DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 with regard to claims 19-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the first portion with a circular cross section of Lin cannot be interpreted to have protrusions. However, the examiner maintains that it is reasonable to interpret the first portion protrudes relative to the second portion since it is wider than the second portion and therefore protrudes outward into the encapsulant (48) further than the side surfaces of the second portion (Figure 24). There is no mention in the claims that these protrusions are on or relative to the sidewalls of the first portion. However, in an effort to advance prosecution, newly introduced reference Mun et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0068822) teaches a roughened side surface for a metal pillar. Specifically, Mun discloses protrusions as a textured or roughened sidewall (112) of a metal pillar (111) (Figure 7B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the metal pillar of Lin to include these protrusions, as taught by Mun, since it can suppress interfacial delamination between heterogeneous materials (paragraph 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0103362).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution substrate (50) comprising a first side (up) and an opposite second side (down)
a plurality of redistribution patterns (54B) in the redistribution substrate (50) and extending in a first direction (horizontal)
a plurality of redistribution vias (60) connected to the plurality of redistribution patterns (54), wherein the plurality of redistribution vias (60) extend toward the second side (68) from a lower side of the plurality of redistribution patterns (54B) in a second direction transverse to the first direction
a semiconductor chip (38) on the first side of the redistribution substrate (50)
a plurality of metal pillars (36) positioned adjacent to a side surface of the semiconductor chip (38), wherein the plurality of metal pillars (36) are connected to the plurality of redistribution patterns (54B), and wherein each metal pillar includes a first portion (36), and a second portion (80)
a plurality of solder balls (70) on the second side of the redistribution substrate (50)
wherein the first portion (36) of each metal pillar has a circular cross-section in plan view, and the second portion (79) of each metal pillar has a square or octagonal cross-section in plan view (paragraph 54; Figure 24)
wherein a side wall of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar comprises protrusions (circular), and a side wall of the second portion of each metal pillar comprises a flat (square) surface (paragraph 54)
wherein a width of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar (36) is different from a width of the second portion (80) of each metal pillar (36)
wherein a height (H2) of the first portion of each metal pillar (36) is greater than a height (D1) of the second portion of each metal pillar (79)
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses the first portion of each metal pillar has a cylindrical shape in plan view, and a second portion of each metal pillar has a square pillar shape in plan view (paragraph 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0103362) in view of Koduri (US Publication No. 2019/0109108).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution substrate (50) comprising a first side (up) and an opposite second side (down)
a plurality of redistribution patterns (54) in the redistribution substrate (50)
a semiconductor chip (38) on the first side of the redistribution substrate (50)
a plurality of metal pillars (36) positioned around the semiconductor chip (38), wherein the plurality of metal pillars (36) are connected to the plurality of redistribution patterns (54)
a plurality of solder balls (70) on the second side (68) of the redistribution substrate (50)
wherein each of the metal pillars (36) includes a third side facing the first side of the redistribution substrate (50), and an opposite fourth side
wherein the fourth side has a square or octagonal shape in plan view (paragraph 54)
Lin does not disclose the metal pillars to be monolithic with a third side that has a shape different from the fourth side. However, Koduri discloses a monolithic metal pillar with bottom and top cross sections of different shapes (Figure 9D; paragraph 86). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the metal pillars of Lin to be monolithic and formed with different side shapes, as taught by Koduri, since it can improve current density and reduce electromigration and void formation (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the third side of each metal pillar (36) has a circular shape in plan view (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses each of the plurality of metal pillars (36) comprises a first portion (36), and a second portion (80), and wherein a side wall of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar (36) comprises protrusions (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses a side wall of the second portion (80) of each metal pillar comprises a flat surface (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses a height of the first portion of each metal pillar is greater than a height of the second portion of each metal pillar (paragraphs 47-48; Figure 21).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses a ratio of the height of the first portion (H2) of each metal pillar (36) to the height of the second portion (D1) of each metal pillar (79) is 5:1 (paragraph 47; Figure 16).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses a width of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar is smaller than a width of the second portion (79) of each metal pillar (Figure 27).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses a width of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar is greater than a width of the second portion (79) of each metal pillar (Figure 22).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses each of the metal pillars has a height of between 250um and 350um (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the plurality of redistribution vias (64) connected to the plurality of redistribution patterns (54), wherein the plurality of redistribution vias (64) extend toward the second side (68) of the redistribution substrate (50) in a direction from a lower side of the plurality of redistribution patterns (54).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
a redistribution substrate (50) comprising a first side (up) and an opposite second side (down)
a plurality of redistribution patterns (54) in the redistribution substrate (50)
a semiconductor chip (38) on the first side of the redistribution substrate (50)
a plurality of metal pillars (36) positioned adjacent to a side surface of the semiconductor chip (38), wherein the plurality of metal pillars (36) are connected to the plurality of redistribution patterns (54)
a plurality of solder balls (70) on the second side of the redistribution substrate (50)
wherein each of the metal pillars (36) comprises a first portion (36), and a second portion (80)
wherein the first portion (36) of each metal pillar has a cylindrical shape in plan view, and the second portion (79) of each metal pillar has a square shape in plan view (paragraph 54)
Lin does not disclose the metal pillar portions to be formed of the same material. However, Koduri discloses a monolithic metal pillar with bottom and top cross sections of different shapes (Figure 9D; paragraph 86). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the metal pillars of Lin to be monolithic and formed with different side shapes, as taught by Koduri, since it can improve current density and reduce electromigration and void formation (paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 12, Lin discloses each of the plurality of metal pillars (36) comprises a first portion (36) of each metal pillars (36) comprises protrusions (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses a side wall of the second portion (80) of each metal pillar comprises a flat surface (paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses a height of the first portion (H2) of each metal pillar (36) is smaller than a width of the second portion of each metal pillar (79) (paragraph 47; Figure 16).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses a width of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar is smaller than a width of the second portion (79) of each metal pillar (Figure 27).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses a width of the first portion (36) of each metal pillar is greater than a width of the second portion (79) of each metal pillar (Figure 22).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses each of the metal pillars has a height of between 250um and 350um (paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses the plurality of redistribution vias (64) connected to the plurality of redistribution patterns (54), wherein the plurality of redistribution vias (64) extend toward the second side (68) of the redistribution substrate (50) in a direction from a lower side of the plurality of redistribution patterns (54).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ting et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0129218) discloses roughened protrusions (134) on the side surface of an interconnect (140) (Figure 2E).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.R.P/ 4/2/2026Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897