DETAILED ACTION
Note: An auxiliary lead or terminal on an electrolytic capacitor is an additional, non-functional pin used for structural support or, in specialized cases, to enhance electrical performance. These are most commonly found on larger snap-in or screw-terminal capacitors.
an EC-CAP (Electrolytic Capacitor) can be a solid electrolytic capacitor. These are commonly known as conductive polymer aluminum solid capacitors, which use a solid conductive polymer or manganese dioxide instead of a liquid electrolyte. They offer lower ESR, longer life, and are safer, though they are generally more expensive.
an EC-CAP (Electrolytic Capacitor) is generally a liquid electrolytic capacitor, often referred to as a "wet" or non-solid electrolytic capacitor. They utilize a liquid or gel electrolyte, separating aluminum foils, designed for high capacitance in a small package, but are susceptible to drying out over time.
The electrical leads of a typical aluminum electrolytic capacitor (often referred to as an E-cap or EC-cap) are generally made of tinned copper-clad steel (CP) wire or simply tinned copper wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-16, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Chan et al. (U.S. 2012/0026698), hereafter Chan.
As to claim 9, Chan discloses an electrolytic capacitor (51, para-0033+) for a semiconductor package, as shown in figures 2E-3 comprising:
a first lead (52) and a second lead (52), para-0033, extending from a proximal end (511) of the electrolytic capacitor (51); and
an enclosure (the body of the capacitor 51) surrounding at least a distal end (512) of the electrolytic capacitor and defining a non-electrical support bar (53, para-0034), wherein the first and second leads (52) are electrically coupleable to solder pads (not label, but the electric leads 52 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) provided on a surface of a printed circuit board (1) and the non-electrical support bar (53) is coupleable to a support pad (not label, but the auxiliary lead 53 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) provided on the surface of the printed circuit board (1) to provide mechanical support for the electrolytic capacitor when the electrolytic capacitor is coupled to the printed circuit board (1).
As to claims 10 and 12, Chan discloses the electrolytic capacitor (EC-CAP, para-0009+) is a liquid electrolytic capacitor or a solid electrolytic capacitor.
As to claim 11, Chan discloses the enclosure (the body of the capacitor 51) comprises a thermal isolation material, para-0009+, the dielectric material used in constructing in the EC-CAP in standard is an aluminum oxide or alumina, and the alumina acts as a high thermal isolation material.
As to claim 13, Chan discloses the support bar (53) is comprised of one or more of copper and tin, the EC-CAP having the leads/terminals made copper or tin.
As to claim 14, Chan discloses the support bar (53) is integrated with the enclosure (the body of the element 51).
As to claim 15, Chan discloses an electrolytic capacitor (51) for a semiconductor package, as shown in figures 2E-3 comprising:
a first lead (52) and a second lead (52) extending from a first end (511) of the electrolytic capacitor;
an enclosure means (the body of the capacitor 51) at least partially surrounding a second end (512) of the electrolytic capacitor (51), the second end (512) being opposite from the first end; and
a non-electrical support means (53) extending from the enclosure means, wherein the first lead (52) is electrically coupleable to a first solder pad (not label, but the electric leads 52 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) on a printed circuit board (1), the second lead (52) is electrically coupleable to a second solder pad (not label, but the electric leads 52 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) on the printed circuit board (1), and the non-electrical support means (53) is coupleable to a support pad (not label, but the auxiliary lead 53 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) of the printed circuit board (1) to provide mechanical support for the electrolytic capacitor (51) when the electrolytic capacitor is mounted on the printed circuit board.
As to claim 16, Chan discloses the electrolytic capacitor has a capacitance of at least one-thousand (1000) microfarads (µF), the electrolytic capacitor typically ranges in value from 0.1 microfarads to 2.7 farads.
As to claims 18 and 20, Chan discloses the electrolytic capacitor (EC-CAP, para-0009+) is inherently a liquid electrolytic capacitor or a solid electrolytic capacitor.
As to claim 19, Chan discloses the enclosure means comprises a thermal isolation material, para-0009+, the dielectric material used in constructing in the EC-CAP in standard is an aluminum oxide or alumina, and the alumina acts as a high thermal isolation material.
As to claim 21, Chan discloses the first and second leads (52) are electrically coupleable to the first and second solder pads on the printed circuit board (1) respectively, and the non-electrical support means (53) is coupleable to the support pad of the printed circuit board (1) using a reflow soldering process, para-0005+.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan in view of Kuriyama (U.S. Patent 5,608,602).
Regarding claim 22, Chan does not specifically disclose the enclosure means completely surrounds the electrolytic capacitor and the first lead and the second lead extend through the enclosure means.
Kuriyama teaches a circuit incorporating a solid electrolytic capacitor (1) as shown in figure 3 comprising the enclosure means (8) completely surrounds the electrolytic capacitor (2 or 2a) and the first and second leads (3-5) extend through the enclosure means (8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Kuriyama employed in the electrolytic capacitor (EC) of Chan in order to protect and heat dissipation structure for the EC.
As to claim 1, Chan discloses a semiconductor package, comprising:
a substrate (integrated circuit board 1) [[defining an opening]];
a pair of solder pads (not label, but the electric leads 52 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) provided on a surface of the substrate (1) [[at a proximal side of the opening]];
a support pad (not label, but the auxiliary leads 53 are soldered on the integrated circuit board 1) provided on the surface of the substrate [[at a distal side of the opening]] opposite from the pair of solder pads;
an electrolytic capacitor (51) horizontally disposed [[within the opening]] of the substrate (1) and comprising a first lead (52) extending from a first side (511) of the electrolytic capacitor and electrically coupled to a first solder pad of the pair of solder pads and a second lead (52) extending from the first side (511) of the electrolytic capacitor and electrically coupled to a second solder pad of the pair of solder pads; and
a non-electrical support pin (53) extending from an enclosure (the body of the EC 51) [[that at least partially surrounds the electrolytic capacitor]], the non-electrical support pin (53) extending opposite the first side (512) of the electrolytic capacitor and coupled to the support pad to provide mechanical support to the electrolytic capacitor (the welding part 532 of the auxiliary terminal 53 soldered on the pad of the circuit board 1) [[disposed within the opening]] of the substrate.
Chan does not specifically disclose the substrate having an opening, and the solder pads and the non-electrical support pad at the proximate and distal sides of the opening, the electrolytic capacitor disposed within the opening, and the enclosure that at least partially surrounds the electrolytic capacitor.
Kuriyama teaches a circuit incorporating the solid electrolytic capacitor (1) as shown in figures 14-15 comprising the substrate (10) having an opening (11), and the solder pads (T2) at the proximate and distal sides of the opening (11), the electrolytic capacitor (1) disposed within the opening (11), and the enclosure (9) that at least partially surrounds the electrolytic capacitor (EC-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Kuriyama employed in the electrolytic capacitor (EC) of Chan in order to reduce the size of the package and protect and heat dissipation structure for the EC.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Chan as modified by Kuriyama discloses the electrolytic capacitor (51) is one of a liquid electrolytic capacitor and a solid electrolytic capacitor (EC-CAP, para-0009+).
Regarding claim 3, Chan as modified by Kuriyama teaches the enclosure (9) comprises a thermal isolation material (the epoxy resin), and wherein when the enclosure (9) comprises the thermal isolation material, the enclosure substantially surrounds the electrolytic capacitor (2).
Regarding claim 6, Chan as modified by Kuriyama discloses the non-electrical support pin (53) is comprised of one or more of copper and tin, the EC-CAP having the leads/terminals made copper or tin.
As to claim 7, Chan as modified by Kuriyama discloses the first and second leads (52) are electrically coupleable to the first and second solder pads on the printed circuit board (1) respectively, and the non-electrical support means (53) is coupleable to the support pad of the printed circuit board (1) using a reflow soldering process, para-0005+.
As to claim 23, Chan as modified by Kuriyama teaches a height of the semiconductor package is less than 6.8mm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-16, and 18-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848