DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed Feburary13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-18 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. The deficiencies of Akin are now met by Sugo and Schickler. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recites, among other things, “a first DUT”, “the first input channel having a first vertical scale”, “the second input channel having a first vertical scale”, “second input channel coupled to the current probe”, “a second vertical scale independent from the first vertical scale” Although the specification as filed contains similar language (see, e.g., figures 1-3, paragraphs 25-26, 28, 30, 31, 37, 42) of specification as filed), the specification is nowhere understood to disclose with any specificity (numbered vertical scales or channels). While recognizing that there is a presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present when the application is filed, the issue of a lack of adequate written description may arise even for an original claim when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. Such is the case with respect to the “first and second vertical scale and the first DUT, the second input channel having a first vertical scale, second input channel coupled to the current probe as the amount of written description regarding the first and second defined vertical scales, first DUT and second input channel coupled to the current probe is not sufficient to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph by virtue of their dependence from claim 1 and 10 respectively.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 10 recites the limitations a first DUT”, “the first input channel having a first vertical scale”, “the second input channel having a first vertical scale”, “second input channel coupled to the current probe”, “a second vertical scale independent from the first vertical scale” it is unclear what is considered the first and second vertical scales. It is unclear what probe voltage or current the second input channel coupled to since the paragraph 37 recites “…channel 2 is measuring the VGS voltage from the VGS probe 170…”
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph by virtue of their dependence from claim 1 and 10 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin et al. US 2020/0400738 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Akin) in view of Sugo US 5,029,116 A in view of Schickler US 8836,726 B1.
Claim 1, Akin discloses a system for measuring characteristics of wide bandgap Devices Under Test (DUTs) ) (fig. 5, in-situ circuit for Rds-sat measurement, par. [0051]), comprising: a testing fixture(fig. 5, 23, devices in-situ in the system 499, par. [0041], [0051], [0074]) including one or more wide bandgap DUTs (fig. 5, in-situ circuit for Rds-sat measurement, par. [0051]); a voltage probe coupled to a first DUT of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs to sense a voltage across the first DUT; a current probe coupled to the first DUT to sense a current through the first DUT; and a measurement instrument (fig. 23, machine 400, par. [0074]) having a first input channel coupled to the voltage probe, the first input channel having a first vertical scale; a second input channel coupled to the current probe, the second input channel having a second vertical scale independent from the first vertical scale; a user input for initiating an automatic vertical scaling operation; and one or more processors (fig. 23, machine 402, par. [0087]) configured to, in response to the user input: apply a stimulus that provokes a response (fig. 5-7, DC bus voltage (gate-source voltage), par. [0051]-[0052]) of the first DUT (fig. 5-6, DUT, shown as S2, par. [0051], [0055]), measure the response (fig. 5-7, Vds-on sensing circuit, par.[0051]-[0055]), using the voltage probe and the current probe, determine whether clipping is occurring in at least one of the first and second input channels, and automatically adjust the vertical scale of the first and second input channels until no clipping occurs in the first and second input channels.
Akin does not disclose a voltage probe coupled to a first DUT of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs to sense a voltage across the first DUT; a current probe coupled to the first DUT to sense a current through the first DUT;
a first input channel coupled to the voltage probe, the first input channel having a first vertical scale; a second input channel coupled to the current probe, the second input channel having a second vertical scale independent from the first vertical scale; a user input for initiating an automatic vertical scaling operation;
determine whether clipping is occurring in at least one of the first and second input channels, and automatically adjust the vertical scale of the first and second input channels until no clipping occurs in the first and second input channels.
Sugo discloses a voltage probe (fig. 1, elm. 15, col. 5, ln. 47) coupled to a first DUT of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs to sense a voltage across the first DUT; a current probe (fig. 1, elm. 16, col. 5, ln. 50) coupled to the first DUT to sense a current through the first DUT; a first input channel (fig. 1, elm. CH1, col. 5, ln. 47) coupled to the voltage probe, the first input channel having a first vertical scale (fig. 1, one of pair of voltage axis, col. 5, ln. 65); a second input channel (fig. 1, elm. CH2, col. 5, ln. 47) coupled to the current probe, the second input channel having a second vertical scale (fig. 1, one of pair of voltage axis, col. 5, ln. 65) independent from the first vertical scale;
Schickler discloses a user input (fig. 1, elm. 120, par. (30)-(32)) for initiating an automatic vertical scaling operation (fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49))
determine whether clipping (fig. 5, par. (56)) is occurring in at least one of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56)), and automatically adjust the vertical scale (fig. 5, 7, par. (56), (58)) of the first and second input channels until no clipping occurs in the first and second input channels (fig. 5, par. (56), (58)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide methods, devices, and executable instructions for autoscaling displays containing moving data (e.g., data that changes with respect to time as taught in Schickler in modifying the apparatus of Akin and Sugo. The motivation would be to enable allowing a user to specify autoscaling characteristics of moving data and prevent clipping (see Schickler: background).
Regarding claim 2, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 1, Akin discloses in which applying the stimulus (fig. 5-7, DC bus voltage (gate-source voltage), par. [0051]-[0052]) comprises using the measurement instrument (fig. 23, machine 400, par. [0074]) to drive a waveform generator (fig. 5-8, adjustable gate driver, par. [0056]) of the testing fixture (fig. 5, 23, devices in-situ in the system 499, par. [0041], [0051], [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 1, Akin discloses in which measuring a response (fig. 5, drain current conducted though a channel region, by using the system current sensor, par. [0052]) comprises measuring a drain-to-source voltage of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs, a gate-to-source voltage of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs, or a drain current of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs (par. [0011], [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 1, Schickler discloses in which automatically adjusting the vertical scale ((fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)) of the first and second input channels is performed iteratively (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 1, Schickler discloses in which iteratively adjusting the vertical scale includes repeatedly ((fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)) (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56): adjusting the vertical scale of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56)), measuring the response using the adjusted vertical scale (fig. 11, 12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]) and evaluating the first and second input channels to determine if clipping occurred on the first and second input channels, until no more clipping occurs on the first and second input channels (fig. 11, 12a-12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 6, Schickler discloses in which iteratively adjusting the vertical scale includes repeatedly: adjusting the vertical scale (fig. 11, 12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]), of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56), measuring the response using the adjusted vertical scale (fig. 11, 12a-12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]), and evaluating the measured response to determine if clipping occurred on the first and second input channels, until a maximum number of iterations has occurred (fig. 13b, par. (81)-(82), (74])..
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 1, Akin discloses in which the testing fixture includes a temperature control for setting a temperature (par. [0042]-[0044]) of one or more wide bandgap DUTs (fig. 1, DUT, par. [0042]-[0044]), and in which the measurement instrument (fig. 23, machine 400, par. [0074]) is configured to operate the temperature control (par. [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Akin discloses measurement instrument coupled to a testing fixture (fig. 5, 23, devices in-situ in the system 499, par. [0041], [0051], [0074]) including one or more wide bandgap DUTs (fig. 1, SiC MOSFETs, par. [0051), the method comprising: applying a stimulus (fig. 5-7, DC bus voltage (gate-source voltage), par. [0051]-[0052]) to provoke a response (fig. 5, drain current conducted though a channel region, by using the system current sensor, par. [0052]) of the first DUT (fig. 5-6, DUT shown as S2, par. [0051]-[0052], [0055]); measuring the response (fig. 5-7, Vds-on sensing circuit, par.[0051]-[0055]) using the voltage probe (voltage measurement, par. [0039]) and the current probe (fig. 5, system current sensor, par. [0014], [0052]); a first DUT of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs to sense a voltage across the first DUT (voltage measurement, par. [0039]) and the first DUT to sense a current through the first DUT(par. [0052])
Akin does not disclose a method for automatically setting a vertical scale of a measurement input channels in a test; coupling a voltage probe between a first input channel of the test and measurement instrument, the first input channel having a first vertical scale; coupling a current probe between a second input channel of the test and measurement instrument, the second input channel having a second vertical scale independent from the first vertical scale; and in response to a user input to initiate an automatic scaling operation in the test and measurement instrument: determining whether clipping is occurring in at least one of the first and second input channels; and automatically adjusting the vertical scale of the first and second input channels until no clipping occurs in the first and second input channels.
Sugo discloses coupling a voltage probe (fig. 1, elm. 15, col. 5, ln. 47) between a first input channel (fig. 1, elm. CH1, col. 5, ln. 47) of the test and measurement instrument (fig. 1, elm. 10, col. 5, ln. 22-29), the first input channel having a first vertical scale (fig. 1, one of pair of voltage axis, col. 5, ln. 65); coupling a current probe (fig. 1, elm. 16, col. 5, ln. 50) between a second input channel (fig. 1, elm. CH2, col. 5, ln. 47) of the test and measurement instrument, the second input channel having a second vertical scale (fig. 1, one of pair of voltage axis, col. 5, ln. 65) independent from the first vertical scale; and in response to a user input to initiate an automatic scaling operation in the test and measurement instrument:
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Schickler discloses a method for automatically setting a vertical scale (fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)) of a measurement input channels in a test; determining whether clipping (fig. 5, par. (56)) is occurring in at least one of the first and second input channels; and automatically adjusting the vertical scale of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56)) until no clipping occurs in the first and second input channels (fig. 5, par. (56), (58)).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 10, Akin discloses in which applying a stimulus (fig. 5-7, DC bus voltage (gate-source voltage), par. [0051]-[0052]) comprises driving a waveform generator (fig. 5-8, adjustable gate driver, par. [0056]) of the testing fixture (fig. 5, 23, devices in-situ in the system 499, par. [0041], [0051], [0074]) by the test and measurement instrument (fig. 23, machine 400, par. [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 10, Akin discloses in which measuring a response (fig. 5, drain current conducted though a channel region, by using the system current sensor, par. [0052]) comprises measuring a drain-to- source voltage of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs, a gate-to-source voltage of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs, or a drain current of the one or more wide bandgap DUTs (par. [0011], [0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 10, Schickler discloses in which automatically adjusting the vertical scale (fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)) of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52), (56)), is performed iteratively (fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 15, Barber discloses in which iteratively adjusting the vertical scale includes repeatedly (fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)): adjusting the vertical scale of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56)),, measuring the response using the adjusted vertical scale (fig. 11, 12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]), and evaluating the measured response to determine if clipping occurred on the one or more displays first and second input channels (fig. 11, 12a-12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]), until no more clipping occurs on the one or more displays first and second input channels (fig. 5, par. (56), (58)).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 15, Schickler discloses in which iteratively adjusting the vertical scale includes repeatedly (fig. 2, elm. 230, par. (45), (48)-(49)): adjusting the vertical scale of the first and second input channels (fig. 5, scope display 500 for viewing signals, par. (52),(56)), measuring the response using the adjusted vertical scale (fig. 11, 12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]), and evaluating the measured response to determine if clipping occurred on the first and second input channels (fig. 11, 12a-12b, par. (71)-(72), (74]), until a maximum number of iterations has occurred (fig. 13b, par. (81)-(82), (74]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 10, Akin discloses in which the testing fixture includes a temperature control for setting a temperature (par. [0042]-[0044]) of one or more wide bandgap DUTs (fig. 1, DUT, par. [0042]-[0044]), the method further comprising operating the temperature control (par. [0044]) by the test and measurement instrument (fig. 23, machine 400, par. [0074]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin in view of Sugo in view of Schickler as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gui et al. US 2021/0376721 A1(hereinafter referred to as Gui).
Regarding claim 3, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 2, Akin, Sugo and Schickler do not disclose in which the waveform generator produces at least two signals, and includes a pre-selected delay between the at least two signals.
Gui discloses in which the waveform generator (fig. 6, control signal generation circuit 600, par. [0011], [0057]) produces at least two signals, and includes a pre-selected delay between the at least two signals (fig. 7, output signals DL1 and DL2, par. [0011], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate two control signals then subject signals to two different delays using delay circuits, as taught in Gui in modifying the apparatus of Akin, Sugo and Schickler. The motivation would be time delay between the transition of the PWM signal and device turn-on is reduced (see Gui, par. [0061]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin in view of Sugo in view of Schickler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. KR 20190011494 A (hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding claim 4, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 1, Akin, Sugo and Schickler do not disclose further comprising using the measurement instrument to control a low side power voltage supply and a high side power voltage supply.
Kim discloses comprising using the measurement instrument (fig. 2, PWM control unit 120, par. [0026]) to control a low side power voltage supply (fig. 2, low voltage signals, par. [0026]) and a high side power voltage supply (fig. 2, high voltage signals, par. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide control unit may output a logic level signal having a low voltage or a logic level signal having a high voltage, as taught in Kim in modifying the apparatus of Akin, Sugo and Schickler. The motivation would be one device providing multiple voltage levels. (see Kim: par. [0026]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin in view of Sugo in view of Schickler as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gui.
Regarding claim 12, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 11, Akin, Sugo and Schickler do not disclose in which driving the waveform generator comprises producing at least two signals separated by a pre-selected delay time.
Gui discloses in which driving the waveform generator fig. 6, control signal generation circuit 600, par. [0011], [0057]) comprises producing at least two signals separated by a pre-selected delay time(fig. 7, output signals DL1 and DL2, par. [0011], [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate two control signals then subject signals to two different delays using delay circuits, as taught in Gui in modifying the apparatus of Akin, Sugo and Schickler. The motivation would be time delay between the transition of the PWM signal and device turn-on is reduced (see Gui, par. [0061]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin in view of Sugo in view of Schickler as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. KR 20190011494 A (hereinafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding claim 13, Akin, Sugo and Schickler discloses system according to claim 10, Akin, Sugo and Schickler do not disclose further comprising controlling a low side voltage power supply and a high side voltage power supply of the testing fixture by the test and measurement instrument.
Kim discloses comprising controlling a low side voltage power supply (fig. 2, low voltage signals, par. [0026]) and a high side voltage power supply (fig. 2, high voltage signals, par. [0026]) of the test and measurement instrument (fig. 2, PWM control unit 120, par. [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide control unit may output a logic level signal having a low voltage or a logic level signal having a high voltage, as taught in Kim in modifying the apparatus of Akin, Sugo and Schickler. The motivation would be one device providing multiple voltage levels. (see Kim: par. [0026]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858
6/29/2026