Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7, consider amending to, --pressure zone on [[the]]a side of the air inlet, a tab is placed in the negative pressure zone so as to clean the tab.— for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 2, consider amending to, --cleaning apparatus is so configured that [[an]]the air speed of the air inlet is in a range of 20 m/s—for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "cleaning assemblies, wherein the cleaning assembly is provided with an air channel" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Following the “cleaning assemblies” recitation, claim 1 recites a singular “cleaning assembly” at three separate occurrences (ll. 2, ll. 4, and ll. 6 of claim 1). Further, claim 8, which claim 1 depends from requires the cleaning assembly to be a plurality thereby, suggesting claim 1 requires a single cleaning assembly and not a plurality. For examination purposes and as best understood from the instant disclosure, claim 1 is interpreted as a singular cleaning assembly thereby, resolving antecedent issues of the remaining singular cleaning assembly language in claim 1 (on ll. 2, ll. 4, and ll. 6) and claim 8 which requires “the cleaning assembly is provided in plurality.”
Claims 2-17 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Zhao (CN 213437931) discloses a tab cleaning apparatus (pp. [n0001] in NPL), characterized by comprising:
a cleaning assembly (item 242; figs. 1 and 3-4), wherein the cleaning assembly is provided with an air channel inside (pp. [n0068-0069]; defined as suction air channel within item 2423; fig. 4), and the air channel is provided with an air inlet (pp. [n0069]; defined as dust suction port; fig. 4) and an air outlet (pp. [n0069]; defined as outlet through dust removal pipe; fig. 4); and
a suction assembly (pp. [n0069]; defined as external negative pressure generating device; not explicitly shown), wherein the suction assembly is connected to the cleaning assembly (pp. [n0069]; via end of dust removal pipe), the suction assembly is connected to the air outlet (pp. [n0069]), the suction assembly operates to make air enter the cleaning assembly from the air inlet so as to form a negative pressure zone on the side of the air inlet (pp. [n0058] and [n0069]; external negative pressure generating device connects to dust removal pipe, i.e. air outlet, to generate negative pressure at dust suction port and remove dust and slag).
Though the Examiner notes the recitations “a tab is placed in the negative pressure zone so as to clean the tab " appears to be a “method” step, since the claim is an apparatus claim, the recitations are considered to be an intended use limitation. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the cleaning assembly moves via driving device(s) closer and/or away from an additional cleaning assembly to define a receiving cavity in which a battery, i.e. tab, is placed for dust removal (pp. [n0055] and [n0058] in NPL).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, characterized by further comprising a first driving assembly (pp. [n0064] and [n0070]; item 6; figs. 1 and 5), wherein the first driving assembly is connected to the cleaning assembly to drive the cleaning assembly to move in a first direction (pp. [n0066]; first driving assembly connects to cleaning assembly via intermediate components to drive cleaning assembly to move closer to receiving cavity along x-axis, i.e. first direction; figs. 3-4), and in the first direction, the negative pressure zone is located at a side of the air inlet (in the first direction, the negative pressure zone is formed to the right of the air inlet and thereby, at a front side of the air inlet; figs. 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 2, characterized by further comprising a second driving assembly (item 221; pp. [n0065-0066]; fig. 4), wherein the second driving assembly is connected to the cleaning assembly to drive the cleaning assembly to move in a second direction (pp. [n0065]; second driving assembly 221 is connected to cleaning assembly 242 via intermediate components, i.e. item 222, to adjust, i.e. move, the cleaning assembly 242 in a y-direction, i.e. second direction), wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (pp. [n0066-0070]; x-axis, i.e. first direction, and y-axis, i.e. second direction, are perpendicular to one another; figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 3, characterized in that the first direction is a horizontal direction (figs. 3-4, in view from above apparatus, x-axis defines a horizontal first direction), and the second direction is a vertical direction (figs. 3-4, y-axis defines the second direction which is vertical relative to x-axis in view from above apparatus).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 3, characterized in that a first driving end (pp. [0070]; defined as upper end, i.e. with item 62; fig. 5) of the first driving assembly is connected to the second driving assembly (pp. [n0065-0066]; via intermediate components, i.e. items 241 and 26; figs. 3-5), and the first driving assembly drives the second driving assembly and the cleaning assembly to move together (pp. [n0070]; first driving assembly 6 moves cleaning assembly 242 and second driving assembly 221 together in x-axis, i.e. first direction, via items 26 and 62; figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 3, characterized by further comprising a mounting base (item 26; fig. 3), wherein the cleaning assembly is mounted onto the mounting base (pp. [n0065]; cleaning assembly 242 mounts onto mounting base 26; fig. 3), and a second driving end (defined as end of second driving assembly 242 mounted directly to item 241; fig. 4) of the second driving assembly is connected to the mounting base (pp. [n0066]; via intermediate components, i.e. second driving end mounts directly to item 241 which is slidably connected to item 224 that mounts onto mounting base 26; figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 3, characterized in that the second driving assembly is an air cylinder (pp. [n0065-0066]; second driving assembly 221 is an air cylinder; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 2, characterized in that the cleaning assembly is provided in plurality (pp. [n0068]; cleaning assembly defined on each side of the battery, i.e. two on opposing short-sides and two on opposing long-sides; fig. 1), and in the first direction (defined along x-axis; figs. 1-2), at least two of the cleaning assemblies are spaced apart (defined as cleaning assemblies on opposing long-sides of battery, i.e. items 1 and 23, fig. 1) to define a cleaning space (pp. [n0055]; defined as receiving cavity; fig. 1) for accommodating a cell with the tab (pp. [n0058]; cleaning space is capable of accommodating a battery cell), and the air inlet of each cleaning assembly is disposed facing the cleaning space (pp. [n0064] and [n0069]; each air inlet of the cleaning assemblies face the receiving cavity, i.e. cleaning space, to suction up debris and snag; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 8, characterized in that each of the cleaning assemblies is provided with the first driving assembly (pp. [n0057-0059]; first driving assembly 6 is used to drive the items 1 and 2, which include each of the respective cleaning assemblies 12, 21, 22, 23, closer or further away from each other along the first direction, i.e. x-axis; figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 9, characterized in that, the cleaning assemblies are divided into multiple groups (each group includes one-short side and one-long side cleaning assembly; pp. [n0014] and [n0064]; fig. 1), and each group comprises two cleaning assemblies spaced apart in the first direction (each short-side cleaning assembly and long-side cleaning assembly are spaced apart along x-axis, i.e. first direction, to clean a different side of the rectangular battery cell; fig. 1); and the tab cleaning apparatus further comprises a fastening bracket (pp. [n0070]; item 25; fig. 3), and the first driving assembly corresponding to each cleaning assembly in each group is fastened to the fastening bracket (pp. [n0070]; item 62 of first driving assembly 6 is provided on, i.e. fastened to, fastening bracket 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tab cleaning apparatus is so configured that an air speed of the air inlet is in a range of 15 m/s to 25 m/s.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the air speed of the air inlet to be between 15m/s to 25 m/s. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The air speed (i.e. velocity) through the air inlet can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the air speed is higher, the air inlet may have an enhanced negative pressure zone and thereby, effectively suctioning up smaller dirt, debris, and snag within the cleaning space; while if the air speed is lower, the air inlet may have a smaller negative pressure zone and collect less debris, dust, and snag in the air however, the overall system may be quieter during use. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Zhao, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the air speed of the air inlet to be in a range of 15 m/s to 25 m/s. Further in the instant application, pp. [0092-0096], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 11,but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tab cleaning apparatus is so configured that an air speed of the air inlet is in a range of 20 m/s to 25 m/s.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the air speed of the air inlet to be between 20m/s to 25 m/s. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The air speed (i.e. velocity) through the air inlet can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the air speed is higher, the air inlet may have an enhanced negative pressure zone and thereby, effectively suctioning up smaller dirt, debris, and snag within the cleaning space; while if the air speed is lower, the air inlet may have a smaller negative pressure zone and collect less debris, dust, and snag in the air however, the overall system may be quieter during use. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Zhao, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the air speed of the air inlet to be in a range of 20 m/s to 25 m/s. Further in the instant application, pp. [0092-0096], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose characterized in that the suction assembly and the cleaning assembly are in detachable fit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the suction assembly and the cleaning be separable/detachable (via suction tube and/or hose), since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (please refer to MPEP 2144.04.V-C).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Arguilez (US 2024/0108187).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1. ZHAO appears to disclose a rectangular, i.e. quadrangle, cleaning assembly and thereby, air inlet (fig. 4), ZHAO does not explicitly disclose details of the cleaning assembly.
However, Arguilez (US 2024/0108187) teaches a cleaning assembly (defined as structure of item 1, i.e. including nozzle 168 and rigid tubing, defined by gray highlighted portion in annotated fig. 1 below) provided with an air channel (defined as suction channel within item 168) including an air inlet (designated in annotated fig. 1 below) and an air outlet (designated in annotated fig. 1 below), wherein the air inlet is a quadrangle (fig. 1).
Both Zhao and Arguilez teach cleaning assembly nozzles and air pipes for suctioning dirt, debris, etc. from a negative pressure zone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cleaning assembly with elongated, i.e. quadrangle, air inlet, as taught in Arguilez, for the cleaning assembly, as disclosed in Zhao, to achieve the predictable result of removing dirt, debris, etc. from the cleaning space (pp. [0010] and [0034] in Arguilez; pp. [n0058] in Zhao).
Arguilez Annotated Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 15, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 14, characterized in that part of the cleaning assembly is formed as a cuboid structure (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above; gray highlighted region of cleaning assembly 168 is cuboid, similar to applicant’s disclosure), and the air inlet is formed as a rectangle (Arguilez; air inlet is rectangular, i.e. elongated opening) and disposed at the cuboid structure (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 15, characterized in that the cleaning assembly comprises an air nozzle (Arguilez; defined as outer housing structure of item 168, fig. 1; similar to applicant’s disclosure) and an air pipe (Arguilez; defined as outer rigid pipe extending from air nozzle, designated in annotated fig. 1 above; similar to applicant’s disclosure) that communicate with each other (air flows through air nozzle into air pipe), at least part of the air nozzle is formed as the cuboid structure (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above; air nozzle includes cuboid structure at inlet portion), and the air pipe is formed as a circular pipe (Arguilez; air pipe defines circular cross-section, fig. 1), with one end of the air pipe defining the air outlet (annotated fig. 1 above).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner, in view of Arguilez (US 2024/0108187), and further evidenced by Vatalaro (US 2015/0101637).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose characterized in that at least a part of the cuboid structure defining the air inlet is formed as an elastic piece (such as rubber, nylon, or the like, pp. [0116] in instant disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cuboid structure of the cleaning assembly to be composed of an elastic piece, such as rubber, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (please refer to MPEP 2144.07). As an example, Vatalaro (US 2015/0101637) teaches a cleaning assembly (item 10; pp. [0019]; fig. 3), wherein a portion of the cleaning assembly (item 20; fig. 3) forming an air inlet (item 40; fig. 3) is formed of an elastic material, such as rubber (pp. [0019]) in order to provide sufficient flexibility while also being resistant to damage and deterioration from repeated use (pp. [0019] in Vatalaro). Please note that in the instant application, pp. [0116-0117], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kanitz (US 2024/0300062) discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising a cleaning assembly, a suction assembly, a first driving assembly, and a second driving assembly.
Susnjara (US Patent No. 6,061,865) discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising cleaning assemblies with an air inlet and an air outlet, a suction assembly, a first driving assembly to move the cleaning assemblies in a first direction, and a second driving assembly to move the cleaning assemblies in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723