DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Specie I (Figs. 1-6), claims 1-2, 5 and 10 in the reply filed on December 10th, 2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected invention and species, claims 3-4, 6-9 and 11-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of Species 1, claims 1-2, 5 and 10 as follows.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 31st, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 07/31/2023 are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2008/235066, hereinafter as Ito ‘066) in view of Matsushima (US 2015/0171327, hereinafter as Mats ‘327).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito ‘066 teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1a, (1); [0033]);
a first electrode (2; [0035]) provided on the insulating layer;
a rib (6a/6b; [0036]) provided on the insulating layer, and comprising an opening which overlaps the first electrode (2) (see Fig. 1c), and
a trench which does not overlap the first electrode (see Fig. 1c);
an organic layer (8; [0045]) which includes a light emitting layer and covers the first electrode (2) and the rib (6a/6b);
a filling member provided in the trench (see para. [0050]); and
wherein the organic layer includes: a first portion which covers the first electrode; a second portion which covers, of the rib, a portion located between the opening and the trench; and a third portion located in the trench and spaced apart from the second portion (see Figs.1e and 1f).
Thus, Ito ‘066 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the features: “an insulating layer provided on the substrate; and a second electrode which covers the organic layer, the rib and the filling member”.
Mats ‘327 teaches an insulating layer (Fig. 11, (226); [0069]) provided on the substrate (225; [0069]); and a second electrode (217; [0071]) which covers the organic layer (215; [0071]), the rib (214; [0071]) and the filling member (214e; [0071]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ito ‘066 by having an insulating layer provided on the substrate; and a second electrode which covers the organic layer, the rib and the filling member for the purpose of improving the image quality of the organic EL display panel (see para. [0006]-[0007]) as suggested by Mats ‘327.
Figs 1a-f (Ito ‘066)
Figs 11 (Mats ‘327)
Regarding Claim 2, Ito ‘066 teaches the filling member covers the third portion (see Fig. 1f; para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ito ‘066 teaches the trench comprises: an upper portion having a first width; and a lower portion having a second width greater than the first width (see Fig. 1c).
Regarding Claim 10, Ito ‘066 teaches the trench is provided at least between the subpixels which are adjacent to each other in the first direction (see Fig. 2c).
Mats ‘327 teaches a plurality of subpixels (Fig. 2, (14a); [0041]) which are arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction and each of which includes the first electrode (Fig. 4, (12); [0046]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor devices:
Kang et al. (US 2015/0001485 A1)
Chen et al. (US 2013/0134449 A1)
Sugimoto (US 2012/0181525 A1)
Yoshida et al. (US 2010/0213827 A1)
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893