DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 12, 15-17 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention / species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 13-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on a new reference for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WO Publication No. 2021/176996 (Yoshihara, sic), cited by Applicant in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0009295 (Otremba).
Yoshihara discloses (at least Figs. 10-13)
1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor element 10A;
a top electrode 11 on an upper surface of the semiconductor element 10A; and
a conductive metal plate 30 containing copper as a main component ([0040]) and solid-phase diffusion (see MPEP 2113 product-by-process language) bonded ([0020]) to the top electrode 11 of the semiconductor element 10A.
Yoshihara discloses ([0017]) electrode 11 may be divided into a plurality of regions, but fails to disclose
wherein the conductive metal plate is solid-phase diffusion bonded to the top electrode of the semiconductor element at a plurality of portions of a single continuous piece of the top electrode.
Otremba teaches (at least Figs. 1, 2C, 3D-3G, 4C, 4D, 5)
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the conductive metal plate 25 is diffusion bonded to the top electrode 16 of the semiconductor element 15 at a plurality of portions (26-28) of a single continuous piece of the top electrode 16.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond a plurality of portions of a single continuous piece of the top electrode to the solid-phase diffusion bonded metal plate in Yoshihara. The motivation would be to reduce thermomechanical stress, improve current distribution, and enhance bond reliability while maintaining electrical contact as taught by Otremba ([0002], [0013]-[0019]).
Yoshihara discloses ([0020]-[0022])
2. The semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the top electrode 11 includes a laminated structure obtained by laminating (see MPEP 2113 product-by-process language), in this order, an Au layer 112, an Ni layer 113, and an Al layer or an AISi layer 111 from a surface to which the conductive metal plate 30 is solid-phase diffusion bonded (see MPEP 2113 product-by-process language).
Yoshihara discloses ([0040])
8. The semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the conductive metal plate 30 is 0.01 mm to 1.0 mm thick.
Yoshihara discloses ([0017], may be divided into a plurality of regions)
9. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, comprising
a plurality of top electrodes on the upper surface of the semiconductor element 10A, and a plurality of conductive metal plates on the respective top electrodes, the plurality of top electrodes including the top electrode 11, the plurality of conductive metal plates including the conductive metal plate 30.
Yoshihara discloses ([0039], [0061])
11. The semiconductor device according to claim 1, comprising
a metal wire 53 solid-phase diffusion (see MPEP 2113 product-by-process language) bonded to the conductive metal plate 30, the metal wire 53 containing a material identical to a material of the conductive metal plate 30.
The combination of references teaches
18. (New) The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive metal plate 25 is solid-phase diffusion bonded to the top electrode 16 of the semiconductor element 15 at the plurality of portions of the single continuous piece of the top electrode 16 and at a single continuous piece of the conductive metal plate 25.
Yoshihara discloses (at least Figs. 10-13)
19. (New) A semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor element 10A;
a top electrode 11 on an upper surface of the semiconductor element 10A; and
a conductive metal plate 30 containing copper as a main component ([0040]) and solid-phase diffusion (see MPEP 2113 product-by-process language) bonded ([0020]) to the top electrode 11 of the semiconductor element 10A.
Yoshihara fails to disclose
wherein an entire contact surface of the conductive metal plate is solid-phase diffusion bonded to the top electrode.
Otremba teaches (at least Figs. 1, 2C, 3D-3G, 4C, 4D, 5)
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein an entire contact surface of the conductive metal plate 25 is diffusion bonded to the top electrode 16.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bond the top electrode to the solid-phase diffusion bonded entire contact surface of the conductive metal plate metal plate in Yoshihara. The motivation would be to reduce thermomechanical stress, improve current distribution, and enhance bond reliability while maintaining electrical contact as taught by Otremba ([0002], [0013]-[0019]).
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yoshihara in view of Otremba as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in in view of WO Publication No. 2018/167925 (Fujita), cited by Applicant.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
The combination of references fails to teach
3. The semiconductor device according to claim 2,
wherein the top electrode is formed on an interlayer insulating film, and the semiconductor device comprises a barrier metal between the interlayer insulating film and the Al layer or the AISi layer in the top electrode, the barrier metal containing Ti or W.
Fujita teaches (Figs. 1, 3, 5, 12, [0050]-[0052])
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the top electrode 26 / 20a / 31 / 20b / 20c is formed on an interlayer insulating film 24, and further comprising a barrier metal 26 between the interlayer insulating film 24 and the Al layer or the AISi layer 14a / 14b in the top electrode 26 / 20a / 31 / 20b / 20c, the barrier metal 26 containing Ti or W.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an interlayer insulating film and a barrier metal layer in the modified device of Yoshihara. The motivation would be to partially cover the aluminum layer and prevent a diffused impurity, respectively which is well-known in the semiconductor art as discussed in Fujita. See MPEP 2144.03.
Yoshihara discloses ([0081]-[0084]) / Fujita teaches ([0072]-[0077])
4. The semiconductor device according to claim 3,
wherein the Au layer is 30 nm to 70 nm thick, the Ni layer is 2 µm to 15 µm thick, the Al layer or the AlSi layer is 3 µm to 10 µm thick, and the barrier metal is 10 nm to 300 nm thick.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihara in view of Otremba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP Publication No. 2021-093473 (Kanda), cited by Applicant.
The combination of references fails to teach
7. The semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the conductive metal plate is smaller in plane size than the top electrode, the conductive metal plate being positioned without extending beyond the top electrode.
Kanda teaches (Fig. 4)
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the conductive metal plate 3 is smaller in plane size than the top electrode 121 / 11 / 123, the conductive metal plate 3 being positioned without extending beyond the top electrode 121 / 11 / 123.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a conductive metal plate smaller than the top electrode in the modified device of Yoshihara. The motivation would be to more reliably protect the semiconductor element, thus attaining low resistance of a conduction route as taught by Kanda. This configuration would also be a matter of routine engineering design considerations. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihara in view of Otremba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0271239 (Morozumi).
The combination of references fails to teach
13. The semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the semiconductor element is a reverse-conducting insulated gate bipolar transistor.
Morozumi teaches ([0063], [0078])
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the semiconductor element 11 / 511 is a reverse-conducting insulated gate bipolar transistor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a RC-IGBT in the modified device of Yoshihara. The motivation would be based on its suitability for the intended purpose as discussed in Morozumi. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihara in view of Otremba as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0001692 (Tsai).
The combination of references fails to teach
14. The semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the semiconductor element contains a wide-bandgap semiconductor.
Tsai teaches ([0038])
A semiconductor device comprising:
wherein the semiconductor element 11 contains a wide-bandgap semiconductor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a wide-bandgap semiconductor in the modified device of Yoshihara. The motivation would be based on its suitability for the intended purpose as discussed in Tsai. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP Publication No. 2007-173680 (Mochida), U.S. Patent No. 5,897,341 (Love), U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2009/0294934 (Liu), 2012/0080799 (Hohlfeld), 2015/0214189 (Tan) teach a semiconductor device including a top electrode diffusion bonded to a conductive plate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893