CTNF 18/360,341 CTNF 78519 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0015119 A1 to Takahashi et al . Takahashi et al. clearly teaches a Piezoelectric Vibrating Piece, Method for Fabricating Piezoelectric Vibrating Piece, Piezoelectric Device, and Method for Fabricating Piezoelectric Device, comprising: a vibrator section (131) that has a first principal surface, a second principal surface that is opposite from the first principal surface, a first side surface that couples the first principal surface and the second principal surface to each other, and a second side surface that extends in a direction that intersects with a direction in which the first side surface extends (see Figures 1A and 1B); a support section (132) that is disposed at a distance from the vibrator section and has a first support side surface facing the first side surface of the vibrator section and a second support side surface extending in a direction that intersects with a direction in which the first support side surface extends (see Figures 1A and 1B); and a linkage section (133) that has a first linkage surface coupled to the first side surface and the first support side surface and a second linkage surface coupled to the second side surface and the second support side surface (see Figures 1A and 1B), wherein the first linkage surface has a configuration in which at least one of a first section coupled to the first side surface and a second section coupled to the first support side surface has a curved surface (133e, 133d; see Figure 1A). With regards to claim 2, Takahashi et al. discloses: the first linkage surface having a configuration in which both of the first section and the second section have a curved surface (see Figures 1A and 2). With regards to claim 3, Takahashi et al. discloses: the first linkage surface having a configuration in which the second section has a curved surface, and is coupled to the first side surface at a predetermined angle (see Figure 1A and 2). With regards to claim 4, Takahashi et al. discloses: the first section of the first linkage surface being so shaped that part of the vibrator section cut off (see Figure 1A). With regards to claim 5, Takahashi et al. discloses: the second section of the first linkage surface is so shaped that part of the support section cut off (see Figure 1A). With regards to claim 6, Takahashi et al. discloses: a base (120) on which the vibrator element is mounted (see Figure 5); and a container (110) that houses the vibrator element (see Figure 5), wherein the support section of the vibrator element is joined to the base via a joining material. With regards to claim 8, Takahashi et al. discloses the steps of: preparing a substrate; forming a protective film that constitutes an outer shape pattern at the substrate; and etching the substrate by using the protective film as a mask to form a vibrator element having an outer shape corresponding to the outer shape pattern, wherein the vibrator element is as described in paragraph 4 above . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0015119 A1 to Takahashi et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0381143 A1 to Matsuo . Takahashi et al. clearly teaches a Piezoelectric Vibrating Piece, Method for Fabricating Piezoelectric Vibrating Piece, Piezoelectric Device, and Method for Fabricating Piezoelectric Device as described in paragraph 4 above. However, it fails to disclose the joining material includes a first electrically conductive adhesive that electrically couples a first excitation electrode provided at the first principal surface to the base, and a second electrically conductive adhesive that electrically couples a second excitation electrode provided at the second principal surface to the base. Matsuo discloses a Resonator Element, Method for Manufacturing Resonator Element, Resonator, Giro Sensor, Electronic Apparatus, and Moving Object, comprising: a joining material that includes a first electrically conductive adhesive (11, 13) that electrically couples a first excitation electrode provided at the first principal surface to a base, and a second electrically conductive adhesive (11, 13) that electrically couples a second excitation electrode provided at the second principal surface to the base (see paragraphs [0095], [0097], [0098], [0155], and [0163]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the electrically conductive adhesive disclosed by Matsuo on the packaging of the Piezoelectric Vibrating Piece, Method for Fabricating Piezoelectric Vibrating Piece, Piezoelectric Device, and Method for Fabricating Piezoelectric Device disclosed by Takahashi et al., for the purpose of bonding and electrically connecting the terminals. With regards to claim 9, Matsuo discloses: dry etching (see Abstract; paragraphs [0009], [0029], [0031], [0032], [0063], [0104], [0107], [0110], and [0114]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PEDRO J CUEVAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2021. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PEDRO J CUEVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 May 21, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/360,341 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/360,341 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/360,341 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/360,341 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/360,341 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834