Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/26/2023 was filed before the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 2/6/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 7/26/2023 have been approved by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ HEAT DISSIPATION MEMBER ATTACHED TO METAL BASE FOR POWER MODULE ”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Hong et al. (JP 2013-251473).
With respect to Claims 1 and 2, Hong teaches a semiconductor chip 2 and an insulated circuit substrate 3 including a wiring board on a front surface thereof the wiring board having the semiconductor chip 2 bonded thereto. A heat dissipation base 4 having a front surface and a rear surface opposite to each other. The front surface having a substrate region to which the insulated circuit substrate 3 is bonded. The rear surface having a heat dissipation region 9 overlapping the substrate region in a plan view of the semiconductor module. A loop-shaped region (i.e. the space between the screw 7 and part 4g surrounding the heat dissipation region 9. The heat dissipation base 4 having a plurality of fastening holes (i.e. where the screw fits inside) through which fastening members 7 are to be inserted. The fastening holes being located outside the substrate region and being surrounded by the loop-shaped region. A solid heat dissipation member 9 made of a phase change material (i.e. thermally conductive grease) provided on the rear surface of the heat dissipation base 4 in the heat dissipation region. An elastic member 8 (i.e. silicone rubber) on the rear surface of the heat
dissipation base in the loop-shaped region (see paragraphs 12-25; Figs. 1, 3, and 5c).
With respect to Claim 3, Hong teaches wherein the elastic member has a continuous loop shape (see Fig. 2a).
With respect to Claim 4, Hong teaches wherein the elastic member 8p1 – 8p4 are provided discontinuously along the loop-shaped region of the heat dissipation base (see Fig. 7).
With respect to Claim 5, Hong teaches the heat dissipation base 4 is rectangular in the plan view. The loop-shaped region is provided along an outer periphery of the heat dissipation base 4. The elastic member 8p1 – 8p4 are provided in plurality and the plurality of elastic members are respectively provided at four corners of the loop-shaped region (see Fig. 7).
With respect to Claim 6, Hong teaches the heat dissipation base 9 is rectangular in the plan view and has a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides. The loop-shaped region is provided along an outer periphery of the heat dissipation base 9 and has four linear regions respectively parallel to respective ones of the long sides and short sides. The elastic member 8, 8p1 – 8p4 is provided in plurality and the plurality of elastic members are respectively provided along respective ones of the linear regions of the loop-shaped region (see Figs. 1, 5c, 6, and 7).
With respect to Claim 7, Hong teaches the heat dissipation base 9 is rectangular in the plan view and has four sides. The loop-shaped region is provided along an outer
periphery of the heat dissipation base and has first to fourth linear regions respectively parallel to the four sides of the heat dissipation base. The elastic member 8, 8p1 – 8p4 is provided in plurality, two of the plurality of elastic members are respectively provided
at corners of the loop-shaped region located at opposite ends of the first linear region, and one of the plurality of elastic members is provided along the second linear region, which faces and is parallel to the first linear region(see Figs. 1, 5c, 6, and 7).
With respect to Claim 8, Hong teaches measured from the rear surface of the heat dissipation base 9, a height of the elastic member 8 is substantially equal to or is greater than a height of the heat dissipation member (see Fig. 3a and 3b).
With respect to Claims 10 and 11, Hong teaches a cooling module 6 (i.e. heat sink) having a cooling surface that faces the rear surface of the heat dissipation base. The cooling surface and the rear surface of the heat dissipation base 9 sandwiching the elastic member 8 and the heat dissipation member therebetween in a state where the heat dissipation base is fastened to the cooling module by the fastening members 7 being inserted through the fastening holes. Melting the heat dissipation member (see Figs. 1 and 3).
With respect to Claims 10 and 11, Hong teaches the melting of the heat
dissipation member 9 includes operating the semiconductor chip 2 to generate heat, thereby melting the heat dissipation member 9 (see Figs. 1, 3a, and 3b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record teaches or suggest the combination of the heat dissipation member is provided in plurality, and the plurality of heat dissipation members are provided in a matrix form in the heat dissipation region in claim 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571) 272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.usptol gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/February 7, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897