DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
For clarity, references to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and examiner explanations for 102 and/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 16, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed December 16, 2026.
Response to Interview Request
Examiner has considered the interview request entered with applicant’s arguments filed March 16, 2026, but has determined that an interview would not further facilitate examination of the instant claims at this time. In the below section titled “Response to Arguments”, examiner has attempted to provide guidance on a potential avenue for productive future amendments. Examiner will be available to meet with applicant for an interview upon consideration of the present Action if necessary and so desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US 20160225896 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yoo”.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses an apparatus (figures 9 (annotated above), semiconductor device 6; note that the only substantial difference between semiconductor device 1 (as shown in figures 1 and 2) and semiconductor device 6 (as shown in figure 9) is the inclusion of epitaxial layers formed on fin pattern 1; see [0111]-[0115]) comprising:
a substrate having a first doping (figure 2 (annotated above), 100; see [0039]: the first doping of substrate 100 is p-type), the substrate comprising a first well having a second doping (figure 2, 115; [0007] discloses that drift region 115 has the same conductivity as source 120; since source 120 has a n-type doping according to figure 2, then the second doping of drift region 115 is n-type) and a second well having a third doping (figure 2, 110; [0007] discloses that body region 110 has a conductivity that is opposite the conductivity of both source 120 and drift region 115; since source 120 has a n-type doping according to figure 2, then the third doping of body region 110 is p-type);
a fin disposed on the substrate (figure 2, F1; see [0040]);
a gate disposed on the fin (figure 2, 140 and 142; see [0054] and [0058]; the term “gate” is commonly used in the art to refer to a structure comprising a gate electrode and insulating material to electrically isolate said gate electrode; therefore, the examiner will construe “gate” to refer to the entire contiguous structure comprising gate electrode 140 and gate insulating layer 142);
a first epitaxial layer having the second doping (figure 9, 122; see [0112]-[0113]: source 120 includes a first epitaxial layer 122 and a doped region of fin F1 (i.e. the square region underlying epitaxial layer 122 in figure 9); the second doping of source 120 (and constituent first epitaxial layer 122) is n-type as disclosed in figure 2), wherein the first epitaxial layer (figure 9, 122) is disposed on a first region of the fin (square doped region indicated in the annotated figure 9 above) and at least part of the second well of the substrate (figure 2, 110);
and a second epitaxial layer having the third doping (see [0114], figure 2, and figure 9; [0114] discloses that the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1; this epitaxial layer is similar in structure and layout to the first epitaxial layer 122 included in source 120 and shown in figure 9; first body contact region 112 (and constituent second epitaxial layer) have a third doping which is p-type according to figure 2), wherein the second epitaxial layer is disposed on a second region of the fin (see figure 9 and [0114]; figure 9 shows that first epitaxial layer 122 is disposed on a doped region of fin F1 (square region underlying layer 122); [0114] discloses that first body contact region 112 includes a similar epitaxial structure (second epitaxial layer), so this epitaxial layer must be disposed on a doped region of fin F1 analogous to the structure of source 120; figure 2 indicates the location of this body contact (i.e. second) epitaxial layer overlaying fin pattern F1 and body region 110) and at least part of the second well of the substrate (see figure 2, 110).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fin extends in a first direction (figure 2; F1 extends in the x direction), and the first and second epitaxial layers extend longitudinally in a second direction different from the first (see figure 2, figure 9, and [0114]; epitaxial layer 122 and the second epitaxial layer (not shown) overlaying fin pattern F1 in body contact region 112 extend longitudinally across fin pattern F1 in the Y direction).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 3, further comprising one or more fins (figure 2, F1), the one or more fins including the fin (figure 2, F1), wherein the first epitaxial layer and second epitaxial layer traverse each of the one or more fins (see figure 2, figure 9, and [0114]; epitaxial layer 122 and the second epitaxial layer (not shown) overlaying fin pattern F1 in body contact region 112 both traverse fin pattern F1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first doping and third doping are a p-type doping (see figure 2, [0007], and [0039]; [0039] discloses that substrate 100 has a first doping which is p-type; [0007] and figure 2 disclose that body region 110 has a third doping (or second conductivity) which is p-type; [0114] discloses that the first body contact region 112 includes an epitaxial layer formed on the sidewall and upper surfaces of the first fin pattern F1; this second epitaxial layer has a p-type doping by inclusion in the first body contact region 112 (see figure 2)), and the second doping is a n-type doping (see figure 2, figure 9, [0007], and [0112]; [0007] discloses that drift region 115 has a n-type doping that is the same as the n-type doping of source 120 (as shown in figure 2); first epitaxial layer 122 has a n-type doping by inclusion in source 120 (see figure 2)).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second epitaxial layer (see [0114] and annotated figure 9 above: epitaxial layer of body contact region 112) is a substrate tie and is a p-type doping (see figures 2 and 9, [0070], and [0114]; the first body contact region 112 is a substrate tie because it provides a p-type connection between source region 120 and substrate 100; the epitaxial layer of body contact region 112 has a p-type doping by inclusion in the first body contact region 112 (see figure 2)).
Regarding claim 16, Yoo discloses an apparatus (figure 9, semiconductor device 6; note that the only substantial difference between semiconductor device 1 (as shown in figure 1 and 2) and semiconductor device 6 (as shown in figure 9) is the inclusion of epitaxial layers formed on fin pattern F1; see [0111]-[0115]) comprising:
a substrate (figure 2, 100) having a first doping (see [0039]: the first doping of substrate 100 is p-type), the substrate comprising a first well (figure 2, 110) having a second doping ([0007] discloses that body region 110 has a conductivity opposite that of source 120 (which is n-type according to figure 2); therefore, the second doping of body region 110 is p-type ), and a second well (figure 2, 115) having a third doping ([0007] discloses that drift region 115 has the same conductivity as source 120; since source 120 has a n-type doping according to figure 2, then the third doping of drift region 115 is also n-type);
a fin (figure 2, F1; see [0040]) disposed on the substrate, wherein the fin is positioned over the first well (figure 2, 110) and extends, at least in part, over the second well (figure 2, 115; see figure 1 (included above) showing a top view layout of semiconductor device 1 wherein F1 is clearly positioned over body region 110 (i.e. the first well) and extends over drift region 115 (i.e. the second well)), wherein the fin comprises:
a first doped region (see [0114] and the annotated figures 2 and 9 above: doped fin region (analogous to square region in figure 9) underlying the second epitaxial layer of body contact region 112) disposed on the first well (figure 2, 110) and having the second doping (see figure 2, figure 9, [0112], and [0114]; the doped fin region of body contact 112 has a second doping which is p-type as disclosed in figure 2);
and a second doped region (see annotated figure 9 above: doped fin region (square region in figure 9) underlying the first epitaxial layer 122 of source region 120) disposed on the first well (figure 2, 110) and having the third doping (the doped region underlying the first epitaxial layer 122 of source region 120 has a third doping which is n-type as disclosed in figure 2);
a first epitaxial structure (see [0114], figure 2, and figure 9; [0114] discloses that the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1; this epitaxial layer is similar in structure and layout to the second epitaxial layer 122 included in source 120 and shown in figure 9; first body contact region 112 (and constituent first epitaxial layer) have a second doping which is p-type according to figure 2) disposed on the first doped region and at least part of the first well;
and a second epitaxial structure (figure 9, 122; see [0112]-[0113]: source 120 includes a first epitaxial layer 122 and a doped region of fin F1 (i.e. the square region underlying epitaxial layer 122 in figure 9); the third doping of source 120 (and constituent first epitaxial layer 122) is n-type as disclosed in figure 2) disposed on the second doped region and at least part of the first well.
Regarding claim 18, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first doping and second doping are a p-type doping (see figure 2, [0007], and [0039]; substrate 100 has a first doping which is p-type; [0007] and figure 2 disclose that body region 110 has a second doping (opposite the doping of drift region 115) which is p-type; the doped fin region of body contact region 112 (analogous to the doped fin region of source 120 as shown in figure 9) has a p-type doping as disclosed in figure 2),
wherein the third doping is a n-type doping (see figure 2, figure 9, [0007], and [0112]; drift region 115 has n-type doping that is the same as the n-type doping of source 120 (as shown in figure 2); the doped fin region of source 120 has a n-type doping as disclosed in figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Yoo in view of Liu (US 2020/0111780 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Liu ’780”.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first epitaxial layer is a source electrode (see Yoo figure 9, first epitaxial layer 122; this epitaxial layer can be used as a source electrode).
Yoo does not disclose the apparatus further comprising: a bridge disposed on at least part of the source electrode, the bridge configured to couple the source electrode to the second epitaxial layer.
Liu ‘780 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘780 [0009] and figure 3A) with wirings (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 255) connecting a second doped region 225 to a third doped region 230 (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0028]), with both doped regions situated in fin structure 220B (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0022]). Furthermore, second doped region 225 (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A) serves as a source region for the transistor device (see Liu ‘780 [0024]).
The wirings of Liu ‘780 are incorporated by addition into the device of Yoo, wherein the wirings would act as a bridge to electrically couple the first epitaxial layer (i.e. source electrode) of Yoo with the second epitaxial layer of Yoo (see Yoo figures 2 and 9 and Yoo [0114]; the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1). Therefore, the combination of the teachings of Yoo and Liu ‘780 would disclose the apparatus further comprising: a bridge disposed on at least part of the source electrode, the bridge configured to couple the source electrode to the second epitaxial layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the wirings taught in Liu ’780 in order to electrically connect the source and body contact regions of the fin-type device (see Liu ‘780 [0028]; it is desirable to electrically couple source and body/substrate regions in MOS devices to prevent unintended voltage biasing and the well-known body effect).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Yoo does not disclose wherein the first epitaxial layer has a first side in contact with the gate and a second side in contact with a dummy dielectric layer, and wherein the second epitaxial layer is separated from the first epitaxial layer by the dummy dielectric layer.
Liu ‘780 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘780 [0009] and figure 3A), wherein the source region (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A (annotated above), 225; Liu ‘780 [0024]) has a first side in contact (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0024]; doped region 225 includes a raised portion that is shown in contact with gate spacers 260 on both sides) with the gate (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A; Liu ‘780 [0030] and [0032]; gate electrode 235 is flanked on both sides by insulative spacers 260, and the term “gate” is commonly used in the art to refer to a structure comprising a gate electrode and insulating material to electrically isolate said gate electrode; therefore, the examiner will construe “gate” to refer to the entire contiguous structure comprising gate electrode 235 and gate spacers 260) and a second side in contact with a dummy dielectric layer (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 260 (indicated in annotations above)) and wherein a body contact region (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 230 (i.e. substrate tie)) is separated from the source region by the dummy dielectric layer.
The dummy dielectric layer of Liu ‘780 is incorporated by addition into the device of Yoo (see Yoo figure 2; the dummy dielectric layer would be disposed between the first epitaxial layer of Yoo (Yoo figure 9, 122) and the second epitaxial layer of Yoo (see Yoo figures 2 (annotated above) and 9 and Yoo [0114]; the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1); the first epitaxial layer of Yoo would be in contact with the gate (Liu ’780 figure 3A, 235 and 260) on one side and the dummy dielectric layer on the other side). Therefore, the combination would disclose wherein the first epitaxial layer has a first side in contact with the gate and a second side in contact with a dummy dielectric layer, and wherein the second epitaxial layer is separated from the first epitaxial layer by the dummy dielectric layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the dummy dielectric layer of Liu ‘780 to confine the epitaxial growth of the fin structure (Liu ‘780 [0032]; the spatial positioning of the gate and doped regions taught in Liu ‘780 is characterized by the positioning of the dummy dielectric layer which flanks dummy electrode 219; dummy electrode 219 along with gate spacer 260 (i.e. dummy dielectric layer) could be used to confine the epitaxial growth of the fin).
Regarding claim 17, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 16,
wherein the second epitaxial structure (Yoo figure 9, 122; see [0112]-[0113]) is a source electrode (see Yoo figure 9: epitaxial layer 122 is included in source 120, and is a source electrode).
Yoo does not disclose the apparatus further comprising: a bridge disposed on at least part of the source electrode, the bridge configured to couple the source electrode to the first epitaxial structure.
Liu ‘780 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘780 [0009] and figure 3A) with wirings (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 255) connecting a second doped region 225 to a third doped region 230 (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0028]), with both doped regions situated in fin structure 220B (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0022]). Furthermore, second doped region 225 (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A) serves as a source region for the transistor device (see Liu ‘780 [0024]).
The wirings of Liu ‘780 are incorporated into the device of Yoo, wherein the wirings act as a bridge to electrically couple the second epitaxial structure (i.e. source electrode) with the first epitaxial structure (see Yoo figures 2 and 9 and Yoo [0114]; the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1). Therefore, the combination discloses the apparatus further comprising: a bridge disposed on at least part of the source electrode, the bridge configured to couple the source electrode to the first epitaxial structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the wirings taught in Liu ’780 in order to electrically connect the source and body contact regions of the fin-type device (see Liu ‘780 [0028]; it is desirable to electrically couple source and body/substrate regions in MOS devices to prevent unintended voltage biasing and the well-known body effect).
Claims 7, 8, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Yoo in view of Liu (US 2021/0135006 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Liu ’006”.
Regarding claim 7, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 4.
Yoo fails to disclose wherein the second epitaxial layer is boron doped.
Liu ‘006 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘006 [0001] and Liu ‘006 figure 2), wherein boron is utilized as a p-type dopant material (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
The boron p-type dopant of Liu ‘006 is incorporated as the p-type dopant for the device of Yoo, wherein the second epitaxial layer (see Yoo figures 2 and 9 (annotated above) and Yoo [0114]; the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1) would be p-type (see Yoo figure 2 and [0114]; since body contact region 112 has a p-type doping according to figure 2, the second epitaxial layer has a p-type doping by inclusion) and wherein the p-type doping of the second epitaxial layer would be achieved through boron dopant. Therefore, the combination of the device of Yoo with the boron dopant teachings of Liu ‘006 would disclose wherein the second epitaxial layer is boron doped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the boron dopant material of Liu ‘006 because the use of boron as a dopant for p-type doping is conventional in the art; and the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of the p-type dopant material of Yoo (see Yoo figure 2) with the boron dopant material of Liu ‘006 (see Liu ‘006 [0023]) to obtain predictable results (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 4.
Yoo fails to disclose wherein the second epitaxial layer is phosphorous doped. Yoo discloses an NLDMOS fin-type semiconductor device with n-type source/drain regions (see Yoo figure 2). Yoo further discloses that the conductivities of the doped regions of the NLDMOS device may be reversed to create a PLDMOS device with p-type source/drain regions (see Yoo [0035]). In such a PLDMOS device, the second epitaxial layer (see annotated figures 2 and 9 from Yoo above: the body contact epitaxial layer of body contact region 112 which is similar in structure to the source epitaxial layer 122 (shown in figure 9)) would have a n-type doping (since body contact region 112 (which includes the body contact epitaxial layer) has a p-type doping in the NLDMOS device, body contact region 112 would have a n-type doping in the PLDMOS device).
Liu ‘006 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘006 [0001] and Liu ‘006 figure 2), wherein phosphorus is utilized as a n-type dopant material (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
The phosphorous n-type dopant of Liu ‘006 is incorporated as the n-type dopant for the PLDMOS device of Yoo. Therefore, the combination of the teachings of Yoo and Liu ‘006 would disclose wherein the second epitaxial layer is phosphorous doped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PLDMOS device of Yoo with the phosphorous dopant material of Liu ‘006 because the use of phosphorus as a dopant for n-type doping is conventional in the art; and the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of the n-type dopant material of Yoo (see Yoo figure 2) with the phosphorous dopant material of Liu ‘006 (see Liu ‘006 [0023]) to obtain predictable results (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
Regarding claim 19, Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 16.
Yoo fails to disclose wherein the first doped region is boron doped.
Liu ‘006 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘006 [0001] and Liu ‘006 figure 2), wherein boron is utilized as a p-type dopant material (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
The boron p-type dopant of Liu ‘006 is incorporated as the p-type dopant for the device of Yoo, wherein the first doped region (Yoo figure 2, 112) would have a p-type doping (see Yoo figure 2) and wherein the p-type doping of the first doped region would be achieved through boron dopant. Therefore, the combination of the device of Yoo with the boron dopant teachings of Liu ‘006 would disclose wherein the first doped region is boron doped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the boron dopant material of Liu ‘006 because the use of boron as a dopant for p-type doping is conventional in the art; and the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of the p-type dopant material for the device of Yoo (see Yoo figure 2) with the boron dopant material of Liu ‘006 (see Liu ‘006 [0023]) to obtain predictable results (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
Claims 10-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Liu ’780 in view of Wang et al. (CN 114823841 A), hereinafter referred to as “Wang”.
Regarding claim 10, Liu ‘780 discloses an apparatus (see Liu ‘780 [0001]) comprising:
one or more fins formed of a semiconductor material (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 220B; see [0022]) and disposed on a substrate (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 205; Liu ‘780 [0029]) having a first doping (the first doping of well region 205 is n-type) and extending in a first direction (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A; second fin structure 220B is shown extending from left to right on the page), the one or more fins comprising an undoped region (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0023]; an undoped section of fin 220B is disposed below a portion of gate electrode 235), a first doped region (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 225), and a second doped region (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 230);
a gate (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, gate electrode 235 and surrounding gate spacers 260; applicant is reminded that examiner construes “gate” to refer to the gate structure as a whole) at least partially disposed on the one or more fins (Liu ‘780 figure 3A; the gate (comprising gate electrode 235 and adjacent gate spacer 260) is at least partially disposed on second fin structure 220B), the gate extending in a second direction traversing the one or more fins (see Liu ‘780 figure 2 and 3A; note that figure 2 shows a top view layout of the same device depicted in figure 3A; gate electrode 235 and adjacent spacers 260 extend in a direction orthogonal to second fin structure 220B);
a first epitaxial layer (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A annotated above; the first epitaxial layer is the raised portion above source region 225; see [0022] and [0024]: note that doped region 225 is part of epitaxially-grown fin structure 220B) disposed on the first doped region;
and a second epitaxial layer (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A annotated above; the second epitaxial layer is the raised portion above doped region 230; see [0022] and [0024]: note that doped region 230 is part of epitaxially-grown fin structure 220B) disposed on the second doped region,
wherein the first and second epitaxial layers are disposed on the one or more fins and at least part of the substrate (the first and second epitaxial layers are disposed on fin 220B and on a part of well region 205);
wherein the first doped region has a second doping (see Liu ‘780 [0024]-[0025]; the second doping of source region 225 is n-type);
wherein the second doped region has a third doping (see Liu ‘780 [0024]-[0025]; the third doping of source region 225 is p-type).
Liu ‘780 fails to disclose a dummy gate disposed on the one or more fins, the dummy gate extending in the second direction, wherein the dummy gate has a first side facing the gate, and a second side facing away from the gate; wherein the first doped region is disposed between the gate and dummy gate; and wherein the second doped region is disposed on the second side of the dummy gate.
Wang discloses a LDMOS fin-type semiconductor structure (Wang page 4, line 41) with a dummy gate (Wang figure 2, 219; see Wang page 7, lines 40-42) disposed on the one or more fins (see Wang Figure 2 and page 5, lines 30-32; figure 2 shows dummy gate 219 disposed on well region 206 which is located within fin 209), the dummy gate extending in the second direction (see Wang figure 2 and page 5, lines 30-32; dummy gate 219 extends orthogonally (into the page) across fin 209 which includes well region 206), wherein the dummy gate has a first side facing the gate (see Wang figure 2; the right side of the dummy gate 219 (as shown in the cross-section) faces gate structure 210), and a second side facing away from the gate (see Wang figure 2; the left side of the dummy gate 219 (as shown in the cross-section) faces away from gate structure 210); wherein the first doped region (Wang figure 2, 215; Wang page 5, lines 36-39; source electrode 215 is a doped region) is disposed between the gate and dummy gate (see Wang figure 2; source electrode 215 is disposed between gate structure 210 and dummy gate 219), wherein the first doped region has a second doping (see Wang page 5, lines 36-39; source electrode 215 has a second doping which is n-type); and wherein the second doped region (see Wang figure 2, 218; page 7, lines 31-32; body contact 218 is a doped region) is disposed on the second side of the dummy gate (see Wang figure 2; body contact 218 is disposed on the side of dummy gate 219 that faces away from gate structure 210) , wherein the second doped region has a third doping (see Wang page 7, lines 31-32; the body contact electrode 218 has the same doping as well region 206 which has a p-type doping according to Wang page 5, lines 34-35).
The dummy gate of Wang is incorporated as the dummy electrode (and spacers) (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 219 and 260) of the device of Liu ‘780 wherein the combination discloses a dummy gate disposed on the one or more fins, the dummy gate extending in the second direction, wherein the dummy gate has a first side facing the gate, and a second side facing away from the gate; wherein the first doped region is disposed between the gate and dummy gate; and wherein the second doped region is disposed on the second side of the dummy gate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liu ‘780 with the dummy gate teachings of Wang to expose the adjacent fin-embedded doped regions (Wang page 7, lines 41-42);
and the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of the dummy electrode (and spacers) of Liu ‘780 (Liu ‘780: dummy electrode 219 and adjacent gate spacers 260) with the dummy gate of Wang (Wang figure 2: dummy gate 219) to obtain predictable results (see Wang page 7, lines 41-42).
Regarding claim 11, Liu ‘780 and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first epitaxial layer (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A annotated above; the first epitaxial layer is the protruding layer above source region 225; see [0024]) is a source electrode (see Liu ‘780 [0024]: doped region 225 is a source region, so said first epitaxial layer is a source electrode), the apparatus further comprising:
a bridge (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 255; see [0028]) disposed on at least part of the source electrode (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A), the bridge configured to couple the source electrode to the second epitaxial layer (see Liu ‘780 [0028]: wirings 255 are configured to couple the first epitaxial layer (part of source region 225) to the second epitaxial layer (part of doped region 230)).
Regarding claim 12, Liu ’780 and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second doping is a n-type doping (see Liu ’780 [0025]; source region 225 (i.e. first doped region) has a n-type doping), wherein the third doping is a p-type doping (see Liu ’780 [0025]; doped region 230 (i.e. second doped region) has a p-type doping).
Regarding claim 15, Liu ’780 and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 10, further comprising:
a bridge (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 255; see [0028]) configured to couple the first doped region to the second doped region (see Liu ‘780 [0028]; wirings 255 (i.e. bridge) serve to electrically couple the source region 225 (i.e. first doped region) to doped region 230 (i.e. second doped region)).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Liu ’780 in view of Wang, further in view of Liu ‘006.
Liu ‘780 and Wang disclose the apparatus of claim 10.
Liu ‘780 and Wang do not disclose wherein the second doped region is boron doped.
Liu ‘006 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘006 [0001] and Liu ‘006 figure 2), wherein boron is utilized as a p-type dopant material (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
The boron p-type dopant of Liu ‘006 is incorporated as the p-type dopant of the combined device of Liu ‘780 and Wang, wherein the second doped region would have a p-type doping (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and [0025]; doped region 230 (i.e. second doped region) is p-type) and wherein the p-type doping of the second doped region would be achieved through boron dopant. Therefore, the combination of the combined device of Liu ‘780 and Wang with the boron dopant teachings of Liu ‘006 would disclose wherein the second epitaxial layer is boron doped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined device of Liu ‘780 and Wang with the boron dopant material of Liu ‘006 because using boron as a dopant for p-type doping is conventional in the art; and the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of the p-type dopant material of the combined device of Liu ‘780 and Wang (see Liu ‘780 [0049]; while Liu ‘780 does not disclose specific dopant materials, Liu ‘780 does teach dopant impurity implantation which implies that a dopant material is used) with the boron dopant material of Liu ‘006 (see Liu ‘006 [0023]) to obtain predictable results (see Liu ‘006 [0023]).
Claims 10 and 13 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Yoo in view of Wang, further in view of Liu ‘780.
Regarding claim 10, Yoo discloses an apparatus (Yoo figure 2) comprising:
one or more fins (Yoo figure 2, first fin pattern F1) formed of a semiconductor material (see Yoo [0041]) and disposed on a substrate (Yoo figure 2, 100) having a first doping (see Yoo [0039]: the first doping of substrate 100 is p-type) and extending in a first direction (see Yoo figure 2 and Yoo [0041]; fin pattern F1 extends along a first direction X), the one or more fins comprising a first doped region (Yoo figure 2, 120), and a second doped region (Yoo figure 2, 112);
a gate (Yoo figure 2, 140 and 142; the gate comprising gate electrode 140 and gate insulating layer 142) at least partially disposed on the one or more fins (see Yoo figure 2), the gate extending in a second direction traversing the one or more fins (see Yoo figure 2 and [0054]; the gate extends in a second direction intersecting the fin pattern F1);
a first epitaxial layer (Yoo figure 9, 122; see [0112]-[0113]: source 120 includes a first epitaxial layer 122 and a doped region of fin F1 (i.e. the square region underlying epitaxial layer 122 in figure 9); the second doping of source 120 (and constituent first epitaxial layer 122) is n-type as disclosed in figure 2) disposed on the first doped region;
and a second epitaxial layer (see Yoo [0114], figure 2, and figure 9; [0114] discloses that the first body contact region 112 includes a second epitaxial layer (not shown) formed on the sidewalls and upper surface of first body contact region 112 within first fin pattern F1; this epitaxial layer is similar in structure and layout to the first epitaxial layer 122 included in source 120 and shown in figure 9; first body contact region 112 (and constituent second epitaxial layer) have a third doping which is p-type according to figure 2) disposed on the second doped region,
wherein the first and second epitaxial layers are disposed on the one or more fins and at least part of the substrate (see Yoo figure 2 and 9; epitaxial layer 122 and the corresponding epitaxial layer of body contact region 112 are disposed on fin pattern F1 and substrate 100);
wherein the first doped region has a second doping (see Yoo figure 2: the second doping of source region 120 is n-type);
wherein the second doped region has a third doping (see Yoo figure 2: the third doping of body contact region 112 is p-type).
Yoo fails to disclose the one or more fins comprising an undoped region; a dummy gate disposed on the one or more fins, the dummy gate extending in the second direction, wherein the dummy gate has a first side facing the gate, and a second side facing away from the gate; wherein the first doped region is disposed between the gate and dummy gate; and wherein the second doped region is disposed on the second side of the dummy gate.
Liu ‘780 discloses a fin-type LDMOSFET (see Liu ‘780 [0009] and figure 3A) with the one or more fins (Liu ‘780 figure 3A, 220B) comprising an undoped region (see Liu ‘780 figure 3A and Liu ‘780 [0023]: an undoped section of fin 220B is disposed below a portion of gate electrode 235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the undoped fin teachings of Liu ‘780 to provide a region wherein charge carriers accumulate between the source (Yoo figure 2, 120) and gate (Yoo figure 2, 140 and 142) in the on-state of the device (see Liu ‘780 [0036]).
Wang discloses a LDMOS fin-type semiconductor structure (Wang page 4, line 41) with a dummy gate (Wang figure 2, 219; see Wang page 7, lines 40-42) disposed on the one or more fins (see Wang figure 2 and page 5, lines 30-32; figure 2 shows dummy gate 219 disposed on well region 206 which is located within fin 209), the dummy gate extending in the second direction (see Wang figure 2 and page 5, lines 30-32; dummy gate 219 extends orthogonally (into the page) across fin 209 which includes well region 206), wherein the dummy gate has a first side facing the gate (see Wang figure 2; the right side of the dummy gate 219 (as shown in the cross-section) faces gate structure 210), and a second side facing away from the gate (see Wang figure 2; the left side of the dummy gate 219 (as shown in the cross-section) faces away from gate structure 210); wherein the first doped region (Wang figure 2, 215; Wang page 5, lines 36-39; source electrode 215 is a doped region) is disposed between the gate and dummy gate (see Wang figure 2; source electrode 215 is disposed between gate structure 210 and dummy gate 219); and wherein the second doped region (see Wang figure 2, 218; page 7, lines 31-32; body contact 218 is a doped region) is disposed on the second side of the dummy gate (see Wang figure 2; body contact 218 is disposed on the side of dummy gate 219 that faces away from gate structure 210.
The dummy gate of Wang is incorporated into the device of Yoo wherein the combination discloses wherein the dummy gate is disposed on the one or more fins and extends in the second direction, wherein the dummy gate has a first side facing the gate, and a second side facing away from the gate; wherein the first doped region is disposed between the gate and dummy gate; and wherein the second doped region is disposed on the second side of the dummy gate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the dummy gate of Wang to expose the adjacent fin-embedded doped regions (Wang page 7, lines 41-42).
Regarding claim 13, Yoo, Wang, and Liu ‘780 disclose the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second doped region (Yoo figure 2, 112; body contact region 112 has a p-type doping) is a substrate tie (see Yoo figure 2, [0007], [0039], and [0070]; [0007] discloses that body region 110 has a conductivity that is opposite the conductivity of both source 120 and drift region 115; since source 120 is shown as having a n-type doping in figure 2, then body region 110 has a p-type doping; therefore, body contact region 112 in the combined device of Yoo, Wang, and Liu ‘780, provides a p-type connection between source 120 and the p-type substrate 100 via the p-type body region 110).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Yoo in view of Korec et al. (US 2008/0246086 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Korec”.
Yoo discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first doped region (Yoo figures 2, 112) is a substrate tie (see Yoo figure 2, [0007], [0039], and [0070]; [0007] discloses that body region 110 has a conductivity that is opposite the conductivity of both source 120 and drift region 115; since source 120 is shown as having a n-type doping in figure 2, then body region 110 has a p-type doping; therefore, body contact region 112 provides a p-type connection between source 120 and the p-type substrate 100 via p-type body region 110) having a second doping (see Yoo figure 2; body contact region 112 has a p-type doping).
Yoo does not disclose wherein the third doping is lighter than the second doping and equal to or heavier than the first doping.
Korec discloses an LDMOS transistor device (see Korec figure 15) with a source implant region (i.e. second doped region) having a third doping (see Korec figure 15, 18; Korec [0046]), a substrate having a first doping (Korec figure 15, 12A; Korec [0108]), a buried layer (i.e. second well) having a third doping (Korec figure 15, 106; Korec [0108], and a body contact region 26 (i.e. first doped region) having a second doping (Korec figure 15, 26; see [0047]), wherein the third doping is lighter than the second doping and equal to or heavier than the first doping (see the disclosed concentration ranges given in Korec [0032]-[0035] and Korec figure 15; the third doping of the source implant region 18 is 1E18 atoms/cm^3, the first doping of the substrate 12A is 1E18 atoms/cm^3, the third doping of the buried layer 106 is 1E18 atoms/cm^3, and the second doping of the body contact region 26 is 5E19 atoms/cm^3;
of particular note is the fact that the LDMOS device of Korec includes a source region (Korec figure 15, 18) that has a doping that is lighter than the doping of the body contact region (Korec figure 15, 26)).
The doping concentration relationship among doped semiconductor regions as taught in Korec is incorporated as the doping concentration relationship among the doped semiconductor regions disclosed in Yoo (see Yoo figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yoo with the doping concentration among semiconductor regions as taught in Korec to optimize between the on resistance and target breakdown voltage (see Korec [0043] and figure 15; “the background doping of the epitaxial layer is preferably as high as possible in order to reduce the on resistance between the drain and source (Rds,on) while being just low enough to meet the targeted breakdown voltage of the transistor”; the epitaxial layer 14A includes all of the doped regions of the semiconductor device excluding the substrate 12A, so the background doping of epitaxial layer 14A determines the doping concentrations of the constituent doped regions and, thus, the doping concentration relationships among said regions);
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed March 16, 2026, have been fully considered by the examiner. Examiner finds said arguments generally unpersuasive.
On page 9 of applicant’s response, applicant suggests that Yoo cannot anticipate claim 1 because “Yoo does not teach or suggest any epitaxial layers disposed on a region of the fin and at least part of the well of the substrate”. In support of this assertion, applicant suggests that the instant claim requires that “the epitaxial layer must contact the well surface, not merely sit atop a fin that sits on the well”. While the examiner agrees that an epitaxial layer conformally formed on a fin is a fundamentally different structure than an epitaxial layer that extends from the fin to make direct contact with the underlying well region, the examiner does not agree that the instant claim language requires the latter. The current issue seems to be one of claim interpretation which is discussed in MPEP § 2111. MPEP § 2111.01(I) states:
“[u]nder a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. … [T]he best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms”.
Within the semiconductor arts, the term “X is disposed on Y” generally describes instances in which an element X is situated over an element Y in a given direction but does not preclude intervening structures or elements from being situated between elements X and Y. The instant specification confirms this interpretation in paragraph [0016], and the examiner has relied on the specification when interpreting the plain meaning of the instant claims under BRI. Therefore, the language of instant claim 1 does not require that the claimed epitaxial layers directly contact the second well. In the device of Yoo (see Yoo figs. 2 and 9), epitaxial layer 122 and the corresponding epitaxial layer on the body contact region 112 (see Yoo [0114]) are disposed on fin pattern F1 and body region 110 of substrate 100 (see Yoo [0038]) regardless of any intervening material that may be situated between said epitaxial layers and said body region. However, Yoo would not anticipate this limitation (and all similar limitations) if it was amended to recite “wherein the first epitaxial layer is disposed directly on a first region of the fin and at least part of the second well of the substrate; and a second epitaxial layer … disposed directly on a second region of the fin and at least part of the second well of the substrate” (i.e. specifying a non-inclusive structural relationship between the epitaxial layers and the substrate/well). The rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Yoo is maintained.
On page 10 of applicant’s response, applicant suggests claim 16 is allowable over Yoo because Yoo does not teach or suggest epitaxial structures (similar to the claimed epitaxial layers of claim 1) disposed on doped regions of the fin and at least part of the first well for the same reasons provided by applicant on page 9. As discussed above, examiner finds these reasons unpersuasive; the rejection of claim 16 as being anticipated by Yoo is maintained.
On page 10 of applicant’s response, applicant suggests that dependent claims 3-4, 6, and 9, should be allowable because of their dependence on claim 1 which applicant has asserted is allowable over Yoo. Applicant further suggests that dependent claims 17-18 should be allowable because of their dependence on claim 16 which applicant has asserted is allowable over Yoo. As discussed above, claims 1 and 16 are not allowable over Yoo. Therefore, the rejections of claims 3-4, 6, 9, and 17-18 as being anticipated by Yoo are maintained.
On pages 10-11 of applicant’s response, applicant suggests that the previous Office Action has not established the prima facie unpatentability of claims 1, 10, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. Section 103 over any combination of the Cited References (Liu ‘780, Liu ‘006, Yoo, Wang, and Korec) because it has not shown that any of the Cited References remedy the alleged deficiency of Yoo with regard to the epitaxial layers disposed on the substrate. On page 11 of applicant’s response, applicant further suggests that dependent claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 11-15, 19, and 20, should be allowable with the reasons given being (1) their dependence on allegedly allowable base claims (i.e. claims 1, 10, or 16) and (2) their “inclusion of additional features not found in the references of record”. However, with regard to (2), applicant fails to specify the “additional features” which applicant suggests are not found in the references of record. Examiner is unpersuaded by the alleged deficiency of Yoo with regard to the epitaxial layers disposed on the substrate for the reasons given above and further unpersuaded by applicant’s unsupported assertion that dependent claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 11-15, 19, and 20, are allowable because of their inclusion of unspecified additional features not found in the Cited References. For these reasons, the rejections of claims 1, 10, and 16, under 35 U.S.C. Section 102 and/or Section 103 are maintained. Therefore, the present rejections of dependent claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 11-15, 19, and 20, under 35 U.S.C. Section 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMNER FITZHUGH COLLINS IV/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818