DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are subject under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9, 11, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US 20170367069 A1) and Song (US 20120157153 A1) in view of Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal (US 20170367069 A1) teaches a User Equipment (UE) (See para 0061 “UE”) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UE at least to perform:
controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based, at least in part on a range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Seepara 0061 “In the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging and other broadcast information”)[ waking up regularly at short periods is controlling length of cycles] and one or more power conditions of the UE, wherein the monitoring cycle is used to select a beam for transmission by the UE (See para 0111 “based on the configured DRX cycle, a UE determines the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst in which paging is transmitted for the UE. A UE wakes up “N” broadcast periods before the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst (610). ..“N” is the number of RX beams in a UE. During the “N” broadcast periods a UE tries to receive synchronization signals and broadcast channel transmitted using plurality of TX beams using plurality of RX beams. A UE determines the suitable or best TX/RX beam pair.”); and
wherein, (i) the DRX cycle is used by the UE during RRC_INACTIVE state Seepara 0061 “In the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging and other broadcast information”) and the range of the DRX cycle determines one or more beam correspondence conditions (See para 0202 “a UE in idle/inactive state transmits beam information (referred as beam indication signal or message) every paging DRX cycle (S2110). The beam information indicates the suitable or best DL TX beam(s) or SS block ID(s) of best/suitable SS blocks determined by the UE.”)[ beam being suitable/ best is interpreted as beam correspondence conditions for every DRX cycle]
Agiwal teaches controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based, at least in part on a range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle however it doesn’t teach controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE.
Song (US 20120157153 A1) teaches controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE (See para 0102 “enable the DRX cycle..of the device to be adaptively controlled in response to a quality level of a communication environment”; see para 0070 “a DRX cycle which can be changed depending on the quality measurement results of a radio link “)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to reduce the required power of the device. (Song: see para 0102)
Modified Agiwal doesn’t teach (ii) the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state.
Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1) teaches (ii) the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state (see para 0019 “The beam measurement is typically based on a synchronization signal while in idle mode.”; see para 0028 “The IMU 114 can include one or more devices that report spatial and temporal measurements of the MT 100. For example, the IMU 114 can report values of force, angular rate, and/or orientation of the MT 100 as output by sensors including one or more accelerometers, gyroscopes”; see para 0015 “The spatial and temporal measurements include rotation and movement of the mobile terminal (MT) and/or geolocation of the MT and/or an associated base station (BS). The system includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU )”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state in the system of Modified Agiwal. The motivation is to improve performance (Wang : see para 0016)
Regarding claim 9, Agiwal teaches a method comprising:
controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of a UE based, at least in part on a range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Seepara 0061 “In the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging and other broadcast information”)[ waking up regularly at short periods is controlling length of cycles] and one or more power conditions of the UE, wherein the monitoring cycle is used to select a beam for transmission by the UE (See para 0111 “based on the configured DRX cycle, a UE determines the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst in which paging is transmitted for the UE. A UE wakes up “N” broadcast periods before the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst (610). ..“N” is the number of RX beams in a UE. During the “N” broadcast periods a UE tries to receive synchronization signals and broadcast channel transmitted using plurality of TX beams using plurality of RX beams. A UE determines the suitable or best TX/RX beam pair.”); and
wherein, (i) the DRX cycle is used by the UE during RRC_INACTIVE state Seepara 0061 “In the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging and other broadcast information”) and the range of the DRX cycle determines one or more beam correspondence conditions (See para 0202 “a UE in idle/inactive state transmits beam information (referred as beam indication signal or message) every paging DRX cycle (S2110). The beam information indicates the suitable or best DL TX beam(s) or SS block ID(s) of best/suitable SS blocks determined by the UE.”)[ beam being suitable/ best is interpreted as beam correspondence conditions for every DRX cycle]
Agiwal teaches controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based, at least in part on a range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle however it doesn’t teach controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE.
Song (US 20120157153 A1) teaches controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE (See para 0102 “enable the DRX cycle..of the device to be adaptively controlled in response to a quality level of a communication environment”; see para 0070 “a DRX cycle which can be changed depending on the quality measurement results of a radio link “)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to reduce the required power of the device. (Song: see para 0102)
Modified Agiwal doesn’t teach (ii) the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state.
Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1) teaches (ii) the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state (see para 0019 “The beam measurement is typically based on a synchronization signal while in idle mode.”; see para 0028 “The IMU 114 can include one or more devices that report spatial and temporal measurements of the MT 100. For example, the IMU 114 can report values of force, angular rate, and/or orientation of the MT 100 as output by sensors including one or more accelerometers, gyroscopes”; see para 0015 “The spatial and temporal measurements include rotation and movement of the mobile terminal (MT) and/or geolocation of the MT and/or an associated base station (BS). The system includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU )”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state in the system of Modified Agiwal. The motivation is to improve performance (Wang : see para 0016)
Regarding claim 12, Agiwal teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising a computer program comprising computer program instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry (see para 0049 “e flow charts may be performed by computer program instructions. Because these computer program instructions may be mounted in processors for a general computer, a special computer, or other programmable data processing apparatuses, these instructions executed by the processors for the computer”), cause:
controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of a UE based, at least in part on a range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (Seepara 0061 “In the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging and other broadcast information”)[ waking up regularly at short periods is controlling length of cycles] and one or more power conditions of the UE, wherein the monitoring cycle is used to select a beam for transmission by the UE (See para 0111 “based on the configured DRX cycle, a UE determines the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst in which paging is transmitted for the UE. A UE wakes up “N” broadcast periods before the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst (610). ..“N” is the number of RX beams in a UE. During the “N” broadcast periods a UE tries to receive synchronization signals and broadcast channel transmitted using plurality of TX beams using plurality of RX beams. A UE determines the suitable or best TX/RX beam pair.”); and
wherein, the DRX cycle is used by the UE during RRC_INACTIVE state Seepara 0061 “In the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods to receive paging and other broadcast information”) and the range of the DRX cycle determines one or more beam correspondence conditions (See para 0202 “a UE in idle/inactive state transmits beam information (referred as beam indication signal or message) every paging DRX cycle (S2110). The beam information indicates the suitable or best DL TX beam(s) or SS block ID(s) of best/suitable SS blocks determined by the UE.”)[ beam being suitable/ best is interpreted as beam correspondence conditions for every DRX cycle]
Agiwal teaches controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based, at least in part on a range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle however it doesn’t teach controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE.
Song (US 20120157153 A1) teaches controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE (See para 0102 “enable the DRX cycle..of the device to be adaptively controlled in response to a quality level of a communication environment”; see para 0070 “a DRX cycle which can be changed depending on the quality measurement results of a radio link “)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to reduce the required power of the device. (Song: see para 0102)
Modified Agiwal doesn’t teach (ii) the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state.
Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1) teaches (ii) the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state (see para 0019 “The beam measurement is typically based on a synchronization signal while in idle mode.”; see para 0028 “The IMU 114 can include one or more devices that report spatial and temporal measurements of the MT 100. For example, the IMU 114 can report values of force, angular rate, and/or orientation of the MT 100 as output by sensors including one or more accelerometers, gyroscopes”; see para 0015 “The spatial and temporal measurements include rotation and movement of the mobile terminal (MT) and/or geolocation of the MT and/or an associated base station (BS). The system includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU )”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the UE is able to meet the one or more beam correspondence conditions by using a gyroscope to estimate a rotation of the UE during the RRC_INACTIVE state in the system of Modified Agiwal. The motivation is to improve performance (Wang : see para 0016)
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal teaches wherein the controlling of the lengths of the one or more monitoring cycles is configured to conserve power of the UE (See para 0111 “the method to minimize UE's power consumption is as follows: In this embodiment, based on the configured DRX cycle, a UE determines the start of paging frame or paging occasion or paging burst in which paging is transmitted for the UE.”)
Regarding claim 6, Agiwal teaches wherein the range of the DRX cycle comprises at least one of: a short cycle, a long cycle (See para 0061 “in the idle or inactive mode UE wake ups at regular intervals (every paging DRX cycle) for short periods”) [ it implies DRX short cycle]
Regarding claim 3,11,14, Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein the power conditions comprise one or more of: UE implementation factors, channel conditions, orientation of the UE.
Song teaches the power conditions comprise one or more of: UE implementation factors, channel conditions, orientation of the UE. (See para 0102 “enable the DRX cycle..of the device to be adaptively controlled in response to a quality level of a communication environment”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to reduce the required power of the device. (Song: see para 0102)
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein the UE implementation factors comprise at least one of: maximum power output, radio frequency architecture conditions, number of panels, size of the array.
Song teaches wherein the UE implementation factors comprise at least one of: maximum power output, radio frequency architecture conditions, number of panels, size of the array (see para 0012 “control power of the terminal device by means of the power trigger unit when the quality of the radio link measured by the radio link measuring unit satisfies a predetermined condition.”; see para 0070 “a DRX cycle which can be changed depending on the quality measurement results of a radio link”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to reduce the required power of the device. (Song: see para 0102)
Regarding claim 15, Modified Agiwal doesn’t teach estimate a correct panel for the UE to use when waking up from the RRC-INACTIVE state using the estimate rotation of the UE.
Wang teaches estimate a correct panel for the UE to use when waking up from the RRC-INACTIVE state using the estimate rotation of the UE. (See para 0019 “The MT decides which beam is currently the optimal one to then switch to that beam. The beam measurement is typically based on a synchronization signal while in idle mode or based on reference signals while in connected mode. The optimal beam is searched periodically and identified based on measurement result.” See para 0034 “s the MT 304 rotates, the previously selected antenna beam 302-1 is no longer optimal for connecting to the wireless communication system 300. The MT 304 then performs updated measurements to select a new best beam, and switches to an antenna beam 302-2 oriented to a BS 306-2.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine estimate a correct panel for the UE to use when waking up from the RRC-INACTIVE state using the estimate rotation of the UE in the system of Modified Agiwal. The motivation is to improve performance (Wang : see para 0016)
6. Claim(s) 2, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US 20170367069 A1) and Song (US 20120157153 A1) in view of Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1) and further in view of Fraser (US 20030185162).
Regarding claims 2, 13, 10, Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein the power conditions are indicates of the available power transmission power for the UE.
Fraser (US 20030185162) teaches wherein the power conditions are indicates of the available power transmission power for the UE see para 0057 “alculate the DRx cycle duration value based on the transmit power level”)
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine controlling lengths of one or more monitoring cycles of the UE based…one or more power conditions of the UE in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to improve efficiency. (Fraser: see para 011)
7. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal Agiwal (US 20170367069 A1) and Song (US 20120157153 A1) in view of Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1) and further in view of Islam (US 2018/0131434 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Agiwal doesn’t teach wherein the beam correspondence conditions are determined such that shorter DRX cycles have a higher level of accuracy for the beam correspondence requirements compared to the longer DRX cycles.
Islam (US 2018/0131434 A1) the beam correspondence conditions are determined such that shorter DRX cycles have a higher level of accuracy for the beam correspondence requirements compared to the longer DRX cycles.(see para 0112 “a range of beam sweep based on the level of beam correspondence or a state of UE 115-b, or a combination thereof. A state may include a DRX mode, for example, a short DRX cycle or a long DRX cycle. In some examples, UE 115-b may perform a full beam sweep or a partial beam sweep based on short DRX cycles. Alternatively, UE 115-b may perform no beam sweep based on a long DRX”)[ short DRX cycle determining/ performing a full beam sweep implies enhancing accuracy of the beam correspondence requirements]
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine he beam correspondence conditions are determined such that shorter DRX cycles have a higher level of accuracy for the beam correspondence requirements compared to the longer DRX cycles. The motivation is to improve communication (Islam: see para 0057)
8. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US 20170367069 A1) and Song (US 20120157153 A1) in view of Wang (US 2023/0155665 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 20180338332A1).
Regarding claim 8, AGiwal doesn’t teach wherein the beam correspondence conditions are determined such that shorter DRX cycle lengths have a higher level of UE transmit power compared to the longer DRX cycle lengths.
Lee (US 20180338332A1) teaches the beam correspondence conditions are determined such that shorter DRX cycle lengths have a higher level of UE transmit power compared to the longer DRX cycle lengths (see para 0063 “The short DRX cycle may be used to improve performance (i.e., reduce delay) for delay sensitive traffic. However, a UE 120 may consume more power with short DRX cycles because the UE wakes up more frequently.”)[ UE wakes up more frequently implies UE need to transmit at higher power to send the data quickly]
Thus it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the beam correspondence conditions are determined such that shorter DRX cycle lengths have a higher level of UE transmit power compared to the longer DRX cycle lengths in the system of Agiwal. The motivation is to improve performance (Lee; para 00063)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMIT KAUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2416