DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s remarks/amendments of claims 1-2, 5 and 10 in the reply filed on May 07th, 2026, are acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 3-4, 6-9 and 11-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1-2, 5 and 10 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 2008/235066, hereinafter as Ito ‘066) in view of Matsushima (US 2015/0171327, hereinafter as Mats ‘327).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito ‘066 teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1a, (1); [0033]);
a first electrode (2; [0035]) provided on the insulating layer;
a rib (6a/6b; [0036]) provided on the insulating layer, and comprising an opening which overlaps the first electrode (2) (see Fig. 1c), and
a trench which does not overlap the first electrode (see Fig. 1c);
an organic layer (8; [0045]) which includes a light emitting layer and covers the first electrode (2) and the rib (6a/6b);
a filling member (16) provided in the trench (see para. [0054]); and
a second electrode (Fig. 3c, (13); [0052] and [0057]) which covers the organic layer (8), the rib (6a/6b) and the filling member (16) (see Fig. 3c).
wherein the organic layer includes: a first portion which covers the first electrode; a second portion which covers, of the rib, a portion located between the opening and the trench; and a third portion located in the trench and spaced apart from the second portion (see Figs.1e and 1f), and the second electrode (Fig. 3c, (13); [0052] and [0057]) is formed on the organic layer (8) and on an upper surface of the filling member (Fig. 3c, (16); [0054] and [0057]). Examiner considers the insulating material bonding portion (16; [0054]) is the filling member.
Thus, Ito ‘066 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the features: “an insulating layer provided on the substrate”.
Mats ‘327 teaches an insulating layer (Fig. 11, (226); [0069]) provided on the substrate (225; [0069]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ito ‘066 by having an insulating layer provided on the substrate for the purpose of improving the image quality of the organic EL display panel (see para. [0006]-[0007]) as suggested by Mats ‘327.
Figs 11 (Mats ‘327)
Figs 1a-f (Ito ‘066)
Fig. 3c (Ito ‘066)
Regarding Claim 2, Ito ‘066 teaches the filling member covers the third portion (see Fig. 1f; para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ito ‘066 teaches the trench comprises: an upper portion having a first width; and a lower portion having a second width greater than the first width (see Fig. 1c).
Regarding Claim 10, Ito ‘066 teaches the trench is provided at least between the subpixels which are adjacent to each other in the first direction (see Fig. 2c).
Mats ‘327 teaches a plurality of subpixels (Fig. 2, (14a); [0041]) which are arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction and each of which includes the first electrode (Fig. 4, (12); [0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5 and 10, filed on May 07th, 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Interviews After Final
Applicants note that an interview after a final rejection is permitted in order to place the application in condition for allowance or to resolve issues prior to appeal. However, prior to the interview, the intended purpose and content of the interview should be presented briefly, preferably in writing. Upon review of the agenda, the Examiner may grant the interview if the examiner is convinced that disposal or clarification for appeal may be accomplished with only nominal further consideration. Interviews merely to restate arguments of record or to discuss new limitations will be denied. See MPEP § 714.13
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893