DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 7121933 B2) in view of Liu et al. (US PGPub 2012/0289131, "Liu").
1. Kim teaches a chemical mechanical planarization apparatus (20) comprising:
a first toroidal platen section (12b) configured to hold a first polishing pad to remove material from a wafer, wherein the first toroidal platen section has a first thickness (12b holds pad 16 and has a thickness, Kim figs. 2-3); and
a second toroidal platen section (12a) configured to hold a second polishing pad to remove material from the wafer (12a holds pad 16, Kim figs. 2-3), wherein the first toroidal platen section is nested within the second toroidal platen section (12b is inside 12a, Kim figs. 2-3), wherein the first toroidal platen section is independently movable from the second toroidal platen section (independent vertical adjustment, Kim 2: 53-57), wherein the second toroidal platen section has a second thickness different from the first thickness (radial thicknesses of 12a and 12b are different, Kim fig. 3).
Kim does not explicitly teach the presence of a platen carrier configured to laterally support the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section are nested within the platen carrier.
However, Liu teaches a CMP apparatus (10) comprising a toroidal platen section (110b) and a central platen section (110a) nested within a platen carrier (enclosure 100) which would be capable of providing lateral support to the platen sections (enclosure constrains lateral movement, see Liu fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Kim to integrate the enclosure of Liu such that it included a platen carrier configured to laterally support the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section are nested within the platen carrier, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known prior art methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
2. Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that a thickness of the first toroidal platen section is from 10% to 300% of a thickness of the second toroidal platen section. However, it has been held that “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” MPEP § 2144.01, citing In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
Kim shows the segments as being of broadly similar size with none grossly larger than others, (see Kim figs. 2-3); which would lead one of ordinary skill to infer that Kim teaches a range of relative thicknesses encompassed by the very broad range claimed by applicant.
Furthermore, it has been held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, no particular significance is assigned to the relative sizes of the platen sections. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the claimed dimension, indicating simply that any suitable range of variation may be used.
For these reasons, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have further modified the apparatus of Kim as modified to ensure that a thickness of the first toroidal platen section is from 10% to 300% of a thickness of the second toroidal platen section.
3. Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches the presence of a central platen section (12c) nested within the first toroidal platen section, the central platen section having a disc shape in a top view (12c is a disc and is nested within toroidal section 12b, see Kim fig. 3).
4. Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 1, comprising three concentric platen sections, the platen sections each having separate thicknesses (Kim fig. 3). Kim further teaches that additional platen sections may be used depending on a desired number of polishing zones (Kim 2:29-34), but does not explicitly teach an embodiment comprising a third toroidal platen section laterally encircling the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the third toroidal platen section has a third thickness different from the first thickness and the second thickness, and further wherein the first toroidal platen section, the second toroidal platen section, and the third toroidal platen section are nested within the platen carrier..
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to further modify the apparatus of Kim as modified to have additional toroidal polishing zones of different thicknesses, as Kim already teaches the use of additional zones and shows zones having different thicknesses, so modifying the apparatus to reach the claimed invention would be no more than combining Kim's suggestions of additional zones with Kim's implicit teachings of zones having different thicknesses and the teachings of nesting a multi-part platen within a carrier from Liu such that the apparatus comprised a third toroidal platen section laterally encircling the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the third toroidal platen section has a third thickness different from the first thickness and the second thickness, and further wherein the first toroidal platen section, the second toroidal platen section, and the third toroidal platen section are nested within the platen carrier, furthermore, the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill.
5. Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 1, wherein the platen carrier has a height greater than the height of the first toroidal platen section and the height of the second toroidal platen section (Liu teaches that platen enclosure 100 is taller than platen sections 110a or 110b, see Liu fig. 2).
6. Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 5, wherein the platen carrier has a bottom that provides vertical support for the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section (100 has a bottom surface capable of providing support for the toroidal platen sections, see Liu fig. 2).
15. Kim teaches a chemical mechanical planarization apparatus (20) comprising:
a first toroidal platen section (12b) configured to hold a first polishing pad to remove material from a wafer;
a second toroidal platen section (12a) configured to hold a second polishing pad to remove a material from the wafer (12a and 12b hold segments of polishing pad 16, see Kim figs. 2-3), wherein the first toroidal platen section is nested within the second toroidal platen section (Kim figs. 2-3) and wherein the first toroidal platen section is independently movable from the second toroidal platen section (independent vertical adjustment, Kim 2: 53-57).
Kim further teaches the presence of slurry supply lines (18) extending either through gaps between toroidal platen sections (Kim fig. 2) or through the platen sections themselves (Kim fig. 4 and 2:38-47).
Although Kim does not explicitly teach an embodiment including both a first slurry supply line extending through the first toroidal platen section; and a second slurry supply line extending to a gap between the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, modifying the apparatus of Kim to reach such an embodiment would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as doing so represents no more than the combination of different embodiments according to known methods, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Kim does not explicitly teach the presence of a platen carrier configured to laterally support the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section are nested within the platen carrier.
However, Liu teaches a CMP apparatus (10) comprising a toroidal platen section (110b) and a central platen section (110a) nested within a platen carrier (enclosure 100) which would be capable of providing lateral support to the platen sections (enclosure constrains lateral movement, see Liu fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Kim to integrate the enclosure of Liu such that it included a platen carrier configured to laterally support the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section are nested within the platen carrier, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known prior art methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first slurry supply line is configured to supply a slurry onto a surface of the first polishing pad over the first toroidal platen section and/or wherein the second slurry supply line is configured to supply a slurry onto a surface of the first polishing pad over the first toroidal platen section and a surface of the second polishing pad over the second toroidal platen section (the slurry lines 18 of Kim are designed to distribute slurry on polishing pads 16 and would be capable of distributing slurry on the surface of the various polishing pads located over the toroidal platen sections, see Kim figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding claims 18-20, Kim as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section are nested (see Kim fig. 3) in the platen carrier (Liu teaches all platen elements are in the enclosure 100, see Liu fig. 2), wherein the platen carrier has a height greater than the height of the first toroidal platen section and the height of the second toroidal platen section (Liu teaches that platen enclosure 100 is taller than platen sections 110a or 110b, see Liu fig. 2);
wherein the platen carrier has a bottom that provides vertical support for the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section (100 has a bottom surface capable of providing support for the toroidal platen sections, see Liu fig. 2); and
wherein the platen carrier provides lateral support for the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section (platen enclosure would be capable of providing lateral support for platen sections 110a or 110b, see Liu fig. 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Liu as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Heinrich et al. (US 8182709, "Heinrich").
7. Kim teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 6, further comprising
a force component configured to apply force to the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section (rods 14 apply a height adjustment which necessarily involves application of force, Kim 2:53-58),
a rotation component configured to apply rotation to the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section (motor that rotates 10 applies a rotation to 12a-12c, Kim 2:48-50), and
a slurry component configured to provide a slurry to the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section (slurry is applied through channels 18, see Kim fig. 2).
Kim does not explicitly teach that the force component, the rotation component, and the slurry component, penetrate through the bottom of the platen carrier. However, it has been held that “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” MPEP § 2144.01, citing In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
Although Kim does not show that the force component, the rotation component, and the slurry component, penetrate through the bottom of the platen carrier (10), one of ordinary skill would conclude that a slurry delivery mechanism for supplying slurry to the channels (18), a motor for rotating the platen, and a power supply for the height adjustment mechanism (e.g., compressed air for pneumatic rods or electricity for linear motors) penetrated through the bottom of the platen carrier in a comparatively central location, as the various mechanisms must transfer power, slurry, or force to the elements on a top of a platen carrier somehow, and positioning them at a central hole in the platen would minimize the amount of rotation that needed to be compensated for. Consequently, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to infer from the teachings of Kim that at least a part of each of the force component, rotation component, and slurry component penetrated through a bottom of the platen carrier.
Kim does not teach that the apparatus comprises a temperature component configured to control temperatures of the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the temperature component penetrates through the bottom of the platen carrier.
However, Heinrich teaches a chemical mechanical planarization apparatus (200, Heinrich fig. 2c) including a temperature component (201) configured to control temperatures in a plurality of platen zones (201-201c, Heinrich fig. 2c and 10:13-11:12), wherein the temperature component penetrates through the bottom of the platen carrier (temperature medium supplies T1-T3 penetrate a bottom of the platen, Heinrich fig. 4a and 14:11-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Kim according to the teachings of Heinrich such that it included a temperature component configured to control temperatures of the first toroidal platen section and the second toroidal platen section, wherein the temperature component penetrates through the bottom of the platen carrier, as doing so would have enhanced controllability of a polishing system (see Heinrich 16:30-62).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (US 6379228) in view of Liu.
8. Matsumoto teaches a chemical mechanical planarization apparatus (Matsumoto fig. 1) comprising:
a platen (12) comprising a plurality of concentric toroids (13-15, Matsumoto figs. 2-3), wherein at least one of a rotation direction, rotation speed, force, relative height, or temperature of each concentric toroid is individually controlled (rotation direction and speed, see Matsumoto 3:53-61), wherein an innermost one of the concentric toroids has a disc shape in a top view (28 is a disc, Matsumoto figs. 2-3 and 3:62-4:3); and
a plurality of concentric polishing pad sections (29,33, and 38, Matsumoto fig. 2), wherein each one of the plurality of concentric polishing pad sections is affixed to a respective one of the plurality of concentric toroids (Matsumoto fig. 2).
Matsumoto does not explicitly teach the presence of a platen carrier in which the plurality of concentric toroids are nested, the platen carrier providing lateral support to the plurality of concentric toroids.
However, Liu teaches a CMP apparatus (10) comprising a toroidal platen section (110b) and a central platen section (110a) nested within a platen carrier (enclosure 100) which would be capable of providing lateral support to the platen sections (enclosure constrains lateral movement, see Liu fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify Matsumoto to integrate the enclosure of Liu such that it included a platen carrier in which the plurality of concentric toroids are nested, the platen carrier providing lateral support to the plurality of concentric toroids, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known prior art methods, and the results of such a combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
9. Matsumoto as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 8, wherein the plurality of concentric toroids comprises at least two concentric toroids (13, 14, and 15, Matsumoto fig. 2).
10. Matsumoto as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 8, wherein at least two of the plurality of concentric polishing pad sections have a ring shape in a top view with different thicknesses relative to each other (14 and 15 each have a ring shape in top view, Matsumoto fig. 3; rings may include grooved portions which would have different thicknesses than non-grooved portions such that a grooved portion on one pad is thinner than an non-grooved portion on a different pad section, see Matsumoto fig. 3 and 5:1-36).
11. Matsumoto as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 8, further comprising multiple dispensing tubes (tubes 40, 41, Matsumoto fig. 2) connected to a slurry supply (40, 41 are connected to abrasive agent supply, Matsumoto fig. 1), wherein at least one of the dispensing tubes extends into a gap between two of the concentric toroids (40 and 41 extend into gaps 42, 43 between the platens 13-15, see Matsumoto fig. 2).
12. Matsumoto as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 8, wherein all of the plurality of concentric toroids have a same height (same height, Matsumoto fig. 2).
13. Matsumoto as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 8, further comprising, wherein the platen carrier has a height greater than each height of the plurality of the concentric toroids (Liu teaches that platen enclosure 100 is taller than platen sections 110a or 110b, see Liu fig. 2; integrating it into Matsumoto would involve ensuring that the enclosure be taller than each toroidal platen section).
14. Matsumoto as modified teaches the chemical mechanical planarization apparatus of claim 13, wherein the platen carrier has a bottom that provides vertical support to the plurality of concentric toroids (100 has a bottom surface capable of providing support for the toroidal platen sections, see Liu fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723