DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
the resolutions of the following are of poor resolution: ETH70 to ETH76 and ETH-81 to ETH-84 on pages 57-58; Formula M-b on page 70; Reaction Formula 1 on page 106; Reaction Formula 2 on page 108; Reaction Formula 3 on page 109; Reaction Formula 4 on page 110; Reaction Formula 7 on page 114; and Reaction Formula 8 on page 116.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11, a portion or all of the chemical structure formulae in claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11 show wherein the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at a position other than the 4-position; however, in the chemical structure formula of Formula 1 in claim 1, from which claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11 depend, the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at the 4-position. Therefore, it is unclear how the structures wherein the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at a position other than the 4-position can depend from Formula 1 and if the heterocyclic compound may also be represented by these formulae.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted such that the heterocyclic compound may also be represented by the chemical structure formulae wherein the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at a position other than the 4-position.
Claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11, a portion or all of the chemical structure formulae in claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11 show wherein the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at a position other than the 4-position; however, in the chemical structure formula of Formula 1 in claim 1, the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at the 4-position. Therefore, when a structure wherein the phenyl-substituted carbazolyl group is substituted at a position other than the 4-position is selected from the limitations of claims 2-4, 6-7, and 11, the claim fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or fails to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tada et al. WO 2021200252 A1, see English language equivalent US-20230139757-A1 referred to herein (hereinafter "Tada").
Regarding claims 1-20, Tada discloses organic EL device of the present invention has one or more light emitting layers between an anode and a cathode opposite to each other, and at least one of the light emitting layers contains a first host, a second host, and a light emitting dopant, wherein the first host is a compound of a general formula (2) (¶ [0059]-[0060]). Tada discloses wherein the device further comprises a hole injection/transport layer, an electron injection/transport layer, and an electron blocking layer between the light emitting layer and the hole injection layer (¶ [0153]). Tada discloses the material used as the first host can also be used as the material for the electron blocking layer (¶ [0183]). Tada discloses specific examples of the compound of a general formula (2) in paragraph [0089] including 2-30
(page 40), and discloses that, in the general formula (2), a part or the whole of H included in the skeleton such as carbazole may be deuterium (¶ [0074]).
The deuterated compounds of Tada meet the claimed Formula 1.
For example, the compound wherein the left-most carbazolyl group in the above compound is fully deuterated corresponds to the claimed compound 11 and meets the claimed Formula 1 wherein:
m1 is 5;
m2 to m5 are each 4;
m6 to m7 are each 3;
R4 and R5 are each deuterium; and
the remaining of R1 to R7 are each hydrogen.
Therefore, the device of Tada meets claims 1-20.
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US-20220020939-A1 (hereinafter "Lee").
Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1-6, 8-9, and 12-17, Lee discloses a light-emitting device comprising an interlayer disposed between a first electrode and a second electrode and including an emission layer, wherein the interlayer includes a first compound represented by Formula 1, a second compound represented by Formula 2, and a blue phosphorescent compound (¶ [0007]). Lee discloses the interlayer further includes a hole transport region between the first electrode and the emission layer and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode (¶ [0119]). Lee discloses wherein the first compound is a host in the emission layer (¶ [0125]). Lee discloses examples of the first compound represented by Formula 1 in paragraph [0066] including
(page 5), which meets the claimed Formula 1 wherein:
m1 is 5;
m2 to m5 are each 4;
m6 to m7 are each 3;
R4 and R5 are each deuterium; and
the remaining of R1 to R7 are each hydrogen.
Therefore, the device of Lee meets claims 1-6, 8-9, and 12-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US-20220020939-A1 (hereinafter "Lee") as applied to claims 1 and 12 above.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Lee discloses the device comprising the compound as described above with respect to claims 1 and 12.
Lee does not exemplify a first compound that corresponds to one of the claimed compounds in claims 11 and 20. However, the Compound 1-9 of Lee is a positional isomer of the claimed compounds 1, 7, 11, 17, 21, and 26. Lee teaches a device including the first compound may have an improved lifespan and improved light emission efficiency (¶ [0114]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 1-9 wherein the carbazolyl groups are attached at different positions to arrive at any one of compounds 1, 7, 11, 17, 21, and 26. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Lee's Formula 1 in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as a host in the emission layer of the device of Lee and possess the beneficial properties of improved lifespan and improved light emission efficiency taught by Lee. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP § 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP § 2144.09 II.
The modified Compound 1-9 of Lee corresponds to the claimed compounds 1, 7, 11, 17, 21, and 26.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 12-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. US-12201017-B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 recites a light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an interlayer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode and including an emission layer, wherein the interlayer includes a first compound represented by Formula 1 and claim 5 recites wherein the first compound is selected from one of Compounds 1-1 to 1-9, of which Compound 1-9
meets the claimed Formula 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hong et al. US-20210135125-A1 teaches tri-carbazole compounds including compound 46 (page 21) and compound 105 (page 33).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786