Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see Page 1, Remarks, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to abstract, specification, and claims 1-2, 4-5 and 9-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to abstract, specification and said claims in Office Action of 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, an objection is made to newly added claim 20.
Applicant’s amendments, see Pages 1-6, Remarks, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to claims 1-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of said claims in Office Action of 02/26/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference US-2019/0301939-A1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: in Claim 20, the only sentence therein will be read as “The system of claim 7, wherein the swept laser is mounted along a longitudinal arm of the [[T]]t-shaped base and the reference arm and sample arm extend along respective transverse arms of the [[T]]t-shaped base.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, 16-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) in view of Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1).
Regarding independent Claim 1, Gurov discloses an integrated line-field swept source OCT system (Figure 7: overall view of the line-field swept source OCT setup; [Abstract] “optical coherence tomography (OCT) system with illumination by a swept-source”), comprising:
a line-field sensor (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 5 shows a project channel including projection lens and line-array photo detector; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “line-array photo detector model Lynx-CL-1024”) for detecting light (implicit for a line-array photo detector to detect light) from the reference arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 3 shows a reference channel) and the sample arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 2 shows a sample interferometer channel consisting of microscope lens and a unit providing translation and tilt of a sample), but does not specifically teach:
a base having a plurality of integrated optical component mounting features formed in a surface of the base;
a swept laser comprising a plurality of optical components mounted to the base via at least some of the mounting features and arranged in free-space optical alignment; and
a beamsplitter on the base for dividing a light beam from the swept laser between a reference arm and a sample arm, wherein the swept laser is free of any optical fiber between its output and the beamsplitter.
However, Medhat, in the same field of interferometric systems, teaches:
a base (Figure 2; [0041] “interferometer 204 is a Michelson interferometer fabricated on a MEMS chip”, wherein “a MEMS chip” is interpreted as a base) having a plurality of integrated optical component mounting features formed in a surface of the base (mounting features are implicit for holding optical components, e.g., Figure 2; [0042] “fixed retro-reflector 214”);
a light source (Figure 2: element 202 is a light source; [0040]) comprising a plurality of optical components mounted to the base (Figure 2; [0041] “a MEMS chip that includes a beam splitter 212, a fixed reflector 214, a moveable reflector 216, and a MEMS actuator 218 coupled to the moveable reflector 216”) via at least some of the mounting features (mounting features are implicit for holding optical components, e.g., Figure 2; [0042] “fixed retro-reflector 214”) and arranged in free-space (Figure 2: there is no fiber) optical alignment (Figure 2; [0041] “optically coupled”); and
a beamsplitter (Figure 2: element 212 is a beam splitter; [0041]) on the base (Figure 2; [0041] “a MEMS chip that includes a beam splitter 212”, wherein “a MEMS chip” is interpreted as a base) for dividing a light beam from the light source (Figure 2; [0042] “an input beam 224 from the light source 202 is split into two incident beams 226 and 228 by the beam splitter 212”) between a reference arm and a sample arm (Figure 2; [0044] “beam splitter 212 is further optically coupled to direct the first interfering beam 234 along the first optical path (e.g., which may correspond to a sample arm of the interferometer 204) and the second interfering beam 236 along the second optical path (e.g., which may correspond to a reference arm of the interferometer 204)”), wherein the light source (Figure 2: element 202 is a light source; [0040]) is free of any optical fiber between its output and the beamsplitter (Figure 2: there is no fiber between light source element 202 and beam splitter element 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Medhat, for a base having a plurality of integrated optical component mounting features formed in a surface of the base; a swept laser comprising a plurality of optical components mounted to the base via at least some of the mounting features and arranged in free-space optical alignment; and a beamsplitter on the base for dividing a light beam from the swept laser between a reference arm and a sample arm, wherein the swept laser is free of any optical fiber between its output and the beamsplitter, because “Various aspects of the disclosure provide simultaneous measurement of a background or reference spectral density and a sample or other spectral density to maintain an online background/reference measurement, compensate for any PSD drift effects and minimize the time required to obtain the background/reference measurement and perform any PSD compensation.” (Medhat, para 7)
Regarding Claim 2, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a cylindrical lens (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 1 shows a lighting unit comprising a cylindrical collector; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “a simple cylindrical collector scheme was used that consists of two cylindrical lenses utilizing the Schott N-BK7 glass”) mounted to the base (see claim 1 rejection) for conditioning the light beam (implicit for a cylindrical lens to refract light along only one axis, using a curved, cylinder-shaped surface to focus light into a line rather than a single point, as known in the art) from the swept laser (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 1 shows a lighting unit comprising a fiber light source output; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “swept laser source (the model Santec TSL-510): spectral range λ = (1,26–1,36) µm”) to the beamsplitter (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 4 shows a beam splitter).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a bracket (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 5 shows a project channel comprising a black bracket) for mounting the line-field sensor (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 5 shows a project channel including projection lens and line-array photo detector; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “line-array photo detector model Lynx-CL-1024”) to the base (see claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the base (see claim 1 rejection) is generally t-shaped (Figure 7: overall view of the line-field swept source OCT setup shows dashed rectangles 1-5 arranged generally in a t-shape) with the swept laser (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 1 shows a lighting unit comprising a fiber light source output; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “swept laser source (the model Santec TSL-510): spectral range λ = (1,26–1,36) µm”) in the bottom and the reference arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 3 shows a reference channel) and sample arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 2 shows a sample interferometer channel consisting of microscope lens and a unit providing translation and tilt of a sample) at the top.
Regarding Claim 8, Gurov discloses the system of claim 1 and the reference arm (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach a translation stage for changing a length of the reference arm.
However, Medhat, in the same field of interferometric systems, teaches a translation stage (Figure 2: element 216 is a moveable reflector; [0041]) for changing a length of the reference arm ([0042] “moveable retro-reflector 216 is coupled to the MEMS actuator 218 to produce a desired optical path difference”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Medhat, for a translation stage for changing a length of the reference arm, because to image different depths within a sample, the reference arm length is adjusted to match the time-of-flight of light from specific internal layers, allowing for sectional imaging.
Regarding independent Claim 16, Gurov discloses an integrated line-field swept source OCT system (Figure 7: overall view of the line-field swept source OCT setup; [Abstract] “optical coherence tomography (OCT) system with illumination by a swept-source”), comprising:
a line-field sensor (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 5 shows a project channel including projection lens and line-array photo detector; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “line-array photo detector model Lynx-CL-1024”) for detecting light (implicit for a line-array photo detector to detect light) from the reference arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 3 shows a reference channel) and the sample arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 2 shows a sample interferometer channel consisting of microscope lens and a unit providing translation and tilt of a sample); and
a line generating lens (Figure 2: element BR is a beam reshaper in a ray path in the designed lighting channel of the overall line-field swept source OCT setup; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “For the beam reshaper we utilized Galileo’s telescopic system that consists of two 10th order aspheric lenses”) for forming a line (as known in the art, aspheric lenses can form line illumination, specifically through the use of aspheric cylinders (acylinders), which have a cross-section that deviates from a circle, allowing them to bundle incident light into a sharp focal line without spherical aberration) from the light beam from the swept laser (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 1 shows a lighting unit comprising a fiber light source output; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “swept laser source (the model Santec TSL-510): spectral range λ = (1,26–1,36) µm”), but does not specifically teach:
a base having a plurality of integrated optical component mounting features formed in a surface of the base;
a swept laser comprising a plurality of optical components mounted to the base via at least some of the mounting features and arranged in free-space optical alignment; and
a beamsplitter on the base for dividing a light beam from the swept laser between a reference arm and a sample arm, wherein the swept laser is free of any optical fiber between its output and the beamsplitter.
However, Medhat, in the same field of interferometric systems, teaches:
a base (Figure 2; [0041] “interferometer 204 is a Michelson interferometer fabricated on a MEMS chip”, wherein “a MEMS chip” is interpreted as a base) having a plurality of integrated optical component mounting features formed in a surface of the base (mounting features are implicit for holding optical components, e.g., Figure 2; [0042] “fixed retro-reflector 214”);
a light source (Figure 2: element 202 is a light source; [0040]) comprising a plurality of optical components mounted to the base (Figure 2; [0041] “a MEMS chip that includes a beam splitter 212, a fixed reflector 214, a moveable reflector 216, and a MEMS actuator 218 coupled to the moveable reflector 216”) via at least some of the mounting features (mounting features are implicit for holding optical components, e.g., Figure 2; [0042] “fixed retro-reflector 214”) and arranged in free-space (Figure 2: there is no fiber) optical alignment (Figure 2; [0041] “optically coupled”); and
a beamsplitter (Figure 2: element 212 is a beam splitter; [0041]) on the base (Figure 2; [0041] “a MEMS chip that includes a beam splitter 212”, wherein “a MEMS chip” is interpreted as a base) for dividing a light beam from the light source (Figure 2; [0042] “an input beam 224 from the light source 202 is split into two incident beams 226 and 228 by the beam splitter 212”) between a reference arm and a sample arm (Figure 2; [0044] “beam splitter 212 is further optically coupled to direct the first interfering beam 234 along the first optical path (e.g., which may correspond to a sample arm of the interferometer 204) and the second interfering beam 236 along the second optical path (e.g., which may correspond to a reference arm of the interferometer 204)”), wherein the light source (Figure 2: element 202 is a light source; [0040]) is free of any optical fiber between its output and the beamsplitter (Figure 2: there is no fiber between light source element 202 and beam splitter element 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Medhat, for a base having a plurality of integrated optical component mounting features formed in a surface of the base; a swept laser comprising a plurality of optical components mounted to the base via at least some of the mounting features and arranged in free-space optical alignment; and a beamsplitter on the base for dividing a light beam from the swept laser between a reference arm and a sample arm, wherein the swept laser is free of any optical fiber between its output and the beamsplitter, because “Various aspects of the disclosure provide simultaneous measurement of a background or reference spectral density and a sample or other spectral density to maintain an online background/reference measurement, compensate for any PSD drift effects and minimize the time required to obtain the background/reference measurement and perform any PSD compensation.” (Medhat, para 7)
Regarding Claim 17, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the line generating lens (Figure 2: element BR is a beam reshaper in a ray path in the designed lighting channel of the overall line-field swept source OCT setup; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “For the beam reshaper we utilized Galileo’s telescopic system that consists of two 10th order aspheric lenses”) forms less of a Gaussian distribution and more of a flat-top power distribution of the light beam from the swept laser (Figure 4(b) shows energy distribution of lighting line at sample plane, with beam reshaper).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the swept laser (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 1 shows a lighting unit comprising a fiber light source output; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “swept laser source (the model Santec TSL-510): spectral range λ = (1,26–1,36) µm”) is mounted along a longitudinal arm of the t-shaped base (Figure 7: overall view of the line-field swept source OCT setup shows dashed rectangles 1-5 arranged generally in a t-shape) and the reference arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 3 shows a reference channel including microscope lens and reference mirror; [Section 2. OPTICAL SYSTEM CONFIGURATION] “reference mirror”) and sample arm (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 2 shows a sample interferometer channel) extend along respective transverse arms of the t-shaped base (Figure 7: overall view of the line-field swept source OCT setup shows dashed rectangles 1-5 arranged generally in a t-shape).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively, and further in view of Tumlinson et al. (US 2022/0268565 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a line generating lens (Figure 2: element BR is a beam reshaper in a ray path in the designed lighting channel of the overall line-field swept source OCT setup; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “For the beam reshaper we utilized Galileo’s telescopic system that consists of two 10th order aspheric lenses”) for forming a line (as known in the art, aspheric lenses can form line illumination, specifically through the use of aspheric cylinders (acylinders), which have a cross-section that deviates from a circle, allowing them to bundle incident light into a sharp focal line without spherical aberration) from the light beam from the swept laser (Figure 7: dashed rectangle 1 shows a lighting unit comprising a fiber light source output; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “swept laser source (the model Santec TSL-510): spectral range λ = (1,26–1,36) µm”), but does not specifically teach the line generating lens being a single optical element configured to both form the line and modify a power distribution of the light beam.
However, Tumlinson, in the same field of swept source OCT systems, teaches the line generating lens being a single optical element (Figure 8: element 803 is line-generating optics; [0073] “asymmetric optics (803) such as cylinder or Powell lenses”) configured to both form the line (Figure 8; [0073] “asymmetric optics (803) such as cylinder or Powell lenses to create a line of illumination”) and modify a power distribution of the light beam (modifying the power distribution of a light beam is the primary function of a Powell lens, as known in the art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Tumlinson, for the line generating lens being a single optical element configured to both form the line and modify a power distribution of the light beam, to achieve even illumination rather than the fading lines produced by standard cylindrical lenses.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the line generating lens (Figure 2: element BR is a beam reshaper in a ray path in the designed lighting channel of the overall line-field swept source OCT setup; [Section 3. OPTICAL DESIGN OF THE SYSTEM] “For the beam reshaper we utilized Galileo’s telescopic system that consists of two 10th order aspheric lenses”) forms less of a Gaussian distribution and more of a flat-top power distribution of the light beam from the swept laser (Figure 4(b) shows energy distribution of lighting line at sample plane, with beam reshaper).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 4 and the line generating lens (see claim 4 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the line generating lens is a Powell lens.
However, Tumlinson, in the same field of swept source OCT systems, teaches that the line generating lens is a Powell lens (Figure 8: element 803 is line-generating optics; [0073] “asymmetric optics (803) such as cylinder or Powell lenses to create a line of illumination”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Tumlinson, wherein the line generating lens is a Powell lens, because by distributing light uniformly rather than concentrating it in the center, they offer better signal-to-noise ratios in imaging applications.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 16 and the line generating lens (see claim 16 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the line generating lens is a Powell lens.
However, Tumlinson, in the same field of swept source OCT systems, teaches that the line generating lens is a Powell lens (Figure 8: element 803 is line-generating optics; [0073] “asymmetric optics (803) such as cylinder or Powell lenses to create a line of illumination”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Tumlinson, wherein the line generating lens is a Powell lens, because by distributing light uniformly rather than concentrating it in the center, they offer better signal-to-noise ratios in imaging applications.
Claim(s) 9 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al., "A 657-nm narrow bandwidth interference filter-stabilized diode laser," Chin. Opt. Lett. 9, 041402 (28 March 2011).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 1 and the swept laser (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the swept laser includes a gain chip for amplifying light in a laser cavity, a collimating lens for collimating light from the gain chip, an end reflector of the laser cavity, a focusing lens for focusing the collimated light on the end reflector, a thin film bandpass filter between the collimating lens and the focusing lens, and at least one angle control actuator for changing the angle of the thin film bandpass filter to the collimated light.
However, Wang, in the same field of interference filter-stabilized diode lasers, teaches that the swept laser includes a gain chip (Figure 1: LD is an AlGaInP laser diode) for amplifying light in a laser cavity (Figure 1; [Page 041402-1, Column 1] “cavity formed by the mirror and the back facet of the diode is approximately 70 mm in length”), a collimating lens (Figure 1: LC is a collimating lens) for collimating light ([Page 041402-1, Column 1] “Light is emitted …, … and then collimated by an aspheric lens”) from the gain chip (Figure 1: LD is an AlGaInP laser diode), an end reflector (Figure 1: PZT OC; [Page 041402-1, Column 1] “The partial reflecting mirror is glued onto a piezo-electric transducer (PZT) tube”) of the laser cavity (Figure 1; [Page 041402-1, Column 1] “cavity formed by the mirror and the back facet of the diode is approximately 70 mm in length”), a focusing lens (Figure 1: L1 is the lens forming a “cat’s eye” with OC) for focusing the collimated light (Figure 1: collimated light is marked with arrows) on the end reflector (Figure 1: PZT OC; [Page 041402-1, Column 1] “The partial reflecting mirror is glued onto a piezo-electric transducer (PZT) tube”), a thin film bandpass filter (Figure 1: IF is an interference filter for wavelength selection) between the collimating lens (Figure 1: LC is a collimating lens) and the focusing lens (Figure 1: L1 is the lens forming a “cat’s eye” with OC), and at least one angle control actuator ([Page 041402-1, Column 2] “a mirror mount with fine angle adjustment”) for changing the angle of the thin film bandpass filter ([Page 041402-1, Column 1] “adjusting the angle of the frequency selective element”) to the collimated light (Figure 1: collimated light is marked with arrows).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Wang, wherein the swept laser includes a gain chip for amplifying light in a laser cavity, a collimating lens for collimating light from the gain chip, an end reflector of the laser cavity, a focusing lens for focusing the collimated light on the end reflector, a thin film bandpass filter between the collimating lens and the focusing lens, and at least one angle control actuator for changing the angle of the thin film bandpass filter to the collimated light, because “this configuration shows outstanding performance. Different from the commonly used Littrow and Littmann configurations with diffraction grating involving light reflections, its linear cavity design with the filter is less sensitive to misalignment induced by mechanical and thermal disturbances and also reduces the angle change when the laser wavelength is tuned by adjusting the angle of the frequency selective element.” (Wang, Page 041402-1, Column 1)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 9 and the thin film bandpass filter (see claim 9 rejection), but does not specifically teach that a pass band of the thin film bandpass filter is between 0.05 nanometers (nm) and 5 nm wide, full width at half maximum (FWHM).
However, Wang, in the same field of interference filter-stabilized diode lasers, teaches that a pass band of the thin film bandpass filter (Figure 1: IF is an interference filter for wavelength selection) is between 0.05 nanometers (nm) and 5 nm wide, full width at half maximum (FWHM) ([Page 041402-1, Column 1] “0.45-nm full-width at half-maximum (FWHM) of the interference filter”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Wang, wherein a pass band of the thin film bandpass filter is between 0.05 nanometers (nm) and 5 nm wide, full width at half maximum (FWHM), to use optimum range in order to obtain a predictable result. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 9 and the thin film bandpass filter (see claim 9 rejection), but does not specifically teach that a pass band of the thin film bandpass filter is between 0.1 nm and 2 nm wide, FWHM.
However, Wang, in the same field of interference filter-stabilized diode lasers, teaches that a pass band of the thin film bandpass filter (Figure 1: IF is an interference filter for wavelength selection) is between 0.1 nm and 2 nm wide, FWHM ([Page 041402-1, Column 1] “0.45-nm full-width at half-maximum (FWHM) of the interference filter”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Wang, wherein a pass band of the thin film bandpass filter is between 0.1 nm and 2 nm wide, FWHM, to use optimum range in order to obtain a predictable result. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) and Wang et al., "A 657-nm narrow bandwidth interference filter-stabilized diode laser," Chin. Opt. Lett. 9, 041402 (28 March 2011) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Swanson et al. (US 2014/0376000 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 9 and the gain chip (see claim 9 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the gain chip is a GaAlAs chip.
However, Swanson, in the same field of integrated optical coherence tomography systems, structures, and methods, teaches that the gain chip is a GaAlAs chip (Figure 23(a); [0133] “Note that the structures depicted in FIGS. 18-23 show an optical gain chip set into a silicon photonics PIC. There are a variety of other methods to add an optical gain compatibility with a silicon substrate such as using wafer bonding, regrowth, or directly doping the silicon PIC with germanium or rare earth dopants to provide gain. Furthermore it is possible to build the entire PIC out of another optically compatible medium such as InP, InAs, GaAs, GaAlAs, InGaAs, or many other optically compatible semiconductor materials”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Swanson, wherein the gain chip is a GaAlAs chip, because said chip is ideal for high-speed, high-power, and quantum information applications, due to high electron mobility and bandgap tunability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) and Wang et al., "A 657-nm narrow bandwidth interference filter-stabilized diode laser," Chin. Opt. Lett. 9, 041402 (28 March 2011) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yvind et al. (US 2015/0171597 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 9 and the gain chip (see claim 9 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the gain chip is mounted in a TO-can hermetic package.
However, Yvind, in the same field of wavelength sweepable laser sources, teaches that the gain chip is mounted in a TO-can hermetic package (Figure 7; [0067] “The laser source 100 is encapsulated in a housing formed by a base plate 702, to which the laser source 100 is attached and a dome or cup shaped cover 701 having an open end covered by the base plate 702. The cover 701 comprises a window 703 allowing the laser beam 704 to exit the housing. […] The window 703 may be made from glass, e.g. borosilicate glass. […] The electrical contacts 705 to the laser source 100 may be led through the base plate. Generally, the housing may be formed as a transistor outline (TO) can”; [0068] “the interior of the housing may be at least partially evacuated so as to provide a low or medium vacuum inside the housing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Yvind, wherein the gain chip is mounted in a TO-can hermetic package, for “allowing heat generated by the laser source to be dissipated.” (Yvind, para 67)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) and Wang et al., "A 657-nm narrow bandwidth interference filter-stabilized diode laser," Chin. Opt. Lett. 9, 041402 (28 March 2011) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Noumi et al. (US 2023/0228556 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 9, but does not specifically teach that the at least one angle control actuator is a galvanometer.
However, Noumi, in the same field of optical coherence tomography devices, teaches that the at least one angle control actuator is a galvanometer ([0057] “a wavelength-swept filter (e.g., driving with a polygonal mirror, driving with a galvanometer mirror)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Noumi, wherein the at least one angle control actuator is a galvanometer, because using a galvanometer to rotate a filter provides high-speed, precise angular control, often used for modulating light, switching optical paths, or compensating for image shift in imaging systems.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) and Wang et al., "A 657-nm narrow bandwidth interference filter-stabilized diode laser," Chin. Opt. Lett. 9, 041402 (28 March 2011) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yazdanfar et al. (US 2013/0162948 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 9 and the at least one angle control actuator (see claim 9 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the at least one angle control actuator is a servomechanism.
However, Yazdanfar, in the same field of optical coherence tomography imaging techniques, teaches a servomechanism ([0029] “In one embodiment, the control mechanism may include a servo control”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the servo control of Yazdanfar, such that the at least one angle control actuator is a servomechanism, because using a servomechanism for rotation offers unparalleled precision, high torque-to-inertia ratios for rapid acceleration, and closed-loop feedback that ensures accuracy by constantly adjusting position.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurov et al., "Line-field swept source optical coherence tomography system for evaluating microstructure of objects in near-infrared spectral range", Proc. SPIE 10333, Optical Methods for Inspection, Characterization, and Imaging of Biomaterials III, 103331L (26 June 2017) and Medhat et al. (US 2019/0301939 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vakoc et al. (US 2023/0341222 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Gurov discloses the system of claim 1, and the base (see claim 1 rejection), but does not specifically teach that the base comprises a plurality of V-groove cradles formed in a surface thereof, the V-groove cradles holding respective optical components of the swept laser.
However, Vakoc, in the same field of OCT systems, teaches that the base (Figure 3; [0093] “a material (e.g., glass, silicon-dioxide, etc.)”) comprises a plurality of V-groove cradles formed in a surface thereof (Figure 3; [0093] “spatial separator 302 can be implemented as a V-groove assembly”), the V-groove cradles holding respective optical components of the swept laser (Figure 3; [0093] “into which individual fibers in a set of fibers can be fixed such that the face of each fiber is precisely aligned with respect to each other fiber”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Gurov with the teachings of Vakoc, such that the base comprises a plurality of V-groove cradles formed in a surface thereof, the V-groove cradles holding respective optical components of the swept laser, because this enables sub-micron accuracy required for efficient light transmission.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/AKBAR H. RIZVI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877