DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a transmission means formed on a first connection means associated with the first semiconductor die, the ramp means and second connection means associated with the second semiconductor die, wherein the transmission means electrically connects the first and second connection means" in claim 14. The Examiner interprets that “formed on a first connection means” recites sufficient structure to preclude the limitation from being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The other uses of the term “means” in claim 14, such as with “ramp means”, “first connection means”, and “second connection means” are not modified by functional language and thus fail the second prong of the 3-prong analysis under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and also will not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 11-15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2021/0217701 and Huang hereinafter).
As to claims 1, 2, 5: Huang discloses [claim 1] a stack of semiconductor dies (Figs. 1 and 4C; 110, 120, and 130; [0024] and [0028]) for a semiconductor package (100; [0024]), comprising: a first semiconductor die (110; [0024] and [0028]); a second semiconductor die (120; [0024] and [0028]) stacked on top of the first semiconductor die (110), the first semiconductor die (100) and the second semiconductor die (120) defining a step corner (C1; [0035]) between a surface (110a; [0035]) of the first semiconductor die (110) and a sidewall (120s; [0035]) of the second semiconductor die (120); a step ramp (160; [0024]) formed in the step corner (C1); and a transmission line (210/411 and 412; [0024] and [0051]) formed on a first bond pad (111; [0025]) associated with the first semiconductor die (110), the step ramp (160) and a second bond pad (121; [0026]) associated with the second semiconductor die (120), wherein the transmission line (210/411 and 412) electrically connects ([0029]) the first (111) and second (121) bond pads; [claim 2] wherein the step ramp (160) is formed from a polymer (polyimide; [0039]); [claim 5] further comprising a metal coating (413; [0051]-[0052]) provided over the transmission line (210/411 and 412), the first bond pad (111) and the second bond pad (121); [claim 6] wherein the metal coating (413) is copper (the conductive layer 210 can be copper and the seed layer 412 of transmission layer can be copper and 413 is referred to as a conductive layer, which Examiner interprets that 413 can be copper as well from the list of conductive layers of [0031]; [0031] and [0052]).
As to claims 8 and 11-13: Huang discloses [claim 8] a method for assembling a stack of semiconductor dies (110, 120, and 130; [0058]) for a semiconductor package (Figs. 6A-6L), comprising: stacking a second semiconductor die (Fig. 6A; 120; [0058]) on a first semiconductor die (110) to form the stack of semiconductor dies, the first semiconductor die (110) and the second semiconductor die (120) defining a step corner (Fig. 1; C1; [0035]) between a surface (110a; [0035]) of the first semiconductor die (110) and a sidewall (120s; [0035]) of the second semiconductor die (120); forming a step ramp (Fig 6D; 160; [0061]) in the step corner (C1); and forming a transmission line (Fig. 6E; 520; [0062]) over a first bond pad (111; [0058] and [0062]) associated with the first semiconductor die (110), the step ramp (160) and a second bond pad (121; [0058] and [0062]) associated with the second semiconductor die (120), wherein the transmission line (520) electrically connects ([0029]) the first (111) and second (121) bond pads; [claim 11] further comprising forming a metal coating (Fig. 6I; 540; [0066]) over at least a portion of the transmission line (520), the first bond pad (111) and the second bond pad (121); [claim 12] wherein the metal coating (540) is copper (the conductive layer 210 can be copper and the seed layer 520 of transmission layer can be copper and 540 is referred to as a conductive layer, which Examiner interprets that 540 can be copper as well from the list of conductive layers of [0031]; [0031] and [0066]); [claim 13] wherein the step ramp (160) is formed from a polymer (polyimide; [0039]).
As to claims 14, 15, 18, and 19: Huang discloses [claim 14] a stack of semiconductor dies (Figs. 1 and 4C; 110, 120, and 130; [0024]) for a semiconductor package (100; [0024]), comprising: a first semiconductor die (110; [0024]); a second semiconductor die (120; [0024]) stacked on top of the first semiconductor die (110), the first semiconductor die (110) and the second semiconductor die (120) defining a step corner (C1; [0035]) between a surface (110a; [0035]) of the first semiconductor die (110) and a sidewall (120s; [0035]) of the second semiconductor die (120); a ramp means (160; [0036]) formed in the step corner (C1); and a transmission means (210/411 and 412; [0029] and [0052]) formed on a first connection means (111; [0025]) associated with the first semiconductor die (110), the ramp means (160) and a second connection means (121) associated with the second semiconductor die (120), wherein the transmission means (210/411 and 412) electrically connects ([0029]) the first (111) and second (121) connection means of the first (110) and second (120) semiconductor dies; [claim 15] wherein the ramp means (160) is formed from a polymer (polyimide; [0039]); [claim 18] further comprising a coating means (413; [0052]) provided over the transmission means (411 and 412), the first connection means (111) and the second connection means (121); [claim 19] wherein the coating means (413) is comprised of copper (the conductive layer 210 can be copper and the seed layer 412 of transmission layer can be copper and 413 is referred to as a conductive layer, which Examiner interprets that 413 can be copper as well from the list of conductive layers of [0031]; [0031] and [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Cho et al (US 2004/0155322 and Cho hereinafter).
As to claims 3 and 4: Although the structure disclosed by Huang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 8 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
[claim 3] wherein the step ramp forms an approximate forty-five degree angle between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die; [claim 4] wherein the step ramp forms less than a forty-five degree angle between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die.
Huang discloses the step ramp 160 but fails to expressly disclose the angle of the incline of the step ramp 160 that is used to aid in forming the transmission line 210/411 and 412.
Cho discloses in Fig. 1 a die 10 with a step ramp 40 adjacent the sidewall 16 of the die 10 that aids in forming the transmission line 50 from the bonding pad 12 of the die 10 to a lower semiconductor structure, see [0033]-[0039].
Cho discloses [claim 3] wherein the step ramp (Fig. 1; 40; [0038]) forms an approximate forty-five degree angle (angle of the incline can be between 30 and 75 degrees; [0039]) between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die (10; [0038]); [claim 4] wherein the step ramp (40) forms less than a forty-five degree angle (angle of the incline can be between 30 and 75 degrees; [0039]) between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die (10).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had it within their ordinary capabilities to choose the angle of the incline of the step ramp 160 of Huang using the angle of incline teaching of Cho to arrive at an angle of either 45 degrees or less than 45 degrees as the angle of incline of Cho overlaps with the claimed ranges in order to provide step ramp that allows for improved attachment and prevent shorts of the transmission line 210/411 and 412 of Huang (and 50 of Cho), see [0039]. Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
As to claims 16 and 17: Although the structure disclosed by Huang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 10 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
[claim 16] wherein the ramp means forms an approximate forty-five degree angle between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die; [claim 17] wherein the ramp means forms less than a forty-five degree angle between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die.
Huang discloses the step ramp 160 but fails to expressly disclose the angle of the incline of the step ramp 160 that is used to aid in forming the transmission line 210/411 and 412.
Cho discloses in Fig. 1 a die 10 with a step ramp 40 adjacent the sidewall 16 of the die 10 that aids in forming the transmission line 50 from the bonding pad 12 of the die 10 to a lower semiconductor structure, see [0033]-[0039].
Cho discloses [claim 16] wherein the ramp means (Fig. 1; 40; [0038]) forms an approximate forty-five degree angle (angle of the incline can be between 30 and 75 degrees; [0039]) between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die (10; [0038]); [claim 17] wherein the ramp means (40) forms less than a forty-five degree angle (angle of the incline can be between 30 and 75 degrees; [0039]) between the surface of the first semiconductor die and the sidewall of the second semiconductor die (10).
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had it within their ordinary capabilities to choose the angle of the incline of the step ramp 160 of Huang using the angle of incline teaching of Cho to arrive at an angle of either 45 degrees or less than 45 degrees as the angle of incline of Cho overlaps with the claimed ranges in order to provide step ramp that allows for improved attachment and prevent shorts of the transmission line 210/411 and 412 of Huang (and 50 of Cho), see [0039]. Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Weiss et al (US 2021/0104464 and Weiss hereinafter).
As to claim 7: Although the structure disclosed by Huang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 8 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
wherein the first semiconductor die is associated with a plurality of bond pads and wherein each of the plurality of bond pads have a pitch of approximately thirty micrometers (µm).
Huang discloses semiconductor dies that can be used in different applications.
Weiss discloses that semiconductor dies can have high density interconnect (HDI) regions that comprise a plurality of bond pads where the bond pads can have a pitch between 10 and 100 microns, see [0050].
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had it within their ordinary capabilities to choose the pitch between a plurality of bond pads to be 30 microns as the range of Weiss discloses a range for the pitch that overlaps with the claimed value in order to provide improved and fast communication between chips and external devices by decreasing the pitch size and increasing the number of bond pads, see [0002]. Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
As to claim 20: Although the structure disclosed by Huang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 10 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
wherein the first semiconductor die is associated with a plurality of connection means and wherein each of the plurality of connection means have a pitch of approximately thirty micrometers (µm).
Huang discloses semiconductor dies that can be used in different applications.
Weiss discloses that semiconductor dies can have high density interconnect (HDI) regions that comprise a plurality of bond pads where the bond pads can have a pitch between 10 and 100 microns, see [0050].
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had it within their ordinary capabilities to choose the pitch between a plurality of bond pads to be 30 microns as the range of Weiss discloses a range for the pitch that overlaps with the claimed value in order to provide improved and fast communication between chips and external devices by decreasing the pitch size and increasing the number of bond pads, see [0002]. Further, as stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Yamagishi (JP 3754171 and Yamagishi hereinafter; a machine translation is used as an English language equivalent).
As to claims 9 and 10: Although the method disclosed by Huang shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 9 above), it fails to expressly disclose:
[claim 9] further comprising providing a photoresist layer over the step ramp, the first bond pad and the second bond pad prior to forming the transmission line; [claim 10] further comprising preparing the first bond pad and the second bond pad for the transmission line using a laser lithography process based, at least in part, on providing the photoresist layer over the first bond pad and the second bond pad.
Huang discloses in Fig. 6C that before the transmission line 520 is formed, a photomask is used to etch the step ramp (polyimide) material 510.
Yamagishi discloses in Figs. 3(a)-3(c) that a polyimide layer 47a formed over a conductive pad 42a can be patterned to expose the conductive pad 42a using a photoresist layer 49 over the polyimide layer 47a then using a laser (and thus a laser lithography process as a photoresist and laser are used) to expose the conductive pad 42a to allow a conductive line 51b be formed thereon, see [0037]-[0040].
Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have had it within their ordinary capabilities to use the method of patterning a polyimide film over a conductive pad to expose the conductive pad to allow for a connection to be made thereto using a laser lithography process and a photoresist as done in Yamagishi to pattern the polyimide step ramp material 510 of Huang as the process was well known in the art and applied to the same material in a similar structure and would have yielded the predictable results of selectively patterning the polyimide film to allow for further electrical connections to be made.
Conclusion
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
12/30/2025