DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on July 28, 2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/28/2023, 2/7/2024 and 12/23/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are: a first substrate means for providing electrical communication to one or more electrical components coupled to the first substrate means; one or more receiving means electrically connected to the first substrate means and for providing electrical communication between the first substrate means and one or more other substrate means; one or more first storage means each for storing an amount of electrical charge, each of the one or more first storage means being electrically connected to the first substrate means by a respective electrical connection means; a second substrate means for providing electrical communication to one or more electrical components coupled to the second substrate means, the second substrate means being electrically connected to the one or more receiving means and oriented generally perpendicular to the first substrate means; one or more second storage means each for storing an amount of electrical charge, each of the one or more second storage means being electrically connected to the second substrate means by a respective electrical connection means; a housing means for substantially enclosing each of the first substrate means, the second substrate means, the one or more receiving means, the one or more first storage means, and the one or more second storage means, the housing means comprising: a bottom surface and a top surface, the first substrate means being positioned between the bottom surface and top surface of the housing in claim 18.
Additionally, such claim limitations are: a third substrate means for providing electrical communication to one or more electrical components coupled to the third substrate means, the third substrate means being electrically connected to the one or more receiving means and oriented generally perpendicular to the first substrate means and spaced from the second substrate means; and one or more third storage means each for storing an amount of electrical charge, each of the one or more third storage means being electrically connected to the third substrate means by a respective electrical connection means in claim 19.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung (US 2021/0120672) in view of Chang (US 2022/0310570).
With respect to Claim 1, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) most aspects of the current invention including a semiconductor device package comprising:
a first substrate (92) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface;
one or more receiving ports (94) electrically connected to the first substrate;
one or more first semiconductor dies electrically connected to and mounted directly on the first substrate (par 34; includes heat generating electrical components (e.g., processors, controllers, media packages, etc.)
a second substrate (93) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, the second substrate being electrically connected to a corresponding receiving port of the one or more receiving ports (94), the top planar surface of the second substrate being oriented generally perpendicular to the top planar surface of the first substrate;
one or more second semiconductor dies (93m) electrically connected to and mounted directly on the second substrate;
a housing (91) substantially enclosing each of the first substrate, the second substrate, the one or more receiving ports, the one or more first semiconductor dies, and the one or more second semiconductor dies,
the housing comprising: a bottom surface and a top surface, the first substrate being positioned between the bottom surface and top surface of the housing;
a first hollow protrusion (91c) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing proximate one of the one or more receiving ports, the second substrate and the one or more second semiconductor dies being at least partially positioned within the first hollow protrusion
However, Hung does not show the one or more receiving ports mounted on the top planar surface.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches (Fig. 2B-2C,4) a semiconductor device package comprising a first substrate (202) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, one or more receiving ports (72) mounted on the top planar surface and electrically connected to the first substrate, and a second substrate (substrate 102 on die stacks in S1) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, the second substrate being electrically connected to a corresponding receiving port of the one or more receiving ports, the top planar surface of the second substrate being oriented generally perpendicular to the top planar surface of the first substrate. Chang teaches the receiving ports acts as connection bonding pads that are connected to the first connection lines in the second substrate to make an electrical connection to devices on the first substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the one or more receiving ports is electrically connected to the first substrate through a wire connection or in the alternative, mounted on the top planar surface and electrically connected to the first substrate in the device of Hung, as taught by Chang because the receiving ports acts as connection bonding pads that are connected to the first connection lines in the second substrate to make an electrical connection to devices on the first substrate.
With respect to Claim 3, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) wherein the one or more first semiconductor dies include a first set of NAND dies and the one or more second semiconductor dies include a second set of NAND dies.
With respect to Claim 4, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) wherein the second set of NAND dies includes at least twice as many NAND dies as the first set of NAND dies.
With respect to Claim 5, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) wherein the one or more receiving ports (94) includes a first receiving port and a second receiving port each electrically connected to the first substrate and spaced from one another.
With respect to Claim 6, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) further comprising: a third substrate (95), wherein the second substrate is electrically connected to the first receiving port and the third substrate electrically is connected to the second receiving port; and one or more third semiconductor dies (95m) electrically connected to and mounted directly on the third substrate.
With respect to Claim 7, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) wherein the one or more first semiconductor dies include a first set of NAND dies, the one or more second semiconductor dies include a second set of NAND dies, and the one or more third semiconductor dies include a third set of NAND dies.
With respect to Claim 8, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) wherein each of the second set of NAND dies and third set of NAND dies includes at least twice as many NAND dies as the first set of NAND dies.
With respect to Claim 9, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) wherein the housing substantially encloses each of the first, second, and third substrates and each of the one or more first, second, and third semiconductor dies, wherein the first hollow protrusion (91c) is proximate the first receiving port, and wherein the housing further comprises: a second hollow protrusion (91d) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing proximate the second receiving port, the third substrate and the one or more third semiconductor dies being at least partially positioned within the second hollow protrusion.
With respect to Claim 17, Chang teaches (Fig. 2B-2C,4) wherein the one or more receiving ports are each through hole mounts electrically connected to the first substrate.
With respect to Claim 18, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) most aspects of the current invention including a semiconductor device package comprising:
a first substrate (92) means for providing electrical communication to one or more electrical components coupled to the first substrate means
one or more receiving means (94) electrically connected to the first substrate means and for providing electrical communication between the first substrate means and one or more other substrate means
one or more first storage means each for storing an amount of electrical charge, (par 34; includes heat generating electrical components (e.g., processors, controllers, media packages, etc.)
a second substrate means (93) for providing electrical communication to one or more electrical components coupled to the second substrate means, the second substrate means being electrically connected to the one or more receiving means and oriented generally perpendicular to the first substrate means
one or more second storage means (93m) each for storing an amount of electrical charge,
a housing means (91) for substantially enclosing each of the first substrate means, the second substrate means, the one or more receiving means, the one or more first storage means, and the one or more second storage means,
the housing means comprising: a bottom surface and a top surface, the first substrate means being positioned between the bottom surface and top surface of the housing;
a first hollow protrusion (91c) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing means proximate one of the one or more receiving means, the second substrate means and the one or more second storage means being at least partially positioned within the first hollow protrusion
However, Hung does not show each of the one or more first storage means being electrically connected to the first substrate means by a respective electrical connection means and each of the one or more second storage means being electrically connected to the second substrate means by a respective electrical connection means.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches (Fig. 2B-2C,4) a semiconductor device package comprising a first substrate (202) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, one or more first storage means (200) each for storing an amount of electrical charge, each of the one or more first storage means being electrically connected to a first substrate (substrate 102 on die stacks in S1) means by a respective electrical connection means (108) and each of the one or more second storage means (20A) being electrically connected to the second substrate (substrate 102 on die stacks in S1) means by a respective electrical connection means (108). Chang teaches the electrical connection means provides the electrical connection for the substrate to the storage means.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the one or more first storage means being electrically connected to the first substrate means by a respective electrical connection means and each of the one or more second storage means being electrically connected to the second substrate means by a respective electrical connection means in the device of Hung, as taught by Chang because the electrical connection means provides the electrical connection for the substrate to the storage means.
With respect to Claim 19, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) further comprising: a third substrate means (95) for providing electrical communication to one or more electrical components coupled to the third substrate means, the third substrate means being electrically connected to the one or more receiving means and oriented generally perpendicular to the first substrate means and spaced from the second substrate means; and one or more third storage means (95m) each for storing an amount of electrical charge, Furthermore, Chang teaches each of one or more third storage means (20B) being electrically connected to the second substrate (substrate 102 on die stacks in S1) means by a respective electrical connection means (108). Also, see comments stated above in Par. 31-32 with regards to Claim 18, which are considered repeated here.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Chang and in further view of Nakamichi (US 2021/0208428)
With respect to Claim 2, Hung in view of Chang shows most aspects of the current invention. However, the combination of references do not show wherein the housing has a width of about 33.75 mm, a length of about 118.75 mm and a height of about 25.00 mm.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Nakamichi teaches (Fig. 8) a semiconductor device package comprising a housing (2) substantially enclosing functional elements and semiconductor devices, wherein the housing has dimensions including a width of about 5-20 mm, a length of about 30-100 mm and a height of about 5-20 mm.
Regarding claim 2, the courts have held that differences in the dimensions of the housing will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such dimensions of the housing are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105, USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Since the applicant has not established the criticality of the dimensions of the housing and similar dimensions of the housing are known in the art (see e.g. Nakamichi), it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art to use these values in the device of Hung in view of Chang.
Criticality: The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions of the housing or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ 2d 1934, 1936 (Fed Cir. 1990).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Chang and in further view of Bollesen (US 5,963,427).
With respect to Claim 10, Hung in view of Chang shows most aspects of the current invention. However, the combination of references do not show further comprising a heat sink mounted on the top surface of the housing and including a plurality of fins, each of the plurality of fins being positioned between the first and second hollow protrusions of the housing.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Bollesen teaches (Fig. 2) a semiconductor device package comprising a housing (40) substantially enclosing a first substrate, a second substrate, one or more first semiconductor dies, and one or more second semiconductor dies, the housing comprising a bottom surface and a top surface, a first hollow protrusion (inside protrusion 42 on left side) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing, and further comprises a second hollow protrusion (inside protrusion 42 on right side) extending upwardly from the top surface and further comprising a heat sink (40; integrated with the housing) mounted on the top surface of the housing and including a plurality of fins (44), each of the plurality of fins being positioned between the first and second hollow protrusions of the housing. Bollesen teaches internal horizontal fins are provided for the heat sink, with a gap in the middle, in order to allow manufacture by extrusion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising a heat sink mounted on the top surface of the housing and including a plurality of fins, each of the plurality of fins being positioned between the first and second hollow protrusions of the housing in the device of Hung in view of Chang, as taught by Bollesen which provides internal horizontal fins for the heat sink, with a gap in the middle, in order to allow manufacture by extrusion.
With respect to Claim 11, Bollesen teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the heat sink is integrally formed with the housing.
With respect to Claim 12, Bollesen teaches (Fig. 2) further comprising: one or more thermally conductive layers (thermal conductive balls), each thermally conductive layer of the one or more thermally conductive layers mounted directly onto a surface of a corresponding semiconductor die of the one or more first, second, and third semiconductor dies, wherein each thermally conductive layer extends between the surface of the corresponding semiconductor die to an adjacent interior surface of the housing.
With respect to Claim 13, Bollesen teaches (Fig. 1) wherein each fin of the plurality of fins extends upwardly from the top surface of the housing and are generally perpendicular to the top surface of the housing
With respect to Claim 14, Bollesen teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the first and second hollow protrusions each have a width that is greater than a width of an individual fin of the plurality of fins.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung in view of Bollesen (US 5,963,427).
With respect to Claim 20, Hung shows (Fig. 8,9B) most aspects of the current invention including a semiconductor device package comprising:
a first substrate (92) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface substantially parallel to the top planar surface;
a first receiving port (94) electrically connected to the first substrate;
a second receiving port (96) spaced from the first receiving port and electrically connected to the first substrate;
one or more first NAND dies electrically connected to and mounted directly on the first substrate; (par 34; includes heat generating electrical components (e.g., processors, controllers, media packages, etc.)
a second substrate (93) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, the second substrate electrically connected to the first receiving port (94) such that the top planar surface of the second substrate is generally perpendicular to the top planar surface of the first substrate;
one or more second NAND dies (93m) electrically connected to and mounted directly on the second substrate;
a third substrate (95) having a top planar surface and a bottom planar surface, the third substrate electrically connected to the second receiving port (96) such that the top planar surface of the third substrate is generally perpendicular to the top planar surface of the first substrate;
one or more third NAND dies (95m) electrically connected to and mounted directly on the third substrate;
a housing (91) substantially enclosing each of the first, second, and third substrates and each of the one or more first, second, and third NAND dies,
the housing comprising: a bottom surface and a top surface, the first substrate being positioned between the bottom surface and top surface of the housing;
a first hollow protrusion (91c) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing proximate the first receiving port, the second substrate being at least partially positioned within the first hollow protrusion;
a second hollow protrusion (91d) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing proximate the second receiving port, the third substrate being at least partially positioned within the second hollow protrusion;
However, Hung does not show a heat sink mounted on the top surface of the housing and including a plurality of fins, each of the plurality of fins being positioned between the first and second hollow protrusions of the housing.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Bollesen teaches (Fig. 2) a semiconductor device package comprising a housing (40) substantially enclosing a first substrate, a second substrate, one or more first semiconductor dies, and one or more second semiconductor dies, the housing comprising a bottom surface and a top surface, a first hollow protrusion (inside protrusion 42 on left side) extending upwardly from the top surface of the housing, and further comprises a second hollow protrusion (inside protrusion 42 on right side) extending upwardly from the top surface and further comprising a heat sink (40; integrated with the housing) mounted on the top surface of the housing and including a plurality of fins (44), each of the plurality of fins being positioned between the first and second hollow protrusions of the housing. Bollesen teaches internal horizontal fins are provided for the heat sink, with a gap in the middle, in order to allow manufacture by extrusion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising a heat sink mounted on the top surface of the housing and including a plurality of fins, each of the plurality of fins being positioned between the first and second hollow protrusions of the housing in the device of Hung, as taught by Bollesen which provides internal horizontal fins for the heat sink, with a gap in the middle, in order to allow manufacture by extrusion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q.A.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814