DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A Claims 1,2, 4-12, 14-19, and 21-25 in the reply filed on 02/27/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 14, 19, 21-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Suraj Prakash et al. ( US 2023/0223362 A1; hereinafter Suraj Prakash )
Regarding claim 1, Suraj Prakash teaches a package (Fig. 1: package 100 ) comprising: an integrated device ( Fig. 1: integrated device 105 ); and a substrate ( Fig. 1: substrate 102 ) coupled to the integrated device through at least a plurality of solder interconnects ( [0023] The integrated device 105 is coupled to a first surface (e.g., top surface) of the substrate 102 through a plurality of solder interconnects 150 ), wherein the substrate ( Fig. 1 #102 ) comprises: at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1: coupling element 104 ); at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: dielectric layer 120 ); and a plurality of interconnects ( Fig. 1: a plurality of solder interconnects 122 ), wherein the plurality of interconnects comprise: a first set of interconnects that are configured to operate as a first inductor ( Fig. 1: first inductor 140 ); and a second set of interconnects that are configured to operate as a second inductor ( Fig. 1: second inductor 142 ), wherein the second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ) and the first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ) are configured to operate as inductively coupled inductors ( [0024] The coupling element 104 may be an inductive coupling element (e.g., means for inductive coupling). The coupling element 104 may include a first inductor 140 and a second inductor 142 ).
Regarding claim 2, Suraj Prakash teaches the package of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein the first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ) is configured to induce a current ( [0106] An object A, that is coupled to an object B, may be coupled to at least part of object B. The term “electrically coupled” may mean that two objects are directly or indirectly coupled together such that an electrical current (e.g., signal, power, ground) may travel between the two objects ) in the second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ).
Regarding claim 9, Suraj Prakash teaches the package of claim 1 ( as discussed above ), further comprising a core layer ( [0069] In some implementations, a cored substrate is provided (e.g., substrate that includes a core layer )), wherein the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 coupling element 104 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 first inductor 140 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 second inductor 142 ), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120) includes a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer ( [0024] The substrate 102 includes at least one dielectric layer 120 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #140 ) is coupled to a first surface of the core layer ( [0021] a first integrated device coupled to a first surface of the substrate ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #142 ) is coupled to a second surface of the core layer ( [0021] a second integrated device coupled to a second surface of the substrate ), wherein the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120 ) is coupled to the first surface of the core layer ( [0075] The substrate 102 includes a coupling element 104a, a coupling element 104b and a coupling element 104c ), and wherein the second dielectric layer ( [0088] The at least one dielectric layer 120 may represent the dielectric layer 1120 and/or the dielectric layer 1122 ) is coupled to the second surface of the core layer ( Fig. 1 #104b ).
Regarding claim 10, Suraj Prakash teaches the package of claim 1 ( as discussed above ), wherein the integrated device ( Fig. 1 #105, #107, #205a ) includes a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) ( [0063] An integrated device (e.g., 105, 107, 205a) may include a die (e.g., semiconductor bare die). The integrated device may include a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) ).
Regarding claim 11, Suraj Prakash teaches a substrate ( Fig. 1 #102 ) comprising: at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #104 ); at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120 ); and a plurality of interconnects ( Fig. 1: a plurality of interconnects #122 ), wherein the plurality of interconnects comprise: a first set of interconnects that are configured to operate as a first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ); and a second set of interconnects that are configured to operate as a second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ), wherein the second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ) and the first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ) are configured to operate as inductively coupled inductors ( [0021] The first integrated device is configured to be coupled (e.g., electrically coupled ) to the first inductor. The second integrated device is configured to be coupled (e.g., electrically coupled ) to the second inductor ).
Regarding claim 12, Suraj Prakash teaches the substrate of claim 11 ( as discussed above ), wherein the first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ) is configured to induce a current ( [0106] The term “electrically coupled” may mean that two objects are directly or indirectly coupled together such that an electrical current (e.g., signal, power, ground) may travel between the two objects ) in the second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ).
Regarding claim 14, Suraj Prakash the substrate of claim 11 ( as discussed above), the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #104 ) surrounds at least part of the first set of interconnects ( Fig. 1 #122 ) that define the first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ) and the second set of interconnects that define the second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ).
Regarding claim 19, Suraj Prakash teaches the substrate of claim 11 ( as discussed above ), further comprising a core layer ( [0069] In some implementations, a cored substrate is provided (e.g., substrate that includes a core layer )) , wherein the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 coupling element 104 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 first inductor 140 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 second inductor 142 ), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120 ) includes a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer ( [0024] The substrate 102 includes at least one dielectric layer 120 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #140 ) is coupled to a first surface of the core layer ( [0021] a first integrated device coupled to a first surface of the substrate ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #142 ) is coupled to a second surface of the core layer ( [0021] a second integrated device coupled to a second surface of the substrate ), wherein the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120 ) is coupled to the first surface of the core layer ( [0075] The substrate 102 includes a coupling element 104a, a coupling element 104b and a coupling element 104c ), and wherein the second dielectric layer ( [0088] The at least one dielectric layer 120 may represent the dielectric layer 1120 and/or the dielectric layer 1122 ) is coupled to the second surface of the core layer ( Fig. 1 #104b ).
Regarding claim 21, Suraj Prakash teaches a method for fabricating a substrate ( [0075] The method provides (at 1005) a substrate (e.g., 102) ), comprising: providing at least one magnetic layer ( [0075] The substrate 102 includes a coupling element 104a, a coupling element 104b and a coupling element 104c. Each of the coupling element may include a first inductor and a second inductor ); providing at least one dielectric layer ( [0075] The substrate 102 includes at least one dielectric layer 120 ); and forming a plurality of interconnects ( [0075] a plurality of interconnects 122 ), wherein the plurality of interconnects comprise: a first set of interconnects that are configured to operate as a first inductor ( [0101] Forming the interconnects of the substrate includes forming a plurality of interconnects 122. Some of the interconnects from the plurality of interconnects 122 may define inductors (e.g., 140, 142, 640, 642); the first inductor is 140 ); and a second set of interconnects that are configured to operate as a second inductor ( as discussed above; the second inductor is 142 ), wherein the second inductor and the first inductor are configured to operate as inductively coupled inductors ( [0030] Each coupling element ( e.g., 104a, 104b, 104c ) may include a respective first inductor ( e.g., 140a, 140b, 140c ) and a respective second inductor ( e.g., 142a, 142b, 142c ), as described for the coupling element 104 ).
Regarding claim 22, Suraj Prakash the substrate of claim 21 ( as discussed above), the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #104 ) surrounds at least part of the first set of interconnects ( Fig. 1 #122 ) that define the first inductor ( Fig. 1 #140 ) and the second set of interconnects that define the second inductor ( Fig. 1 #142 ).
Regarding claim 25, Suraj Prakash teaches the method of claim 21 ( as discussed above ), further comprising a core layer ( [0069] In some implementations, a cored substrate is provided (e.g., substrate that includes a core layer )), wherein the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 coupling element 104 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 first inductor 140 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 second inductor 142 ), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120) includes a first dielectric layer and a second dielectric layer ( [0024] The substrate 102 includes at least one dielectric layer 120 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #140 ) is coupled to a first surface of the core layer ( [0021] a first integrated device coupled to a first surface of the substrate ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #142 ) is coupled to a second surface of the core layer ( [0021] a second integrated device coupled to a second surface of the substrate ), wherein the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #120 ) is coupled to the first surface of the core layer ( [0075] The substrate 102 includes a coupling element 104a, a coupling element 104b and a coupling element 104c ), and wherein the second dielectric layer ( [0088] The at least one dielectric layer 120 may represent the dielectric layer 1120 and/or the dielectric layer 1122 ) is coupled to the second surface of the core layer ( Fig. 1 #104b ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suraj Prakash et al.; US 2023/0223362 A1; 01/2022 in view of Weis; US 11,398,334 B2; 07/2018
Claim 4: Suraj Prakash discloses the package of claim 1 ( as discussed above).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer surrounds at least part of the first set of interconnects that define the first inductor and the second set of interconnects that define the second inductor.
However, Weis teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1: a closed magnetic core 114 ) surrounds at least part of the first set of interconnects ( Fig. 1: coil structure 110 ) that define the first inductor ( Fig. 1: top conductive element 116 ) and the second set of interconnects that define the second inductor ( Fig. 1: bottom conductive element 116 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Weis with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer surrounds at least part of the first set of interconnects that define the first inductor and the second set of interconnects that define the second inductor because this would increase inductance and energy storage density while simultaneously reducing the physical size of the components and minimizing electromagnetic interference.
Claim 5: Suraj Prakash discloses the package of claim 1( as discussed above).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer.
However, Weis teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #114 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1: #114 ), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: dielectric matrix 118 ) includes a first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: middle layer 118 ), a second dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: top layer 118 ) and a third dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: bottom layer 118 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #114 ) is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer ( as shown in Fig. 1 ), wherein the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 top layer 118 ) is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 top surface of middle layer of 118 ), and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled ( Fig. 1 bottom layer 118 ) to a second surface of the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 bottom surface of 118 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Weis with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer because this creates an insulated, high-permeability magnetic core to maximize inductance.
Claim 6: Suraj Prakash discloses the package of claim 1 ( as discussed above )
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer, and wherein the third magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer.
However, Weis teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #114 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #114 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1: top layer #124 ), and a third magnetic layer ( Fig. 1: bottom layer #124 ), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 #118 ) includes a first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: middle layer #118 ), a second dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: top layer #118 ) and a third dielectric layer ( Fig. 1: bottom layer #118 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #114 ) is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer ( as shown in Fig. 1 ), wherein the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 top layer #118 ) is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 top surface of middle layer #118 ), wherein the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 bottom layer #118 ) is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 bottom surface of middle layer #118 ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 top layer #124 ) is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 top layer 118 ), and wherein the third magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 bottom layer #124 ) is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 1 bottom layer #118 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Weis with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer, and wherein the third magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer because this manages the magnetic coupling, enhances stability, and controls magnetization switching.
Claim 7: Suraj Prakash and Weis disclose the package of claim 6 ( as discussed above ).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and the third magnetic layer have a same magnetic property.
However, Weis teaches the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 #114 ), the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 top magnetic layer #124 ) and the third magnetic layer ( Fig. 1 bottom magnetic layer #124 ) have a same magnetic property ( Col. 4 lines 12-13 In an embodiment, the magnetic core comprises a ferrite material ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Weis with Suraj Prakash to implement the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and the third magnetic layer have a same magnetic property because this would enhance the stability of the free layer against thermal fluctuations and increase the reading/writing efficiency.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suraj Prakash et al.; US 2023/0223362 A1; 01/2022 in view of Weis; US 11,398,334 B2; 07/2018 and further in view of Liu et al.; US 2023/0307355 A1; 03/2022
Claim 8: Suraj Prakash and Weis disclose the package of claim 6 ( as discussed above).
Neither Suraj Prakash nor Weis appear to disclose one or more magnetic layers from the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and/or the third magnetic layer have a different magnetic property.
However, Liu teaches one or more magnetic layers ( Fig. 10F magnetic layer 240a, 240b, and 240c ) from the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and/or the third magnetic layer have a different magnetic property ( [0079] The magnetic layer 240a, the magnetic layer 240b and/or the magnetic layer 240c may be the same magnetic layer (e.g., include the same magnetic material) or may be magnetic layers with different properties (e.g., different permeability values ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Liu with Suraj Prakash and Weis to implement one or more magnetic layers from the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and/or the third magnetic layer have a different magnetic property because this would create functional spintronic structures.
Claim 18: Suraj Prakash and Kidwell, Jr. disclose the substrate of claim 16 ( as discussed above).
Neither Suraj Prakash nor Kidwell, Jr. appear to disclose one or more magnetic layers from the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and/or the third magnetic layer have a different magnetic property.
However, Liu teaches one or more magnetic layers ( Fig. 10F magnetic layer 240a, 240b, and 240c ) from the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and/or the third magnetic layer have a different magnetic property ( [0079] The magnetic layer 240a, the magnetic layer 240b and/or the magnetic layer 240c may be the same magnetic layer (e.g., include the same magnetic material) or may be magnetic layers with different properties (e.g., different permeability values ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Liu with Suraj Prakash and Kidwell, Jr. to implement one or more magnetic layers from the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and/or the third magnetic layer have a different magnetic property because this will enable spin-dependent functionalities.
Claims 15-17 and 23-24 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suraj Prakash et al.; US 2023/0223362 A1; 01/2022 in view of Kidwell, Jr. et al.; US 2019/0164681 A1; 11/2017
Claim 15: Suraj Prakash discloses the substrate of claim 11 ( as discussed above ).
Surak Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer.
However, Kidwell, Jr. teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 magnetic layers 320, 322,324, and 326 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5: first magnetic layer 320 ), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 360, 562, 564, 566, and 568 ) includes a first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5: first dielectric layer 360 ), a second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5: second dielectric layer 562 ) and a third dielectric layer (Fig. 5: third dielectric layer 566 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ) is located at least partially ( as shown in Fig. 5 ) in the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer ( bottom surface of Fig. 5 #360 ), and wherein the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ) is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer ( top surface of Fig. 5 #360 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Kidwell, Jr. with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer because this design forms an integrated magnetic component.
Claim 16: Suraj Prakash discloses the substrate of claim 11 ( as discussed above ).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer, and wherein the third magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer.
However, Kidwell, Jr. teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 5: 320, 322, and 324 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324), and a third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 5: 360, 562, 564, and 566) includes a first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ), a second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) and a third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ) is located at least partially ( as shown in Fig. 5 ) in the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), wherein the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer ( top of Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ) is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer ( bottom of Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324 ) is coupled ( as shown in Fig. 5 #324 is coupled to #562 ) to a surface of the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) , and wherein the third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326 ) is coupled ( as shown in Fig. 5 #326 is coupled to #566 ) to a surface of the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Kidwell, Jr. with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer, and wherein the third magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer because this creates high-performance integrated magnetic components.
Claim 17: Suraj Prakash and Kidwell, Jr. discloses the substrate of claim 16 ( as discussed above ).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and the third magnetic layer have the same magnetic property.
However, Kidwell, Jr. teaches the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324 ) and the third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326 ) have the same magnetic property ( [0038] Each one or more of the first magnetic layer 320, the second magnetic layer 322, the third magnetic layer 324 and the fourth magnetic layer 326 may be comprised of the same material or of different material ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Kidwell, Jr. with Suraj Prakash to implement the first magnetic layer, the second magnetic layer and the third magnetic layer have the same magnetic property because this establishes uniform, robust ferromagnetic ordering throughout a stacked structure.
Claim 23: Suraj Prakash discloses the method of claim 21 ( as discussed above ).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer.
However, Kidwell, Jr. teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 5: 320, 322, and 324 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324), and a third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 5: 360, 562, 564, and 566) includes a first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ), a second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) and a third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ) is located at least partially ( as shown in Fig. 5 ) in the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), wherein the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer ( top of Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ) is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer ( bottom of Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324 ) is coupled ( as shown in Fig. 5 #324 is coupled to #562 ) to a surface of the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) , and wherein the third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326 ) is coupled ( as shown in Fig. 5 #326 is coupled to #566 ) to a surface of the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Kidwell, Jr. with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, and wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer because this would optimize magnetic performance.
Claim 24: Suraj Prakash discloses the method of claim 21 ( as discussed above ).
Suraj Prakash does not appear to disclose the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer, and wherein the third magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer.
However, Kidwell, Jr. teaches the at least one magnetic layer ( Fig. 5: 320, 322, and 324 ) includes a first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), a second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324), and a third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326), wherein the at least one dielectric layer ( Fig. 5: 360, 562, 564, and 566) includes a first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ), a second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) and a third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ), wherein the first magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #360 ) is located at least partially ( as shown in Fig. 5 ) in the first dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #320 ), wherein the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer ( top of Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ) is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer ( bottom of Fig. 5 #360 ), wherein the second magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #324 ) is coupled ( as shown in Fig. 5 #324 is coupled to #562 ) to a surface of the second dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #562 ) , and wherein the third magnetic layer ( Fig. 5 #326 ) is coupled ( as shown in Fig. 5 #326 is coupled to #566 ) to a surface of the third dielectric layer ( Fig. 5 #566 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Kidwell, Jr. with Suraj Prakash to implement the at least one magnetic layer includes a first magnetic layer, a second magnetic layer, and a third magnetic layer, wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a third dielectric layer, wherein the first magnetic layer is located at least partially in the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer is coupled to a first surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer is coupled to a second surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the second dielectric layer, and wherein the third magnetic layer is coupled to a surface of the third dielectric layer because this would manage magnetic coupling, enhance stability, and control magnetization switching.
Conclusion
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817