DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 and 18-22 in the reply filed on 12/26//2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113851522 A to He et al. (hereinafter He).
With respect to claim 1, He discloses a semiconductor device (e.g., GaN high electron mobility transistor (HEMT), see the annotated Fig. 1 below) (He, Fig. 1, Abstract, pp.1-8), comprising:
a channel layer (2, GaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) over a semiconductor substrate (1);
a barrier layer (3/4, AlGaN/p-AlGaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) over the channel layer (2); and
a gate layer (5, p-GaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) over the barrier layer (3/4), the gate layer (5, p-GaN) being doped with a dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)), wherein:
a first region (41, p-AlGaN) in the barrier layer (3/4) overlies a channel region in the channel layer (2) and underlies the gate layer (5, p-GaN), the first region (41) having a first concentration of the dopant; and
a second region (42, p-AlGaN) in the barrier layer (3/4) laterally disposed from the first region (41), the second region (42) having a second concentration of the dopant that is less than the first concentration (e.g., Mg-doped concentration of the first region 41 is greater than that of the second region 42) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5).
Regarding claim 3, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) is a p-type dopant.
Regarding claim 4, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) includes magnesium.
Regarding claim 5, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is greater than 1×1016 cm-3 (e.g., Mg-doped concentration of the p-AlGaN layer 4 including the first region 41 is between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 that is greater than 1×1016 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5). Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range (M.P.E.P. §2131.03).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the second concentration is 1×1019 cm-3 or less (e.g., Mg-doped concentration of the p-AlGaN layer 4 including the second region 42 is between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5). Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range (M.P.E.P. §2131.03).
Regarding claim 7, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein: the channel layer (2, GaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) includes gallium nitride (GaN); the barrier layer (3/4, AlGaN/p-AlGaN) includes aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN); and the gate layer (5, p-GaN) includes magnesium doped gallium nitride (GaN:Mg).
Regarding claim 8, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a passivation layer (9) (He, Fig. 1, p. 5) over the gate layer (5) and the barrier layer (3/4); and a gate contact (8) over and contacting the gate layer (5) and through the passivation layer (9).
With respect to claim 18, He discloses a semiconductor device (e.g., GaN high electron mobility transistor (HEMT), see the annotated Fig. 1 above) (He, Fig. 1, Abstract, pp.1-8), comprising:
a GaN channel layer (2, GaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) over a semiconductor substrate (1);
an AlGaN barrier layer (3/4, AlGaN/p-AlGaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) over the GaN channel layer (2); and
a doped GaN gate layer (5, p-GaN) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) on the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4);
a drain contact (7) contacting the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4), wherein:
the gate layer (5, p-GaN) being doped with a dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)), wherein:
the doped GaN gate layer (5) includes a p-type dopant (magnesium (Mg)) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5);
a first portion (41, p-AlGaN) of the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4) under the doped GaN gate layer (5, p-GaN) includes a first concentration of the p-type dopant (e.g., magnesium-doped AlGaN layer 4); and
a second portion (42, p-AlGaN layer not covered by the p-GaN layer 5) of the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4) between the doped GaN gate layer (5) and the drain contact (7) includes a second concentration of the p-type dopant that is less than the first concentration (e.g., Mg-doped concentration of the first region 41 is greater than that of the second region 42) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5).
Regarding claim 20, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein: the first portion (41) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) of the AlGaN barrier layer overlies a channel region in the GaN channel layer (2); and the second portion (42) of the AlGaN barrier layer includes an access region (e.g., extending between the gate region and the drain region) in the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4).
Regarding claim 21, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the p-type dopant in the first portion (41) of the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4) extends (e.g., Mg-doped concentration is gradually reduced from the top ro the bottom of the p-AlGaN layer 4) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) from an interface between the doped GaN gate layer (5) and the AlGaN barrier layer (4) toward the GaN channel layer (2).
Regarding claim 22, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, He discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a passivation layer (9) (He, Fig. 1, p. 5) over the doped GaN gate layer (5) and the AlGaN barrier layer (3/4); and a gate contact (8) over and contacting the doped GaN gate layer (5) and through the passivation layer (9).
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0217884 to Macelwee et al. (hereinafter Macelwee).
With respect to claim 1, Macelwee discloses a semiconductor device (e.g., GaN High Electron Mobility Transistor (HEMT), see the annotated Fig. 1 below) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0002, ¶0007-¶0008, ¶0037-¶0047, ¶0049), comprising:
a channel layer (308, GaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049, ¶0037) over a semiconductor substrate (e.g., a silicon substrate including an epitaxial GaN buffer layer 306);
a barrier layer (310, AlGaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049) over the channel layer (308); and
a gate layer (316, p-GaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049, ¶0039, ¶0037) over the barrier layer (310), the gate layer (316, p-GaN) being doped with a dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)), wherein:
a first region (e.g., a gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer 310) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0039, ¶0049, claim 5) in the barrier layer (310) overlies a channel region in the channel layer (308) and underlies the gate layer (316, p-GaN), the first region having a first concentration of the dopant (e.g., an out-diffused p-dopant content in the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer); and
a second region (e.g., the access regions of the AlGaN barrier layer 310, wherein access regions extending between the gate region and the source region and between the gate region and the drain region) in the barrier layer (310) laterally disposed from the first region (e.g., the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer 310), the second region having a second concentration of the dopant that is less than the first concentration (e.g., an out-diffused p-dopant content in the access regions of the AlGaN barrier layer is less than an out-diffused p-dopant content in the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0039, ¶0049, claim 5).
Regarding claim 3, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0037, ¶0039, ¶0049) is a p-type dopant.
Regarding claim 4, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0037, ¶0039, ¶0049) includes magnesium.
Regarding claim 7, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, wherein: the channel layer (308, GaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0037, ¶0049) includes gallium nitride (GaN); the barrier layer (310, AlGaN) includes aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN); and the gate layer (316, p-GaN) includes magnesium doped gallium nitride (GaN:Mg).
Regarding claim 8, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a passivation layer (320) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0053, ¶0049) over the gate layer (316) and the barrier layer (310); and a gate contact (318) over and contacting the gate layer (316) and through the passivation layer (320).
With respect to claim 18, Macelwee discloses a semiconductor device (e.g., GaN High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMT), see the annotated Fig. 1 above) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0002, ¶0007-¶0008, ¶0037-¶0047, ¶0049, ¶0053), comprising:
a GaN channel layer (308, GaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049, ¶0037) over a semiconductor substrate (e.g., a silicon substrate including an epitaxial GaN buffer layer 306);
an AlGaN barrier layer (310, AlGaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049) over the GaN channel layer (308); and
a doped GaN gate layer (316, p-GaN) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049) on the AlGaN barrier layer (310);
a drain contact (314) contacting the AlGaN barrier layer (310), wherein:
the gate layer (316, p-GaN) being doped with a dopant (e.g., magnesium (Mg)) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049, ¶0037), wherein:
the doped GaN gate layer (316) includes a p-type dopant (magnesium (Mg)) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0049, ¶0039, ¶0037);
a first portion (e.g., a gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer 310) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0039, ¶0049, claim 5) of the AlGaN barrier layer (310) under the doped GaN gate layer (316, p-GaN) includes a first concentration of the p-type dopant (e.g., an out-diffused p-dopant content in the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer); and
a second portion (e.g., the access regions of the AlGaN barrier layer 310, the access regions extending between the gate region and the source region and between the gate region and the drain region) of the AlGaN barrier layer (310) between the doped GaN gate layer (316) and the drain contact (314) includes a second concentration of the p-type dopant that is less than the first concentration (e.g., an out-diffused p-dopant content in the access regions of the AlGaN barrier layer is less than an out-diffused p-dopant content in the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0039, ¶0049, claim 5).
Regarding claim 20, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, wherein: the first portion (e.g., the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer 310) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0039, ¶0049, claim 5) of the AlGaN barrier layer (310) overlies a channel region in the GaN channel layer (308); and the second portion (e.g., the access regions of the AlGaN barrier layer 310) of the AlGaN barrier layer (310) includes an access region (e.g., extending between the gate region and the drain region) in the AlGaN barrier layer (310).
Regarding claim 21, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the p-type dopant in the first portion (e.g., the gate region of the AlGaN barrier layer 310) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0008, ¶0039, ¶0049, claim 5) of the AlGaN barrier layer (310) extends from an interface between the doped GaN gate layer (316) and the AlGaN barrier layer (310) toward the GaN channel layer (308).
Regarding claim 22, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a passivation layer (320) (Macelwee, Fig. 9, ¶0053, ¶0049) over the doped GaN gate layer (316) and the AlGaN barrier layer (310); and a gate contact (318) over and contacting the doped GaN gate layer (316) and through the passivation layer (320).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 113851522 A to He in view of Miyoshi et al. (US Patent No. 8,008,689, hereinafter Miyoshi).
Regarding claim 2, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, He does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is an order of magnitude or more greater than the second concentration.
However, He teaches that p-AlGaN barrier layer (4) including the first region (41) and the second region (42) has the Mg-doping concentration between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 that is greater than 1×1016 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5).
Further, Miyoshi teaches forming a HEMT device (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4) comprising p-type region (5) in the barrier layer (4) immediately under the gate (7) and having an Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 5, lines 9-12), to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that by forming the first region of the barrier layer under the gate having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (as taught by Miyoshi) and the second region of the barrier layer having lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 (e.g., in the Mg-doping concentration range between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 as taught by He), the first concentration would be an order of magnitude or more greater than the second concentration.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of He by forming the first region of the barrier layer immediately under the gate having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 as taught by Miyoshi, wherein the second region of the barrier layer has lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 in the Mg-doping concentration range as taught by He to have the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is an order of magnitude or more greater than the second concentration, in order to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage (Miyoshi, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 19, He discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, He does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is greater than the second concentration by an order of magnitude or more.
However, He teaches that p-AlGaN barrier layer (4) including the first region (41) and the second region (42) has the Mg-doping concentration between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 that is greater than 1×1016 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5).
Further, Miyoshi teaches forming a HEMT device (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4) comprising p-type region (5) in the barrier layer (4) immediately under the gate (7) and having an Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 5, lines 9-12), to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that by forming the first region of the barrier layer under the gate having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (as taught by Miyoshi) and the second region of the barrier layer having lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 (e.g., in the Mg-doping concentration range between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 as taught by He), the first concentration would be greater than the second concentration by an order of magnitude or more.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of He by forming the first region of the barrier layer immediately under the gate having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 as taught by Miyoshi, wherein the second region of the barrier layer has lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 in the Mg-doping concentration range as taught by He to have the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is greater than the second concentration by an order of magnitude or more, in order to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage (Miyoshi, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4).
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217884 to Macelwee in view of He (CN 113851522 A) and Miyoshi (US Patent No. 8,008,689).
Regarding claim 2, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is an order of magnitude or more greater than the second concentration.
However, He teaches that p-AlGaN barrier layer (4) including the first region (41) and the second region (42) has the Mg-doping concentration between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 that is greater than 1×1016 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5).
Further, Miyoshi teaches forming a HEMT device (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4) comprising p-type region (5) in the barrier layer (4) immediately under the gate (7) and having an Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 5, lines 9-12), to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that by forming the first region of the barrier layer under the gate having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (as taught by Miyoshi) and the second region of the barrier layer having lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 (e.g., in the Mg-doping concentration range between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 as taught by He), the first concentration would be an order of magnitude or more greater than the second concentration.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Macelwee by forming the first region of the barrier layer immediately under the gate and having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 as taught by Miyoshi, wherein the second region of the barrier layer has lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 in the Mg-doping concentration range as taught by He to have the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is an order of magnitude or more greater than the second concentration, in order to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage; and having high reliability (Miyoshi, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4; He, Abstract, pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 19, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, Macelwee does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is greater than the second concentration by an order of magnitude or more.
However, He teaches that p-AlGaN barrier layer (4) including the first region (41) and the second region (42) has the Mg-doping concentration between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 that is greater than 1×1016 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5).
Further, Miyoshi teaches forming a HEMT device (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4) comprising p-type region (5) in the barrier layer (4) immediately under the gate (7) and having an Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (Miyoshi, Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Col. 5, lines 9-12), to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage.
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that by forming the first region of the barrier layer under the gate having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 (as taught by Miyoshi) and the second region of the barrier layer having lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 (e.g., in the Mg-doping concentration range between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 as taught by He), the first concentration would be greater than the second concentration by an order of magnitude or more.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Macelwee by forming the first region of the barrier layer immediately under the gate and having higher Mg-doping concentration of about 5×1019 cm-3 as taught by Miyoshi, wherein the second region of the barrier layer has lower Mg-doping concentration of about 1×1017 cm-3 in the Mg-doping concentration range as taught by He to have the semiconductor device, wherein the first concentration is greater than the second concentration by an order of magnitude or more, in order to provide normally-off HEMT having low on-resistance and a high threshold voltage; and having high reliability (Miyoshi, Col. 1, lines 9-11; Col. 2, lines 10-50; Col. 4, lines 22-45; Col. 5, lines 9-12; Col. 6, lines 2-4; He, Abstract, pp. 1-5).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0217884 to Macelwee in view of He (CN 113851522 A).
Regarding claim 5, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee does not specifically disclose that the first concentration is 1×1016 cm-3 or greater.
However, He teaches forming a semiconductor device, wherein an Mg-doped concentration of the p-AlGaN layer (4) including the first region (41) is between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 that is greater than 1×1016 cm-3 (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5). Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range (M.P.E.P. §2131.03).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Macelwee by forming the first region of the barrier layer immediately under the gate and having higher Mg-doping concentration in a range between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 as taught by He to have the semiconductor device, the first concentration is 1×1016 cm-3 or greater, in order to provide enhancement type GaN HEMT having low on-resistance and having high reliability (He, Abstract, pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, Macelwee discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Macelwee does not specifically that the second concentration is 1×1019 cm-3 or less.
However, He teaches forming a semiconductor device, wherein Mg-doped concentration of the p-AlGaN layer (4) including the second region (42) is between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3) (He, Fig. 1, pp. 4-5) that includes a concentration 1×1019 cm-3 or less. Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range (M.P.E.P. §2131.03).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Macelwee by forming the second region of the barrier layer adjacent the first region located immediately under the gate and having higher Mg-doping concentration in a range between 1×1017 cm-3 and 1×1019 cm-3 as taught by He to have the semiconductor device, the second concentration is 1×1019 cm-3 or less, in order to provide enhancement type GaN HEMT having low on-resistance and having high reliability (He, Abstract, pp. 1-5).
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891