DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed February 2, 2024. The application has been updated accordingly.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: description of “control the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point” as recited in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lepp et al. (2024/0161593) hereinafter Lepp.
Lepp discloses:
Claim 1: A lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; see detail);
a platform configured to support an operator (Fig. 1; 1), the platform including an attachment point (Fig. 1; 13) configured to engage a lanyard (Fig. 1; 50) to secure the operator to the platform;
a lift assembly (Fig. 2; 5) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Fig. 2; 1 is depicted as elevated relative to the chassis);
a camera (Fig. 1; 60) having a field of view that includes the attachment point and configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the attachment point and the lanyard (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]);
a bracket (Fig. 1; at 61) fixedly coupling the camera to the platform such that the field of view is fixed relative to the platform (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]), wherein the platform includes a railing at least partially surrounding a work area of the platform (Fig. 2; 11/12, Para. [0020]), and wherein the camera is coupled to the bracket outside of the work area (Fig. 1; 60 is mounted above the work area, Para. [0160]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 17, Para. [0012-0013]) operatively coupled to the camera (Para. [0012-0013]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the lanyard is engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0037]); and
in response to a determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point, at least one of (a) activate an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point or (b) limit movement of the lift device (Para. [0037-0043]).
Claim 5: The lift device of Claim 1, wherein the attachment point is a first attachment point (Fig. 3; 13), wherein the platform includes a second attachment point (Fig. 3; 31), and wherein the field of view of the camera includes the first attachment point and the second attachment point (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]).
Claim 6: A lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; see detail);
a platform (Fig. 1; 1) configured to support a first operator and a second operator of a plurality of operators (Para. [0154]), the platform including (a) a first attachment point (Fig. 1; 13) configured to engage a first lanyard (Fig. 1; 50) to secure the first operator to the platform and (b) a second attachment point configured to engage a second lanyard to secure the second operator to the platform (Para. [0154]);
a lift assembly (Fig. 2; 5) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Fig. 2; 1 is depicted as elevated relative to the chassis);
a camera (Fig. 1; 60) having a field of view that includes the first attachment point (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]) and the second attachment point (Para. [0154]), the camera being configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the first attachment point and the first lanyard (Para. [0037]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 17, Para. [0012-0013]) operatively coupled to the camera (Para. [0012-0013]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, a number of the operators that are currently supported by platform (Para. [0154]);
determine, based on the sensor data, if the first lanyard is engaged with the first attachment point (Para. [0037]);
in response to a determination that the first lanyard is not engaged with the first attachment point, at least one of (a) activate an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operators that the first lanyard is not engaged with the first attachment point or (b) limit movement of the lift device (Para. [0037-0043]);
determine, based on the sensor data, if the second lanyard is engaged with the second attachment point (Para. [0154]); and
in response to a determination that both (a) at least two of the operators are supported by platform and (b) the second lanyard is not engaged with the second attachment point, at least one of (a) activate the alarm to provide a notification to alert the operators that the second lanyard is not engaged with the second attachment point or (b) limit the movement of the lift device (Para. [0154]).
Claim 7: The lift device Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to activate the alarm to provide the notification in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0051]).
Claim 8: The lift device of Claim 7, wherein the notification is an auditory alert (Para. [0051]).
Claim 9: The lift device Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to limit the movement of the lift device in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0037-0043]).
Claim 11: The lift device of Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to both (a) activate the alarm to provide the notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point and (b) limit the movement of the lift device in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0168-0170]).
Claim 12: The lift device of Claim 1, wherein the attachment point defines an aperture (Fig. 4; 13) configured to receive a hook of the lanyard (Fig. 4; via 53).
Claim 14: A lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; see detail);
a platform configured to support an operator (Fig. 1; 1), the platform including an attachment point (Fig. 1; 13) configured to engage a lanyard (Fig. 1; 50) to secure the operator to the platform;
a lift assembly (Fig. 2; 5) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Fig. 2; 1 is depicted as elevated relative to the chassis);
a sensor (Fig. 1; 60) configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the attachment point and the lanyard (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 17, Para. [0012-0013]) operatively coupled to the sensor (Para. [0012-0013]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the lanyard is engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0037]);
in response to a determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point, at least one of (a) activate an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point or (b) limit movement of the lift device (Para. [0037-0043]);
determine, based on the sensor data, if the operator is wearing a harness (Fig. 5; 40) coupled to the lanyard (Para. [0038]); and
in response to a determination that the operator is not wearing the harness coupled to the lanyard, at least one of (a) control the alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point or (b) limit the movement of the lift device (Para. [0037-0043]).
Claim 15: A control method, comprising:
receiving image data from a camera (Fig. 1; 60) having a field of view that includes a work area of a platform (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]);
determining, based on the image data, if a personal protective equipment (PPE) system is securing an operator to an attachment point of the platform (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]); and
in response to a determination that the PPE system is not securing the operator to the attachment point, controlling an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator and preventing a boom assembly (Fig. 2; 5) from lifting the platform (Para. [0037-0043]).
Claim 16: The control method of Claim 15, wherein determining if the PPE system is securing the operator to the attachment point includes determining if a lanyard of the PPE system is engaged with the attachment point based on the image data (Para. [0037]).
Claim 17: A control method, comprising:
receiving image data from a camera having a field of view that includes a work area of a platform (Para. [0037]);
determining, based on the image data, if a personal protective equipment (PPE) system is securing an operator to an attachment point of the platform at least by determining if a harness (Fig. 5; 40) of the PPE system is worn by the operator based on the image data (Para. [0038]); and
in response to a determination that the PPE system is not securing the operator to the attachment point, controlling an alarm to provide a notification to alert the operator (Para. [0051]).
Claim 19: A control method, comprising:
receiving image data from a camera (Fig. 1; 60) having a field of view that includes a work area of a platform (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]);
identifying, based on the image data, a first operator and a second operator present within the work area (Para. [0154]);
determining, based on the image data, if a first harness (Fig. 5; 40) is worn by the first operator and a first lanyard is coupling the first harness to the platform (Para. [0038]);
determining, based on the image data, if a second harness is worn by the second operator and a second lanyard is coupling the second harness to the platform (Para. [0154]);
determining that a personal protective equipment (PPE) system is not operational in response to at least one of (a) a determination that the first harness is not worn by the first operator, (b) the first lanyard is not coupling the first harness to the platform (Para. [0154]), (c) a determination that the second harness is not worn by the second operator, or (d) the second lanyard is not coupling the second harness to the platform (Para. [0154]); and
limiting operation of a lift assembly to prevent upward movement of the platform in response to a determination that the PPE system is not operational (Para. [0154]).
Claim 20: The control method of Claim 19, further comprising controlling an alarm to provide a notification in response to the determination that the PPE system is not operational (Para. [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepp et al. (2024/0161593) hereinafter Lepp.
Lepp discloses:
Claim 10: A lift device, comprising:
a chassis (Fig. 1; see detail);
a platform configured to support an operator (Fig. 1; 1), the platform including an attachment point (Fig. 1; 13) configured to engage a lanyard (Fig. 1; 50) to secure the operator to the platform;
a lift assembly (Fig. 2; 5) coupling the platform to the chassis and configured to raise the platform relative to the chassis (Fig. 2; 1 is depicted as elevated relative to the chassis);
a sensor (Fig. 1; 60) configured to provide sensor data indicative of engagement between the attachment point and the lanyard (Fig. 1; Para. [0160]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; 17, Para. [0012-0013]) operatively coupled to the sensor (Para. [0012-0013]) and configured to:
determine, based on the sensor data, if the lanyard is engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0037]);
limit movement of the lift device in response to a determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point (Para. [0037-0043]); and
control the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point.
Regarding claim 10, Lepp fails to specifically disclose controlling the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art to program controlling the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift assembly of Lepp to include the ability to control the lift assembly to lower the platform in response to the determination that the lanyard is not engaged with the attachment point with a reasonable expectation of success because it would lower the untethered operator to a safe location.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepp et al. (2024/0161593) hereinafter Lepp, in view of Thompson et al. (11,472,685) hereinafter Thompson.
Claim 13: Lepp discloses the lift device of Claim 12, wherein the attachment point is a first attachment point (Fig. 4; 13), wherein the platform includes a railing at least partially surrounding a work area of the platform (Fig. 2; 11/12, Para. [0020]), but fails to disclose wherein the first attachment point and a second attachment point are at least partially defined by the railing.
However, Thompson discloses attachment points defined by the railing (Fig. 2A; 206d allows attachment points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lift device of Lepp to include the attachment points on the railings, as taught by Thompson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide additional locations for lanyard attachment allowing more flexibility for the user.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635