DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 10-14 have been amended in the reply dated 24 April 2026. Claims 15-20 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 2 June 2026 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sel et al (US 20180350879 A1), in view of Kaminaga (US 20200035694 A1, hereinafter “Kaminaga”), and further in view of Chen (US 20160204102 A1, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Sel discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: an alternating stack of insulating layers (60 Sel [0057] and Fig. 20A) and electrically conductive layers (30 Sel [0057] and Fig. 20A); a memory opening vertically extending through the alternating stack (unnumbered Sel [0141 and Fig. 20A); a memory opening fill structure located in the memory opening and comprising a vertical stack of memory elements and a vertical semiconductor channel (45 Sel [0141] and Fig. 20A); a first layer contact via structure vertically extending through a first subset of the electrically conductive layers and a first subset of the insulating layers that includes the bottommost insulating layer (66 Sel [0143] and Fig. 20A), contacting a top surface of a topmost electrically conductive layer within the first subset of the electrically conductive layers (Sel [0143] and Top Surface in annotated Fig. 20A).
Sel fails to disclose the electrically conductive layers have different lateral extents that decrease along an upward vertical direction from a bottommost insulating layer to a topmost insulating layer of the insulating layers, and the contact via structures having a topmost surface below a horizontal plane including a topmost surface of the alternating stack.
However, Kaminaga discloses the electrically conductive layers have different lateral extents that decrease along an upward vertical direction from a bottommost insulating layer to a topmost insulating layer of the insulating layers (200 Kaminaga [0217] and Fig. 3), and the contact via structures having a topmost surface below a horizontal plane including a topmost surface of the alternating stack (668 Kaminaga [420] and Fig. 60K).
Kaminaga discloses a similar memory structure to Sel. Kaminaga teaches a stair-stepped alternating stack structure that has contact structures with a topmost surface below the horizontal plane of the topmost surface of the alternating stack for the benefit of high density (Kaminaga [0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining Sel and Kaminaga to obtain the benefit of a high density memory structure.
The combination of Sel and Kaminaga fails to disclose a second layer contact via structure vertically extending through a second subset of the electrically conductive layers and a second subset of the insulating layers that includes the bottommost insulating layer, contacting a top surface of a topmost electrically conductive layer within the second subset of the electrically conductive layers, and having a topmost surface below the horizontal plane including the topmost surface of the alternating stack, wherein the topmost surface of the first layer contact via structure and the topmost surface of the second layer contact via structure are vertically offset from each other.
However, Chen discloses a second layer contact via structure vertically extending through a second subset of the electrically conductive layers and a second subset of the insulating layers that includes the bottommost insulating layer (32, Chen [0045] and Fig. 15), contacting a top surface of a topmost electrically conductive layer within the second subset of the electrically conductive layers (325 contacts top of 213, Chen [0045] and Fig. 15), and having a topmost surface below the horizontal plane including the topmost surface of the alternating stack (Top of 32 below top 213 in Chen Fig. 15), wherein the topmost surface of the first layer contact via structure and the topmost surface of the second layer contact via structure are vertically offset from each other (Top of 31 and top of 32 offset from each other in Z direction, Chen Fig. 15).
Chen discloses a similar staircase memory structure to Sel. Chen teaches extending contact via structures through subsets of alternating conductive and insulating layers only far enough to contact the topmost surface of each conductive layer for the benefits of smaller size, easier fabrication, and more reliable electrical characteristics (Chen [0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sel and Chen to extend contact via structures through subsets of alternating conductive and insulating layers only far enough to contact the topmost surface of each conductive layer for the benefits of smaller size, easier fabrication, and more reliable electrical characteristics.
Regarding Claim 2 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses a backside dielectric layer contacting a bottom surface of the bottommost insulating layer (190A Sel [0068] and Fig. 20A), wherein the first layer contact via structure vertically extends through the backside dielectric layer (Sel [0095] and Fig. 20A).
Regarding Claim 3 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the first layer contact via structure comprises: a via portion that vertically extends through the subset of the electrically conductive layers and the subset of the insulating layers (66 Sel [0064] and Fig. 20A); and a plug portion that vertically extends through the backside dielectric layer, adjoined to a bottom end of the via portion, and having a greater lateral extent than the via portion (162C Sel [0057] and Fig. 20A).
Regarding Claim 5 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the first layer contact via structure comprises: a via portion that vertically extends through the subset of the electrically conductive layers and the subset of the insulating layers (66L Sel [0105] and Fig. 20A); and a plate portion that overlies a horizontal plane including the top surface of the topmost electrically conductive layer within the subset of the electrically conductive layers and has a bottom surface that contacts a segment of the top surface of the topmost electrically conductive layer (66P Sel Fig. 20A).
Regarding Claim 6 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the first layer contact via structure further comprises: a metallic barrier liner in direct contact with the segment of the top surface of the topmost electrically conductive layer (166L Sel [0103] and Fig. 13); and a metallic fill material portion that is laterally surrounded by the metallic barrier liner and comprises a horizontally-extending plate portion that is spaced from the top surface of the topmost electrically conductive layer by a horizontally-extending portion of the metallic barrier liner (266L Sel [0103] and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 7 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses a stepped dielectric material portion having a horizontal top surface and a stepped bottom surface that contacts the electrically conductive layers and the first layer contact via structure (165 Kaminaga [0218] and Fig. 60K).
Regarding Claim 8 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the stepped dielectric material portion is in direct contact with an entirety of a top surface of the plate portion (combination of 165 and 265 Kaminaga [0218], [0230], [0232], and Figs. 57B and 60K), an entirety of all sidewalls of the plate portion, and segments of top surfaces of the electrically conductive layers (Kaminaga Figs. 57B (plan view) and 60K (cross section view)).
Regarding Claim 9 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the stepped dielectric material portion is in direct contact with sidewalls of the electrically conductive layers and sidewalls of the insulating layers (165 and 265 contact sidewalls of 132, 146, 232, and 246 in Kaminaga Fig. 60K); and each sidewall of the electrically conductive layers that is in direct contact with the stepped dielectric material portion is vertically coincident with a sidewall of a respective underlying insulating layer of the insulating layers (Kaminaga Figs. 57B (plan view) and 60K (cross section view)).
Regarding Claim 10 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses a dielectric spacer (64 Sel [0102] and Fig. 13) laterally surrounding a via portion of the first layer contact via structure and vertically extending through, and contacting each electrically conductive layer and each insulating layer within the subset of the electrically conductive layers and the subset of the insulating layers (Sel [0102] and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 11 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the first layer contact via structure comprises a plate portion that laterally extends horizontally (66P in Sel Fig. 20A), and has a bottom surface that contacts a segment of the top surface of the topmost electrically conductive layer within the subset of the electrically conductive layers (Shown as 66L on 30 in upper left of Sel Fig. 13) and contacts an annular top surface of the dielectric spacer (Top surface of 64 in Sel Fig. 13); and the plate portion has a greater lateral extent than the dielectric spacer (Shown as wider than 64 in Sel Fig. 20A).
Regarding Claim 12 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses a total number of electrically conductive layers within the second subset of the electrically conductive layers in the alternating stack is different from a total number of electrically conductive layers within the first subset of the electrically conductive layers in the alternating stack (The quantity of 213 in the subset of layers for Rc2 is different than in Rc1, Chen [0048] and Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 13 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses the alternating stack, the memory opening fill structure, and the first layer contact via structures are located within a memory die (Sel [0056] and annotated Fig. 1B); and the semiconductor structure further comprises a logic die (integrated driver circuit Sel [0153] and annotated Fig. 1B) that is bonded to the memory die and comprises a peripheral circuit configured to control operation of the memory elements of the memory opening fill structure (Sel [0150]).
Regarding Claim 14 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen further discloses a source layer (combination of 112, 114, and 116 Kaminaga [0271] and Fig. 52F) contacting sidewall portion of the vertical semiconductor channel (60 Kaminaga [249] and Fig. 52F); and a source contact via structure (688 Kaminaga [0348] and Fig. 52F) contacting or electrically connected to the source layer (Kaminaga Fig. 52F) and comprising a same set of metallic materials as the first layer contact via structure (liner 186A and fill material 186B are common across peripheral region contact via structures 488, array region contact via structures 588, and source contact via structures 688 Kaminaga [0348]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sel et al (US 20180350879 A1), in view of Kaminaga (US 20200035694 A1, hereinafter “Kaminaga”), and further in view of Chen (US 20160204102 A1, hereinafter “Chen”), and further in view of Wang et al (US 20210343639 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 4 – Sel modified by Kaminaga and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
The combination of Sel, Kaminaga, and Chen fails to disclose the plug portion comprises a tapered sidewall that vertically extends through the backside dielectric layer; and a lateral extent of the plug portion increase with a downward vertical distance from a horizontal plane including a top surface of the backside dielectric layer.
However, Wang discloses the plug portion comprises a tapered sidewall that vertically extends through the backside dielectric layer (318 Wang [0092] and Fig. 25); and a lateral extent of the plug portion increase with a downward vertical distance (away from the active device) from a horizontal plane including a top surface of the backside dielectric layer (Wang Fig. 25).
Wang describes a circuit with a similar via structure to Sel. Wang teaches a tapered via due to the nature of etching via openings in the backside IMD layers after the structure is flipped upside down (Wang [0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the backside vias would have a tapered sidewall as a natural consequence of etching via openings in the IMD layers after the structure is flipped upside down.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898