This Office action is in response to amendments filed on 03/03/2026. Claims 1 and 4-22 are pending. The previously filed 35 USC 112(b) rejection are withdrawn, as necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12, ll. 2, consider amending to, --cleaning apparatus is so configured that [[an]]the air speed of the air inlet is in a range of 20 m/s—for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 19, ll. 1-2, consider amending to, --The tab cleaning apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the suction assembly comprises at least—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, 14-16, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Arguilez (US 2024/0108187).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao (CN 213437931) discloses a tab cleaning apparatus (pp. [n0001] in NPL), the tab cleaning apparatus comprising:
at least one cleaning assembly (item 242; figs. 1 and 3-4), wherein the at least one cleaning assembly comprises an air inlet (pp. [n0069]; defined as dust suction port; fig. 4) and an air outlet formed at one end of an air pipe (pp. [n0069]; defined as outlet through dust removal pipe; fig. 4); and
a suction assembly (pp. [n0069]; defined as external negative pressure generating device; not explicitly shown), wherein the suction assembly is connected to the at least one cleaning assembly (pp. [n0069]; via end of dust removal pipe), the suction assembly is connected to the air outlet (pp. [n0069]), the suction assembly operates to make air enter the at least one cleaning assembly from the air inlet so as to form a negative pressure zone on a side of the air inlet (pp. [n0058] and [n0069]; external negative pressure generating device connects to dust removal pipe, i.e. air outlet, to generate negative pressure at dust suction port and remove dust and slag), and the negative pressure zone is configured for a tab to be placed therein so as to clean the tab (the cleaning assembly moves via driving device(s) closer and/or away from an additional cleaning assembly to define a receiving cavity in which a battery, i.e. tab, is capable of being placed in the zone for dust removal, pp. [n0055] and [n0058] in NPL);
a first driving assembly (pp. [n0064] and [n0070]; item 6; figs. 1 and 5), wherein the first driving assembly is connected to the at least one cleaning assembly to drive the cleaning assembly to move in a first direction (pp. [n0066]; first driving assembly connects to cleaning assembly via intermediate components to drive cleaning assembly to move closer to receiving cavity along x-axis, i.e. first direction; figs. 3-4), and in the first direction, the negative pressure zone is located at the side of the air inlet (in the first direction, the negative pressure zone is formed to the right of the air inlet and thereby, at a front side of the air inlet; figs. 1 and 3-4);
a second driving assembly (item 221; pp. [n0065-0066]; fig. 4), wherein the second driving assembly is connected to the at least one cleaning assembly to drive the at least one cleaning assembly to move in a second direction (pp. [n0065]; second driving assembly 221 is connected to cleaning assembly 242 via intermediate components, i.e. item 222, to adjust, i.e. move, the cleaning assembly 242 in a y-direction, i.e. second direction), wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (pp. [n0066-0070]; x-axis, i.e. first direction, and y-axis, i.e. second direction, are perpendicular to one another; figs. 3-4),
the first driving assembly and the second driving assembly are configured to adjust a distance between the air inlet and the tab of the bare cell (the cleaning assembly which includes the air inlet and air nozzle are capable of moving via driving device(s) closer and/or away from an additional cleaning assembly to define an adjustable-sized receiving cavity in which a battery, i.e. tab, may be placed for dust removal, pp. [n0055] and [n0058] in NPL).
Though Zhao appears to disclose a rectangular cleaning assembly and thereby, air inlet (fig. 4), Zhao does not explicitly disclose details of the cleaning assembly, such as the at least one cleaning assembly comprising an air nozzle, an air inlet formed at one side of the air nozzle and configured to face the bare cell and match a cross-sectional shape of one end of the bare cell facing the air inlet, and an air outlet.
Arguilez (US 2024/0108187) teaches a cleaning assembly (defined as structure of item 1, i.e. including nozzle 168 and rigid tubing, defined by gray highlighted portion in annotated fig. 1 below) comprising air nozzle (item 168) and air pipe (designated in annotated fig. 1 below), an air inlet formed at one end of the air nozzle (designated in annotated fig. 1 below) and configured to face the bare cell and match a cross-sectional shape of one end of the bare cell facing the air inlet (air inlet is capable of facing the bare cell of the battery in which the air nozzle faces and moves toward and/or away and further, capable of matching a rectangular cross-sectional shape of a bare cell), and an air outlet formed at one end of the air pipe (designated in annotated fig. 1 below).
Both Zhao and Arguilez teach cleaning assembly nozzles and air pipes for suctioning dirt, debris, etc. from a negative pressure zone. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cleaning assembly with elongated, i.e. quadrangle, air nozzle with air inlet, as taught in Arguilez, for the cleaning assembly, as disclosed in Zhao, to achieve the predictable result of removing dirt, debris, etc. from the cleaning space (pp. [0010] and [0034] in Arguilez; pp. [n0058] in Zhao).
Arguilez Annotated Fig. 1.
Further, with regard to the recitation “for cleaning a tab of a bare cell of a battery,” this recitation has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the claim is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. 88 USPQ 478. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Please refer to MPEP 2111.02.II. Further, in the instant case, the apparatus is a battery dust removal device and thereby, capable of cleaning a tab of a bare cell of a battery.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first direction is a horizontal direction (figs. 3-4, in view from above apparatus, x-axis defines a horizontal first direction), and the second direction is a vertical direction (figs. 3-4, y-axis defines the second direction which is vertical relative to x-axis in view from above apparatus).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a first driving end (pp. [0070]; defined as upper end, i.e. with item 62; fig. 5) of the first driving assembly is connected to the second driving assembly (pp. [n0065-0066]; via intermediate components, i.e. items 241 and 26; figs. 3-5), and the first driving assembly drives the second driving assembly and the at least one cleaning assembly to move together (pp. [n0070]; first driving assembly 6 moves cleaning assembly 242 and second driving assembly 221 together in x-axis, i.e. first direction, via items 26 and 62; figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a mounting base (item 26; fig. 3), wherein the cleaning assembly is mounted onto the mounting base (pp. [n0065]; cleaning assembly 242 mounts onto mounting base 26; fig. 3), and a second driving end (defined as end of second driving assembly 242 mounted directly to item 241; fig. 4) of the second driving assembly is connected to the mounting base (pp. [n0066]; via intermediate components, i.e. second driving end mounts directly to item 241 which is slidably connected to item 224 that mounts onto mounting base 26; figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second driving assembly is an air cylinder (pp. [n0065-0066]; second driving assembly 221 is an air cylinder; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one cleaning assembly is provided in plurality (pp. [n0068]; cleaning assembly defined on each side of the battery, i.e. two on opposing short-sides and two on opposing long-sides; fig. 1), and in the first direction (defined along x-axis; figs. 1-2), at least two of the cleaning assemblies are spaced apart (defined as cleaning assemblies on opposing long-sides of battery, i.e. items 1 and 23, fig. 1) to define a cleaning space (pp. [n0055]; defined as receiving cavity; fig. 1) for accommodating the bare cell with the tab (pp. [n0058]; cleaning space is capable of accommodating a battery cell), and the air inlet of each cleaning assembly is disposed facing the cleaning space (pp. [n0064] and [n0069]; each air inlet of the cleaning assemblies face the receiving cavity, i.e. cleaning space, to suction up debris and snag; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 8, wherein each of the cleaning assemblies is provided with the first driving assembly (pp. [n0057-0059]; first driving assembly 6 is used to drive the items 1 and 2, which include each of the respective cleaning assemblies 12, 21, 22, 23, closer or further away from each other along the first direction, i.e. x-axis; figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein, the cleaning assemblies are divided into multiple groups (each group includes one-short side and one-long side cleaning assembly; pp. [n0014] and [n0064]; fig. 1), and each group comprises two cleaning assemblies spaced apart in the first direction (each short-side cleaning assembly and long-side cleaning assembly are spaced apart along x-axis, i.e. first direction, to clean a different side of the rectangular battery cell; fig. 1); and
the tab cleaning apparatus further comprises a fastening bracket (pp. [n0070]; item 25; fig. 3), and the first driving assembly corresponding to each cleaning assembly in each group is fastened to the fastening bracket (pp. [n0070]; item 62 of first driving assembly 6 is provided on, i.e. fastened to, fastening bracket 25).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tab cleaning apparatus is so configured that an air speed of the air inlet is in a range of 15 m/s to 25 m/s.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the air speed of the air inlet to be between 15m/s to 25 m/s. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The air speed (i.e. velocity) through the air inlet can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the air speed is higher, the air inlet may have an enhanced negative pressure zone and thereby, effectively suctioning up smaller dirt, debris, and snag within the cleaning space; while if the air speed is lower, the air inlet may have a smaller negative pressure zone and collect less debris, dust, and snag in the air however, the overall system may be quieter during use. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Zhao as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the air speed of the air inlet to be in a range of 15 m/s to 25 m/s. Further in the instant application, pp. [0092-0096], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 11,but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tab cleaning apparatus is so configured that an air speed of the air inlet is in a range of 20 m/s to 25 m/s.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the air speed of the air inlet to be between 20m/s to 25 m/s. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The air speed (i.e. velocity) through the air inlet can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the air speed is higher, the air inlet may have an enhanced negative pressure zone and thereby, effectively suctioning up smaller dirt, debris, and snag within the cleaning space; while if the air speed is lower, the air inlet may have a smaller negative pressure zone and collect less debris, dust, and snag in the air however, the overall system may be quieter during use. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Zhao as modified , it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the air speed of the air inlet to be in a range of 20 m/s to 25 m/s. Further in the instant application, pp. [0092-0096], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the air inlet is formed as a quadrangle (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein part of the at least one cleaning assembly is formed as a cuboid structure (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above; gray highlighted region of cleaning assembly 168 is cuboid, similar to applicant’s disclosure), and the air inlet is formed as a rectangle (Arguilez; air inlet is rectangular, i.e. elongated opening) and disposed at the cuboid structure (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 15, wherein at least part of the air nozzle is formed as the cuboid structure (Arguilez; annotated fig. 1 above; air nozzle includes cuboid structure at inlet portion), and the air pipe is formed as a circular pipe (Arguilez; air pipe defines circular cross-section, fig. 1), with one end of the air pipe defining the air outlet (annotated fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first driving assembly and the second driving assembly are configured to adjust the distance between the air nozzle and the tab of the bare cell in a range of 3 mm to 5mm.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance between the air nozzle and the tab of the bare cell in a range of 3 mm to 5 mm. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The distance between the air nozzle and the tab of the bare cell can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the distance is smaller, than the air nozzle is closer to the bare cell thereby, providing a more efficient suction process as the nozzle is positioned closer to the target without compromising the suction power; while if the distance is greater, than the air nozzle is further away from the bare cell thereby, targeting more surface area of the tab of the bare cell at one time, however greater suction power may need to be utilized. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Zhao as modified, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the distance between the air nozzle and the tab of the bare cell to be between 3 mm to 5 mm. Further in the instant application, pp. [00111-00114], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 20, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tab cleaning apparatus is configured to be mounted on bare cell clamping jaws of a mobile cell tooling (tab cleaning apparatus is capable of being mounted on clamping jaws structure of modules 3 and 4, i.e. figs. 6-7) via a tooling connecting plate (item 31; pp. [n0075]; figs. 6-8) and a linear bearing plate (item 311; figs. 7-8).
The recitations “so as to implement online tab cleaning during transfer of the bare cell” is considered to be an intended use limitation. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claim, as is the case here; refer to MPEP 2114-II. In the instant case, the tab cleaning apparatus is intended for debris removal on a battery cell and thereby, the conveying module (item 3) moves the battery cells along the structure to mount the specific battery cell in place along the linear bearing plate and remove debris from the battery cell without taking off the tabs, as understood from instant disclosure as “online tab cleaning” (pp. [00122-00123] in instant disclosure).
Regarding claim 21, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 20, wherein the at least one cleaning assembly comprises a plurality of cleaning assemblies (pp. [n0068]; cleaning assembly defined on each side of the battery, i.e. two on opposing short-sides and two on opposing long-sides; fig. 1), the plurality of cleaning assemblies are distributed on two sides of the linear bearing plate (plurality of cleaning assemblies are distributed on two sides, i.e. left and right sides of plate 311, fig. 7)), the linear bearing plate is configured to support the bare cell after the clamping jaws clamp the bare cell (the linear bearing plate 311 is capable of supporting at least a portion of the bare cell when disposed in the receiving cavity between the plurality of cleaning assemblies, figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 22, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 21, wherein the plurality of cleaning assemblies comprises at least two cleaning assemblies located on one side of the linear bearing plate (at least two cleaning assemblies, as shown in figs. 3 and 7, are located on an upper side of linear bearing plate 311 via intermediate components), for each of the at least two cleaning assemblies, the air pipe is provided with a mounting base (item 26; fig. 3; air pipe mounts to mounting base to secure in place during use), and a second driving end (defined as end of second driving assembly 242 mounted directly to item 241; fig. 4) of the second driving assembly is connected to the mounting base (pp. [n0066]; via intermediate components, i.e. second driving end mounts directly to item 241 which is slidably connected to item 224 that mounts onto mounting base 26; figs. 3-4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Arguilez (US 2024/0108187), and further in view of Wu (CN 200971417), as provided by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose details of the connection between the suction assembly and cleaning assembly, such as wherein the suction assembly and the at least one cleaning assembly are in detachable connection, wherein the detachable connection comprises at least one of a bolt connection, clamping connection, plugging connection, or magnetic fitting.
Wu teaches a removal apparatus analogous to the cleaning apparatus of Zhao, wherein the apparatus comprises an air nozzle (item 1; fig. 1) and an air pipe (item 13; fig. 1) and a suction assembly (includes items 4, 5; fig. 5), wherein the suction assembly and the cleaning apparatus are in detachable connection (via item 3; fig. 1), and wherein the detachable connection comprises at least one of a bolt connection (via items 32, 33 which can be screws or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the connection between the suction assembly and the at least one cleaning assembly, as disclosed in Zhao, to be a detachable bolt connection, as taught in Wu, to achieve the predictable result of attaching the cleaning assembly to the suction assembly, while also providing a three-way pivot point within the connection thereby, improving operation convenience (Wu; description NPL) as the driving assemblies move relative to the suction assembly
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Arguilez (US 2024/0108187), and further evidenced by Vatalaro (US 2015/0101637).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a part of the cuboid structure defining the air inlet is formed as an elastic piece (such as rubber, nylon, or the like, pp. [0116] in instant disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cuboid structure of the cleaning assembly to be composed of an elastic piece, such as rubber, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (please refer to MPEP 2144.07). As an example, Vatalaro (US 2015/0101637) teaches a cleaning assembly (item 10; pp. [0019]; fig. 3), wherein a portion of the cleaning assembly (item 20; fig. 3) forming an air inlet (item 40; fig. 3) is formed of an elastic material, such as rubber (pp. [0019]) in order to provide sufficient flexibility while also being resistant to damage and deterioration from repeated use (pp. [0019] in Vatalaro). Please note that in the instant application, pp. [0116-0117], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 213437931), as provided by the Examiner in previous Office action, in view of Arguilez (US 2024/0108187), and further in view of Gibbons (US Patent No. 3,167,260).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao as modified discloses the tab cleaning apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Though Zhao discloses the suction assembly is an external negative pressure device, Zhao is silent on the type of pressure device, such as at least one of an air pump or an exhaust fan, as required by the claim.
Gibbons teaches a dust collection assembly (figs. 1-2) comprising an air pipe (includes items 31, 36, 38; fig. 2) and an air nozzle (item 20; figs. 1-2), wherein the dust collection assembly further includes a suction assembly (includes items 56, 57, 58, 62; fig. 2) such as an exhaust fan (item 56; col. 4, ll. 51-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the negative pressure device, as disclosed in Zhao, to be an exhaust fan, as taught in Gibbons, to achieve the predictable result of creating a high velocity flow of air through the air nozzle and air pipe during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the same primary reference, Zhao (CN 213437931) and same teaching reference, Arguilez (US 2024/0108187).
Lastly, in response to applicant's argument that Zhao fails to disclose the specific structural configuration and arrangement that require bare cell/air inlet matching and nozzle-to-tab distance adjustment (p. 7 of Remarks), the Examiner notes a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, the art of record, Zhao, remains relevant for the amended intended use limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723