DETAILED ACTION
Status of the claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen M (WO2017027291- Jensen ‘291- cited by Applicant).
The reference teaches methods of engineering a bi-specific T-cell expressing chimeric antigen receptors for promoting the in vivo expansion and activation of an effector cell and a second chimeric antigen receptor or TcR specific for a ligand on a tumor. Methods of administering to subjects in need, bi-specific chimeric antigen receptor bearing cells are also provided (abstract).
The cells are T cells transduced with nucleic acids a CAR encoding an antigen-binding fragment (e.g. glypican-2 or 3 or mesothelin); a nucleic acid encoding an extracellular lgG4 hinge region; a nucleic acid encoding a CD28 transmembrane domain; a nucleic acid encoding an intracellular 41 BB co-stimulatory domain, a nucleic acid encoding a CD3 zeta intracellular signaling domain; a nucleic acid encoding a self-cleaving 2A peptide; and a nucleic acid encoding a huEGFRt corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 14 of the present application ([0009]-[0012], [0021], [0025], [0032], [0038], [0157], [0174], Figures 1 and 2, claims 66-94). The cells are therapeutically used in pharmaceutically compositions ([0160]).
Thus, in the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims 1-5, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 18-20 are anticipated by the reference cited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen ‘291 (cited supra) in view of Jensen M (WO2013123061- Jensen ‘061- cited by Applicant).
The claims add the limitation that the extracellular hinge region comprises a CD8α hinge region, the transmembrane domain comprises a CD8α transmembrane domain, the intracellular co-stimulatory domain comprises a 4-1BB co-stimulatory domain and the intracellular signaling domain comprises a CD3ζ signaling domain.
The Jensen ‘291 does not specifically disclose these specific sources for the specific domains claimed instantly.
Jensen ‘061 discloses such domains in the context of immunotherapies comprising T cells which co-express cancer-targeted CARs and EGFRt proteins (1-104; Fig. 2, 11; ex 8; SEQ ID NO: 9, 11, 15).
However, the mere usage of an alternative CAR construct (e.g. a CD8 alpha hinge region, a CD8 alpha transmembrane region, 4-1BB co-stimulatory domain and CD3 zeta signaling domain) are considered routine modifications.
Thus, based on the prior art, the skilled person would produce a cell comprising the nucleic acid molecule of claims 6 and 7 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen M (WO2017027291- Jensen ‘291) in view of Jensen M (WO2013123061-Jensen ‘061) and in further view of Ho et al. (WO2012145469) (all cited by Applicant)..
The claims add the limitation that the tumor antigen is GPC3 and that the antibody binding fragment comprises the CDR1, CDR2 and CDR3 sequences of SEQ ID NO: 30 and comprises residues 25-140 of SEQ ID NO: 18.
The teachings of both Jensen references were presented supra and they were
silent about these exact sequences of the anti-GPC3.
Ho et al. discloses an anti-GPC3 antibody having an amino acid sequence (SEQ ID NO: 2 that is 100% identical to amino acids of SEQ ID NO: 30 of the instant Application and comprises residues 25-140 of SEQ ID NO: 18.
Furthermore, it discloses cytotoxic T cells with an engineered CAR expressing said antibody and its use to treat GPC3-positive tumors (p. 47-48; claims 1-52; SEQ ID NO: 2).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used
the teaching of Ho et al. combined with the teachings of Jensen ‘291 and Jensen ‘061
and obtain the cell claimed in the instant claims 14 and 15 with a reasonable expectation of success. It is of note that GPC3 antibodies described by Ho et al. were in fact used by the applicant to clone the anti-GPC3 CARs of the present application.
Double Patenting
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-17 of U.S. Patent No.11,066,479 in view of Jensen ‘291.
The claims are drawn to an isolated host cell co-expressing a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a truncated human epidermal growth factor receptor (huEGFRt), wherein: the CAR comprises an GPC2-specific antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof, an extracellular hinge region, a transmembrane domain, an intracellular co-stimulatory domain and an intracellular signaling domain; and the huEGFRt comprises a Domain III, a Domain IV and a transmembrane domain from human EGFR, but lacks an epidermal growth factor (EGF)-binding domain and a cytoplasmic domain. The amino acid sequence of the antigen-binding fragment comprises the CDR1, CDR2 and CDR3 sequences of SEQ ID NO: 32 or the amino acid sequence of the antibody-binding fragment comprises residues 25-144 of SEQ ID NO: 20.
The teaching of Jensen ’291 were presented supra and they were silent about the specific anti-GPC2 amino acid sequences.
The claims of the ‘479 Patent are drawn to a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising the VH single domain anti-GPC2 monoclonal antibody comprising the amino acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 12. The CAR comprises a hinge region comprises a CD8α hinge region, the transmembrane domain comprises a CD8α or a CD28 transmembrane domain, the costimulatory signaling moiety comprises a 4-1BB and/or a CD28 signaling moiety, the signaling domain comprises a CD3ζ signaling domain, or any combination thereof; the CAR is expressed in an isolated cell. The SEQ ID NO: 12 of the Patent is 100% identical with the SEQ ID NO: 32 of the instant Application and comprises residues 25-144 of SEQ ID NO: 20 of the instant Application.
it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was filed to have used the GPC2 antibody CAR of the Patent and, combined with the teachings of Jensen ‘291, obtain a cell co-expressing the CAR and the huEGFRt with a reasonable expectation of success. This is because the Jensen ‘291 indicated the feasibility of the constructs and the anti-GPC2 of the Patent (with the same amino acid sequence) was used in a CAR having the same characteristics of the CAR of the instant Application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected and claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
ELLY-GERALD STOICA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1647
/Elly-Gerald Stoica/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647