DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 11/25/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2011/0133259, hereinafter Fischer) in view of Ramachandran (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2012/0139061, hereinafter Ramachandran).
Re claim 1 Fischer discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a transistor[0053] including a gate(110); a dielectric layer(154) over the gate(110);
Fischer does not discloses a cavity in the dielectric layer(154) above the gate(110), a first portion of the cavity over the gate(110) having a negative sloped sidewall in the dielectric layer(154).
Ramachandran discloses in Fig 1, rotated 180 degrees, a cavity(cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer(56/58 of Ramachandran), a first portion of the cavity having a negative sloped sidewall (see Fig 1 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Ramachandran to the teachings of Fischer in order to enhance product yield and reliability purposes [0003, Ramachandran]. In doing so, a cavity(cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer(56/58 of Ramachandran) above the gate(110), a first portion of the cavity over the gate(110) having a negative sloped sidewall (see Fig 1 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer(154).
Re claim 2 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer(154) has a first width at a first height and a second width less than the first width at a second height, wherein the first height is closer to the gate(110) than the second height and the negative sloped sidewall extends between the first height and the second height.
Re claim 3 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) has a second portion in the dielectric layer(154) over and contiguous with the first portion, the second portion having the second width at the second height and a third width larger than the second width at a third height, wherein the second height is between the first height and the third height.
Re claim 4 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 3, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) has a third portion in the dielectric layer(154) under and contiguous with the first portion, the third portion having a fourth width smaller than the first width at a fourth height below the first height.
Re claim 5 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) has a second portion in the dielectric layer(154) under and coupled to the first portion, the second portion having a third width at a third height, the third width smaller than the first width.
Re claim 6 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first portion has a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having a first width at a lower end of the first portion and a second width smaller than the first width at an upper end of the first portion.
Re claim 7 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) further includes a second portion in the dielectric layer(154) having a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having the second width at a lower end of the second portion contiguous with the upper end of the first portion and a third width larger than the second width at an upper end of the second portion.
Re claim 8 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) further includes a third portion in the dielectric layer(154) having a rectangular cross-section having a fourth width smaller than the first width of the first portion and contiguous with the lower end of the first portion.
Re claim 9 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the negative sloped sidewall in the dielectric layer(154) includes a dopant in the dielectric layer(154).
Re claim 10 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a portion of the dielectric layer(154) is positioned between the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) and the gate(110).
Re claim 11 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) includes one of a gas[0062 of Ramachandran] and a vacuum therein.
Re claim 12 Fischer discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a transistor[0053] including a gate(110); a dielectric layer(154) over the gate(110);
Fischer does not discloses a cavity in the dielectric layer(154) above the gate(110), the cavity including: a first portion having a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having a first width at a lower end of the first portion and a second width smaller than the first width at an upper end of the first portion, and a second portion having a trapezoidal cross-section having the second width at a lower end of the second portion and contiguous with the upper end of the first portion and a third width larger than the second width at an upper end of the second portion.
Ramachandran discloses in Fig 1, rotated 180 degrees, a cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer(56/58 of Ramachandran), the cavity including: a first portion having a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having a first width at a lower end (lower end of cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) of the first portion and a second width smaller than the first width at an upper end (upper end of cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) of the first portion (see Fig 1 of Ramachandran), and a second portion having a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having the second width at a lower end of the second portion and contiguous with the upper end of the first portion and a third width larger than the second width at an upper end of the second portion(see Fig 1 of Ramachandran).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Ramachandran to the teachings of Fischer in order to enhance product yield and reliability purposes [0003, Ramachandran]. In doing so, a cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) in the dielectric layer(56/58 of Ramachandran) above the gate(110), the cavity including: a first portion having a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having a first width at a lower end (lower end of cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) of the first portion and a second width smaller than the first width at an upper end (upper end of cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) of the first portion (see Fig 1 of Ramachandran), and a second portion having a trapezoidal (since the cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran is a quadrilateral with two parallel sides, this may be interpreted as trapezoidal) cross-section having the second width at a lower end of the second portion and contiguous with the upper end of the first portion and a third width larger than the second width at an upper end of the second portion(see Fig 1 of Ramachandran).
Re claim 13 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) further includes a third portion in the dielectric layer(154) having a rectangular cross-section having a fourth width smaller than the first width of the first portion and contiguous with the lower end of the first portion.
Re claim 14 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the dielectric layer(154) defining the first portion of the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) includes a dopant in the dielectric layer(154).
Re claim 15 Fischer and Ramachandran disclose the semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the cavity (cavity in 56/58 surrounding 60 of Ramachandran) includes one of a gas[0062 of Ramachandran] and a vacuum therein.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812