DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 1/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US pub 20130075924).
With respect to claim 1, Lin et al. teach a semiconductor package comprising (see figs. 1-17, particularly figs. 13a-14 and associated text):
a first redistribution substrate (connecting structure right under 148);
a semiconductor chip 124 disposed on the first redistribution substrate;
a second redistribution substrate (connecting structure right over 148);
an encapsulant 148 disposed between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate and encapsulating the semiconductor chip; and
a connection structure 250 disposed in the encapsulant, connecting an upper surface of the first redistribution substrate and a lower surface of the second redistribution substrate, and including a paste (meltable conductive material) bump 252.
With respect to claim 2, Lin et al. teach the connection structure electrically connects the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
With respect to claim 3, Lin et al. teach the paste bump has a cross-sectional area that decreases in a plan view from an upper portion to a lower portion. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
With respect to claim 4, Lin et al. teach the connection structure further includes a plating portion (metal connector right under 250) on at least one of an upper portion and a lower portion of the paste bump, and the paste bump includes a material different than that of the plating portion. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
With respect to claim 5, Lin et al. teach the connection structure further includes a first bonding pad (connector right below 250) on the upper surface of the first redistribution substrate, and the paste bump is connected to the first bonding pad. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
With respect to claim 7, Lin et al. teach the connection structure further includes a conductive pillar 252 extending from the lower surface of the second redistribution substrate, and the paste bump connects the conductive pillar and the first redistribution substrate. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
With respect to claim 9, Lin et al. teach an upper package 124 (upper one) disposed on an upper surface of the second redistribution substrate; and a bonding member 132 of the upper package connected to a second bonding pad (connector right under 132) disposed on the upper surface of the second redistribution substrate to electrically connect the upper package to the second redistribution substrate. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
With respect to claim 10, Lin et al. teach a package bump (ball right under 156) disposed on a lower surface of the first redistribution substrate. See figs. 13a-14 and associated text.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US pub 20130075924).
With respect to claim 11, Lin et al. teach a semiconductor package comprising (see figs. 1-17, particularly figs. 13a-14 and associated text):
a first redistribution substrate (connecting structure right under 148);
a semiconductor chip 124 disposed on the first redistribution substrate;
a chip bump 132 connecting the first redistribution substrate and the semiconductor chip;
a second redistribution substrate (connecting structure right over 148);
an encapsulant 148 disposed between the first redistribution substrate and the second redistribution substrate and encapsulating the semiconductor chip;
a connection structure 250 including a paste (meltable conductive material) bump penetrating the encapsulant and electrically connecting an upper surface of the first redistribution substrate and a lower surface of the second redistribution substrate, wherein at least a portion of the paste bump has a cross-sectional area decreasing in a plan view from an upper portion to a lower portion; and
a package bump (ball right under 156) disposed on a lower surface of the first redistribution substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US pub 20130075924) in combination with CN 114649224 (‘224)
With respect to claim 12, Lin et al fail to teach the paste bump or meltable bump includes an alloy including tin.
CN ‘224 teach using a meltable bump includes an alloy including tin to reduce processing time and negative effects of high temperature processing time. See English text of CN ‘224.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to incorporate the teaching of CN ‘224 into the device of Lin et al. to achieve the above benefit. See English text of CN ‘224.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure having a chip, encapsulant, and a paste bump connection between first and second redistribution substrates as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897