DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending:
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11-13, 17-20 are examined on the merits
Claims 5-6, 8, 10, 14-16 are withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A1 (Fig6) and B1 (Fig4) in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 5-6, 8, 10, 14-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/22/2026.
Claims 5, 8, 10, 14-16 are withdrawn by applicant
Claim 6 introduces the same subject matter as introduced by applicant withdrawn claim 16, and therefore Claim 6 is withdrawn under the same basis.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/27/2023, 04/18/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Implied phrases
Claim Interpretation - Language
Claims 2-4, 12-13 are not considered to invoke an issue under 35 USC 112(d), as the claim construction in each of Claim 2/3/4/12/13 has the abnormality detector determining an abnormality based on the respective “when the …” clause which defines an “if yes” claim construction. The abnormality detector determination recited in claim 1 is the “if no” claim construction corresponding to each of Claim 2/3/4/12/13 ‘s “if yes” claim construction.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“temperature detector” first recited in claim 1/11
Corresponding structure
Temperature sensor, for example a thermometer or a thermocouple, as informed by Fig2/4 and Para20/21
Or equivalents
“heat generator” first recited in claim 1/11/9/10
Corresponding structure
Heater(s), as informed by Para11 and Fig1
Or equivalents
“temperature regulator” first recited in claim 1/11
Corresponding structure
Controller 72, as informed by Fig2 and Para20/42
Or equivalents
“measurer” first recited in claim 1/11
Corresponding structure
Ammeter, as informed by Fig4 and Para43
Or equivalents
“abnormality detector” first recited in claim 1/11
Corresponding structure
Controller 74, as informed by Fig2 and Para43-46
Or equivalents
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11
L5 add semicolon at end of line to improve clarity and to have consistent claim construction style
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-3, 7, 9, 11-12, 17-18, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because in Claim 1/9 the claimed invention directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
“A processing apparatus comprising:
a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of a heat generator capable of elevating a temperature of a process chamber by generating a heat;
a temperature regulator configured to adjust a ratio of outputting an electric power capable of being supplied to the heat generator in a unit time such that a difference between a temperature obtained from the temperature detector and a temperature setting value is reduced;
a measurer configured to measure a current flowing through a circuit containing the heat generator; and
an abnormality detector configured to compare a current measurement value measured by the measurer and a theoretical current value calculated based on the ratio of outputting the electric power acquired from the temperature regulator and to determine that there is an abnormality when the current measurement value and the theoretical current value are different.”
Independent Claim 9 recites:
“An abnormality detecting method comprising:
(a) detecting a temperature of a heat generator configured to elevate a temperature of a process chamber by generating a heat;
(b) adjusting a ratio of outputting an electric power capable of being supplied to the heat generator in a unit time such that a difference between the temperature of the heat generator and a temperature setting value is reduced;
(c) measuring a current flowing through a circuit containing the heat generator; and
(d) comparing a current measurement value measured in (c) and a theoretical current value calculated based on the ratio of outputting the electric power in (b) and determining that there is an abnormality when the current measurement value and the theoretical current value are different.”
The underlined portions of the cited claims above are all directed towards abstract ideas that fall within the bucket of a mental process. That is each of the underlined portions can be performed in the human mind as the abstract idea is effectively an exam question for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Sudo/Fake-Indpendent Claim 11 recites:
“A substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a process chamber in which a substrate is processed;
a heat generator configured to elevate a temperature of the process chamber;
a thyristor configured to supply an electric power to the heat generator;
a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of the heat generator
a temperature regulator configured to adjust a ratio of turning on the thyristor such that a difference between a temperature detected from the temperature detector and a temperature setting value is reduced;
a measurer configured to measure a current flowing through a circuit containing the heat generator and the thyristor; and
an abnormality detector of claim 1.”
The underlined portions of the cited claim are all directed towards abstract ideas that fall within the bucket of a mental process. That is each of the underlined portions can be performed in the human mind as the abstract idea is effectively an exam question for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, the claim 11 limitations recited below (including the non-underlined limitations) are notoriously well known in the art as evidenced by Nakano (JP 2000-223427):
“A substrate processing apparatus (best seen Fig33, CVD apparatus, heating unit 5) comprising:
a process chamber (reaction tube 8) in which a substrate is processed (Fig33, wafer 7 in reaction tube 8);
a heat generator (heaters 11/12/13/14) configured to elevate a temperature of the process chamber;
a thyristor (thyristor 19/20/21/22) configured to supply an electric power to the heat generator (SpecQuoteN1; Fig33 arrangement);
a temperature detector (thermocouple 1/2/3/4) configured to detect a temperature of the heat generator (SpecQuoteN2; Fig33 arrangement)
a temperature regulator (temperature controller 25) configured to adjust a ratio of turning on the thyristor such that a difference between a temperature detected from the temperature detector and a temperature setting value is reduced (SpecQuoteN3);
a measurer (current sensors 27/28/29/30, 31/32/33/34) configured to measure a current (current sensors 27/28/29/30, 31/32/33/34) flowing through a circuit (circuit arrangement best seen Fig33) containing the heat generator (Fig33, circuit arrangement with heaters 11/12/13/14) and the thyristor (Fig33, circuit arrangement with thyristor 19/20/21/22); and
…”
SpecQuoteN1 “Power cables 15, 16, 17, and 18 are connected to the heat generating units 11, 12, 13, and 14 from a power input unit 24 via a breaker 23. Each power cable 15, 16, 17, 18 is provided with a thyristor 19, 20, 21, 22 for power control, respectively.”
SpecQuoteN2 “On the outer peripheral side wall of the heating unit 5, a heating unit (heater) for heating each zone by dividing the inside of the heating unit 5 into four zones of a U zone, a CU zone, a CL zone, and an L zone from the top. 11, 12, 13 and 14 are provided, and on the outer peripheral side wall of the heating section 5 opposed to each heating section, a temperature detection thermocouple 1 of a U zone for detecting a temperature of each zone, and a temperature detection thermocouple of a CU zone are provided. A pair 2, a temperature detection thermocouple 3 in the CL zone, and a temperature detection thermocouple 4 in the L zone are provided.”
SpecQuoteN3 “In the above configuration, the temperature controller 25 reads the temperature from the thermocouples 1 to 4, performs a control operation, determines the heater output value, controls the thyristors 19 to 22, and thereby controls the power cables 15 to 18 controls the power supplied to the heaters 11 to 14 in each zone.”
SpecQuoteN4 “The heater disconnection detecting device 35 detects the heater disconnection based on the current values of the current sensors 27, 28, 29, 30.”
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because beyond the abstract idea, the only items are either basic computing parts or are applying the abstract idea within a technological area.
Claim 4 integrates the abstract ideas of Claim 1+2 into a practical application by changing the state of the contactor based on the determination of abnormality detector.
Claims 2-3, 6-7 have been analyzed and present only additional abstract ideas and thus do not cure the deficiencies of the cited claim.
Claim 13 integrates the abstract ideas of Claim 1+11 into a practical application by changing the state of the contactor based on the determination of abnormality detector.
Claim 19 integrates the abstract ideas of Claim 1+11+18 into a practical application by terminating the film-forming step based on the determination of abnormality detector.
Claims 12, 17-18, 20 have been analyzed and present only additional abstract ideas and thus do not cure the deficiencies of the cited claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-13, 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 11
L11 “an abnormality detector of claim 1” renders the claim to be in improper dependent form for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends, as the cited limitation of Claim 11 only includes the limitations of Claim 1 L9-12 directed towards the sub-component of “an abnormality detector configured to [function]” and fails to include the limitations of Claim 1 L1-8 directed towards the overall component of “[a] processing apparatus” that includes multiple sub-components of L1-8 and then the abnormality detector of L9-12.
An amendment to (1) copy-paste the corresponding sub-section of Claim 1 into the instant claim would overcome the instant rejection, or (2) to include all the limitations of claim 1 into the instant claim would overcome the instant rejection
Claims 12-20 are rejected based on dependency
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (JP 2009-070682)
Claim 1
Yamamoto discloses:
“A processing apparatus (Fig1/2, system 1, heater 11) comprising:
a temperature detector (heater 11 temperature sensor; SpecQuote1) configured to detect a temperature (SpecQuote1) of a heat generator (heater 11) capable of elevating a temperature of a process chamber by generating a heat (heaters within industrial heater 11; SpecQuote2);
a temperature regulator (temperature adjustment device 14, temperature control signal output from device 14, power adjustment device13) configured to adjust a ratio of outputting an electric power capable of being supplied to the heat generator in a unit time such that a difference between a temperature obtained from the temperature detector and a temperature setting value is reduced (SpecQuote3);
a measurer (current detector 15) configured to measure a current flowing through a circuit (SpecQuote4) containing the heat generator (best seen Fig1, arrangement of detector 15 with heater 11); and
an abnormality detector (best seen Fig2, heater disconnection detection device 16) configured to compare a current measurement value measured by the measurer (current detector 15 output) and a theoretical current value calculated based on the ratio of outputting the electric power acquired from the temperature regulator (Abstract, SpecQuote5a/b, precalculated current effective values for operation are stored on current effective value storage unit 31) and to determine that there is an abnormality when the current measurement value and the theoretical current value are different (SpecQuote5a/5b/6, determination unit 37 compares current measured by current detector 15 and theoretical / current effective value from storage 31 to output an alarm from warning output control unit 38 when the comparison is different).”
SpecQuote1 “The temperature of the heater 11 is monitored by a temperature sensor,”
SpecQuote2 “The present invention receives, for example, a temperature control signal for setting the temperature of a heater to be controlled used in an industrial furnace heater …”
SpecQuote3 “A power adjustment device 13 that adjusts an effective current value by phase-controlling an alternating current from the alternating current power supply 12 according to a temperature control signal, and adjusts and outputs a heater current based on the adjusted current effective value; The temperature of the heater 11 is monitored by a temperature sensor, and a temperature adjustment device 14 that outputs a temperature control signal and a current detection that detects the heater current to set the temperature of the heater 11 to a target temperature based on the monitoring result.”
SpecQuote4 “the heater current detected by the current detector 15”
SpecQuote5a “The effective current value corresponding to the predetermined control amount calculated by the second current effective value calculating means and the reference current effective value corresponding to each number stored are sequentially stored by the heater disconnection determining means. Since the comparison is made and the number of heater breaks is identified and determined based on the comparison result, the heater break can be reliably identified and determined in units of the number of breaks.”
SpecQuote5b “The second current effective value calculation unit 36 for calculating the effective value, the current effective value equivalent to 100% of the control amount calculated by the second current effective value calculation unit 36, and the reference current stored in the reference current effective value storage unit 31 The effective value is compared, and heater disconnection determination unit 37 that discriminates heater disconnection based on the comparison result, and output control of a warning sound or warning display of heater disconnection generation based on the determination result of heater disconnection determination unit 37 is performed. And a warning output control unit 38.”
SpecQuote6 “The effective value is compared, and heater disconnection determination unit 37 that discriminates heater disconnection based on the comparison result, and output control of a warning sound or warning display of heater disconnection generation based on the determination result of heater disconnection determination unit 37 is performed. And a warning output control unit 38.”
Claim 7
Yamamoto discloses: “The processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the unit time is equal to a time duration of one cycle of a sinusoidal wave of an AC power supply contained in the circuit (best seen Fig3; SpecQuote71).”
SpecQuote71 “As shown in FIG. 3, the phase control unit in the power adjustment device is configured to generate a thyristor in the half cycle section based on the phase control angle θ corresponding to the temperature control signal for each half cycle section of the alternating current from the AC power source. After turning ON, the control amount is adjusted in the range of 0 to 100% corresponding to the phase control angle θ by turning off the thyristor at the zero cross position in the same half cycle section. As a result, the effective current value of the AC current Is adjusted, and the heater current to the heater is adjusted and output based on the adjusted current effective value.”
Claim 9
Yamamoto discloses:
“An abnormality detecting method (Fig1/2, system 1, heater 11) comprising:
(a) detecting a temperature (heater 11 temperature sensor; SpecQuote1) of a heat generator (heater 11) configured to elevate a temperature of a process chamber by generating a heat (heaters within industrial heater 11; SpecQuote2);
(b) adjusting (temperature adjustment device 14, temperature control signal output from device 14, power adjustment device13) a ratio of outputting an electric power capable of being supplied to the heat generator in a unit time such that a difference between the temperature of the heat generator and a temperature setting value is reduced (SpecQuote3);
(c) measuring a current (current detector 15) flowing through a circuit (SpecQuote4) containing the heat generator (best seen Fig1, arrangement of detector 15 with heater 11); and
(d) comparing (best seen Fig2, heater disconnection detection device 16) a current measurement value measured in (c) (current detector 15 output) and a theoretical current value calculated based on the ratio of outputting the electric power in (b) (Abstract, SpecQuote5a/b, precalculated current effective values for operation are stored on current effective value storage unit 31) and determining that there is an abnormality when the current measurement value and the theoretical current value are different (SpecQuote5a/5b/6, determination unit 37 compares current measured by current detector 15 and theoretical / current effective value from storage 31 to output an alarm from warning output control unit 38 when the comparison is different).”
SpecQuote1 “The temperature of the heater 11 is monitored by a temperature sensor,”
SpecQuote2 “The present invention receives, for example, a temperature control signal for setting the temperature of a heater to be controlled used in an industrial furnace heater …”
SpecQuote3 “A power adjustment device 13 that adjusts an effective current value by phase-controlling an alternating current from the alternating current power supply 12 according to a temperature control signal, and adjusts and outputs a heater current based on the adjusted current effective value; The temperature of the heater 11 is monitored by a temperature sensor, and a temperature adjustment device 14 that outputs a temperature control signal and a current detection that detects the heater current to set the temperature of the heater 11 to a target temperature based on the monitoring result.”
SpecQuote4 “the heater current detected by the current detector 15”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (JP 2009-070682) in view of Nakano (JP 2000-223427).
Claim 2
Yamamoto discloses the arrangement of Claim 1. Yamamoto also only discloses the industrial heater of the arrangement generically.
Yamamoto is silent to additional abnormality determination as instantly claimed.
Nakano teaches: “wherein the abnormality detector is further configured to determine that there is the abnormality without comparing the current measurement value and the theoretical current value (recitation setting up alternative determination claim construction) when the current measurement value is equal to or greater than a threshold value (SpecQuoteN21/22; arrangement seen Fig33, current over the proper level results in an “overcurrent”, where the abnormal overcurrent is determined and prevented by the cutting off of breaker 23).”
SpecQuoteN21 “the overcurrent detecting current sensors 31, 32, 33, 34 are connected to the overcurrent preventing device 36, and the overcurrent preventing device is connected. 36 is connected to the breaker 23.”
SpecQuoteN22 “When an overcurrent is detected based on the current values of the current sensors 31, 32, 33, and 34, the overcurrent prevention device 36 generates an interlock signal, cuts off the breaker 23, and cuts off the power input.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a particular industrial heater for the method/arrangement of Yamamoto, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection in order to practice the disclosure of Yamamoto, and Nakano teaches a known in the art industrial wafer heater arrangement that is also concerned with detecting issues/abnormalities of the internal heat generators, and the result of additively combining the arrangements of Yamamoto and Nakano has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the method/arrangement Yamamoto with a working and known in the art industrial wafer heating arrangement as taught by Nakano, with the added advantage of additional electrical current issue/abnormality detection method/components as taught/provided by Nakano, thus resulting in increasing the robustness of the base method/arrangement of Yamamoto.
Claim 4
The combination of Yamamoto and Nakano discloses: “The processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the abnormality detector is connected to a contactor (Nakano: Fig33, breaker 23) contained in the circuit (Nakano: circuit arrangement shown in Fig33), and wherein the abnormality detector is further configured to change the contactor to an open state (SpecQuoteN21/22; arrangement seen Fig33) when it is determined that there is the abnormality without comparing the current measurement value and the theoretical current value (SpecQuoteN21/22; arrangement seen Fig33).”
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (JP 2009-070682) in view of Nakano (JP 2000-223427).
Claim 3
Yamamoto discloses the arrangement of Claim 1. Yamamoto also only discloses the industrial heater of the arrangement generically.
Yamamoto is silent to additional abnormality determination as instantly claimed.
Nakano teaches: “wherein the abnormality detector is further configured to determine that there is the abnormality without calculating the theoretical current value (recitation setting up alternative determination claim construction) when the ratio of outputting the electric power acquired from the temperature regulator is greater than a limit value of an output setting value (SpecQuoteN31/32; arrangement seen Fig33, higher power than allowed results in higher current which results in an “overcurrent”, where the abnormal overcurrent is determined and prevented by the cutting off of breaker 23).”
SpecQuoteN31 “the overcurrent detecting current sensors 31, 32, 33, 34 are connected to the overcurrent preventing device 36, and the overcurrent preventing device is connected. 36 is connected to the breaker 23.”
SpecQuoteN32 “When an overcurrent is detected based on the current values of the current sensors 31, 32, 33, and 34, the overcurrent prevention device 36 generates an interlock signal, cuts off the breaker 23, and cuts off the power input.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a particular industrial heater for the method/arrangement of Yamamoto, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection in order to practice the disclosure of Yamamoto, and Nakano teaches a known in the art industrial wafer heater arrangement that is also concerned with detecting issues/abnormalities of the internal heat generators, and the result of additively combining the arrangements of Yamamoto and Nakano has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the method/arrangement Yamamoto with a working and known in the art industrial wafer heating arrangement as taught by Nakano, with the added advantage of additional electrical current issue/abnormality detection method/components as taught/provided by Nakano, thus resulting in increasing the robustness of the base method/arrangement of Yamamoto.
Claim(s) 11-13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano (JP 2000-223427) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2009-070682).
Claim 11
Nakano discloses:
“A substrate processing apparatus (best seen Fig33, CVD apparatus, heating unit 5) comprising:
a process chamber (reaction tube 8) in which a substrate is processed (Fig33, wafer 7 in reaction tube 8);
a heat generator (heaters 11/12/13/14) configured to elevate a temperature of the process chamber;
a thyristor (thyristor 19/20/21/22) configured to supply an electric power to the heat generator (SpecQuoteN1; Fig33 arrangement);
a temperature detector (thermocouple 1/2/3/4) configured to detect a temperature of the heat generator (SpecQuoteN2; Fig33 arrangement)
a temperature regulator (temperature controller 25) configured to adjust a ratio of turning on the thyristor such that a difference between a temperature detected from the temperature detector and a temperature setting value is reduced (SpecQuoteN3);
a measurer (current sensors 27/28/29/30, 31/32/33/34) configured to measure a current (current sensors 27/28/29/30, 31/32/33/34) flowing through a circuit (circuit arrangement best seen Fig33) containing the heat generator (Fig33, circuit arrangement with heaters 11/12/13/14) and the thyristor (Fig33, circuit arrangement with thyristor 19/20/21/22); and
…”
SpecQuoteN1 “Power cables 15, 16, 17, and 18 are connected to the heat generating units 11, 12, 13, and 14 from a power input unit 24 via a breaker 23. Each power cable 15, 16, 17, 18 is provided with a thyristor 19, 20, 21, 22 for power control, respectively.”
SpecQuoteN2 “On the outer peripheral side wall of the heating unit 5, a heating unit (heater) for heating each zone by dividing the inside of the heating unit 5 into four zones of a U zone, a CU zone, a CL zone, and an L zone from the top. 11, 12, 13 and 14 are provided, and on the outer peripheral side wall of the heating section 5 opposed to each heating section, a temperature detection thermocouple 1 of a U zone for detecting a temperature of each zone, and a temperature detection thermocouple of a CU zone are provided. A pair 2, a temperature detection thermocouple 3 in the CL zone, and a temperature detection thermocouple 4 in the L zone are provided.”
SpecQuoteN3 “In the above configuration, the temperature controller 25 reads the temperature from the thermocouples 1 to 4, performs a control operation, determines the heater output value, controls the thyristors 19 to 22, and thereby controls the power cables 15 to 18 controls the power supplied to the heaters 11 to 14 in each zone.”
SpecQuoteN4 “The heater disconnection detecting device 35 detects the heater disconnection based on the current values of the current sensors 27, 28, 29, 30.”
Nakano further teaches, best seen in Fig33 and SpecQuoteN4, a heater disconnection device 35 that detects a heater 11-14 disconnect based on current sensors 27-30, however Nakano does not teach particular details of the determination in device 35.
Yamamoto teaches:
“A substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a process chamber (implicit internal within industrial heater 11; SpecQuote2) …;
a heat generator (Fig1/2, heater 11) configured to elevate a temperature of the process chamber (heaters within industrial heater 11; SpecQuote2);
a thyristor configured to supply an electric power to the heat generator (power adjustment device 13 including thyristor 13A, SpecQuote111);
a temperature detector (heater 11 temperature sensor; SpecQuote1) configured to detect a temperature of the heat generator (SpecQuote1)
a temperature regulator (temperature adjustment device 14, temperature control signal output from device 14, power adjustment device13) configured to adjust a ratio of turning on the thyristor such that a difference between a temperature detected from the temperature detector and a temperature setting value is reduced (SpecQuote3/111/112);
a measurer (current detector 15) configured to measure a current flowing through a circuit (SpecQuote4) containing the heat generator and the thyristor (best seen Fig1, arrangement of detector 15 with heater 11 and power adjustment device 13); and
an abnormality detector of claim 1 (see claim 1 for additional details and mapping, including SpecQuote#s not repeated here for readability, since Claim 11 is a dependent claim.).”
SpecQuote111 “The power adjustment device 13 includes a thyristor 13A that controls the phase of an alternating current from the alternating current power supply 12, and a phase control unit 13B that controls the drive of the thyristor 13A, and is provided for each half cycle section of the alternating current from the alternating current power supply 12. Based on the phase control angle θ corresponding to the temperature control signal, the thyristor 13A is turned on within the same half-cycle section, and then the thyristor 13B is turned off at the zero cross position in the same half-cycle section. The control amount is adjusted within a range of 0 to 100% corresponding to, and as a result, the effective current value of the alternating current is adjusted, and the heater current to the heater 11 is adjusted and output based on the adjusted effective current value. is there.”
SpecQuote112 “According to the present embodiment, after each thyristor 13A is turned on in the half cycle section based on the phase control angle θ for each half cycle section of the alternating current, the thyristor 13A is turned on at the zero cross position in the half cycle section. Focusing on the principle of thyristor phase control in which the current effective value proportional to the ON duration of the thyristor 13A in the same half-cycle section is obtained when the current effective value of the alternating current is turned off and the heater is normal”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a particular heater disconnection detecting method based on measured current, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection in order to practice the disclosure of Nakano, and Yamamoto teaches a known in the art heater disconnection detecting method for a generic industrial heater, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Nakano with a working and known in the art
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto discloses: “The substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the abnormality detector is further configured to determine that there is the abnormality without calculating the theoretical current value (recitation setting up alternative determination claim construction) when the ratio of turning on the thyristor is greater than a limit value of an output setting value (SpecQuoteN131/132; arrangement seen Fig33, greater use of thyristor than allowed results in higher current than allowed which results in an “overcurrent”, where the abnormal overcurrent is determined and prevented by the cutting off of breaker 23).”
SpecQuoteN131 “the overcurrent detecting current sensors 31, 32, 33, 34 are connected to the overcurrent preventing device 36, and the overcurrent preventing device is connected. 36 is connected to the breaker 23.”
SpecQuoteN132 “When an overcurrent is detected based on the current values of the current sensors 31, 32, 33, and 34, the overcurrent prevention device 36 generates an interlock signal, cuts off the breaker 23, and cuts off the power input.”
Claim 13
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto discloses: “The substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the abnormality detector is connected to a contactor contained in the circuit (Nakano: Fig33, breaker 23), and wherein the abnormality detector is further configured to change the contactor to an open state (SpecQuoteN131/132; arrangement seen Fig33) when it is determined that there is the abnormality without comparing the current measurement value and the theoretical current value (SpecQuoteN131/132; arrangement seen Fig33).”
SpecQuoteN131 “the overcurrent detecting current sensors 31, 32, 33, 34 are connected to the overcurrent preventing device 36, and the overcurrent preventing device is connected. 36 is connected to the breaker 23.”
SpecQuoteN132 “When an overcurrent is detected based on the current values of the current sensors 31, 32, 33, and 34, the overcurrent prevention device 36 generates an interlock signal, cuts off the breaker 23, and cuts off the power input.”
Claim 17
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto discloses: “The substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the ratio of turning on the thyristor is equal to a time duration for the thyristor to be on with respect to one cycle of a sinusoidal wave of an AC power supply contained in the circuit (Yamamoto: SpecQuote71/111/112).”
SpecQuote71 “As shown in FIG. 3, the phase control unit in the power adjustment device is configured to generate a thyristor in the half cycle section based on the phase control angle θ corresponding to the temperature control signal for each half cycle section of the alternating current from the AC power source. After turning ON, the control amount is adjusted in the range of 0 to 100% corresponding to the phase control angle θ by turning off the thyristor at the zero cross position in the same half cycle section. As a result, the effective current value of the AC current Is adjusted, and the heater current to the heater is adjusted and output based on the adjusted current effective value.”
Claim 18
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto discloses: “The substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, further comprising a controller (Nakano: Fig33, host controller 26 is overall controller) configured to perform a process recipe containing a film-forming step (conventional CVD arrangement of Fig33 is configured to preform a film-forming step), wherein the controller causes the abnormality detector to perform an abnormality detection of determining that there is the abnormality when the current measurement value is different from the theoretical current value (limitation is within the scope of the modification discussed in Claim 11) … in the film-forming step.”
SpecQuoteN181, corresponding to Para2/3:
[0002]“For example, in a CVD apparatus, a substrate such as a silicon wafer is accommodated in a reaction chamber, which is a heating furnace, and a reaction gas is supplied while controlling the temperature of the reaction chamber at a predetermined temperature. Semiconductor manufacturing for forming a thin film is performed. In such semiconductor manufacturing, the temperature conditions in the heating furnace are extremely important, and the accuracy of this temperature control greatly affects the substrate quality.[0003] In order to maintain the accuracy of temperature control, it is necessary that breakage of the heater coil, short circuit, and failure of the temperature sensor and the like do not occur. The heating temperature at the time of manufacturing a semiconductor generally ranges from 500 ° C. to 1300 ° C., and the heater is usually operated continuously regardless of day and night. Therefore, the life of the heater is as short as one or two years. More than 10 years ago, a heater such as a silicon wafer was housed in a heating furnace, and a heating gas was supplied to the heating furnace while heating the inside of the heating furnace to a predetermined temperature to form a thin film on the substrate. In the case where the heater coil has reached the end of its service life and the heater coil is disconnected, 100 or more silicon wafers are wasted and a great loss may occur. In order to prevent this, in recent years, a dedicated heater disconnection detection device and a dedicated overcurrent prevention function device have been attached. FIG. 33 is an overall configuration diagram showing such a conventional CVD apparatus.”
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto does not explicitly disclose that the abnormality detection/determination occurs in/with the film-forming step.
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto teaches (SpecQuoteN181) that breakage/failure in the heaters during the film-forming results in decreased accuracy which “greatly affects the substrate quality” and that it is desirable that breakage/failure of the heaters “do not occur”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto to explicitly have the abnormality detection/determination process occur during the film-forming step, as the modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto teaches that breakage/failure in the heaters during the film-forming results in decreased accuracy which “greatly affects the substrate quality” and that it is desirable that breakage/failure of the heaters “do not occur”, and the resulting arrangement/process has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto with improved abnormality detection/determination which will better maintain system accuracy and substrate quality, as taught by the modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto.
Claim 19
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto as applied in Claim 18 discloses: “The substrate processing apparatus of claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to abnormally terminate the film-forming step when the current measurement value is different from the theoretical current value (SpecQuoteN191/192; arrangement seen Fig33, breaker 23 kill power when overcurrent occurs).”
SpecQuoteN191 “the overcurrent detecting current sensors 31, 32, 33, 34 are connected to the overcurrent preventing device 36, and the overcurrent preventing device is connected. 36 is connected to the breaker 23.”
SpecQuoteN192 “When an overcurrent is detected based on the current values of the current sensors 31, 32, 33, and 34, the overcurrent prevention device 36 generates an interlock signal, cuts off the breaker 23, and cuts off the power input.”
Claim 20
The modified arrangement of Nakano by the teachings of Yamamoto as applied in Claim 18 discloses: “The substrate processing apparatus of claim 18, wherein the controller further causes the abnormality detector to perform the abnormality detection every time when one cycle of a sinusoidal wave of an AC power supply contained in the circuit elapses (Yamamoto: best seen Fig3; SpecQuote201).”
SpecQuote201 “As shown in FIG. 3, the phase control unit in the power adjustment device is configured to generate a thyristor in the half cycle section based on the phase control angle θ corresponding to the temperature control signal for each half cycle section of the alternating current from the AC power source. After turning ON, the control amount is adjusted in the range of 0 to 100% corresponding to the phase control angle θ by turning off the thyristor at the zero cross position in the same half cycle section. As a result, the effective current value of the AC current Is adjusted, and the heater current to the heater is adjusted and output based on the adjusted current effective value.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
WO 2011/077702 to Shibagaki: best seen Fig3, ammeter 47 feeds temperature controller 43 which controls thyristor 48
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761