrate (ZENG’s femtosecond laser emitter once incorporated into KIM’s device would be capable said functionality).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, ZENG and Kawashima as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of HA (US Pub. 2019/0067059).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KIM, ZENG and Kawashima is silent on the semiconductor device fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the substrate introduced into the laser emitter from the grinder is 70 um or less. However, HA teaches this widely known thickness for a semiconductor substrate in Para [0030]. These claim dimensions would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art in view of HA. One of the ordinary skill in the art is motivated to form device features as small as possible with large enough thickness to allow proper device operation, in order to save on material and processing costs. As such, it would have been obvious to use a thickness of 70 um or less for the semiconductor substrate.
The claim is prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir.1996)(claimed ranges of a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955)(selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818