DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9, 11-12, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wen et al. US 11,913,726 B2.
Re claim 1, Wen et al. teach a heat dissipation apparatus comprising: an evaporator (110, 120) and a plurality of ribbed plates (200) connected to the evaporator, wherein the evaporator has a first cavity, and the first cavity is configured to accommodate a working medium for vapor-liquid two-phase conversion, wherein the evaporator comprises a third side plate and a fourth side plate, wherein edges of the third side plate and the fourth side plate are sealed and bonded, and the first cavity is formed between the third side plate and the fourth side plate, and wherein the third side plate (120) is configured to be in contact with a heat source (col 6 lines 20-35);
and at least one each of the ribbed plates comprises: a first side plate and a second side plate (200a, 200b); forming a second cavity between the first side plate and the second side plate (col 5), wherein a side that is of the first side plate and that faces the second side plate has a plurality of first protruding parts (col 6), a side that is of the second side plate and that faces the first side plate has a plurality of second protruding parts, and each of the first protruding parts is fixedly connected to a corresponding one of the second protruding parts (walls protrude to make two connections in between tip and base, fig 4, addition to connections of opposing walls to create 210a), so that the second cavity between the first side plate and the second side plate is divided into channels (210f) that are connected to the first cavity (col 5 last para),
and a plurality of second interfaces (interfaces forming tips/.tops of fins fig 4, and bottom interfaces connecting to top of evaporator) arranged along a height direction of the ribbed plates, each located at an edge of the ribbed plates and connected to the second cavity, wherein a height of the second cavity in the height direction is greater than a height of the first cavity (fig 4); wherein for each of the ribbed plates, the evaporator has at least one first interface (112) connected to the plurality of second interfaces, wherein a quantity of the at least one first interface is less than a quantity of the second interfaces (one for each top and bottom), or wherein for each of the ribbed plates, the evaporator has a plurality of first interfaces connected to the plurality of second interfaces in a one-to-one manner, wherein a quantity of the first interfaces is the same as a quantity of the second interfaces.
Re claim 2, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one of the ribbed plates is a rolled and blown structure; or the at least one of the ribbed plates is a stamped and brazed structure.
The recitation of “wherein the at least one of the ribbed plates is a rolled and blown structure; or the at least one of the ribbed plates is a stamped and brazed structure” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”
Re claim 5, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one first interface is one first interface (figs see the rejection of claim 1, noting there is one fore two, or the claim limitations are met one only one 112 is considered the “one first interface”).
Re claim 9, Wen et al. teach wherein a boss (120v) is disposed on an outer surface of the fourth side plate, and a first interface (flat surface of boss) is located on a top of the boss.
Re claim 11, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one of each of the ribbed plates and the fourth side plate are perpendicular to each other (figs).
Re claim 12, Wen et al. teach wherein the plurality of ribbed plates are disposed in parallel with each other or disposed in an included angle (figs).
Re claim 21, Wen et al. teach wherein the plurality of ribbed plates are disposed in an included angle, and the included angle is defined between the fourth side plate of the evaporator and each of the ribbed plates, and the included angle ranges from 0 degrees to 90 degrees (figs).
Re claim 23, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one first interface extends in the height direction or the plurality of first interfaces are arranged along the height direction (figs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. in view of Kim US 20140131011 A1.
Re claim 10, Wen et al. fail to explicitly teach a shape.
Kim teach wherein a part, of each of the second interfaces, that is connected to the at least one first interface, is in a shape of a horn mouth (figs 4A, 4BA 4B) to create a flow path with internal channels for a fluid to flow.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a shape as taught by Kim in the Wen et al. invention in order to advantageously allow to dissipate the high-density heat generated in a small footprint area to ensure safe operation of such heat-generating electronic components.
Claim(s) 13, 14, 17, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. in view of Kim ‘018 US 20220354018 A1.
Re claim 13, Wen et al. teach a heat dissipation apparatus comprising: an evaporator (110, 120) and a plurality of ribbed plates (200) connected to the evaporator, wherein the evaporator has a first cavity, and the first cavity is configured to accommodate a working medium for vapor-liquid two-phase conversion, wherein the evaporator comprises a third side plate and a fourth side plate, wherein edges of the third side plate and the fourth side plate are sealed and bonded, and the first cavity is formed between the third side plate and the fourth side plate, and wherein the third side plate (120) is configured to be in contact with a heat source (col 6 lines 20-35);
and at least one each of the ribbed plates comprises:
a first side plate and a second side plate (200a, 200b); forming a second cavity between the first side plate and the second side plate (col 5), wherein a side that is of the first side plate and that faces the second side plate has a plurality of first protruding parts (col 6), a side that is of the second side plate and that faces the first side plate has a plurality of second protruding parts, and each of the first protruding parts is fixedly connected to a corresponding one of the second protruding parts (walls protrude to make two connections in between tip and base, fig 4, addition to connections of opposing walls to create 210a),
and each of the first protruding parts is fixedly connected to a corresponding one of the second protruding parts,
so that the second cavity between the first side plate and the second side plate is divided into channels (210f) that are connected to the first cavity (col 5 last para),
and a plurality of second interfaces (interfaces forming tips/.tops of fins fig 4, and bottom interfaces connecting to top of evaporator) arranged along a height direction of the ribbed plates, each located at an edge of the ribbed plates and connected to the second cavity, wherein a height of the second cavity in the height direction is greater than a height of the first cavity (fig 4);
wherein for each of the ribbed plates, the evaporator has at least one first interface (112) connected to the plurality of second interfaces, wherein a quantity of the at least one first interface is less than a quantity of the second interfaces (one for each top and bottom), or wherein for each of the ribbed plates, the evaporator has a plurality of first interfaces connected to the plurality of second interfaces in a one-to-one manner, wherein a quantity of the first interfaces is the same as a quantity of the second interfaces (see the rejection of claim 1).
Wen et al. fail to teach wireless details.
Kim ‘018 teach a wireless communication base station; comprising: a box (box formed by 10 and opposing wall, fig 4, 20), heat sources (C1; para 71, para 84), and a heat dissipation apparatus (60, 28, 29), wherein a mounting opening for mounting the heat dissipation apparatus is provided on the box (para 81, noting screw and fasteners have holes to go through), the heat sources are disposed in the box, and at least a part of the heat sources are thermally connected to an evaporator (c2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a wireless communication base station as taught by Kim ‘018 in the Wen et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for communication devices in electronics.
Re claim 14, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one of the ribbed plates is a rolled and blown structure; or the at least one of the ribbed plates is a stamped and brazed structure.
The recitation of “wherein the at least one of the ribbed plates is a rolled and blown structure; or the at least one of the ribbed plates is a stamped and brazed structure” is considered to be a product-by-process limitation. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.”
Re claim 17, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one first interface is one first interface (figs see the rejection of claim 1, noting there is one fore two, or the claim limitations are met one only one 112 is considered the “one first interface”).
Re claim 22, Wen et al. teach wherein the plurality of ribbed plates are disposed in an included angle, and the included angle is defined between the fourth side plate of the evaporator and each of the ribbed plates, and the included angle ranges from 0 degrees to 90 degrees (figs).
Re claim 24, Wen et al. teach wherein the at least one first interface extends in the height direction or the plurality of first interfaces are arranged along the height direction (figs).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see reply, filed 4/29/2026, with respect to 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 (and noting arguments with re” to claim 13 were stated to be the same/similar as the arguments for claim 1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763